DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to the communications received 11/27/2024. Claims 1-3 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/19/2024 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Applicant’s Claim to Figure Comparison
It is noted that this comparison is merely for the benefit of reviewers of this office action during prosecution, to allow for an understanding of the examiner’s interpretation of the Applicant’s independent claims as compared to disclosed embodiments in Applicant’s Figures. No response or comments are necessary from Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, a superjunction semiconductor device (50), comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (40) containing silicon carbide, the semiconductor substrate having an active region (10) and a termination region (30) surrounding a periphery of the active region in a plan view of the superjunction semiconductor device (not shown), the semiconductor substrate having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to each other (see Fig. 1);
a first semiconductor layer (4) of a second conductivity type (p-type, see [0035]), provided in the semiconductor substrate at the first main surface thereof (see Fig. 1), the first semiconductor layer having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other, the second surface facing the second main surface of the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 1);
a parallel pn layer (51) in which a plurality of regions (52) of a first conductivity type (n-type) and a plurality of regions (53) of the second conductivity type are disposed alternating with each other in a direction (X direction) parallel to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 1), the parallel pn layer being provided in the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 1), in both the active region and the termination region (see Figs. 1 and 2);
a first semiconductor region (5) of the first conductivity type, selectively provided in the first semiconductor layer, at the first surface of the first semiconductor layer, in the active region (see Fig. 1);
a plurality of trenches (7) penetrating through the first semiconductor region and the first semiconductor layer, each trench terminating in the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 1);
a plurality of gate insulating films (8) respectively provided in the plurality of trenches (see Fig. 1);
a plurality of gate electrodes (9) respectively provided in the plurality of trenches on the plurality of gate insulating films (see Fig. 1);
a first electrode (15) provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 1), the first electrode being electrically connected to the first semiconductor region (see [0043]);
a second electrode (16) provided on the second main surface of the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 1); and
a third semiconductor region (33) of the second conductivity type, selectively provided in the termination region between the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate and the parallel pn layer (see Fig. 2), the third semiconductor region surrounding the periphery of the active region in the plan view (not shown) and configuring a voltage withstanding structure (see [0045]), the third semiconductor region being electrically connected to the first electrode (see [0056]), wherein
each of the plurality of regions of the second conductivity type in the parallel pn layer includes a plurality of sub-regions (53a) of the second conductivity type stacked on one another, the plurality of sub-regions including a topmost sub-region that is closest to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (see [0057] and Fig. 2), and
the third semiconductor region is formed at least partially by the plurality of topmost sub-regions in the termination region (see [0057] and Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (US 7,541,643 B2, published 06/02/2009) in view of Furuhashi et al. (US 10,529,799 B2, published 01/07/2020) in view of Eguchi et al. (US 9,972,713 B2, published 05/15/2018).
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 1-3 of Ono disclose a superjunction semiconductor device (“The present invention relates to a semiconductor device, more particularly, a semiconductor device with a so-called Super Junction structure”, col. 1, lines 14-16), comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (together “substrate 1”, col. 4, lines 5-6 and the other elements in the region denoted “Sub” in Fig. 1 form a semiconductor substrate) containing silicon carbide (Ono does not disclose a substrate containing silicon carbide, however a secondary reference will be used to teach this limitation below), the semiconductor substrate having an active region and a termination region (“The Super Junction structure is formed not only in the device region where the MOSFETs are formed, but also in the end region outside of the device region”, col. 5, lines 10-13) surrounding a periphery of the active region in a plan view of the superjunction semiconductor device (“Additionally, compared to the breakdown voltage in a device region where a MOSFET is formed, the breakdown voltage in an end region surrounding the device region must be set higher. Otherwise a breakdown voltage in the whole semiconductor device is determined by that in the end region”, col. 1, lines 50-55, thus End Region surrounds the Device Region, and will therefore surround a periphery of the active region in a plan view), the semiconductor substrate having a first main surface and a second main surface opposite to each other (as seen in Fig. 1, Sub has a top surface that is a first main surface, and a bottom surface that is a second main surface, where the top surface and the bottom surface of Sub are opposite to each other);
a first semiconductor layer of a second conductivity type (the portion of “p-type base layer 3”, col. 4, line 22, in the Device Region is a first semiconductor layer that is p-type), provided in the semiconductor substrate at the first main surface thereof (as seen in Fig. 1, 1 is provided at the top surface of Sub), the first semiconductor layer having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (as seen in Fig. 1, 1 has a top surface that is a first surface, and a bottom surface that is a second surface, where the top surface and the bottom surface of 3 are opposite to each other), the second surface facing the second main surface of the semiconductor substrate (as seen in Fig. 1, the bottom surface of 3 is facing the bottom surface of Sub);
a parallel pn layer (as seen in Fig. 1, “n-type pillar layer 5”, col. 4, lines 6 and 7, and “p-type pillar layer 2”, col. 4, line 7, form a parallel pn layer) on in which a plurality of regions of a first conductivity type and a plurality of regions of the second conductivity type are disposed alternating with each other in a direction parallel to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (as seen in Fig. 1, n-type 5 and p-type 2 are disposed alternating with each other in the horizontal direction which is parallel to the top surface of Sub), the parallel pn layer being provided in the semiconductor substrate, in both the active region and the termination region (as seen in Fig. 1, 5 and 2 are provided in Sub in both the Device Region and the End Region);
a first semiconductor region of the first conductivity type (“n-type source diffusion layer 4”, col. 4, lines 23-24), selectively provided in the first semiconductor layer, at the first surface of the first semiconductor layer, in the active region (as seen in Fig. 1, 4 is selectively provided in 3, at the top surface of 3, in the Device Region);
