DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first input" in line 5, “the second input” in line 6, and “the output” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner has interpreted “the first input” to read “the first output”, “the second input” to read “the second output”, and “the output” to read “the first output”.
By virtue of their dependency on claim 18, claims 19-20 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 & 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Inoue et al. (US 2010/0194494 A1), hereinafter Inoue.
Regarding claim 1, Inoue discloses, in figure 14, a circuit comprising:
a first output (14);
a second output (15);
an input (11);
a lattice filter stage (Para [0066], “lattice filter 19”); and
a ladder filter stage coupled to the input and to the lattice filter stage (Para [0066], “ladder filter 18”…coupled to input 18 and the lattice filter stage 19 via 12), the lattice filter stage including a first resonator coupled to the first output and to the ladder filter stage (first resonator coupled to output 14 and to the ladder filter stage 18 via 12), a second resonator coupled to the second output and to the ladder filter stage (second resonator coupled to output 15 and the ladder filter stage 18 via 12), the ladder stage including a third resonator coupled to the input and a fourth resonator coupled to a ground connection (ladder stage 18 includes a third resonator coupled to the input 11 and a fourth resonator coupled to ground, see figure 14).
Regarding claim 2, Inoue discloses the circuit of claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 14, wherein the lattice filter stage further incudes a fifth resonator coupled between the first output and the ground connection (lattice filter stage 19 comprises a fifth resonator coupled between the first output 14 and the ground connection via the inductor of 12) and a sixth resonator coupled between the second output and the third resonator (lattice filter stage 19 comprises a sixth resonator coupled between second output 15 and the third resonator of the ladder filter stage 18 via 12).
Regarding claim 3, Inoue discloses the circuit of claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 14, wherein the ladder filter stage further includes a seventh resonator coupled between the first resonator and the third resonator (ladder filter stage 18 comprises a seventh resonator coupled between the first resonator of the lattice stage 19 and the third resonator of ladder stage 18), an eighth resonator coupled between the first and seventh resonators and the ground connection (ladder filter stage 18 comprises an eighth resonator coupled between the first resonator of the lattice filter stage 19 and the seventh resonator of the ladder filter stage 18 and a ground connection, see figure 14), and wherein the fourth resonator is coupled between the seventh and third resonators and the ground connection (fourth resonator of ladder stage 18 is coupled between the seventh resonator and third resonator of the ladder filter 18 and the ground connection).
Regarding claim 6, Inoue discloses the circuit of claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 14 & 15, wherein the input is coupled to an antenna and to a first port via a matching impedance (Para [0068], “matching circuit 22”…the input 22 [i.e., 11] couples an antenna and a first port via the matching impedance 22).
Regarding claim 7, Inoue discloses the circuit of claim 1, and continues to disclose, in figure 14 & 27, wherein the first output is coupled to a first differential input port of a low noise amplifier (Para [0088], “reception signal input to the duplexer 173 is limited to a predetermined frequency band by a reception filter 173a, and the resulting balanced reception signal is output to an LNA 174”) and wherein the second output is coupled to a second differential input of the low noise amplifier (each output of the balance filter [i.e., 173a is equivalent to the filter depicted in figure 14] is connected to an input of the LNA).
Claims 18 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schmidhammer et al. (US 12,113,511 B2), hereinafter Schmid.
