DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant’s claim for priority as a continuation of International Application No. PCT/CN2022/144417, filed December 31, 2022, which claims priority to Chinese Patent Application No. 202210295725.2, filed March 23, 2022, is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2024, 04/25/2025, and 03/27/2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first data packet sending moment". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests that the limitation should read “a first data packet sending moment”. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-13 are drawn to method (i.e., a process), claims 14-18 are drawn to a method (i.e., a process), claim 19 is drawn to a method (i.e., a process), and claim 20 is drawn to a method (i.e., a process). As such, claims 1-20 are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1-20 are directed to determining a time offset value, determining a packet sending moment, or determining a moment. Specifically, the claims recite “determining a time offset value”, “determining a packet sending moment”, or “determining a moment”, which is grouped within the Mental Processes and is similar to the concept of (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54-55 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as a communication device or an access network device or an application network element or a terminal device merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link(s) the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically, the communication device or access network device or application network element or terminal device perform(s) the steps or functions of “determining a time offset value”, “determining a packet sending moment”, or “determining a moment”. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a communication device or an access network device or an application network element or a terminal device to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of determining a time offset value, determining a packet sending moment, or determining a moment. The additional elements of “sending the time offset value”, “receiving burst arrival time”, “receiving a time offset value”, and “sending the burst arrival time” amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity and is not sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the communication device or access network device or application network element or terminal device perform(s) the steps or functions of “determining a time offset value”, “determining a packet sending moment”, or “determining a moment”. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of determining a time offset value, determining a packet sending moment, or determining a moment. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2, 4, 8-11, 13, and 15-18 generally describe the signals that are sent between nodes and recite elements that amount to mere data gathering and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Dependent claims 3, 5-7, and 12 recite elements that further describe the abstract idea of determining a time offset value, determining a packet sending moment, or determining a moment. These claims do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the dependent claims 1-13 and 15-18 are also not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph et al. (US 2021/0076407), hereinafter “Joseph”, in view of Zheng et al. (US 2019/0037565), hereinafter “Zheng”.
Regarding claim 1, Joseph teaches:
A method, comprising:
determining, by a communication device, a time offset value based on scheduling and orchestration information and time of arrival (see Joseph, Fig. 13B, par. [0150]: At 1312 delta time offset information is determined for a first traffic flow relative to an existing time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow for scheduling transmissions of one or more other traffic flows and the first traffic flow in the wireless communication system. As shown in the example of FIG. 14, the arrival time of packets of a traffic flow associated with UE-1 and a traffic flow associated with UE-2 may overlap with respect to one or more nodes (e.g., Node 2 and Node 3) of the wireless communication system. Accordingly, delta time offset information comprising a time offset value (e.g., delta time offset 1401 shown in FIG. 14) determined relative to a current packet arrival offset may be determined relative to a time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow; in this case, determining delta time offset information corresponds to determining a time offset value. Determining is done based on traffic flows (i.e. scheduling and orchestration information) and existing time offset of packet arrivals (i.e. time of arrival)), wherein the scheduling and orchestration information indicates a scheduling moment (see Joseph, Fig. 13A, par. [0147]: At 1304 the RAN device may determine scheduling information for the traffic flow based on the indication, wherein the scheduling information comprises one or more of a time offset information, a reliability, and a minimum throughput of delivery of data traffic for the flow. The time offset information may, for example, comprise a pre-determined time offset (e.g., a start time value determined based on a common clock), a delta time offset (e.g., a time offset value relative to one or more existing time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows); in this case, time offsets for packet delivery corresponds to a scheduling moment), the time of arrival indicates a moment at which a first data packet in a service flow arrives at the communication device (see Joseph, Fig. 14, par. [0150]: delta time offset information comprising a time offset value (e.g., delta time offset 1401 shown in FIG. 14) determined relative to a current packet arrival offset may be determined relative to a time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow. The delta time offset information may, for example, be determined for applying to an pre-determined or existing time offset of the first traffic flow for providing better packet arrival offset (e.g., non-overlapping packet arrival) for the first traffic flow and the one or more other traffic flows), and
sending, by the communication device, the time offset value to an application network element (see Joseph, Fig. 13A, par. [0148]: At 1306 the RAN device may transmit the scheduling information in response to the indication. For example, the RAN device may transmit the time offset information to an AE (e.g., an AF of an edge server and/or an application on a user device), such as for use in timing communication of packets of the traffic flow to avoid network congestion, and see par. [0147]: at 1304 the RAN device may determine scheduling information for the traffic flow based on the indication, wherein the scheduling information comprises one or more of a time offset information, a reliability, and a minimum throughput of delivery of data traffic for the flow. The time offset information may, for example, comprise a pre-determined time offset (e.g., a start time value determined based on a common clock), a delta time offset (e.g., a time offset value relative to one or more existing time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows), etc).
