Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lueg (US 2043416).
Regarding claim 1, Lueg teaches an information processing apparatus, comprising: an actuator configured to control vibration of a control target (loudspeaker L, pg 1, right hand column, ln 47 – pg 2, ln 10, left hand column, fig 1); and a vibration control circuit (amplifier E, pg 1, right hand column, ln 47 – pg 2, ln 10, left hand column, fig 1) including a vibration band extraction circuit (wires extract vibration band signals, fig 1), wherein the vibration control circuit is configured to: receive an output signal from a sensor (output signal from microphone M, pg 1, right hand column, ln 47 – pg 2, ln 10, left hand column, fig 1), wherein the sensor detects the vibration of the control target and outputs the output signal based on the detected vibration (pg 1, right hand column, ln 47 – pg 2, ln 10, left hand column, fig 1); extract a vibration frequency band component of the control target from the output of the sensor (conductors connected to sensor extra the vibration frequency band component form sensor, fig 1); generate, based on the extracted vibration frequency band component, a drive signal for the actuator for the control of the vibration (transmitted electrically with assistance of the amplifier E to the loudspeaker, pg 1, right hand column, ln 47 – pg 2, ln 10, left hand column, fig 1); and output the generated drive signal to the actuator (transmitted electrically with assistance of the amplifier E to the loudspeaker, pg 1, right hand column, ln 47 – pg 2, ln 10, left hand column, fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lueg and Shinno (US 20180286378).
Regasrding claim 2, Lueg teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Althouhg Lueg does not teach wherein the sensor includes an acceleration sensor, and the output signal of the sensor includes an acceleration signal, Shinno teaches an acceleration sensor for noise cancelation (Shinno, [0006], [0015]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement in Lueg since doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way.
Regarding claim 7, Lueg teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Although Lueg does not teach further comprising a portable housing attachable to the control target, Shinno teaches noise cancelation assembly attached toa car (Shinno, fig 1) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement in Lueg since doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way.
Regarding claim 9, Lueg teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Although Lueg does not teach further comprising a housing mountable on the control target, wherein the control target corresponds to a movable body, Shinno teaches a noise canceler on a car (Shinno, [0015], fig 1A) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement in Lueg since doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lueg and Itabashi (US 20180233124).
Regarding claim 3, Lueg teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1
Although Lueg does not teach wherein a gain of the drive signal increases based on data indicating an abnormality of a remote apparatus, Itabashi teaches increasing a gain in a route containing a small peak or dip in a noise reduction device (Itabashi, [0072]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement in Lueg since doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lueg and Itabashi, and Pan (US 20140153731).
Regarding claim 4, Lueg and Itabashi teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 3.
Although Lueg and Itabashi do not teach wherein the data indicating the abnormality includes data indicating at least one of an abnormal temperature of the actuator, an excessive amplitude of the actuator, an abnormality of the sensor, or a low battery level, Pan teaches increasing microphone sensitivity (i.e. gain) due to a rise in temperature in a noise cancelation device (Pan, [0023]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement in Lueg since doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lueg and Pan.
Regarding claim 5, Lueg teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Although Lueg does not teach wherein a gain of the drive signal decreases based on at least one of an abnormal temperature of the actuator or an excessive amplitude of the actuator Pan teaches, when the ambient temperature is below room temperature, a microphone sensitivity can be reduced, resulting in a lessened responsiveness of the adaptive filter 16 (Pan, [0023]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement in Lueg since doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lueg and Reis (US 10110463).
Regarding claim 6, Lueg teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1. Although Lueg does not teach wherein a local apparatus is turned off based on at least one of an abnormality of the sensor or a low battery level of the local apparatus, Reis teaches monitoring for a low battery and turning off an electronic device when it is low (Reis, claim 6) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement in Lueg since doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lueg and Plummer (US 20180130455).
Regarding claim 8, Lueg teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1.
Altough Lueg does not teach further comprising a housing mountable on the control target, wherein the control target corresponds to a window, Plummer teaches a noise cancellation device attached to a fenestration/window (Plummer, [0010], fig 2) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement in Lueg since doing so is the use of a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Lueg does not describe a circuit configured to extra a vibration frequency band component; however, vibration frequency band component is a broad concept and the audible band of audio signal (20 Hz – 20 kHz) falls within the broadest reasonable interpretation and, accordingly, Lueg is interpreted as teaching the vague concept of an audio signal of some undefined frequency band.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KILE O BLAIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691