Regarding claim 18, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection made above, Schmid discloses, in figure 5-2 & 15-2, a circuit comprising:
a first output (first output to transformer and port 132-2 after filter core 272-2);
a second output (second output to transformer and ground after filter core 272-2);
an input (input 132-1 to filter core stage 272-1);
a first lattice filter stage coupled to the first output and including a first resonator (Col. 37, Lines 65-67, “FIG. 15-5 is a circuit diagram 1500-5 illustrating an example of two second-order filter cores, which each have a lattice architecture”…filter core 272-2 being a first lattice filter stage coupled to the first output to the transformer and having a resonator Fa to Fb);
a second lattice filter stage coupled to the second output and including a second resonator (filter core lattice stage 272-2 coupled the second output to the transformer after filter core 272-2 and includes a resonator Fa to Fb);
a first coil coupled to the first lattice filter stage (first coil of the transformer after filter core 272-2 is coupled to the filter core 272-2);
a second coil coupled to the second lattice filter stage (a second coil before the filter core 272-1 is coupled to the filter core 272-1); and
a third coil coupled to the first output (coil coupled directly to ground and port 132-2) and electromagnetically coupled to at least one of the first coil or the second coil (Col. 7, Lines 18-20, “transformers, which include two electromagnetically coupled inductors”…first coil of the output transformer is electromagnetically coupled to the third coil of the output transformer).
Regarding claim 20, Schmid discloses the circuit of claim 18, and continues to disclose, in figure 2-1 & 15-2, wherein the input is configured to be coupled to an antenna (the input of the filter circuit [i.e., 130-3 or 130-2 equivalent to the filter circuit of FIG. 15-2] is coupled to the antenna 122).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Urata (US 2020/0295734 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Inoue discloses the circuit of claim 3, but fails to disclose wherein each of the fourth and eighth resonators is coupled to the ground connection through a respective inductor.
However, Urata discloses, in figure 2, wherein each of the fourth and eighth resonators is coupled to the ground connection through a respective inductor (Para [0038], “inductors L1 to L3 are connected between the parallel resonators 67 and the reference potentials”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the inductors of Urata in the ladder filter stage of Inoue, to achieve the benefit of decreasing the resonant frequencies of the shunt resonators, thereby expanding the interval between the resonance frequency and the antiresonance frequency and thus the passband of the filter (Urata, Para [0038]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Cihangir et al. (US 10,491,193 B2), hereinafter Cihangir.
Regarding claim 5, Inoue discloses the circuit of claim 3, but fails to disclose wherein the ladder filter stage further includes first and second inductors coupled in parallel with the seventh and third resonators, respectively.
However, Cihangir discloses, in figure 4, wherein the ladder filter stage further includes first and second inductors coupled in parallel with the seventh and third resonators, respectively (ladder filter stage 10 includes first inductor 60 coupled in parallel with resonator 26 and second inductor 68 coupled in parallel with resonator 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the parallel inductors of Cihangir in the ladder filter stage of Inoue, to achieve the benefit of shifting the anti-resonance frequency of the resonators up and thus achieving a wider passband for the ladder network (Cihangir, Col. 6, Lines 1-5).
Claims 8-12 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid in view of Shin et al. (US 8,902,021, B2), hereinafter Shin.
Regarding claim 8, Schmid discloses, in figure 15-4, a circuit comprising
a first output (first output to transformer after filter core 272-2);
a second output (second output to transformer after filter core 272-2);
an input (input 132-1 to filter core stage 272-1);
a first lattice filter stage (Col. 37, Lines 65-67, “FIG. 15-5 is a circuit diagram 1500-5 illustrating an example of two second-order filter cores, which each have a lattice architecture”…filter core 272-2 being a first lattice filter stage); and
a second lattice filter stage (272-1), the second lattice filter stage including a third resonator coupled to the input (second lattice filter stage 272-1 third resonator Fa coupled to the input 132-1), but fails to disclose the first lattice filter stage including a first resonator coupled to the first output, a capacitor coupled to the first output, and a second resonator coupled to the second output.
However, Shin discloses, in figure 2D, the first lattice filter stage (280) including a first resonator coupled to the first output (first resonator coupled to the first output), a capacitor coupled to the first output (capacitor 283 coupled to the first output), and a second resonator coupled to the second output (second resonator coupled to the second output, see figure 2D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the lattice filter of Shin in the first lattice filter stage of Schmid, to achieve the benefit of implementing an RF filter for transmission of balanced signals with improved characteristics of filtering said signal and isolation between reception and transmission of said RF filter (Shin, Col. 8 & 9, Lines 32-67 & 1-5).
