DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are canceled.
Claims 21-40 are newly added.
Claims 21-40 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/24/2024 and 06/05/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) has/have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 21-40 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/366,359. This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented. The claims are mapped as follows:
Instant Application 18/889,574
Copending Application 19/366,359
21. A method for updating user balances in a cryptographic transmission system based on values in an external system separate from the cryptographic transmission system, the cryptographic transmission system comprising a network of validation units, the network of validation units each storing a respective data structure indicating balances of a plurality of users in the cryptographic transmission system, the method comprising: using at least one computer hardware processor to perform: receiving from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users; determining, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and transmitting, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user, wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system.
1. A method for updating user balances in a cryptographic transmission system based on values in an external system separate from the cryptographic transmission system, the cryptographic transmission system comprising a network of validation units, the network of validation units each storing a respective data structure indicating balances of a plurality of users in the cryptographic transmission system, the method comprising: using at least one computer hardware processor to perform: receiving from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users; determining, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and transmitting, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user, wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system.
22. The method of claim 21, further comprising: generating the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user at least in part by cryptographically signing the first message with a cryptographic signature of an operator unit designated for initiating amounts in the cryptographic transmission system.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user at least in part by cryptographically signing the first message with a cryptographic signature of an operator unit designated for initiating amounts in the cryptographic transmission system.
23. The method of claim 21, further comprising: receiving from, the external system, an indication of a second value in the external system associated with a second user of the plurality of users; determining, based on the second value in the external system associated with the second user, a second amount to issue to a balance of the second user; and transmitting, to the network of validation units, a second message indicating the second amount to issue to the second user, wherein transmitting the second message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the second amount indicated by the second message to the balance of the second user.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving from, the external system, an indication of a second value in the external system associated with a second user of the plurality of users; determining, based on the second value in the external system associated with the second user, a second amount to issue to a balance of the second user; and transmitting, to the network of validation units, a second message indicating the second amount to issue to the second user, wherein transmitting the second message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the second amount indicated by the second message to the balance of the second user.
24. The method of claim 21, further comprising: receiving, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the first user to at least one recipient; validating, by each of at least some of the network of validation units, the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by: determining whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient; and when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient: cryptographically signing the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and transmitting, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the first user to at least one recipient; validating, by each of at least some of the network of validation units, the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by: determining whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient; and when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient: cryptographically signing the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and transmitting, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
25. The method of claim 24, further comprising performing, by the device: in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid: generating a validation certificate using the cryptographic signatures; and transmitting, to the at least one recipient and the network of validation units, the validation certificate, wherein transmission of the validation certificate triggers execution of the transmission from the first user to the at least one recipient.
5. The method of claim 4, further comprising performing, by the device: in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid: generating a validation certificate using the cryptographic signatures; and transmitting, to the at least one recipient and the network of validation units, the validation certificate, wherein transmission of the validation certificate triggers execution of the transmission from the first user to the at least one recipient.
26. The method of claim 24, further comprising performing, by at least some of the network of validation units :determining that the network of validation units has reached a consensus that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and in response to determining that the network of validation units has reached the consensus, updating respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures.
6. The method of claim 4, further comprising performing, by at least some of the network of validation units :determining that the network of validation units has reached a consensus that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and in response to determining that the network of validation units has reached the consensus, updating respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures.
27. The method of claim 24, further comprising performing, by at least some of the network of validation units: receiving, from the device, a validation certificate indicating that a threshold number of validation units have determined that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and in response to receiving the validation certificate, updating respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures
7. The method of claim 4, further comprising performing, by at least some of the network of validation units: receiving, from the device, a validation certificate indicating that a threshold number of validation units have determined that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and in response to receiving the validation certificate, updating respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures
28. The method of claim 21, further comprising: generating the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user by including, in the first message, information indicating a transmission of the first amount from a sender to the first user.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user by including, in the first message, information indicating a transmission of the first amount from a sender to the first user.
29 The method of claim 21, further comprising: receiving, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; validating, by each of at least some of the network of validation units, the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by: determining whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; and when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the external system: cryptographically signing the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and transmitting, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; validating, by each of at least some of the network of validation units, the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by: determining whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; and when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the external system: cryptographically signing the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and transmitting, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
30. The method of claim 29, further comprising: in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid: transmitting a second value, based on the second amount, to the first user in the external system.
