DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 099/19/2024 has been received and fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 14-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20170254356A1 Brose et al. (hereinafter “Brose”).
Regarding claim 1, Brose discloses a body-worn supplied air respirator (See Fig. 6 generally; Paragraph 0005 discloses the unit is used to supply breathable air to a user of a breathing mask or breathing hood), comprising:
a belt bracket (32) (Fig. 6 hip belt 200, adapter 42);
a regulator housing (18) extending along a first axis (See Annotated Fig. 5A for designation of housing and first axis), wherein the regulator housing includes a breathing air flow regulator (Fig. 6 air regulator unit 1);
a breathing air hose connector (24) located downstream of the breathing air flow regulator (Fig. 7a shows connector 6; Paragraph 0044 discloses the connector is for an air hose); and
a rotational connection between the belt bracket and the regulator housing (Fig. 2A-B first screw 3, spring 4, second screw 5, through-hole 11, hexagonal frame 12, stop 14, locking grooves 15), wherein the rotational connection permits rotation of the regulator housing relative to the belt bracket about a second axis substantially perpendicular to the first axis (Figs. 5A-E show rotation of the regulator housing relative to the belt bracket about a second axis substantially perpendicular to the designated first axis), and
wherein the rotational connection allows the regulator housing to be rotated clockwise or counterclockwise to a plurality of predetermined rotational positions (Figs. 5A-E show the regulator housing may be rotated clockwise or counterclockwise to plurality of predetermined rotational positions; Examiner notes the locking grooves define the predetermined positions).
Regarding claim 5, Brose discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 1, and Brose further discloses further comprising a compressed air inlet (Fig. 7A air inlet connector 7; Paragraph 0044 discloses the inlet connector allows compressed air to be fed from an external air supply system into the regulator unit), and a breathing air hose extending from the breathing air hose connector to a helmet (Paragraph 0044 discloses connector 6 connects to a hose which leads to a breathing mask or hood (i.e. a helmet)).
Regarding claim 14, Brose discloses a body-worn supplied air respirator (See Fig. 6 generally; Paragraph 0005 discloses the unit is used to supply breathable air to a user of a breathing mask or breathing hood), comprising:
a belt bracket (Fig. 6 hip belt 200, adapter 42);
a regulator housing having a volumetric air flow regulator (See Annotated Fig. 5A for designation of housing; Fig. 6 air regulator unit 1);
a breathing air hose connector located downstream of the volumetric air flow regulator (Fig. 7a shows connector 6; Paragraph 0044 discloses the connector is for an air hose) and connected to the regulator housing via a rotational connection that permits the breathing air hose connector to rotate about a first axis (See Annotated Fig. 5A for designation of the first axis; Figs. 5A-E show rotation of the regulator housing relative to the belt bracket about a second axis substantially perpendicular to the designated first axis); and
a rotational connection between the belt bracket and the regulator housing (Fig. 2A-B first screw 3, spring 4, second screw 5, through-hole 11, hexagonal frame 12, stop 14, locking grooves 15),
wherein the rotational connection permits rotation of the regulator housing relative to the belt bracket about a second axis substantially perpendicular to the first axis (Figs. 5A-E show rotation of the regulator housing relative to the belt bracket about a second axis substantially perpendicular to the designated first axis; Examiner notes the second axis is the clockwise/counterclockwise direction of adjustment), and
wherein the rotational connection allows the regulator housing to be rotated clockwise or counterclockwise (Figs. 5A-E show clockwise/counterclockwise rotation).
Regarding claim 15, Brose discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 14, and Brose further discloses wherein the rotational connection allows the regulator housing to be rotated to a plurality of predetermined rotational positions (Fig. 2B locking grooves 15 allow the regulator to be rotated to predetermined positions).
Regarding claim 20, Brose discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 14, and Brose further discloses further comprising a compressed air inlet (Fig. 7A air inlet connector 7; Paragraph 0044 discloses the inlet connector allows compressed air to be fed from an external air supply system into the regulator unit), and a breathing air hose extending from the breathing air hose connector to a helmet (Paragraph 0044 discloses connector 6 connects to a hose which leads to a breathing mask or hood (i.e. a helmet)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 8-10, 13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brose in view of EP0065754A1 to Muller et al. (hereinafter “Muller”).
