DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication of 9/19/2024. Currently claims 1-20 are pending and rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 12-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Heeren et al. (US 2017/0326000 A1).
Heeren discloses a method for controlling a surgical system (100 figure 1), comprising: providing an ophthalmic surgical system comprising: a phacoemulsification probe having a needle (121) at a distal end and an ultrasonic transducer (110), wherein the needle is configured to be inserted into an eye of a patient (figure 3); an aspiration line (112), wherein the aspiration line is fluidly coupled with the needle; an aspiration pump (210); a control device (204) configured for a user to control the aspiration pump; and a processor(204 processors); obtaining a value of intraocular pressure (IOP) within the eye (see para [0010]-[0011]); receiving a trigger from a user of the ophthalmic surgical system; and in response to receiving the trigger, operating the aspiration pump at a higher aspiration rate, for a period of time, wherein the period of time is determined in accordance with the value of the IOP (see para [0077]-[0078]).
Concerning claim 2 and the aspiration pump is a Progressive Cavity Pump (PCP) (see para [0033]).
Concerning claim 3 and the higher aspiration rate is a maximal aspiration rate of the aspiration pump (see para [0063]-0066]).
Concerning claim 4 and the value of the IOP used for determining the period of time is taken at a predetermined time prior to operating the aspiration pump at the higher aspiration rate (see para [0063]-0067]).
Concerning claim 5 and the trigger comprises a press on a pedal of the system, the press exceeding a predetermined speed or force (note pedal 108)
Concerning claim 6 and the trigger comprises yawing a dual linear foot pedal to the left or right, or pressing a button on a foot pedal (again note pedal 108).
Concerning claim 8 and the limited period of time is determined to limit the IOP to a minimal acceptable value (see para [0057]-0067]).
Concerning claim 9 and the limited period of time is longer for a higher value of IOP, and shorter for a lower value of IOP (see para [0057]-0067]).
Concerning claim 12 and Heeren discloses a phacoemulsification system (figure 1), comprising: a phacoemulsification probe having a needle (121) at a distal end, and an ultrasonic transducer (110), wherein the needle is configured to be inserted into an eye of a patient; an aspiration line (112), wherein the aspiration line is fluidly coupled with the needle; an aspiration pump (210); a control device (204) configured for a user to control the aspiration pump; and a processor, configured to: obtaining a value of intraocular pressure (IOP) within the eye; receiving a trigger from a user of the ophthalmic surgical system; and in response to receiving the trigger, operating the aspiration pump at a higher aspiration rate, for a period of time, wherein the period of time is determined in accordance with the value of the IOP (see para [0063]-0067]).
Concerning claim 13 and the aspiration pump is a PCP (see para [0033]).
Concerning claim 14 and the higher aspiration rate is a maximal aspiration rate of the aspiration pump (see para [0063]-0066]).
Concerning claim 15 and the trigger comprises at least one item selected form the group consisting of: a press on a pedal of the system, the press exceeding a predetermined speed or force; yawing a dual linear foot pedal to the left or right; a press of a button on a foot pedal; and a vocal trigger (see pedal 108).
Concerning claim 16 and the limited period of time is determined to limit the IOP to a minimal acceptable value (see para [0057]-0067]).
Concerning claim 17 and the limited period of time is longer for a higher value of IOP, and shorter for a lower value of IOP (see para [0057]-0067]).
Concerning claim 20 Heeren discloses a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (204 figure 2-7) retaining program instructions configured to cause a processor (204) to perform actions, which program instructions implement: providing an ophthalmic surgical system (figure 1) comprising: a phacoemulsification probe (121) having a needle at a distal end and an ultrasonic transducer (110), wherein the needle is configured to be inserted into an eye of a patient; an aspiration line (112), wherein the aspiration line is fluidly coupled with the needle; an aspiration pump (210); a control device configured for a user to control the aspiration pump; and a processor (204); obtaining a value of intraocular pressure (IOP) within the eye; receiving a trigger from a user of the ophthalmic surgical system; and in response to receiving the trigger, operating the aspiration pump at a higher aspiration rate, for a period of time, wherein the period of time is determined in accordance with the value of the IOP (see para [0057]-0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, and 10-11, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heeren et al. (US 2017/0326000 A1).
Concerning claim 7 and the trigger is a vocal trigger.
Heeren discloses the claimed invention except for the trigger being a vocal trigger rather than a pedal trigger. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the trigger an vocal trigger or a input via an audible trigger, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192 (CCPA 1958). Voice activation for manual tasks is a well known modification to make for a PHOSITA to make in order to provide a hands free or tactile free operation.
Concerning claims 10-11 and 18-19 and wherein for IOP of about 90mmHg the limited period of time is about 5 seconds; or for IOP of about 40mmHg the limited period of time is about 0.5 seconds.
Heeren discloses the claimed invention except for IOP of about 90mmHg the limited period of time is about 5 seconds; or for IOP of about 40mmHg the limited period of time is about 0.5 seconds. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for IOP of about 90mmHg the limited period of time is about 5 seconds; or for IOP of about 40mmHg the limited period of time is about 0.5 seconds, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Although the prior art does not disclose the specific values it is examiner’s position that a PHOSITA would have the values of for IOP of about 90mmHg the limited period of time is about 5 seconds; or for IOP of about 40mmHg the limited period of time is about 0.5 seconds since these are well known parameters of the device and would not be unknown to a PHOSITA to operate the device at.
Conclusion
PHILLIP A. GRAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/PHILLIP A GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783