10. The method of claim 9, further comprising: in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid: transmitting a second value, based on the second amount, to the first user in the external system.
31. A cryptographic transmission system comprising: a network of validation units each storing a respective data structure indicating balances of a plurality of users in the cryptographic transmission system; and at least one computer hardware processor configured to: receive from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users; determine, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and transmit, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user, wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system.
11. A cryptographic transmission system comprising: a network of validation units each storing a respective data structure indicating balances of a plurality of users in the cryptographic transmission system; and at least one computer hardware processor configured to: receive from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users; determine, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and transmit, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user, wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system.
32. The system of claim 31, wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to: generate the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user at least in part by cryptographically signing the first message with a cryptographic signature of an operator unit designated for initiating amounts in the cryptographic transmission system.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to: generate the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user at least in part by cryptographically signing the first message with a cryptographic signature of an operator unit designated for initiating amounts in the cryptographic transmission system.
33. The system of claim 31, wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to: receive from, the external system, an indication of a second value in the external system associated with a second user of the plurality of users; determine, based on the second value in the external system associated with the second user, a second amount to issue to a balance of the second user; and transmit, to the network of validation units, a second message indicating the second amount to issue to the second user, wherein transmitting the second message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the second amount indicated by the second message to the balance of the second user.
13. The system of claim 11, wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to: receive from, the external system, an indication of a second value in the external system associated with a second user of the plurality of users; determine, based on the second value in the external system associated with the second user, a second amount to issue to a balance of the second user; and transmit, to the network of validation units, a second message indicating the second amount to issue to the second user, wherein transmitting the second message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the second amount indicated by the second message to the balance of the second user.
34. The system of claim 31, wherein: the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to receive, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the first user to at least one recipient; and each of at least some of the network of validation units is configured to validate the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by performing: determine whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient; and when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient: cryptographically sign the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and transmit, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
14. The system of claim 11, wherein: the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to receive, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the first user to at least one recipient; and each of at least some of the network of validation units is configured to validate the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by performing: determine whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient; and when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient: cryptographically sign the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and transmit, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
35. The system of claim 34, further comprising the device, wherein the device is configured to: in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid: generate a validation certificate using the cryptographic signatures; and transmit, to the at least one recipient and the network of validation units, the validation certificate, wherein transmission of the validation certificate triggers execution of the transmission from the first user to the at least one recipient.
15. The system of claim 14, further comprising the device, wherein the device is configured to: in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid: generate a validation certificate using the cryptographic signatures; and transmit, to the at least one recipient and the network of validation units, the validation certificate, wherein transmission of the validation certificate triggers execution of the transmission from the first user to the at least one recipient.
36. The system of claim 34, wherein at least some of the network of validation units are configured to: determine that the network of validation units has reached a consensus that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and in response to determining that the network of validation units has reached the consensus, update respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein at least some of the network of validation units are configured to: determine that the network of validation units has reached a consensus that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and in response to determining that the network of validation units has reached the consensus, update respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures.
37. The system of claim 34, wherein at least some of the network of validation units are configured to: receive, from the device, a validation certificate indicating that a threshold number of validation units have determined that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and in response to receiving the validation certificate, update respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures
17. The system of claim 14, wherein at least some of the network of validation units are configured to: receive, from the device, a validation certificate indicating that a threshold number of validation units have determined that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and in response to receiving the validation certificate, update respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures
38. The system of claim 31, wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to: generate the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user by including, in the first message, information indicating a transmission of the first amount from a sender to the first user.
18. The system of claim 11, wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to: generate the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user by including, in the first message, information indicating a transmission of the first amount from a sender to the first user.
