DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
See independent claim 29 which includes claim limitations that use the word “means”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 15-16, 20-22, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nadakuduti (US 2023/0180150 A1).
As to claim 1, Nadakuduti discloses a method of wireless communication by a wireless device (see figure 8, paragraph [0115]), comprising: obtaining reserve information (see paragraph [0115] which discloses “For example, the wireless device (e.g., the RF exposure manager) may obtain, from each of the radios, a request indicating values for the base reserve, the dynamic reserve, and/or buffer margin for the respective radio”) associated with a plurality of services (see paragraph [0069] which discloses “For example, the multiple dynamic reserves 504 for a particular radio may be associated with different service or traffic types (e.g., control signaling or user traffic), different radio or network conditions, etc.”) allocated to a set of antenna groups, each antenna group of the set of antenna groups being associated with one or more radios corresponding to one or more radio access technologies (RATs) (see paragraphs [0067], [0109], [0113]); determining a reserve for each of the one or more radios, based at least in part on the reserve information (see paragraph [0115] which discloses “The wireless device (e.g., the RF exposure manager) may determine the base reserve, the dynamic reserve”), a set of services of the plurality of services mapped to the radio (see paragraph [0069] which discloses “For example, the multiple dynamic reserves 504 for a particular radio may be associated with different service or traffic types (e.g., control signaling or user traffic), different radio or network conditions, etc.”), and a respective state associated with each of the set of services (see paragraph [0068] which discloses “The base reserve may be set to a minimum value to facilitate wireless communications regardless of whether the respective radio is operating (e.g., active or inactive)”); and transmitting one or more signals for at least one service of the plurality of services using at least one radio of the one or more radios associated with the at least one service and a transmit power determined based at least in part on a radio frequency (RF) exposure limit associated with the at least one radio and the reserve for the at least one radio (see paragraphs [0067], [0069], [0084]).
As to claims 2, 16, Nadakuduti discloses that the reserve information indicates a plurality of minimum service reserves for each of the plurality of services; and each of the plurality of minimum service reserves is associated with a respective antenna group of the set of antenna groups. See paragraph [0068] which discloses “The base reserve may be set to a minimum value to facilitate wireless communications regardless of whether the respective radio is operating (e.g., active or inactive)”. See also paragraph [0069] which discloses “For example, the multiple dynamic reserves 504 for a particular radio may be associated with different service or traffic types (e.g., control signaling or user traffic), different radio or network conditions, etc.”.
As to claims 6, 20, Nadakuduti discloses that the reserve for each of the one or more radios is a minimum level of transmit power (see paragraph [0068]) allocated to the respective radio for a time window associated with the RF exposure limit (see paragraphs [0029], [0068]); and the reserve for each of the one or more radios is determined prior to a start of the time window (see paragraph [0092]).
As to claims 7, 21, Nadakuduti discloses that the reserve information indicates a respective priority for each of the plurality of services. See paragraphs [0097], [0115].
As to claims 8, 22, Nadakuduti discloses determining a priority for each of the one or more radios, based at least in part on the reserve information and the set of services mapped to the radio. See paragraph [0084].
As to claim 15, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. Nadakuduti further discloses one or more memories 338, one or more processors 336 (see paragraph [0054]).
As to claim 29, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
As to claim 30, it is rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. Nadakuduti further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon executed by one or more processors. See paragraph [0213].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14, 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadakuduti (US 2023/0180150 A1).
As to claims 12, 26, Nadakuduti fails to disclose that the at least one service is a single service that is mapped to a single radio of the one or more radios.
As to claims 13, 27, Nadakuduti fails to disclose that the at least one service comprises at least two services mapped to a plurality of the one or more radios.
As to claims 14, 28, Nadakuduti fails to disclose that the at least one service is a single service that is mapped to a plurality of the one or more radios.
Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary mapping one or more services to one or more radios. In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that the at least one service is a single service that is mapped to a single radio of the one or more radios as recited in claims 12, 26, the at least one service comprises at least two services mapped to a plurality of the one or more radios as recited in claims 13, 27, the at least one service is a single service that is mapped to a plurality of the one or more radios as recited in claims 14, 28. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nadakuduti as claimed, in order to yield predictable results such as improving flexibility on mapping one or more services to one or more radios.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9-11, 17-19, 23-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 3-4, 17-18, the prior art fail to disclose determining the reserve for each of the one or more radios comprises, for each radio: determining a sum of the respective minimum service reserves that are associated with (i) the set of services mapped to the radio and (ii) the antenna group that includes the radio; and determining the reserve for the radio to be equal to the sum of the minimum service reserves.
As to claims 5, 19, the prior art fail to disclose determining the reserve for each of the one or more radios comprises, for a single service of the plurality of services mapped to a first radio of the one or more radios and a second radio of the one or more radios: determining the reserve for the first radio to be equal to a first portion of a respective minimum service reserve for the single service; and determining the reserve for the second radio to be equal to a second portion of the respective minimum service reserve for the single service, wherein the first radio and the second radio are in the same antenna group.
As to claims 9, 23, the prior art fail to disclose that the set of services comprises a single service mapped to a single radio of the one or more radios; and determining the priority for each of the one or more radios comprises determining the priority for the single radio to be equal to the priority of the single service.
As to claims 10, 24, the prior art fail to disclose that the set of services comprises a plurality of services mapped to a single radio of the one or more radios; and determining the priority for each of the one or more radios comprises: determining which of the plurality of services has a highest priority; and determining the priority for the single radio to be equal to the highest priority.
As to claims 11, 25, the prior art fail to disclose that the set of services comprises a single service mapped to a plurality of radios of the one or more radios; and determining the priority for each of the one or more radios comprises determining the priority for each of the radios to be equal to the priority of the single service.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lu (US 2022/0159582 A1); Nadakuduti (US 2022/0116949 A1); Liu (US 2023/0156625 A1); Meshkati (US 2022/0386249 A1) disclose RF exposure compliance.
/NGUYEN T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646