DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a separately filed document (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is Christopher.Legendre@uspto.gov.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 September 2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is hereby considered.
Claim Interpretation
There are no limitations deemed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe ‘334 (US 11,654,334) in view of Watanabe et al. ‘741 (US 10,610,741 - hereafter referred to as Watanabe ‘741).
In reference to claim 1
Watanabe ‘334 discloses:
A golf ball comprising a core (1) and a cover (4), wherein the core is formed in a single layer of a rubber composition (see col.2:ll.41-42), the cover is formed of a resin composition (see col.2:ll.44-45), and the core has a hardness profile in which, letting a Shore C hardness at a core center be Cc, a Shore C hardness at a position 4 mm outward from the core center be Cc+4, a Shore C hardness at a midpoint M between the core center and a core surface be Cm, a Shore C hardness at a position 4 mm inward from the midpoint M be Cm-4, a Shore C hardness at a position 4 mm outward from the midpoint M be Cm+4, a Shore C hardness at a position 4 mm inward from the core surface be Cs-4, and a Shore C hardness at the core surface be Cs, and defining surface areas A to D as follows:
• surface area A: 1/2 × 4 × (Cc+4 - Cc)
• surface area B: 1/2 × 4 × (Cm - Cm-4)
• surface area C: 1/2 × 4 × (Cm+4 - Cm)
• surface area D: 1/2 × 4 × (Cs - Cs-4)
the following two conditions are satisfied:
(surface area D/surface area A) ≥ 8.0 (see Table 5 Examples 7 and 8, both of which include surface area A = 1.3 and surface area D = 11.5, which produces a value of 8.8 for the instant formula);
(surface area C/surface area B) + (surface area D/surface area A) ≥ 10.0 (see Table 5 Examples 7 and 8, both of which include surface area A = 1.3, surface area B = 12.8, surface area C = 17, and surface area D = 11.5, which produces a value of 10.1 for the instant formula) and
While Watanabe ‘334 further discloses a deflection when the core is compressed under a final load of 1,275 N (130 kgf) from an initial load of 98 N (10 kgf) be C (mm), Watanabe ‘334 does not disclose that the following condition is satisfied:
C × (Cs-Cc) ≥ 132.0 (note: see Table 5 Examples 7 and 8, both of which include core deflections of 4.7 and Cs-C of 22.7, which produces a value of 106.7 for the instant formula).
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
a golf ball core comprising a hardness gradient such that the difference between the core surface hardness Cs and the core center hardness Cc is in the range of 28-30 (see col.7:ll.59-64); the values of both the core surface hardness Cs and the core hardness difference Cs-C imbue a desired balance of initial ball velocity / durability to cracking and spin rate (see col.7:ln.44 through col.8:ln.3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ball of Watanabe ‘334 to configure the difference between core surface hardness and the core center hardness to be in the range of 28-30, as disclosed by Watanabe ‘741, for the purpose of imbuing a desired balance of initial ball velocity / durability to cracking and spin rate. It is noted that the instant modification is envisaged as specifying the value for the argument Cs-C by accordingly selecting a value for Cs, which Watanabe ‘741 also establishes (see above description of Watanabe ‘741) is a result-effective variable for achieving a desired balance of initial ball velocity / durability to cracking and spin rate.
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 therefore addresses:
C × (Cs-Cc) ≥ 132.0 (note: in light of Watanabe ‘334 Examples 7 and 8 (see Table 5) having a core deflection C of 4.7 mm, the minimum value for Cs-Cc that satisfies the instant condition is 132.0 ÷ 4.7 = 28.1, which is achievable by the proposed modification over Watanabe ‘741).
In reference to claim 2
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 addresses:
The golf ball of claim 1, wherein the following condition is satisfied: (Cs-Cc) ≥ 29 (see above proposed modification over Watanabe ‘741).
In reference to claim 3
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 addresses:
The golf ball of claim 1, wherein a value of (surface area C/surface area B) + (surface area D/surface area A) is at least 13.0 (i.e., given Watanabe ‘334 Examples 7 and 8 (see Table 5) having a Cc of 53.4 and Cs-4 of 70.3 and the proposed combination including a Cs-Cc of (at least) 28.1, then in the proposed modification Cs = 53.4 + 28.1 = 81.5, surface area D = ½ × 4 × (81.5 - 70.3) = 22.4, and surface C/surface area B + surface area D/surface area A = 17/12.8 + 22.4/1.3 = 18.6).
In reference to claim 4
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 addresses:
The golf ball of claim 1, wherein the core is formed of a rubber composition containing the following components (A) to (D):
a base rubber (see Watanabe ‘334 Table 1 Examples 7 and 8),
(B) an organic peroxide (see Watanabe ‘334 Table 1 Examples 7 and 8),
(C) water (see Watanabe ‘334 Table 1 Examples 7 and 8) or a monocarboxylic acid metal salt,
(D) sulfur (see Watanabe ‘334 col.5:ll.53-67).
In reference to claim 5
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 addresses:
The golf ball of claim 4, wherein a content ratio of the components (D)(i.e., a value of 0.05 parts by weight - see Watanabe ‘334 col.6:ll.1-4) and (C)(i.e., 0.9 parts by weight - see Watanabe ‘334 Table 1 Examples 7 and 8) is 0.005 to 0.100 in a weight ratio of (D)/(C)(i.e., 0.05 ÷ 0.9 = 0.055).
In reference to claim 6
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 addresses:
The golf ball of claim 1, wherein an intermediate layer (3 - Watanabe ‘334) is formed between the core (Watanabe ‘334 - 1) and the cover (Watanabe ‘334 - 4).