39. The system of claim 31, wherein: the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to receive, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; and each of at least some of the network of validation units are configured to validate the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by performing: determine whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; and when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the external system: cryptographically sign the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and transmit, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
19. The system of claim 11, wherein: the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to receive, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; and each of at least some of the network of validation units are configured to validate the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by performing: determine whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; and when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the external system: cryptographically sign the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and transmit, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
40. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method for updating user balances in a cryptographic transmission system based on values in an external system separate from the cryptographic transmission system, the cryptographic transmission system comprising a network of validation units, the network of validation units each storing a respective data structure indicating balances of a plurality of users in the cryptographic transmission system, the method comprising: receiving from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users; determining, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and transmitting, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user, wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method for updating user balances in a cryptographic transmission system based on values in an external system separate from the cryptographic transmission system, the cryptographic transmission system comprising a network of validation units, the network of validation units each storing a respective data structure indicating balances of a plurality of users in the cryptographic transmission system, the method comprising: receiving from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users; determining, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and transmitting, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user, wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter (See MPEP § 2106.03, subsections I and II). Claims 21-30 are directed to a computer-implemented method (i.e., process). Claims 31-39 are directed to a computer-implemented system (i.e., machine, and manufacture). Claim 40 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (i.e., manufacture). Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Prong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1)). Claims 21, 31 and 40 under a broadest reasonable interpretation recite an abstract idea because the claims describe updating user balances based on received values, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II). The claim limitations reciting the abstract idea are grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas because the limitations describe fundamental economic principles or practices, including mitigating risk, and describe commercial or legal interactions, including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
Claim 21:
A method for updating user balances in a cryptographic transmission system based on values in an external system separate from the cryptographic transmission system, the cryptographic transmission system comprising a network of validation units, the network of validation units each storing a respective data structure indicating balances of a plurality of users in the cryptographic transmission system, the method comprising:
using at least one computer hardware processor to perform:
receiving from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users;
determining, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and
transmitting, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user,
wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system.
Claim 31:
A cryptographic transmission system comprising:
a network of validation units each storing a respective data structure indicating balances of a plurality of users in the cryptographic transmission system; and
at least one computer hardware processor configured to:
receive from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users;
determine, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and
transmit, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user,
wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system.
Claim 40:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method for updating user balances in a cryptographic transmission system based on values in an external system separate from the cryptographic transmission system, the cryptographic transmission system comprising a network of validation units, the network of validation units each storing a respective data structure indicating balances of a plurality of users in the cryptographic transmission system, the method comprising:
receiving from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users;
determining, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and
transmitting, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user,
wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Prong Two asks does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(2)). Here, the additional elements individually and in combination, are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional elements merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). The description of the additional elements evidences that they are generic and conventional elements used as tools to perform the abstract idea (See Spec. 0040-0045, 0049, 0053, 0059-0060). These additional elements do not improve the functioning of computers, another technology, or a technical field (MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a)). They do not apply the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2)). They do not implement the abstract idea with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim (MPEP § 2106.05(b)). They do not transform or reduce a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP § 2106.05(c)). Nor do they apply the abstract idea in a meaningful way or impose a meaningful limit on it beyond linking its use to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(e)). Such a generic computer implementation does not make the abstract idea patent eligible because a wholly generic computer implementation is not generally the sort of additional feature that provides any practical assurance that the process is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the abstract idea itself. The Specification and the claim language provide evidence that the focus of the claim is not on a specific improvement in technology but rather on a scheme, for which generic and conventional elements are invoked merely as a tool to implement the abstract idea and link it to a particular field of use. Even if the Specification describes technical improvements, they are not claimed. Thus, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above.
Step 2B
Step 2B determines whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP § 2106.05). Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Individually, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed previously, the description of the additional elements evidences that they are generic and conventional elements used as tools to perform the abstract idea (See Spec. 0040-0045, 0049, 0053, 0059-0060). There is nothing in the Specification to indicate that the operations recited in the claims require any specialized hardware or inventive computer components or that the claimed invention is implemented using other than generic computer components to perform generic computer functions. As such, the additional elements merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The ordered combination recites no more than the individual elements do. Thus, the additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above without significantly more. The claims are not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Dependent Claims
Claim 22 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
generating the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user at least in part by cryptographically signing the first message with a cryptographic signature of an operator unit designated for initiating amounts in the cryptographic transmission system.
Claim 23 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
receiving from, the external system, an indication of a second value in the external system associated with a second user of the plurality of users;
determining, based on the second value in the external system associated with the second user, a second amount to issue to a balance of the second user; and
transmitting, to the network of validation units, a second message indicating the second amount to issue to the second user,
wherein transmitting the second message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the second amount indicated by the second message to the balance of the second user.