a plurality of trenches (the regions filled by “gate electrode 9”, col. 4, line 28, and “gate insulating film 8”, col. 4, lines 28-29 are a plurality of trenches) penetrating through the first semiconductor region and the first semiconductor layer, each trench terminating in the semiconductor substrate (as seen in Fig. 1, 8 and 9 penetrate through 4 and 3, and terminate in Sub);
a plurality of gate insulating films (8 are a plurality of gate insulating films) respectively provided in the plurality of trenches (as discussed above, the plurality of trenches includes 8);
a plurality of gate electrodes (9 are a plurality of gate electrodes) respectively provided in the plurality of trenches on the plurality of gate insulating films (as discussed above, the plurality of trenches includes 9);
a first electrode (“source electrode 7”, col. 4, line 37) provided on the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (as seen in Fig. 1, 7 is on the top surface of Sub), the first electrode being electrically connected to the first semiconductor region (as seen in Fig. 1, 7 is directly connected to 4, and will therefore be electrically connected);
a second electrode (“drain electrode 6”, col. 4, line 15) provided on the second main surface of the semiconductor substrate (as seen in Fig. 1, 6 is on the bottom surface of Sub); and
a third semiconductor region of the second conductivity type (the portion of 3 in the End Region is a third semiconductor layer that is p-type), selectively provided in the termination region between the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate and the parallel pn layer (as seen in Fig. 1, 3 in the End Region is selectively provided between the top surface of Sub and 2/5), the third semiconductor region surrounding the periphery of the active region in the plan view (as 3 is in the End Region, and the End Region surrounds the periphery of the active region in the plan view, 3 will necessarily surround the periphery of the active region in the plan view) and configuring a voltage withstanding structure (“The p-type base layer 3 is formed not only in the device region but also partly formed extending in the end region to improve the breakdown voltage property”, col. 4, lines 26-28, thus as an improved breakdown voltage increases the voltage the device is able to withstand, 3 serves as a voltage withstanding structure), the third semiconductor region being electrically connected to the first electrode (as seen in Fig. 1, 3 in the End Region is directly connected to 7, and will therefore be electrically connected).
Ono fails to disclose “a semiconductor substrate containing silicon carbide;
each of the plurality of regions of the second conductivity type in the parallel pn layer includes a plurality of sub-regions of the second conductivity type stacked on one another, the plurality of sub-regions including a topmost sub-region that is closest to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, and
the third semiconductor region is formed at least partially by the plurality of topmost sub-regions in the termination region.”
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Figs. 1-13 of Furuhashi teach a semiconductor substrate containing silicon carbide (“n-type semiconductor substrate 3 formed of silicon carbide”, col. 8, lines 39-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “a semiconductor substrate containing silicon carbide” as taught by Furuhashi in the system of Ono for the purpose of specifying a material of the substrate.
Ono in combination with Furuhashi fails to disclose “each of the plurality of regions of the second conductivity type in the parallel pn layer includes a plurality of sub-regions of the second conductivity type stacked on one another, the plurality of sub-regions including a topmost sub-region that is closest to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, and
the third semiconductor region is formed at least partially by the plurality of topmost sub-regions in the termination region.”
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Fig. 34-35C of Eguchi teach each of the plurality of regions of the second conductivity type in the parallel pn layer includes a plurality of sub-regions of the second conductivity type stacked on one another (“In the semiconductor device according to First Embodiment, the impurity concentration of each of these column regions is made uniform in the depth direction extending from the upper surface to the lower surface of the epitaxial layer EPI. In the semiconductor device according to Third Embodiment, on the other hand, the impurity concentration of each of these column regions is made different in the depth direction extending from the upper surface to the lower surface of the epitaxial layer EPI”, thus as seen in Fig. 34, the column regions can be formed can be formed of sub-regions differentiated by doping concentration, here the column regions of Eguchi are equivalent to 2 and 5 of Ono, thus 2 and 5 of Ono can be substituted with a stack of sub-regions, specifically p-type sub-regions for 2 of Ono), the plurality of sub-regions including a topmost sub-region that is closest to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate (as seen in Fig. 34, “the plurality of first p type column regions PC1”, col. 33, lines 26-27, and “the plurality of third p type column regions PC3”, col. 33, line 35, have topmost sub-regions and after combination, these topmost sub-regions will be closest to the upper surface of Sub of Ono), and
the third semiconductor region is formed at least partially by the plurality of topmost sub-regions in the termination region (after the combination of Ono and Eguchi, 3 of Ono in the End Region of Ono will be formed at least partially by the plurality of topmost sub-regions of the column regions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement “each of the plurality of regions of the second conductivity type in the parallel pn layer includes a plurality of sub-regions of the second conductivity type stacked on one another, the plurality of sub-regions including a topmost sub-region that is closest to the first main surface of the semiconductor substrate, and
the third semiconductor region is formed at least partially by the plurality of topmost sub-regions in the termination region” as taught by Eguchi in the system of Ono in combination with Furuhashi for the purpose of tuning the position of the maximum field intensity (seen in Figs. 35A-35C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest the superjunction semiconductor device as recited in the claims of the instant application.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of Ono et al. (US 7,541,643 B2) in view of Furuhashi et al. (US 10,529,799 B2) in view of Eguchi et al. (US 9,972,713 B2) in view of Kawada (US 20210167167 A1) discloses a similar superjunction semiconductor device but fails to disclose the specific claims of the instant application regarding the structure and geometry of the second and third semiconductor regions e.g. “each of the second semiconductor regions has a surface facing the second main surface of the semiconductor substrate, and
the third semiconductor region has a surface facing the second main surface of the semiconductor substrate, said surfaces of the second semiconductor regions and said surface of the third semiconductor region being at a same depth”.
Claim 3 is allowable by virtue of its dependence on claim 2.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN MICHAEL KUPP/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893