However, Joseph does not teach:
the time offset value is a difference between the moment at which the first data packet arrives at the communication device and the scheduling moment;
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
the time offset value is a difference between the moment at which the first data packet arrives at the communication device and the scheduling moment (see Zheng, Fig. 15, par. [0266]: the first time offset includes a time interval (or a time delay) between the start moment of the second time unit and a start moment of the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time interval (or a time delay) between the end moment of the second time unit and an end moment of the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between a start moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and a start moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between an end moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and a start moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between an end moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and an end moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit, and see par. [0268]: Using FIG. 15 as an example, the first time offset is two subframes, and the first time offset is represented by a time interval between start moments of different time units. Descriptions of another time offset appearing in this embodiment of the present application are similar, and details are not described herein again; in this case, determining a offset between data packet arrival and subsequent transmission teaches the limitation);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the time offset value of Joseph with the specific time offset value calculation of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving transmission flexibility and reliability (see Zheng, par. [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein the time of arrival is received by the communication device from the application network element (see Joseph, par. [0091]: a UE may receive an indication of traffic flow to be served in a wireless communication system. In examples, the SMF may, via the AMF, indicate a new QoS flow to a UE. This may be as part of PDU session establishment. The UE may receive scheduling information for the traffic flow, along with the received indication. The scheduling information received by the UE may comprise one or more of a reliability, a minimum throughput of delivery of data traffic for the traffic flow, time offset information).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein the time of arrival is determined by the communication device based on the moment at which the first data packet arrives at the communication device (see Joseph, Fig. 14, par. [0150]: delta time offset information comprising a time offset value (e.g., delta time offset 1401 shown in FIG. 14) determined relative to a current packet arrival offset may be determined relative to a time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow. The delta time offset information may, for example, be determined for applying to an pre-determined or existing time offset of the first traffic flow for providing better packet arrival offset (e.g., non-overlapping packet arrival) for the first traffic flow and the one or more other traffic flows, and see par. [0152]: At 1322 a first node of the wireless communication system determines time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more traffic flows in a second node of the wireless communication system. In examples, a first node (e.g., Node 1 of FIG. 14) may determine the current packet arrival offset for one or more existing traffic flows in a second node (e.g., Node 2 of FIG. 14)).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein the communication device is an access network device (see Joseph, par. [0145]: The operations of method 1300 may be implemented by a RAN device (e.g., a base station, a gNB, a Central Unit (CU), a Distributed Unit (DU), etc.)), and the method further comprises:
receiving, by the access network device, the time of arrival from a terminal device (see Joseph, Figs. 13A and 13C, par. [0146]: an AF of an edge server or an application on a UE may initiate a request to establish a session (e.g., a session establishment request) with a corresponding AE, wherein an indication of a traffic flow for the session provided by the RAN in response to the session establishment request is received by the RAN device. As another example, an AF of an edge server or an application on the UE may initiate a request to establish a session (e.g., a session establishment request) with a corresponding AE, wherein the session establishment request may be interpreted as an indication of a traffic flow by the RAN device, and see par. [0152]: A determination with respect to current packet arrival offset may, for example, be based on learning of offsets (after flow establishment), based on traffic pattern information (e.g., TSCAI) provided to the first node (e.g., during flow establishment), etc; in this case, receiving indication of traffic including offsets corresponds to receiving the time of arrival).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein the communication device is an access network device (see Joseph, par. [0145]: The operations of method 1300 may be implemented by a RAN device (e.g., a base station, a gNB, a Central Unit (CU), a Distributed Unit (DU), etc.)), the scheduling and orchestration information is determined by the access network device based on parameter information (see Joseph, Fig. 13A, par. [0147]: At 1304 the RAN device may determine scheduling information for the traffic flow based on the indication, wherein the scheduling information comprises one or more of a time offset information, a reliability, and a minimum throughput of delivery of data traffic for the flow. The time offset information may, for example, comprise a pre-determined time offset (e.g., a start time value determined based on a common clock), a delta time offset (e.g., a time offset value relative to one or more existing time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows)), the parameter information comprises a service periodicity or service flow time of arrival, and the service flow time of arrival indicates a moment at which a second data packet in the service flow arrives at the communication device (see Joseph, Fig. 13C, par. [0152]: Determining the delta time offset information may comprise various operations and/or determinations. For example, as shown in FIG. 13C, determining the delta time offset information may comprise determining time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows and/or the first traffic flow, wherein delta time offset information for one or more traffic flows (e.g., the existing one or more traffic flows, a new traffic flow, and/or one or more other existing traffic flows) may be determined relative to a time offset of the time offsets. At 1322 a first node of the wireless communication system determines time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more traffic flows in a second node of the wireless communication system; in this case, time offset information for traffic flows corresponds to service flow time of arrival).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein that the scheduling and orchestration information is determined by the access network device based on parameter information comprises:
the scheduling and orchestration information is determined by the access network device based on parameter information corresponding to at least two service flows (see Joseph, Fig. 13A, par. [0147]: At 1304 the RAN device may determine scheduling information for the traffic flow based on the indication, wherein the scheduling information comprises one or more of a time offset information, a reliability, and a minimum throughput of delivery of data traffic for the flow. The time offset information may, for example, comprise a pre-determined time offset (e.g., a start time value determined based on a common clock), a delta time offset (e.g., a time offset value relative to one or more existing time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows), and see Fig. 13C, par. [0152]: Determining the delta time offset information may comprise various operations and/or determinations. For example, as shown in FIG. 13C, determining the delta time offset information may comprise determining time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows and/or the first traffic flow, wherein delta time offset information for one or more traffic flows (e.g., the existing one or more traffic flows, a new traffic flow, and/or one or more other existing traffic flows) may be determined relative to a time offset of the time offsets. At 1322 a first node of the wireless communication system determines time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more traffic flows in a second node of the wireless communication system).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein the at least two service flows comprise a first service flow and a second service flow (see Joseph, Fig. 13C, par. [0152]: Determining the delta time offset information may comprise various operations and/or determinations. For example, as shown in FIG. 13C, determining the delta time offset information may comprise determining time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows and/or the first traffic flow, wherein delta time offset information for one or more traffic flows (e.g., the existing one or more traffic flows, a new traffic flow, and/or one or more other existing traffic flows) may be determined relative to a time offset of the time offsets. At 1322 a first node of the wireless communication system determines time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more traffic flows in a second node of the wireless communication system), a difference between a first service flow time of arrival corresponding to the first service flow and a second service flow time of arrival corresponding to the second service flow is less than or equal to a first threshold (see Joseph, Fig. 13B, par. [0150]: At 1312 delta time offset information is determined for a first traffic flow relative to an existing time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow for scheduling transmissions of one or more other traffic flows and the first traffic flow in the wireless communication system. As shown in the example of FIG. 14, the arrival time of packets of a traffic flow associated with UE-1 and a traffic flow associated with UE-2 may overlap with respect to one or more nodes (e.g., Node 2 and Node 3) of the wireless communication system; in this case, arrival time of packets of different traffic flows overlapping corresponds to the difference being less than a first threshold), and a first scheduling moment corresponding to the first service flow and a second scheduling moment corresponding to the second service flow are greater than or equal to a second threshold (see Joseph, Fig. 13B, par. [0150]: delta time offset information comprising a time offset value (e.g., delta time offset 1401 shown in FIG. 14) determined relative to a current packet arrival offset may be determined relative to a time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow. The delta time offset information may, for example, be determined for applying to an pre-determined or existing time offset of the first traffic flow for providing better packet arrival offset (e.g., non-overlapping packet arrival) for the first traffic flow and the one or more other traffic flows; in this case, determining packet scheduling for non-overlapping corresponds to the scheduling moments being greater than a second threshold).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the access network device, parameter information from the application network element (see Joseph, Figs. 13A and 13C, par. [0146]: an AF of an edge server or an application on a UE may initiate a request to establish a session (e.g., a session establishment request) with a corresponding AE, wherein an indication of a traffic flow for the session provided by the RAN in response to the session establishment request is received by the RAN device. As another example, an AF of an edge server or an application on the UE may initiate a request to establish a session (e.g., a session establishment request) with a corresponding AE, wherein the session establishment request may be interpreted as an indication of a traffic flow by the RAN device, and see par. [0152]: A determination with respect to current packet arrival offset may, for example, be based on learning of offsets (after flow establishment), based on traffic pattern information (e.g., TSCAI) provided to the first node (e.g., during flow establishment), etc).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein the communication device is an access network device (see Joseph, par. [0145]: The operations of method 1300 may be implemented by a RAN device (e.g., a base station, a gNB, a Central Unit (CU), a Distributed Unit (DU), etc.)),
Joseph does not teach, but Zheng teaches:
the method further comprises:
allocating, by the access network device, a resource based on the scheduling and orchestration information (see Zheng, par. [0263]: After determining the time unit #A2 (that is, an example of the second time unit) as described above, the terminal device #A and the access network device may determine, based on the time unit #A2, a time unit (that is, an example of the third time unit, which, for ease of understanding and distinguishing, is denoted as the time unit #A3 below) used to transmit the uplink information #A scheduled by using the scheduling information #A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Joseph with the resource allocation of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving transmission flexibility and reliability (see Zheng, par. [0010]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein the communication device is a terminal device (see Joseph, par. [0137]: FIG. 12A shows a flowchart illustrating a method 1200 that supports techniques for signaling time offsets in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The operations of method 1200 may be implemented by a UE 115 or its components as described herein), and the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, the scheduling and orchestration information from an access network device (see Joseph, Fig. 12A, par. [0138]: At 1202 the UE 115 may receive an indication of a traffic flow to be served by a wireless communication system, and see par. [0091]: a UE may receive an indication of traffic flow to be served in a wireless communication system. In examples, the SMF may, via the AMF, indicate a new QoS flow to a UE. This may be as part of PDU session establishment. The UE may receive scheduling information for the traffic flow, along with the received indication. The scheduling information received by the UE may comprise one or more of a reliability, a minimum throughput of delivery of data traffic for the traffic flow, time offset information, etc).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the communication device, updated parameter information from the application network element, wherein the updated parameter information comprises: updated service flow time of arrival or effective time of the updated service flow time of arrival (see Joseph, Fig. 13A, par. [0147]: At 1304 the RAN device may determine scheduling information for the traffic flow based on the indication, wherein the scheduling information comprises one or more of a time offset information, a reliability, and a minimum throughput of delivery of data traffic for the flow. The time offset information may, for example, comprise a pre-determined time offset (e.g., a start time value determined based on a common clock), a delta time offset (e.g., a time offset value relative to one or more existing time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows), and see Fig. 13C, par. [0152]: Determining the delta time offset information may comprise various operations and/or determinations. For example, as shown in FIG. 13C, determining the delta time offset information may comprise determining time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows and/or the first traffic flow, wherein delta time offset information for one or more traffic flows (e.g., the existing one or more traffic flows, a new traffic flow, and/or one or more other existing traffic flows) may be determined relative to a time offset of the time offsets. At 1322 a first node of the wireless communication system determines time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more traffic flows in a second node of the wireless communication system; in this case, receiving time offset information regarding existing traffic flows and new traffic flows corresponds to receiving updated service flow time of arrival).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein the updated service flow time of arrival comprises updated uplink service flow time of arrival (see Joseph, par. [0092]: The time offset information conveyed to the AF associated with the server may correspond to traffic originating at the server (downlink traffic), or to traffic destined to the server (uplink traffic)), the communication device is an access network device (see Joseph, par. [0145]: The operations of method 1300 may be implemented by a RAN device (e.g., a base station, a gNB, a Central Unit (CU), a Distributed Unit (DU), etc.)),
Joseph does not teach, but Zheng teaches:
the method further comprises:
determining, by the access network device, downlink service flow time of arrival based on the updated uplink service flow time of arrival (see Zheng, par. [0303]: the terminal device #A and the access network device may determine a time unit #A5 (that is, an example of the fifth time unit) based on a location of the time unit #A3 in the downlink burst #A1 and the time offset #β (that is, an example of the third time offset, which, for example, may be 4 ms), and see par. [0300]: The third time offset herein may represent a time offset between a location of an uplink subframe that can be scheduled by using the scheduling information and the first time unit in an LTE system for a user who supports version 13 or below, and see par. [0299]: The fifth time unit is associated with only the first time unit, and see par. [0176]: the first time unit and the second time unit may belong to different downlink bursts (that is, Case 1), or belong to a same downlink burst (that is, Case 2), and see par. [0117]: the access network device, for example, a base station or a cell, may determine, after successfully preempting an unlicensed spectrum resource, downlink information transmission duration and/or uplink information transmission duration based on downlink service load and/or uplink service load or another considered factor; in this case, determining time units associated with downlink based on uplink time units corresponds to determining downlink service flow time of arrival based on updated uplink service flow time of arrival).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Joseph with the determining downlink service flow time of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving transmission flexibility and reliability (see Zheng, par. [0010]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein sending, by the communication device, the time offset value to an application network element comprises:
when the time offset value is greater than a third threshold (see Joseph, Fig. 13B, par. [0150]: At 1312 delta time offset information is determined for a first traffic flow relative to an existing time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow for scheduling transmissions of one or more other traffic flows and the first traffic flow in the wireless communication system. As shown in the example of FIG. 14, the arrival time of packets of a traffic flow associated with UE-1 and a traffic flow associated with UE-2 may overlap with respect to one or more nodes (e.g., Node 2 and Node 3) of the wireless communication system. Accordingly, delta time offset information comprising a time offset value (e.g., delta time offset 1401 shown in FIG. 14) determined relative to a current packet arrival offset may be determined relative to a time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow. The delta time offset information may, for example, be determined for applying to an pre-determined or existing time offset of the first traffic flow for providing better packet arrival