Claim 24 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
receiving, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the first user to at least one recipient;
validating, by each of at least some of the network of validation units, the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by:
determining whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient; and
when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient:
cryptographically signing the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and
transmitting, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
Claim 25 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
performing, by the device:
in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid:
generating a validation certificate using the cryptographic signatures; and
transmitting, to the at least one recipient and the network of validation units, the validation certificate,
wherein transmission of the validation certificate triggers execution of the transmission from the first user to the at least one recipient.
Claim 26 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by consensus and signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
performing, by at least some of the network of validation units:
determining that the network of validation units has reached a consensus that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and
in response to determining that the network of validation units has reached the consensus, updating respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures.
Claim 27 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by consensus and signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
performing, by at least some of the network of validation units:
receiving, from the device, a validation certificate indicating that a threshold number of validation units have determined that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and
in response to receiving the validation certificate, updating respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures
Claim 28 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
generating the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user by including, in the first message, information indicating a transmission of the first amount from a sender to the first user.
Claim 29 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
receiving, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system;
validating, by each of at least some of the network of validation units, the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by:
determining whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; and
when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the external system:
cryptographically signing the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and
transmitting, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
Claim 30 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by consensus and signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid:
transmitting a second value, based on the second amount, to the first user in the external system.
Claim 32 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to:
generate the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user at least in part by cryptographically signing the first message with a cryptographic signature of an operator unit designated for initiating amounts in the cryptographic transmission system.
Claim 33 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to:
receive from, the external system, an indication of a second value in the external system associated with a second user of the plurality of users;
determine, based on the second value in the external system associated with the second user, a second amount to issue to a balance of the second user; and
transmit, to the network of validation units, a second message indicating the second amount to issue to the second user,
wherein transmitting the second message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the second amount indicated by the second message to the balance of the second user.
Claim 34 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to
receive, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the first user to at least one recipient; and
each of at least some of the network of validation units is configured to
validate the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by performing:
determine whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient; and
when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient:
cryptographically sign the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and
transmit, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
Claim 35 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by consensus and signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
the device, wherein the device is configured to:
in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid:
generate a validation certificate using the cryptographic signatures; and
transmit, to the at least one recipient and the network of validation units, the validation certificate,
wherein transmission of the validation certificate triggers execution of the transmission from the first user to the at least one recipient.
Claim 36 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by consensus and signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein at least some of the network of validation units are configured to:
determine that the network of validation units has reached a consensus that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and
in response to determining that the network of validation units has reached the consensus, update respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures.
Claim 37 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by consensus and signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein at least some of the network of validation units are configured to:
receive, from the device, a validation certificate indicating that a threshold number of validation units have determined that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and
in response to receiving the validation certificate, update respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures
Claim 38 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to:
generate the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user by including, in the first message, information indicating a transmission of the first amount from a sender to the first user.
Claim 39 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes updating user balances based on received values and validation by signature, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to
receive, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; and
each of at least some of the network of validation units are configured to validate the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by performing:
determine whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; and
when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the external system:
cryptographically sign the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and
transmit, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-27, 29-30, 34-37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Lack of Antecedent Basis
Claims 24, 29, 34 and 39 recite "the validation unit" without proper antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is needed. Therefore, these claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claims 25-27, 30, and 35-37 are also rejected per dependency upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0374886 A1 to Micali et al. (“Micali”).
