DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-Final office action in merits. Claims 1-12 are presently pending. Claims 1, 4-6, 9-12, after restriction election, have been elected and considered below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP23198152.3, filed on 09/19/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Restriction Election
Applicant elects Species II, namely claims 4-5, 9-10, without traverse, for further examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: fitting, for the set of voxels, a function f to the measured values V expressed as a function of the determined distance d according to V(d) = f (β1, ... , βN, r, d) in order to determine a set of fitting parameters, in which no definition or explanation is provided for (β1, ... , βN) and r. Therefore, the measured values V and variables of the function with respect to V are unclear or ambiguous. Claim 1 therefore renders indefinite. Similar functional relationship is also recited in claims 5 and 10. They are rejected with the same reason.
All dependent claims depending from claim 1 are rejected the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0012080 A1, Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses a computer-implemented method for characterizing a spatial distribution of a tissue microstructural property from quantitative imaging data, the method comprising
acquiring, for a biological object and via a first interface, a property map for a tissue of the biological object, wherein the property map comprises voxels whose intensity represents a measured value V of the property for the tissue (Fig 33a-33c, acquiring MR data of tissue to estimate magnetic susceptibility distribution of subject based on noise and prior properties and generate images of subject based on estimated susceptibility distribution; pars 0014, 0054, 0057-0058, 0065, 0095, Quantitative Susceptibility Mapping (QSM) for a susceptibility distribution consistent with the tissue inhomogeneity field measurement; pars 0022, 0030, 0061, 0070, 0072, 0088, 0255, voxels being grouped based on their distances to a boundary M or spatial properties relative to M);
determining, for at least a set of the voxels, a distance d separating each voxel of the set from a center of interest so that each voxel of the set is associated with a measured value V and a determined distance d (Fig 1; pars 0137, 0152, 0255, a range of intensity values or similar intensity of voxels being identified corresponding to their distances to boundary M);
fitting, for the set of voxels, a function f to the measured values V expressed as a function of the determined distance d according to V(d) = f (β1, ... , βN, r, d) in order to determine a set of fitting parameters (Figs 1, 33; pars 0022, 0030, 0058-000060, 0070-0072, 0075, fitting parameters being determined with respect to voxels distances and intensity);
determining, from the fit, values of each fitting parameter (Figs 1, 33; pars 0022, 0030, 0058-000060, 0070-0072, 0075); and outputting a value of at least one of the fitting parameters (Fig 1; pars 0022, 0070-0072, 0075, 0088, 0133, 0164, 0207). Although Wang discloses above features in more than one embodiment, consider Wang’s teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the filing date of invention to incorporate Wang’s teachings in more than one embodiments to provide predictable results of determining physical properties associated with at least one tissue microstructure.
2-3. (Withdrawn)
As to claim 4, Wang discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, which comprises automatically classifying the tissue in a class of tissue as a function of a value of at least one of the fitting parameters (pars 0068, 0076, 0086, 0237, type of tissues being determined (e.g. classified) in the ROI through weights (e.g. parameters)).
As to claim 5, Wang discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the function f further depends on a position r of the voxel within a frame of reference according to Vr,d = f(β1,…,βN, r, d) (Fig 1; pars 0022, 0072, 0075, 0089, 0208, 0243, 0251, 0255, the distance of voxels within and/or outside M identifies the respective position of voxels and/or voxels of the image corresponds to a particular spatial location of the subject depicting the intensity value of the subject at the location or the range of intensities, within a defined reference window).
As to claim 6, it is a system claim encompassed claim 1. Rejection of claim 1 is therefore incorporated herein.
7-8. (Withdrawn)
As to claims 9-10, they are rejected with the same reason as set forth in claims 4-5, respectively.
As to claim 11, it is an apparatus corresponding to claim 6. It is rejected with the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
As to claim 12, Wang discloses the imaging apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the imaging apparatus is a magnetic resonance imaging apparatus (Fig 33, pars 0005, 0057, 0060, MRI apparatus).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular column, line number, paragraphs and/or figure(s) in the reference(s) as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the reference(s) in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
/QUN SHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662