Regarding claim 9, Schmid in view of Shin discloses the circuit of claim 8, and Schmid continues to disclose, in figure 15-5, wherein the first lattice filter further includes a fourth resonator coupled between the second output and the third resonator (lattice filter stage 272-2 includes a fourth resonator Fb coupled between the second output to the transformer and the third resonator Fa).
Regarding claim 10, Schmid in view of Shin discloses the circuit of claim 9, and Schmid continues to disclose, in figure 15-5, wherein the second lattice filter (272-1) further includes a fifth resonator coupled between the first and third resonators and a ground connection (lattice filter stage 272-1 includes fifth resonator Fb coupled between Fa of 272-1, Fa of 272-2, and ground) and a sixth resonator coupled between the second resonator and the input (lattice filter stage 272-1 includes sixth resonator Fb coupled between the bottom resonator Fa of 272-2 and the input, see figure 15-5).
Regarding claim 11, Schmid in view of Shin discloses the circuit of claim 10, and Schmid continues to disclose, in figure 15-5, wherein the second lattice filter (272-1) further includes a seventh resonator coupled between the second resonator and the ground connection (bottom resonator Fa of filter 272-1 is coupled between the second resonator Fa of filter 272-2 and the ground connection).
Regarding claim 12, Schmid in view of Shin discloses the circuit of claim 10, and Schmid continues to disclose, in figure 15-5, wherein the second lattice filter further includes a first inductor coupled between the input and the ground connection (a first inductor is coupled between the input 132-1 and ground, see figure 15-5).
Regarding claim 16, Schmid in view of Shin discloses the circuit of claim 8, and Shin continues to disclose, in figure 1 & 2D, wherein the input is coupled to an antenna and to a first port via a matching impedance (input to the BAWR receiving filter unit is coupled to an antenna and to a first port via the impedance matching unit 125, see figure 1 & 2D).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid in view of Shin as applied to claims 8-12 & 16 above, and further in view of Inoue.
Regarding claim 17, Schmid in view of Shin discloses the circuit of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first output is configured to be coupled to a first differential input port of a low noise amplifier and wherein the second output is configured to be coupled to a second differential input of the low noise amplifier.
However, Inoue discloses, in figure 14 & 27, wherein the first output is coupled to a first differential input port of a low noise amplifier (Para [0088], “reception signal input to the duplexer 173 is limited to a predetermined frequency band by a reception filter 173a, and the resulting balanced reception signal is output to an LNA 174”) and wherein the second output is coupled to a second differential input of the low noise amplifier (each output of the balance filter [i.e., 173a is equivalent to the filter depicted in figure 14] is connected to an input of the LNA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the LNA coupling of Inoue in the circuit of Schmid and Shin, to achieve the benefit of amplifying a received filtered signal for proper compatibility with an associated communication device to realize a low-loss communication apparatus (Inoue, Para [0088]-[0091]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid in view of Inoue.
Regarding claim 19, Schmid discloses the circuit of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first output is configured to be coupled to a first differential input port of a low noise amplifier and wherein the second output is configured to be coupled to a second differential input of the low noise amplifier.
However, Inoue discloses, in figure 14 & 27, wherein the first output is coupled to a first differential input port of a low noise amplifier (Para [0088], “reception signal input to the duplexer 173 is limited to a predetermined frequency band by a reception filter 173a, and the resulting balanced reception signal is output to an LNA 174”) and wherein the second output is coupled to a second differential input of the low noise amplifier (each output of the balance filter [i.e., 173a is equivalent to the filter depicted in figure 14] is connected to an input of the LNA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the LNA coupling of Inoue in the circuit of Schmid, to achieve the benefit of amplifying a received filtered signal for proper compatibility with an associated communication device to realize a low-loss communication apparatus (Inoue, Para [0088]-[0091]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TYLER J PERENY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2842