DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoshino et al (US Publication No.: US 2005/0179828 A1, “Hoshino”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hoshino discloses an electronic device (Figure 1) comprising:
A first layer (Figure 1, first layer 6);
A second layer disposed opposite to the first layer (Figure 2, second layer 5);
A circuit layer formed on the first layer (Paragraph 0056); and
A display medium layer disposed between the first layer and the second layer (Figure 1, liquid crystal layer 3), wherein
The first layer has a first light transmission chromaticity coordinates (x1, y1) on the CIE 1931 xy chromaticity coordinates, the second layer has a second light transmission chromaticity coordinates (x2, y2) on the CIE 1931 xy chromaticity coordinates (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0049-0054 disclose that each layer have light transmission chromaticity coordinates that are affected by film thickness), and
Wherein x1≥x2 or y1≥y2 (Paragraphs 0051-0056 discloses a film thickness of second layer 5 to be 180 nm, and a film thickness of first layer 6 to be 220 nm, and Figure 7 discloses light transmission chromaticity coordinates of second layer 5 with a thickness of 180nm to be approximately (.23, .25) and light transmission chromaticity coordinate of first layer 6 with a thickness of 220 nm to be approximately (.28, .39) resulting in x1 and y1 to be greater than x2 and y2, where Paragraph 0056 discloses that the given thicknesses may be switched).
Regarding Claim 2, Hoshino discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first layer has a first thickness, the second layer has a second thickness, and the first thickness is greater than the second thickness (Paragraphs 0051-0056 discloses a film thickness of second layer 5 to be 180 nm, and a film thickness of first layer 6 to be 220 nm).
Regarding Claim 3, Hoshino discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the first thickness is 10% to 100% greater than the second thickness (Paragraphs 0051-0056 discloses a film thickness of second layer 5 to be 180 nm, and a film thickness of first layer 6 to be 220 nm, which is 22% greater).
Regarding Claim 7, Hoshino discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein x1-x2≧0.002 or y1-y2≧0.002 (Paragraphs 0051-0056 discloses a film thickness of second layer 5 to be 180 nm, and a film thickness of first layer 6 to be 220 nm, and Figure 7 discloses light transmission chromaticity coordinates of second layer 5 with a thickness of 180nm to be approximately (.23, .25) and light transmission chromaticity coordinate of first layer 6 with a thickness of 220 nm to be approximately (.28, .39) resulting in a coordinate difference of (.05, .14).
Regarding Claim 8, Hoshino discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein x1-x2≧0.002 and y1-y2≧0.002 (Paragraphs 0051-0056 discloses a film thickness of second layer 5 to be 180 nm, and a film thickness of first layer 6 to be 220 nm, and Figure 7 discloses light transmission chromaticity coordinates of second layer 5 with a thickness of 180nm to be approximately (.23, .25) and light transmission chromaticity coordinate of first layer 6 with a thickness of 220 nm to be approximately (.28, .39) resulting in a coordinate difference of (.05, .14).
Regarding Claim 9, Hoshino discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein x1-x2≧0.005 or y1-y2≧0.005 (Paragraphs 0051-0056 discloses a film thickness of second layer 5 to be 180 nm, and a film thickness of first layer 6 to be 220 nm, and Figure 7 discloses light transmission chromaticity coordinates of second layer 5 with a thickness of 180nm to be approximately (.23, .25) and light transmission chromaticity coordinate of first layer 6 with a thickness of 220 nm to be approximately (.28, .39) resulting in a coordinate difference of (.05, .14).
Regarding Claim 10, Hoshino discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the circuit layer comprises a thin-film transistor circuit and an insulating layer surrounding the thin-film transistor circuit (Paragraph 0056).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871