offset (e.g., non-overlapping packet arrival) for the first traffic flow and the one or more other traffic flows; in this case, the time offset being determined to be sufficient for non-overlapping packet arrival corresponds to greater than a threshold), sending, by the communication device, the time offset value to the application network element (see Joseph, Fig. 13A, par. [0148]: At 1306 the RAN device may transmit the scheduling information in response to the indication. For example, the RAN device may transmit the time offset information to an AE (e.g., an AF of an edge server and/or an application on a user device), such as for use in timing communication of packets of the traffic flow to avoid network congestion, and see par. [0147]: at 1304 the RAN device may determine scheduling information for the traffic flow based on the indication, wherein the scheduling information comprises one or more of a time offset information, a reliability, and a minimum throughput of delivery of data traffic for the flow. The time offset information may, for example, comprise a pre-determined time offset (e.g., a start time value determined based on a common clock), a delta time offset (e.g., a time offset value relative to one or more existing time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows), etc).
Regarding claim 14, Joseph teaches:
A method, comprising:
receiving, by an access network device, burst arrival time from a terminal device (see Joseph, Figs. 13A and 13C, par. [0146]: an AF of an edge server or an application on a UE may initiate a request to establish a session (e.g., a session establishment request) with a corresponding AE, wherein an indication of a traffic flow for the session provided by the RAN in response to the session establishment request is received by the RAN device. As another example, an AF of an edge server or an application on the UE may initiate a request to establish a session (e.g., a session establishment request) with a corresponding AE, wherein the session establishment request may be interpreted as an indication of a traffic flow by the RAN device, and see par. [0152]: A determination with respect to current packet arrival offset may, for example, be based on learning of offsets (after flow establishment), based on traffic pattern information (e.g., TSCAI) provided to the first node (e.g., during flow establishment), etc; in this case, packet arrival offset information corresponds to burst arrival time), wherein the burst arrival time is a moment at which the terminal device receives a first data packet in an uplink service flow (see Joseph, par. [0147]: The time offset information may, for example, comprise a pre-determined time offset (e.g., a start time value determined based on a common clock), a delta time offset (e.g., a time offset value relative to one or more existing time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows), etc, and see par. [0092]: The time offset information conveyed to the AF associated with the server may correspond to traffic originating at the server (downlink traffic), or to traffic destined to the server (uplink traffic));
determining, by the access network device, a time offset value based on an uplink scheduling moment and the burst arrival time (see Joseph, Fig. 13B, par. [0150]: At 1312 delta time offset information is determined for a first traffic flow relative to an existing time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow for scheduling transmissions of one or more other traffic flows and the first traffic flow in the wireless communication system. As shown in the example of FIG. 14, the arrival time of packets of a traffic flow associated with UE-1 and a traffic flow associated with UE-2 may overlap with respect to one or more nodes (e.g., Node 2 and Node 3) of the wireless communication system. Accordingly, delta time offset information comprising a time offset value (e.g., delta time offset 1401 shown in FIG. 14) determined relative to a current packet arrival offset may be determined relative to a time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow, and see par. [0092]: The time offset information conveyed to the AF associated with the server may correspond to traffic originating at the server (downlink traffic), or to traffic destined to the server (uplink traffic); in this case, determining delta time offset information corresponds to determining a time offset value. Determining is done based on traffic flows (i.e. uplink scheduling moment) and existing time offset of packet arrivals (i.e. burst arrival time)), wherein a packet sending moment is determined based on the time offset value (see Joseph, Fig. 13B, par. [0150]: At 1312 delta time offset information is determined for a first traffic flow relative to an existing time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow for scheduling transmissions of one or more other traffic flows and the first traffic flow in the wireless communication system. As shown in the example of FIG. 14, the arrival time of packets of a traffic flow associated with UE-1 and a traffic flow associated with UE-2 may overlap with respect to one or more nodes (e.g., Node 2 and Node 3) of the wireless communication system. Accordingly, delta time offset information comprising a time offset value (e.g., delta time offset 1401 shown in FIG. 14) determined relative to a current packet arrival offset may be determined relative to a time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow, and see par. [0092]: The time offset information conveyed to the AF associated with the server may correspond to traffic originating at the server (downlink traffic), or to traffic destined to the server (uplink traffic); in this case, the delta time offset information is used for determining packet communication, corresponding to a packet sending moment), and
sending, by the access network device, the time offset value to an application network element (see Joseph, Fig. 13A, par. [0148]: At 1306 the RAN device may transmit the scheduling information in response to the indication. For example, the RAN device may transmit the time offset information to an AE (e.g., an AF of an edge server and/or an application on a user device), such as for use in timing communication of packets of the traffic flow to avoid network congestion, and see par. [0147]: at 1304 the RAN device may determine scheduling information for the traffic flow based on the indication, wherein the scheduling information comprises one or more of a time offset information, a reliability, and a minimum throughput of delivery of data traffic for the flow. The time offset information may, for example, comprise a pre-determined time offset (e.g., a start time value determined based on a common clock), a delta time offset (e.g., a time offset value relative to one or more existing time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows), etc).