Claim 21:
Micali discloses a method comprising:
using at least one computer hardware processor to perform: (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038)
receiving from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users; (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
determining, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
transmitting, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user, (0033, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0058, 0097)
wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system. (0045, 0049)
Claim 22:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 1. Micali further discloses:
generating the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user at least in part by cryptographically signing the first message with a cryptographic signature of an operator unit designated for initiating amounts in the cryptographic transmission system. (0031, 0059)
Claim 23:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 1. Micali further discloses:
receiving from, the external system, an indication of a second value in the external system associated with a second user of the plurality of users; (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
determining, based on the second value in the external system associated with the second user, a second amount to issue to a balance of the second user; and (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
transmitting, to the network of validation units, a second message indicating the second amount to issue to the second user, (0033, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0058, 0097)
wherein transmitting the second message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the second amount indicated by the second message to the balance of the second user. (0045, 0049)
Claim 24:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 1. Micali further discloses:
receiving, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the first user to at least one recipient; (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
validating, by each of at least some of the network of validation units, the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by: (0033, 0038, 0042, 0051, 0053-0056, 0058, 0063, 0097)
determining whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient; and (0024, 0045, 0049)
when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient: (0024, 0045, 0049)
cryptographically signing the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and (0031, 0059)
transmitting, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message. (0033, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0058, 0097)
Claim 25:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 4. Micali further discloses:
performing, by the device: (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038)
in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid: (0030-0031)
generating a validation certificate using the cryptographic signatures; and (0047, 0051-0055, 0064, 0098)
transmitting, to the at least one recipient and the network of validation units, the validation certificate, (0047, 0051-0055, 0064, 0098)
wherein transmission of the validation certificate triggers execution of the transmission from the first user to the at least one recipient. (0045, 0049)
Claim 26:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 4. Micali further discloses:
performing, by at least some of the network of validation units: (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038, 0042)
determining that the network of validation units has reached a consensus that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and (0042, 0051)
in response to determining that the network of validation units has reached the consensus (0042, 0051), updating respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures. (0045, 0049)
Claim 27:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 4. Micali further discloses:
performing, by at least some of the network of validation units: (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038, 0042)
receiving, from the device, a validation certificate indicating that a threshold number of validation units have determined that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and (0047, 0051-0055, 0064, 0098)
in response to receiving the validation certificate (0047, 0051-0055, 0064, 0098), updating respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures (0045, 0049)
Claim 28:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 1. Micali further discloses:
generating the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user by including, in the first message, information indicating a transmission of the first amount from a sender to the first user. (0033, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0058, 0097)
Claim 29:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 1. Micali further discloses:
receiving, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
validating, by each of at least some of the network of validation units, the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by: (0033, 0038, 0042, 0051, 0053-0056, 0058, 0063, 0097)
determining whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; and (0024, 0045, 0049)
when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the external system: (0024, 0045, 0049)
cryptographically signing the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and (0031, 0059)
transmitting, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message. (0033, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0058, 0097)
Claim 30:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 9. Micali further discloses:
in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid: (0030-0031)
transmitting a second value, based on the second amount, to the first user in the external system. (0045, 0049)
Claim 31:
Micali discloses a system comprising:
a network of validation units each storing a respective data structure indicating balances of a plurality of users in the cryptographic transmission system; and (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038, 0042)
at least one computer hardware processor configured to: (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038)
receive from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users; (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
determine, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
transmit, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user, (0033, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0058, 0097)
wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system. (0045, 0049)
Claim 32:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 11. Micali further discloses:
wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to: (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038)
generate the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user at least in part by cryptographically signing the first message with a cryptographic signature of an operator unit designated for initiating amounts in the cryptographic transmission system. (0031, 0059)
Claim 33:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 11. Micali further discloses:
wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to: (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038)
receive from, the external system, an indication of a second value in the external system associated with a second user of the plurality of users; (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
determine, based on the second value in the external system associated with the second user, a second amount to issue to a balance of the second user; and (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
transmit, to the network of validation units, a second message indicating the second amount to issue to the second user, (0033, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0058, 0097)
wherein transmitting the second message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the second amount indicated by the second message to the balance of the second user. (0045, 0049)
Claim 34:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 11. Micali further discloses:
the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038)
