DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 remain pending and are ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2024, was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by "NISP: Pruning Networks using Neuron Importance Score Propagation" by Yu et al. 2018 (hereinafter 'Yu').
Yu teaches the claims below:
1. A method comprising:
determining critical neurons in a neural network (page 1, wherein determine an importance score for neurons);
pruning the critical neurons from the neural network, wherein the pruning generates a pruned neural network with the critical neurons removed (see fig.1, page 1 and page 3, wherein ranking neurons in the final response layer and propagates those importance scores throughout the network and removing neurons with lower importance); and
continuing a training process using the pruned neural network (see fig.1, page 1 and page 3, wherein the CNN is pruned by removing neurons with least importance, and then fine-tuned (continuing a training process) to retain its predictive power).
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the pruning of the critical neurons is implemented globally (see page 1 and 7, wherein global measurement of neuron importance across different layers of a CNN).
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the pruning of the critical neurons is implemented layer-wise (see page 7, wherein layer-by-layer pruning corresponds to layer-wise).
8. A critical neuron pruning system comprising:
a memory; and
a processor that is configured to execute machine readable instructions stored in the memory for causing the processor to:
determine critical neurons in a neural network (page 1, wherein determine an importance score for neurons);
prune the critical neurons from the neural network, wherein the pruning generates a pruned neural network with the critical neurons removed (see fig.1, page 1 and page 3, wherein ranking neurons in the final response layer and propagates those importance scores throughout the network and removing neurons with lower importance); and
continue a training process using the pruned neural network (see fig.1, page 1 and page 3, wherein the CNN is pruned by removing neurons with least importance, and then fine-tuned (continuing a training process) to retain its predictive power).
9. The critical neuron pruning system of claim 8, wherein the system receives a pruning rate parameter (see page 3 and fig.2 wherein pre-defined pruning ratio is the pruning rate parameter).
10. The critical neuron pruning system of claim 9, wherein the system determines a number of critical neurons for a layer of the network based on the pruning rate parameter and a total number of neurons in the layer (see fig.1, page 1 and page 3 and 6, wherein ranking neurons in the final response layer and propagates those importance scores throughout the network and removing neurons with lower importance).
11. The critical neuron pruning system of claim 8, wherein the pruning comprises removing the number of critical neurons from the layer and weights associated with the critical neurons from the layer (see fig.1, page 1 and page 3 and 6, wherein ranking neurons in the final response layer and propagates those importance scores throughout the network and removing neurons with lower importance).
12. The critical neuron pruning system of claim 8, wherein the critical neurons are determined based on features associated with each neuron comprising forward propagation- based features and back propagation-based features (see page 2, 5 and 9).
13. The critical neuron pruning system of claim 8, wherein the weight pruning is implemented layer-wise (see page 7, wherein layer-by-layer pruning corresponds to layer-wise).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by "Gradual Channel Pruning while Training using Feature Relevance Scores for Convolutional Neural Networks" by Aketi et al. 2020 (hereinafter Aketi).
Aketi teaches the claims below:
14. A method, comprising:
receiving a normalized feature vector corresponding to each neuron in a layer of a neural network (see page 5, wherein Algorithm 1 shows the pseudo code for computing the feature-relevance score of layer l. After determining the relevance scores at each node in the network using LRP, we compute the relevance score of every feature map fi at layer l by averaging the scores of all nodes corresponding to fi. The relevance vector of a feature map fi is obtained by taking class-wise average over relevance scores of all training samples and forms the ith column of feature relevance matrix (FMl). The weighted average of rows of FMl with class-wise accuracy returns feature relevance scores (FSl) for any layers l. The computed feature relevance scores are then utilized to determine the least important channels that can be pruned.);
calculating a score for each neuron in the layer, wherein the score is based on the normalized feature vector and features collected during training of the neural network (page. 2, Feature relevance score is computed based on normalized class-wise accuracy of the model and class-wise relevance score of each channel."; page. 4, Normalize rows of feature-relevance matrix. see also page. 5); and
determining a set of neurons having a score lower than a threshold, wherein the neurons in the set of neurons are identified as critical neurons (page. 3, wherein The pruning techniques which prune at the level of individual weights or nodes can bei categorized under unstructured pruning methods. Some of the recent works such as [7, 8, 18, 23] have proposed unstructured pruning. The authors of [8] proposed iterative weight pruning where the weights with magnitude less than a given threshold are removed."; see also page 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of “Towards Efficient Neuromorphic Hardware: Unsupervised Adaptive Neuron Pruning” Guo 2020 (Hereinafter “Guo”).