However, Joseph does not teach:
the packet sending moment indicates a sending moment of a third data packet in the uplink service flow;
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
the packet sending moment indicates a sending moment of a third data packet in the uplink service flow (see Zheng, par. [0266]: the first time offset includes a time interval (or a time delay) between the start moment of the second time unit and a start moment of the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time interval (or a time delay) between the end moment of the second time unit and an end moment of the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between a start moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and a start moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between an end moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and a start moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between an end moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and an end moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the packet sending moment of Joseph with the specific indication of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving transmission flexibility and reliability (see Zheng, par. [0010]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein an N2 message includes the time offset value (see Joseph, par. [0095]: assuming the AE is an AF on an edge server, on the interfaces (e.g., N2, N5, N7, N11) between the RAN and the AF, the time offset information may be carried in new fields of existing messages, or in new messages, or by reinterpretation of existing fields in existing messages, and see par. [0097]: On an N2 3GPP interface (i.e., between the RAN and AMF) the time offset information may be carried or transmitted in a notification message).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein sending, by the access network device, the time offset value to an application network element comprises:
sending, by the access network device, the time offset value to the application network element via a mobility management network element, a session management network element, a policy control network element, a delay clock network element, or a network exposure network element (see Joseph, Fig. 5A, par. [0088]: if the AE is an AF on an edge server, the time offset information (e.g., one or more pre-determined time offset value, delta time offset value, etc.) may be sent from the RAN to the AF associated with the edge server via the AMF, SMF and PCF. For instance, as illustrated in FIG. 5A, time offset information may be transmitted from RAN 505 to AF 509 via AMF 507, SMF 508, and PCF 503, and see Fig. 13A, par. [0148]: At 1306 the RAN device may transmit the scheduling information in response to the indication. For example, the RAN device may transmit the time offset information to an AE (e.g., an AF of an edge server and/or an application on a user device), such as for use in timing communication of packets of the traffic flow to avoid network congestion).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method. Joseph further teaches:
wherein sending, by the access network device, the time offset value to the application network element comprises:
when the time offset value is greater than a third threshold (see Joseph, Fig. 13B, par. [0150]: At 1312 delta time offset information is determined for a first traffic flow relative to an existing time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow for scheduling transmissions of one or more other traffic flows and the first traffic flow in the wireless communication system. As shown in the example of FIG. 14, the arrival time of packets of a traffic flow associated with UE-1 and a traffic flow associated with UE-2 may overlap with respect to one or more nodes (e.g., Node 2 and Node 3) of the wireless communication system. Accordingly, delta time offset information comprising a time offset value (e.g., delta time offset 1401 shown in FIG. 14) determined relative to a current packet arrival offset may be determined relative to a time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow. The delta time offset information may, for example, be determined for applying to an pre-determined or existing time offset of the first traffic flow for providing better packet arrival offset (e.g., non-overlapping packet arrival) for the first traffic flow and the one or more other traffic flows; in this case, the time offset being determined to be sufficient for non-overlapping packet arrival corresponds to greater than a threshold), sending, by the access network device, the time offset value to the application network element (see Joseph, Fig. 13A, par. [0148]: At 1306 the RAN device may transmit the scheduling information in response to the indication. For example, the RAN device may transmit the time offset information to an AE (e.g., an AF of an edge server and/or an application on a user device), such as for use in timing communication of packets of the traffic flow to avoid network congestion, and see par. [0147]: at 1304 the RAN device may determine scheduling information for the traffic flow based on the indication, wherein the scheduling information comprises one or more of a time offset information, a reliability, and a minimum throughput of delivery of data traffic for the flow. The time offset information may, for example, comprise a pre-determined time offset (e.g., a start time value determined based on a common clock), a delta time offset (e.g., a time offset value relative to one or more existing time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows), etc).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Joseph in view of Zheng teaches the method.