In reference to claim 8
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 addresses:
The golf ball of claim 6, wherein a specific gravity of the intermediate layer is at least 1.05 (see Watanabe ‘334 col.12:ln.66 through col.13:ln.1).
In reference to claim 9
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 addresses:
The golf ball of claim 1, wherein, letting a deflection (mm) when the ball is compressed under a final load of 1,275 N (130 kgf) from an initial load of 98 N (10 kgf) be B (mm), the following two conditions are satisfied:
B ≥ 2.80 (i.e., 3.1 mm or 3.0 mm - see Watanabe ‘334 Table 5 Examples 7 and 8)
C-B ≥ 1.00 (4.7 - 3.1 = 1.6; 4.7 - 3.0 = 1.7).
In reference to claim 10
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 addresses:
The golf ball of claim 6, wherein a relationship between a core surface hardness, a surface hardness of a sphere (intermediate layer-encased sphere) in which the core is encased with the intermediate layer, and a surface hardness of a sphere (ball) in which the intermediate layer-encased sphere is encased with the cover satisfies the following condition:
ball surface hardness (i.e., 89 or 88 - see Watanabe ‘334 Table 5 Examples 7 and 8) < surface hardness of intermediate layer-encased sphere (i.e., 98 - see Watanabe ‘334 Table 5 Examples 7 and 8) > core surface hardness (i.e., 76.1 - see Watanabe ‘334 Table 5 Examples 7 and 8) (where the surface hardness of each sphere means Shore C hardness).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 and Watanabe ‘770 (US 2004/0142770; cited in an IDS).
In reference to claim 7
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 addresses:
The golf ball of claim 6.
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 does not address:
the intermediate layer contains an inorganic particulate filler.
Watanabe ‘770 discloses:
a golf ball comprising an intermediate layer having an inorganic particulate filler (see par. [0072); the inorganic particulate filler imbues a desired degree of resilience and/or crack durability (see par. [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ball of Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 to include an inorganic particulate filler in the intermediate layer, as disclosed by Watanabe ‘770, for the purpose of imbuing a desired degree of resilience and/or crack durability.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 and Watanabe et al. ‘384 (US 9,937,384 - hereafter referred to as Watanabe ‘384), and wherein Watanabe ‘770 is cited on an evidentiary basis.
In reference to claim 11
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 addresses:
The golf ball of claim 6.
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 does not address:
a difference between a specific gravity of the cover and a specific gravity of the intermediate layer is not more than 0.15, and a difference between the specific gravity of the intermediate layer and a specific gravity of the core is not more than 0.15.
Watanabe ‘384 discloses:
a golf ball comprising a core (1), an intermediate layer (3), and a cover (4), wherein a difference between the specific gravity of the cover and the specific gravity of the intermediate layer is not more than 0.15 (see corresponding values for Comparative Example 4 in Table 3), and wherein a difference between the specific gravity of the intermediate layer and a specific gravity of the core is not more than 0.15 (see corresponding values for Comparative Example 4 in Table 3).
Watanabe ‘770 teaches that, in a golf ball, the value of the specific gravity of a core (1) imbues a desired balance of flight and resilience/distance (see pars. [0038] to [0039]), the value of the specific gravity of an intermediate layer (2) imbues a desired balance of crack durability and resilience (see par. [0083]), and the value of the specific gravity of a cover / outer layer (3) imbues a desired balance of scuff resistance and resilience (see par. [0127]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ball of Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 to include a difference between a specific gravity of the cover and a specific gravity of the intermediate layer is not more than 0.15 and a difference between the specific gravity of the intermediate layer and a specific gravity of the core is not more than 0.15, as disclosed by Watanabe ‘384, for the purpose of imbuing a desired balance of a desired balance of flight and resilience/distance to the core, a desired balance of crack durability and resilience to the intermediate layer, and a desired balance of scuff resistance and resilience to the cover.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 and Watanabe et al. ‘299 (US 2020/0108299 - hereafter referred to as Watanabe ‘229).
In reference to claim 12
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 addresses:
The golf ball of claim 6.
Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 does not address:
a relationship between an initial velocity of the entire core, an initial velocity of a sphere (intermediate layer-encased sphere) in which the core is encased with the intermediate layer, and an initial velocity of a sphere (ball) in which the intermediate layer-encased sphere is encased with the cover satisfies the following two conditions:
(initial velocity of ball) < (initial velocity of intermediate layer-encased sphere)
0.65 ≤ (initial velocity of intermediate layer-encased sphere) - (initial velocity of entire core) ≤ 0.98 (m/s).
Watanabe ‘299 discloses:
a golf ball comprising a core (1) and an intermediate layer (2), wherein an initial velocity of the ball is less than (see par. [0113]) an initial velocity of the intermediate layer-encased sphere in order to achieve sufficient rebound (see par. [0113]), and a difference between the initial velocity of the intermediate layer-encased sphere and the initial velocity of the core can be 0.65 to 0.8 m/s (see par. [0109]) in order to achieve a desired balance of rebound and cracking durability (see par. [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ball of Watanabe ‘334 in view of Watanabe ‘741 to include an initial velocity of the ball is less than an initial velocity of the intermediate layer-encased sphere, as disclosed by Watanabe ‘299, in order to achieve sufficient rebound, and a difference between the initial velocity of the intermediate layer-encased sphere and the initial velocity of the core to be 0.65 to 0.8 m/s, as further disclosed by Watanabe ‘299, in order to achieve a desired balance of rebound and cracking durability.
Citations of Pertinent Art
The following art is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Watanabe et al. ‘580 (US 2020/0206580) discloses a Cs-Cc of up to 35.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711