Regarding claim 2, Brose discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the rotational connection permits greater than 360 degrees of rotation of the regulator housing relative to the belt bracket. However, Muller teaches a coupling for a respiratory apparatus which permits greater than 360 degrees of rotation (Fig. 2 rotating ring 1, spreading elements 2, clamping element 4; Paragraphs 0006-0010 disclose the ring may be turned clockwise or counterclockwise).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotational connection of Brose to permit greater than 360 degrees of rotation, as taught by Muller, in order to provide an alternative means of making a rotational connection. Examiner notes that this modification would allow for greater rotational flexion of Brose’s air regulator housing due to 360 degrees capability.
Regarding claim 3, Brose discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the belt bracket includes an internal ring gear that defines the plurality of predetermined rotational positions. However, Muller teaches a coupling for a respiratory apparatus wherein the belt bracket includes an internal ring gear that defines the plurality of predetermined rotational positions (Fig. 2 rotating ring 1, spreading elements 2, gear teeth segments 2b, clamping element 4; Fig. 2 shows the predetermined positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotational connection of Brose to have the belt bracket including an internal ring gear that defines the plurality of predetermined rotational positions, as taught by Muller, in order to provide an alternative means of making a rotational connection. Examiner notes that this modification would allow for greater rotational flexion of Brose’s air regulator housing due to 360 degrees capability.
Regarding claim 4, Brose in view of Muller discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 3, and Brose as modified by Muller further discloses wherein the rotational connection includes a spring tooth that extends from a central hub of the rotational connection and engages a gap between respective gear teeth of the internal ring gear (Muller Fig. 2 tooth ring 3a engages with the toothed segments 2b in the central hub).
Regarding claim 8, Brose discloses a body-worn supplied air respirator (See Fig. 6 generally; Paragraph 0005 discloses the unit is used to supply breathable air to a user of a breathing mask or breathing hood), comprising:
a belt bracket (Fig. 6 hip belt 200, adapter 42);
a regulator housing extending along a first axis (See Annotated Fig. 5A for designation of housing and first axis), wherein the regulator housing includes a breathing air flow regulator (Fig. 6 air regulator unit 1);
a breathing air hose connector located downstream of the breathing air flow regulator (Fig. 7a shows connector 6; Paragraph 0044 discloses the connector is for an air hose); and
a rotational connection between the belt bracket and the regulator housing (Fig. 2A-B first screw 3, spring 4, second screw 5, through-hole 11, hexagonal frame 12, stop 14, locking grooves 15),
the belt bracket to permit rotation of the regulator housing relative to the belt bracket about a second axis substantially perpendicular to the first axis (Figs. 5A-E show rotation of the regulator housing relative to the belt bracket about a second axis substantially perpendicular to the designated first axis), and
wherein the rotational connection allows the regulator housing to be rotated clockwise or counterclockwise to a plurality of predetermined rotational positions (Figs. 5A-E show the regulator housing may be rotated clockwise or counterclockwise to plurality of predetermined rotational positions; Examiner notes the locking grooves define the predetermined positions).
Brose does not disclose an internal ring gear, wherein the rotational connection includes a spring tooth that engages the internal ring gear, and rotational positions defined by the internal ring gear. However, Muller teaches a coupling for a respiratory apparatus an internal ring gear, wherein the rotational connection includes a spring tooth that engages the internal ring gear, and rotational positions defined by the internal ring gear (Fig. 2 rotating ring 1, spreading elements 2, gear teeth segments 2b, clamping element 4; Fig. 2 shows the predetermined positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotational connection of Brose to have an internal ring gear, wherein the rotational connection includes a spring tooth that engages the internal ring gear, and rotational positions defined by the internal ring gear, as taught by Muller, in order to provide an alternative means of making a rotational connection. Examiner notes that this modification would allow for greater rotational flexion of Brose’s air regulator housing due to 360 degrees capability.