wherein sending, by the access network device, the time offset value to the application network element comprises:
when the time offset value is greater than a third threshold (see Joseph, Fig. 13B, par. [0150]: At 1312 delta time offset information is determined for a first traffic flow relative to an existing time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow for scheduling transmissions of one or more other traffic flows and the first traffic flow in the wireless communication system. As shown in the example of FIG. 14, the arrival time of packets of a traffic flow associated with UE-1 and a traffic flow associated with UE-2 may overlap with respect to one or more nodes (e.g., Node 2 and Node 3) of the wireless communication system. Accordingly, delta time offset information comprising a time offset value (e.g., delta time offset 1401 shown in FIG. 14) determined relative to a current packet arrival offset may be determined relative to a time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow. The delta time offset information may, for example, be determined for applying to an pre-determined or existing time offset of the first traffic flow for providing better packet arrival offset (e.g., non-overlapping packet arrival) for the first traffic flow and the one or more other traffic flows; in this case, the time offset being determined to be sufficient for non-overlapping packet arrival corresponds to greater than a threshold), sending, by the access network device, the time offset value to the application network element (see Joseph, Fig. 13A, par. [0148]: At 1306 the RAN device may transmit the scheduling information in response to the indication. For example, the RAN device may transmit the time offset information to an AE (e.g., an AF of an edge server and/or an application on a user device), such as for use in timing communication of packets of the traffic flow to avoid network congestion, and see par. [0147]: at 1304 the RAN device may determine scheduling information for the traffic flow based on the indication, wherein the scheduling information comprises one or more of a time offset information, a reliability, and a minimum throughput of delivery of data traffic for the flow. The time offset information may, for example, comprise a pre-determined time offset (e.g., a start time value determined based on a common clock), a delta time offset (e.g., a time offset value relative to one or more existing time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows), etc).
Regarding claim 19, Joseph teaches:
A method, comprising:
receiving, by an application network element, a time offset value from an access network device (see Joseph, Fig. 13A, par. [0148]: At 1306 the RAN device may transmit the scheduling information in response to the indication. For example, the RAN device may transmit the time offset information to an AE (e.g., an AF of an edge server and/or an application on a user device), such as for use in timing communication of packets of the traffic flow to avoid network congestion; in this case, the RAN device (i.e. access network device) sends time offset information to the AE which receives it); and
determining, by the application network element, a packet sending moment based on the time offset value (see Joseph, pars. [0093-0094]: The time offset information may be in response to a session establishment request from the AE. Additionally or alternatively, the time offset information may be in response to determining a preferred characteristic of packet arrival for an existing flow. In some examples, the 5G system (e.g., RAN) may indicate multiple time offset values to the AE, and the AE may select one time offset value among the multiple time offset values. In examples, if none of the offset values indicated by the 5G system is acceptable to the AE, the AE may suggest alternative values, and the 5G system may determine if any of the suggested values are acceptable, allowing negotiation of the offset values between the 5G system and AE; in this case, the time offset information is used for determining packet communication, corresponding to a packet sending moment),
However, Joseph does not teach:
wherein the packet sending moment indicates a sending moment of a third data packet in an uplink service flow.
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the packet sending moment indicates a sending moment of a third data packet in an uplink service flow (see Zheng, par. [0266]: the first time offset includes a time interval (or a time delay) between the start moment of the second time unit and a start moment of the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time interval (or a time delay) between the end moment of the second time unit and an end moment of the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between a start moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and a start moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between an end moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and a start moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between an end moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and an end moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the packet sending moment of Joseph with the specific indication of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving transmission flexibility and reliability (see Zheng, par. [0010]).
