Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species C in the reply filed on 07/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Applicant respectfully submits that the Requirement for Election/Restrictions should be withdrawn because there would not be a serious burden on the Examiner if restriction is not required. For the pending Restriction/Election Requirement to have been proper, the Examiner was required to show that, absent the restriction, there would be a serious burden on the Examiner.”. The arguments are not found persuasive because there is a different field of search for each indicated species - it is necessary to search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other invention(s). Example being Claims 7-9 claim a hood structure which the elected species C comprises, however, species A, B, and D-L does not have this hood feature and Species H discloses a spring feature 2200C that would not be present in any of the other species, and therefore there would be a different manner of searching and/or strategies that would result in a different art and therefore a search burden to examine all the different features of each species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “accordion pleats” of Claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “adjustment mechanism” in claims 14 and 16-20.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Claim 15 recites “wherein the first adjustment mechanism comprises a plurality of first loops on the first elastic connector and a first clip that is configured to couple to a selected one of the plurality of first loops, wherein the second adjustment mechanism comprises a plurality of second loops on the second elastic connector and a second clip that is configured to couple to a selected one of the plurality of second loops, and wherein the first clip is closer to the foot pad than the plurality of first loops when the first clip is decoupled from all of the plurality of first loops and the second clip is closer to the foot pad than the plurality of second loops when the second clip is decoupled from all of the plurality of second loops.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marti (US 20200086159 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Marti teaches a bed exercise system (Refer to Paragraph [0045]:” [0045] Moreover, because of the slider 110 can move on substantially any type of smooth surface, the lower limb therapy device 100 provides a means to support the weight of a user's lower limb and allow the limb to slide and glide even on uneven surfaces as a bed or therapy table.”), comprising: a foot pad 114,110 (Refer to Figs. 1&3) having a first lateral side, a second lateral side opposite the first lateral side, an upper side, and a lower side, wherein the foot pad further comprises a proximal surface and a distal surface opposite the proximal surface, wherein the proximal surface and the distal surface extend between the first lateral side, the second lateral side, the upper side, and the lower side, wherein the proximal surface is configured to engage one or more soles of one or more feet of an operator, wherein the foot pad comprises at least one foot retention structure 121,122 that is configured to couple the foot pad 114,110 to the one or more feet of the operator; a leg support member 111 extending proximally from the lower side of the foot pad 114, wherein the leg support member is configured to support one or more ankles and one or more legs of an operator when the one or more soles of the one or more feet of the operator engage the proximal surface of the foot pad (Refer to Fig. 3); a first elastic connector 120a having a first end coupled to a first lateral side of the foot pad 114,110 and a second end configured to couple to a patient support structure 123a,310 (Refer to Fig. 1…The Office considers the handles 123a a patient support since it supports a user’s hands while gripping); and a second elastic connector 120b,310 having a first end coupled to a second lateral side of the foot pad 114,110 and a second end configured to couple to the patient support structure 123b, wherein, when the second end of the first elastic connector 120a and the second end of the second elastic connector 120b are coupled to the patient support structure 123a,b/310: (i) the foot pad is movable between a first position and a second position relative to the patient support structure, and (ii) a tension on the first elastic connector and a tension on the second elastic connector increases as the foot pad moves from the first position to the second position (Refer to Figs. 9-12).
Regarding Claim 10, Marti continues to teach further comprising an anchor (straps) configured to couple to a patient support structure (Refer to Col 7 Lines 15-21:” The handles 123a, 123b may be constructed of or otherwise include foam. The handles 123a, 123b may be defined by a substantially cylindrical handle portion with a foam surface and a web type strap, with the web type strap connecting to the cord members 120a, 120b and to the handle portion to improve durability without sacrificing comfort.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Marti continues to teach wherein the first elastic connector 120a and the second elastic connector 120b are releasably coupled to the foot pad 114,110 (Refer to Fig. 2 to depict that the connection is a knot and therefore untying the knot would allow removal of the first and second elastic connector from the device).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-9, 11, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Marti is the closest prior art to the claimed invention but fails to teach the claimed invention as a whole further comprising wherein the at least one foot retention structure comprises a plurality of pockets, wherein each pocket has a closed end facing an upper side of the foot pad and an open end facing a lower side of the foot pad such that the foot retention structure is configured to receive at least a forefoot region of a respective foot; wherein the at least one foot retention structure comprises a flap of material having a hook and loop fastener on opposing lateral sides of the flap of material, wherein the foot pad comprises a corresponding hook and loop fastener, and wherein the hook and loop fastener of the flap of material is configured to couple to the hook and loop faster of the foot pad; wherein the at least one foot retention structure comprises a hood structure that is movable between a storage position on a back side of the foot pad and a retention position on a front side of the foot pad, and wherein, in the retention position, the hood structure is configured to retain at least a forefoot region of a pair of boots worn by a patient while soles of the pair of boots contact the front side of the foot pad; wherein the anchor comprises a band that is configured to extend around a width and a thickness of a mattress of a bed; wherein the first elastic connector comprises a first adjustment mechanism configured to adjust a length of the first elastic connector, and wherein the second elastic connector comprises a second adjustment mechanism configured to adjust a length of the second elastic connector as defined by 112(f) interpretation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to attach list of references cited for prior arts pertinent to claimed and unclaimed subject matter.
/NYCA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784