DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 19, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the “line (102)” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Figure 1, 3 and 6 are not of sufficient quality to permit examination. Accordingly, replacement drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to this Office action. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
Applicant is given a shortened statutory period of TWO (2) MONTHS to submit new drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.81. Extensions of time may be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(a) but in no case can any extension carry the date for reply to this letter beyond the maximum period of SIX MONTHS set by statute (35 U.S.C. 133). Failure to timely submit replacement drawing sheets will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 16 and 20 read:
-“ An insulator that supports a line from a pin”. “From a pin” is ambiguous. It is unclear whether the line is supported by the pin, relative to the pin, away from the pin, or extending from the pin. The phrase will be interpreted as “An insulator configured to support a line by a pin…”
Claim 8 recites: … configured to directly contact and support the line”. If the shell is over the core’s outer surface and the head is formed from the shell and the core, it is unclear how the core directly contacts the line unless the saddle is exposed or not covered by the shell.
Claims 16 read:- “a shell overmolded upon an outer surface of the core; and a head formed from the core and the shell, wherein the core defines a saddle that is concave toward the opening and configured to directly contact and support the line spaced from the pin.” The claim says:“a shell overmolded upon an outer surface of the core,” But later says: “the core defines a saddle … configured to directly contact and support the line”. If the shell is overmolded over the core’s outer surface and the head is formed from the shell and the core, it is unclear how the core directly contacts the line unless the saddle is exposed or not covered by the shell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mesples et al. (US 2025/0378976) in view of Baker (US 2013/0032379).
In regards to claim 1, Mesples et al. teaches an insulator (1, figure 1b) that supports a line (E) from a pin (6), the insulator (1) comprising: a core (7, inner portion of the upper part (3)) that defines an opening (cavity) configured to receive the pin (6, figure 1); a shell (2) formed from a dielectric material (paragraph [0020]) disposed over an outer surface of the core (3); and a head (see the figure below) formed from the core (7), and configured to support the line (E) spaced from the pin (6).
Mesples et al. does not explicitly teach the shell being a polymer.
Baker teaches the insulator body made of a polymer (epoxy resin polymer, paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the material of the insulator shell of a polymer material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tatem (US 4,443,659) teaches an insulator with a core filled an inorganic material. Ehlers (2,706,742) teaches a resin housing with a ceramic dielectric core.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848