Regarding claim 20, Joseph teaches:
A method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, a moment at which a first data packet in an uplink service flow is received as burst arrival time (see Joseph, Fig. 12A, par. [0139]: At 1204 the UE 115 receives scheduling information for the traffic flow along with the indication, wherein the scheduling information comprises one or more of a time offset information, a reliability, and a minimum throughput delivery of data traffic for the flow. The time offset information may, for example, comprise a pre-determined time offset (e.g., a start time value determined based on a common clock), a delta time offset (e.g., a time offset value relative to one or more existing time offsets of packet arrivals of one or more existing traffic flows), etc, and see par. [0092]: The time offset information conveyed to the AF associated with the server may correspond to traffic originating at the server (downlink traffic), or to traffic destined to the server (uplink traffic); in this case, packet arrival offset information corresponds to burst arrival time); and
sending, by the terminal device, the burst arrival time to an access network device (see Joseph, Figs. 13A and 13C, par. [0146]: an AF of an edge server or an application on a UE may initiate a request to establish a session (e.g., a session establishment request) with a corresponding AE, wherein an indication of a traffic flow for the session provided by the RAN in response to the session establishment request is received by the RAN device. As another example, an AF of an edge server or an application on the UE may initiate a request to establish a session (e.g., a session establishment request) with a corresponding AE, wherein the session establishment request may be interpreted as an indication of a traffic flow by the RAN device, and see par. [0152]: A determination with respect to current packet arrival offset may, for example, be based on learning of offsets (after flow establishment), based on traffic pattern information (e.g., TSCAI) provided to the first node (e.g., during flow establishment), etc), wherein a time offset value is determined based on the burst arrival time (see Joseph, Fig. 13B, par. [0150]: At 1312 delta time offset information is determined for a first traffic flow relative to an existing time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow for scheduling transmissions of one or more other traffic flows and the first traffic flow in the wireless communication system. As shown in the example of FIG. 14, the arrival time of packets of a traffic flow associated with UE-1 and a traffic flow associated with UE-2 may overlap with respect to one or more nodes (e.g., Node 2 and Node 3) of the wireless communication system. Accordingly, delta time offset information comprising a time offset value (e.g., delta time offset 1401 shown in FIG. 14) determined relative to a current packet arrival offset may be determined relative to a time offset of packet arrivals of the first traffic flow; in this case, determining delta time offset information corresponds to determining a time offset value. Determining is done based existing time offset of packet arrivals (i.e. burst arrival time)), the first data packet sending moment is determined based on the time offset value (see Joseph, pars. [0093-0094]: The time offset information may be in response to a session establishment request from the AE. Additionally or alternatively, the time offset information may be in response to determining a preferred characteristic of packet arrival for an existing flow. In some examples, the 5G system (e.g., RAN) may indicate multiple time offset values to the AE, and the AE may select one time offset value among the multiple time offset values. In examples, if none of the offset values indicated by the 5G system is acceptable to the AE, the AE may suggest alternative values, and the 5G system may determine if any of the suggested values are acceptable, allowing negotiation of the offset values between the 5G system and AE; in this case, the time offset information is used for determining packet communication, corresponding to a packet sending moment),
However, Joseph does not teach:
the first data packet sending moment indicates a sending moment of a third data packet in the uplink service flow.
Zheng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
the first data packet sending moment indicates a sending moment of a third data packet in the uplink service flow (see Zheng, par. [0266]: the first time offset includes a time interval (or a time delay) between the start moment of the second time unit and a start moment of the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time interval (or a time delay) between the end moment of the second time unit and an end moment of the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between a start moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and a start moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between an end moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and a start moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit, or the first time offset includes a time delay between an end moment used for downlink information transmission in the second time unit and an end moment used for uplink information transmission in the third time unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the packet sending moment of Joseph with the specific indication of Zheng with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving transmission flexibility and reliability (see Zheng, par. [0010]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fu et al. (US 2024/0396820) teaches a solution in which transmission or resource scheduling can be performed on associated data at the same time or approximately at the same time based on timestamp information, thereby achieving synchronous transmission of the associated data and satisfying a data synchronization requirement.
Li (US 2020/0170001) teaches a method in which a transmission time delay can be shortened, and user experience and radio network performance can be greatly improved.
Rico Alvarino et al. (US 2021/0314892) teaches a scheduling offset between an uplink and downlink radio frame timing structure of a user equipment (UE) may be updated to provide for more efficient utilization of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes in a non-terrestrial network.
Smith et al. (US 2009/0257422) teaches one or more frame slots to each transceiver are allocated for communication within each message cycle. The number of frame slots allocated can be dynamically adjusted to accommodate variable traffic loads per transceiver, and an offset of the frame slots within the message cycle is preferably predefined to provide a uniform distribution among the transceivers.
H. Li, G. Shou, Y. Hu and Y. Liu, ("SDN/NFV Enhanced Time Synchronization in Packet Networks") teaches an analytical model is developed that covers the primary influencing factors of synchronization accuracy, including the link length, delay coefficient, timestamping granularity, and local oscillator's characteristic of the network element.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419