Regarding claim 9, Brose in view of Muller discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 8, and Brose as modified by Muller further discloses wherein the rotational connection permits greater than 360 degrees of rotation of the regulator housing relative to the belt bracket (Muller Fig. 2 rotating ring 1, spreading elements 2, clamping element 4; Paragraphs 0006-0010 disclose the ring may be turned clockwise or counterclockwise).
Regarding claim 10, Brose in view of Muller discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 8, and Borse as modified by Muller further discloses further comprising a compressed air inlet (Fig. 7A air inlet connector 7; Paragraph 0044 discloses the inlet connector allows compressed air to be fed from an external air supply system into the regulator unit), and a breathing air hose extending from the breathing air hose connector to a helmet (Paragraph 0044 discloses connector 6 connects to a hose which leads to a breathing mask or hood (i.e. a helmet)).
Regarding claim 13, Brose in view of Muller discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 8, and Brose as modified by Muller discloses wherein the internal ring gear includes teeth (Fig. 2 shows twelve gear teeth 2b). Brose as modified by Muller does not disclose at least 20 gear teeth. However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). In the instant case, the addition of 8 more teeth would not produce a new and unexpected result. Rather, a predictable result of more predetermined rotation positions would be achieved. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the twelve gear teeth to have at least 20 gear teeth as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 16, Brose discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 14, but does not disclose wherein the rotational connection permits greater than 360 degrees of rotation of the regulator housing relative to the belt bracket. However, Muller teaches a coupling for a respiratory apparatus which permits greater than 360 degrees of rotation (Fig. 2 rotating ring 1, spreading elements 2, clamping element 4; Paragraphs 0006-0010 disclose the ring may be turned clockwise or counterclockwise).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotational connection of Brose to permit greater than 360 degrees of rotation, as taught by Muller, in order to provide an alternative means of making a rotational connection. Examiner notes that this modification would allow for greater rotational flexion of Brose’s air regulator housing due to 360 degrees capability.
Regarding claim 17, Brose discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 14, but Brose does not disclose wherein the belt bracket includes an internal ring gear that defines the plurality of predetermined rotational positions. However, Muller teaches a coupling for a respiratory apparatus wherein the belt bracket includes an internal ring gear that defines the plurality of predetermined rotational positions (Fig. 2 rotating ring 1, spreading elements 2, gear teeth segments 2b, clamping element 4; Fig. 2 shows the predetermined positions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotational connection of Brose to have the belt bracket including an internal ring gear that defines the plurality of predetermined rotational positions, as taught by Muller, in order to provide an alternative means of making a rotational connection. Examiner notes that this modification would allow for greater rotational flexion of Brose’s air regulator housing due to 360 degrees capability.
Regarding claim 18, Brose in view of Muller discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 17, and Brose as modified by Muller further discloses wherein the rotational connection includes a spring tooth that extends from a central hub of the rotational connection and engages a gap between respective gear teeth of the internal ring gear (Muller Fig. 2 tooth ring 3a engages with the toothed segments 2b in the central hub).
Regarding claim 19, Brose in view of Muller discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 17, and Brose as modified by Muller discloses wherein the internal ring gear includes teeth (Fig. 2 shows twelve gear teeth 2b). Brose as modified by Muller does not disclose at least 20 gear teeth. However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B). In the instant case, the addition of 8 more teeth would not produce a new and unexpected result. Rather, a predictable result of more predetermined rotation positions would be achieved. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the twelve gear teeth to have at least 20 gear teeth as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claims 6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brose in view of EP0372859A2 Gamble et al. (hereinafter “Gamble”).
Regarding claim 6, Borse in view of Gamble discloses the body-worn supplied respirator of claim 5, and Borse further discloses the air regulator unit may be connected to a pressure display (Paragraph 0046). Brose does not explicitly disclose an inlet air pressure gauge. However, Gamble teaches a respiratory apparatus which has an inlet air pressure gauge (Col. 11 lines 15-22 disclose the connector 114 and flexible hose 116 displays pressure via pressure gauge 118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Brose to further include an air inlet pressure gauge, as taught by Gamble, in order to provide pressure readings for the user (Col. 11 lines 15-22).