receive, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the first user to at least one recipient; (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
each of at least some of the network of validation units is configured to (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038, 0042)
validate the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by performing: (0033, 0038, 0042, 0051, 0053-0056, 0058, 0063, 0097)
determine whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient; and (0024, 0045, 0049)
when it is determined that the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount to the at least one recipient: (0024, 0045, 0049)
cryptographically sign the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and (0031, 0059)
transmit, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message. (0033, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0058, 0097)
Claim 35:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 14. Micali further discloses:
the device, wherein the device is configured to: (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038)
in response to receiving, from the network of validation units, a threshold number of cryptographic signatures indicating that the transmission requested by the second message is valid: (0030-0031)
generate a validation certificate using the cryptographic signatures; and (0047, 0051-0055, 0064, 0098)
transmit, to the at least one recipient and the network of validation units, the validation certificate, (0047, 0051-0055, 0064, 0098)
wherein transmission of the validation certificate triggers execution of the transmission from the first user to the at least one recipient. (0045, 0049)
Claim 36:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 4. Micali further discloses:
wherein at least some of the network of validation units are configured to: (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038, 0042)
determine that the network of validation units has reached a consensus that the transmission requested by the second message is valid (0042, 0051)
in response to determining that the network of validation units has reached the consensus (0042, 0051), update respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures. (0045, 0049)
Claim 37:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 4. Micali further discloses:
wherein at least some of the network of validation units are configured to: (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038, 0042)
receive, from the device, a validation certificate indicating that a threshold number of validation units have determined that the transmission requested by the second message is valid; and (0047, 0051-0055, 0064, 0098)
in response to receiving the validation certificate (0047, 0051-0055, 0064, 0098), update respective data structures by updating the balance of the first user in the respective data structures and updating at least one balance of the at least one recipient in the respective data structures (0045, 0049)
Claim 38:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 11. Micali further discloses:
wherein the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038)
generate the first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user by including, in the first message, information indicating a transmission of the first amount from a sender to the first user. (0033, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0058, 0097)
Claim 39:
Micali discloses all limitations of claim 11. Micali further discloses:
the at least one computer hardware processor is further configured to (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038)
receive, from a device by the network of validation units, a second message requesting transmission of a second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
each of at least some of the network of validation units are configured to validate the transmission requested by the second message at least in part by performing: (0033, 0038, 0042, 0051, 0053-0056, 0058, 0063, 0097)
determine whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system; and (0024, 0045, 0049)
determine whether the balance of the first user is sufficient to complete the transmission of the second amount from the balance of the first user to the external system: (0024, 0045, 0049)
cryptographically sign the second message with a cryptographic signature of the validation unit indicating that the transmission is valid to obtain a cryptographically signed second message; and (0031, 0059)
transmit, to the device, the cryptographically signed second message. (0033, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0058, 0097)
Claim 40:
Micali discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method for updating user balances in a cryptographic transmission system based on values in an external system separate from the cryptographic transmission system, the cryptographic transmission system comprising a network of validation units, the network of validation units each storing a respective data structure indicating balances of a plurality of users in the cryptographic transmission system, the method comprising (Fig.1, Fig.5, 0038)
receiving from, the external system, an indication of a first value in the external system associated with a first user of the plurality of users; (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
determining, based on the first value in the external system associated with the first user, a first amount to issue to a balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system; and (0024, 0026, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0054-0056, 0096)
transmitting, to the network of validation units, a first message indicating the first amount to issue to the first user, (0033, 0042, 0051, 0053, 0058, 0097)
wherein transmitting the first message causes the network of validation units to update respective data structures at least in part by adding the first amount indicated by the first message to the balance of the first user in the cryptographic transmission system. (0045, 0049)
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0385460 A1 to Guo et al. discloses: The disclosed embodiments provide a distributed transaction system including a group of validator nodes that are known to each other in a network but are indistinguishable to other network nodes. The validator nodes form a Committee including a Leader node and one or more Associate nodes configured to receive and process transaction requests, for example, to add new blocks to one or more blockchains. The Committee may be dynamically changed, such that new network nodes may be added to the Committee or may replace existing validator nodes. The Associate nodes also may coordinate with each other to select a new Leader node. The disclosed embodiments reduce the distributed system's reliance on the stability of any particular node(s) in the network, as the validator nodes in the Committee may be changed at a sufficient frequency to remove unreliable, unavailable, or otherwise untrusted nodes. Further, the disclosed embodiments provide a scheme that helps ensure the Leader node, as well as the other Committee members, functions properly.
US 2019/0279210 A1 to Pen discloses: A novel architecture for a infinitely scalable cryptocurrency system is disclosed in the form of multilevel tree hierarchy of blockchains, where the hash for each block in each blockchain is not only passed to the next block in that blockchain, but is also passed to at least one other blockchain on another level to be included in its own hashes, such that no change can be made in any of the blockchains in the hierarchy without recomputing them all. To facilitate maintaining these multiple levels of blockchains, a novel proof of connectivity lottery method is disclosed whereby all active devices connected online associated with a particular blockchain exchange messages where a hash that cannot be controlled by any particular device determines the winner of the lottery. To expedite transmission of messages in a peer-to-peer network, a further innovation is disclosed in the form of a nested propagation network, where an ordered register of devices online is divided into successively sub-divided segments, which can then be used to complete propagation of a message across the peer-to-peer network in a minimum number of theoretical hops.
/ARI SHAHABI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697