Yu fails to explicitly disclose the limitations below. Guo discloses these limitation as mapped below:
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising determining an early stop point during the training of the neural network (see sec. 2.2, wherein Before delving into the details of neuron pruning, we need to find out when to start the pruning process. If the neuron pruning process starts too early, important neurons that have a profound impact on the output could be mistakenly pruned away, which will deteriorate network performance. On the other hand, if it starts too late, the network might not have enough training cycles to compensate for the accuracy loss. Thus, it is crucial to determine when to start the pruning process. To find this critical point, we have observed how the network dynamics evolve with time by monitoring firing activities and weight updates of output neurons, as shown in Figure 2. Firing activity directly reflects the response of neurons to input patterns. As neurons start to fire regularly after training over 30,000 images, the network has learned the major input features and starts to adjust for small details. This is also confirmed by the statistics of weight updates over time, as shown in Figure 2b. The synchronization happens due to the STDP learning rule that links firing activity and weight updates together).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Yu to include the missing limitation, as taught by LIM, as it would allow the system to determine when to start the pruning process for accuracy loss (see sec. 2.2).
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the early stop point comprises a subset of a training data set (see sec. 2, wherein dividing a whole dataset into multiple batches. Thus, the pruning/start point corresponds to 30000of the 60000 training samples).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Yu to include the missing limitation, as taught by LIM, as it would allow the system to determine when to start the pruning process for accuracy loss (see sec. 2.2).
4. The method of claim 3, wherein initial phases of the training process train the neural network using the subset of training data before the early stop point (see sec. 2 to sec. 2.2, wherein training the unpruned SNN on the first 30000 training images. Monitor neuro activity and weight updates during that pre-pruning phase and then the network has learned major input features after over those images).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Yu to include the missing limitation, as taught by LIM, as it would allow the system to determine when to start the pruning process for accuracy loss (see sec. 2.2).
5. The method of claim 3, wherein continuing the training process comprises training the neural network using a remaining subset of training data after the early stop point (see sec. 2 to sec. 2.2, wherein the training dataset has 60000 images, and neuron pruning starts at 30000 images. After that point, pruning occurs after successive batches. Algorithm 1 states pruning process starts after 30000 training images followed by continuing loop over the batches).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Yu to include the missing limitation, as taught by LIM, as it would allow the system to determine when to start the pruning process for accuracy loss (see sec. 2.2).
Claims 9-14 and 16-21 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 2-7.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aketi in view of Yu.
Aketi fails to explicitly disclose the limitations below. Yu discloses these limitation as mapped below:
15. The method of claim 14, further comprising: receiving a pruning rate parameter (Yu, see page 3 and fig.2 wherein pre-defined pruning ratio is the pruning rate parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Aketi to include the missing limitation, as taught by Yu, as it would allow the system to achieve significant acceleration and compression with negligible accuracy loss (Yu, see Abstract).
16. The method of claim 15, further comprising: determining a number of critical neurons for a layer of the network based on the pruning rate parameter and a total number of neurons in the layer (see fig.1, page 1 and page 3 and 6, wherein ranking neurons in the final response layer and propagates those importance scores throughout the network and removing neurons with lower importance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Aketi to include the missing limitation, as taught by Yu, as it would allow the system to achieve significant acceleration and compression with negligible accuracy loss (Yu, see Abstract).
17. The method of claim 14, further comprising: pruning the critical neurons from the neural network, wherein the pruning generates a pruned neural network with the critical neurons removed (see fig.1, page 1 and page 3, wherein ranking neurons in the final response layer and propagates those importance scores throughout the network and removing neurons with lower importance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Aketi to include the missing limitation, as taught by Yu, as it would allow the system to achieve significant acceleration and compression with negligible accuracy loss (Yu, see Abstract).
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the pruning comprises removing the number of critical neurons from the layer and weights associated with the critical neurons from the layer (see fig.1, page 1 and page 3 and 6, wherein ranking neurons in the final response layer and propagates those importance scores throughout the network and removing neurons with lower importance).
19. The method of claim 17, wherein the pruning of the critical neurons is implemented layer-wise (see page 7, wherein layer-by-layer pruning corresponds to layer-wise).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Aketi to include the missing limitation, as taught by Yu, as it would allow the system to achieve significant acceleration and compression with negligible accuracy loss (Yu, see Abstract).
20. The method of claim 17, wherein the pruning of the critical neurons is implemented globally (see page 1 and 7, wherein global measurement of neuron importance across different layers of a CNN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Aketi to include the missing limitation, as taught by Yu, as it would allow the system to achieve significant acceleration and compression with negligible accuracy loss (Yu, see Abstract).
Conclusion
/MAHER N ALGIBHAH/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2165