Regarding claim 21, Brose discloses the body-worn supplied respirator of claim 20, and Borse further discloses the air regulator unit may be connected to a pressure display (Paragraph 0046). Brose does not explicitly disclose an inlet air pressure gauge. However, Gamble teaches a respiratory apparatus which has an inlet air pressure gauge (Col. 11 lines 15-22 disclose the connector 114 and flexible hose 116 displays pressure via pressure gauge 118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Borse to further include an air inlet pressure gauge, as taught by Gamble, in order to provide pressure readings for the user (Col. 11 lines 15-22).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brose in view of US20050186022A1 to Garraffa (hereinafter “Garraffa”).
Regarding claim 7, Brose discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 1, but Brose does not disclose wherein the breathing air hose connector is rotatable about the first axis. However, Garraffa teaches a sealed ball swivel for connection to a breathing hose which is rotatable (Figs. 2-3 air hose 14, ring boot 15, swivel connector 16, swivel ball 20, swivel socket 22, interface connector 18, connector 24; Paragraph 0016 discloses the swivel may be rotated during use).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the breathing hose connection of Brose to be rotatable about the first axis, as taught by Garraffa, in order to allow rotation of the breathing hose during use (Paragraph 0016). Examiner notes the modification results in an offset rotation about the designated first axis similar to Applicant’s Figure 3.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brose in view of Muller as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Gamble.
Regarding claim 11, Borse in view of Muller discloses the body-worn supplied respirator of claim 10, and Borse further discloses the air regulator unit may be connected to a pressure display (Paragraph 0046). Brose does not explicitly disclose an inlet air pressure gauge. However, Gamble teaches a respiratory apparatus which has an inlet air pressure gauge (Col. 11 lines 15-22 disclose the connector 114 and flexible hose 116 displays pressure via pressure gauge 118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Brose to further include an air inlet pressure gauge, as taught by Gamble, in order to provide pressure readings for the user (Col. 11 lines 15-22).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brose in view of Muller as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Garraffa.
Regarding claim 12, Brose in view of Muller discloses the body-worn supplied air respirator of claim 8, but does not disclose wherein the breathing air hose connector is rotatable about the first axis. However, Garraffa teaches a sealed ball swivel for connection to a breathing hose which is rotatable (Figs. 2-3 air hose 14, ring boot 15, swivel connector 16, swivel ball 20, swivel socket 22, interface connector 18, connector 24; Paragraph 0016 discloses the swivel may be rotated during use). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the breathing hose connection of Brose to be rotatable about the first axis, as taught by Garraffa, in order to allow rotation of the breathing hose during use (Paragraph 0016). Examiner notes the modification results in an offset rotation about the designated first axis similar to Applicant’s Figure 3.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20070235030-A1 to Teetzel; US-20100170515-A1 to Pan; US-20100304797-A1 to Yang; US-20130206806-A1 to Hu; US-20130228240-A1 to Noceti; US-20140026300-A1 to Silveira; US-20140060538-A1 to Volmer; US-20140102453-A1 to Cavaliere; US-20140116429-A1 to Patil; US-20150283409-A1 to Buck; US-20170372216-A1 to Awiszus; US-20180111013-A1 to Colorado; US-20180325205-A1 to Gardner; US-20190030377-A1 to Sharma; US-20190175412-A1 to Benton; US-20190192885-A1 to Dupjan; US-20200061397-A1 to Cantu; US-20200353194-A1 to Volmer; US-20210052427-A1 to Awiszus; US-20210052921-A1 to Tilley; US-20210308498-A1 to Mason; US-20220008757-A1 to Lawlor; US-20220015974-A1 to Gailey; US-20220126123-A1 to Lee; US-20220016447-A1 to Delaney; US-20220219023-A1 to Koberstein; US-20220296933-A1 to Godwin; US-4062356-A to Merrifield; US-4082092-A to Foster; US-4237917-A to Merrifield; US-5095899-A to Green; and US-5394870-A.
/TYLER A RAUBENSTRAW/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799