DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The Title has been updated according to the amended Specification dated 08/03/2026. The objection to the Title has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an image forming portion, an image bearing member, a charging unit, an exposing unit, a developing unit, a driving portion, a sheet support portion, a sheet blowing portion, a sheet feeding portion, a control portion in claim 1; a detection portion in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0219776 to Iwami in view of US 2016/0131999 to Kojima et al.
Regarding claim 1, Iwami teaches an image forming apparatus (600) configured to form an image on a sheet (S), comprising:
an image forming portion (201B) including a rotatable image bearing member (212), a charging unit (213) configured to charge the image bearing member, an exposing unit (122) configured to expose the image bearing member charged by the charging unit to form an electrostatic latent image on the image bearing member, and a developing unit (214) configured to develop the electrostatic latent image formed on the image bearing member using developer [0025];
a driving portion (not shown) configured to rotationally drive the image bearing member;
a sheet support portion (514) configured to support the sheet [0036];
a sheet blowing portion (511a,511b) configured to perform a blowing operation of blowing air to the sheet supported on the sheet support portion [0037];
a sheet feeding portion (506) configured to perform a feeding operation of feeding the sheet supported on the sheet support portion [0035]; and
a control portion (100) configured, every time the sheet feeding portion performs the feeding operation for a predetermined number of sheets in a continuous image forming of of forming images on a plurality of sheets continuously, to execute a mode in which, in a predetermined period after the sheet fed by the sheet feeding portion passes through a transfer position at which a toner image formed by the image forming portion is transferred to the sheet and before a succeeding sheet fed by the sheet feeding portion passes through the transfer position, the blowing operation is performed in a state where the feeding operation is stopped (Fig.7, feeding is stopped every predetermined number of sheets to execute air blowing operation [0055-0058]), wherein
the predetermined period when the control portion executes the mode in the continuous image forming job is longer than the predetermined period when the control portion does not execute the mode in the continuous image forming job (inherent result of executing path S12[Wingdings font/0xE0]S14 when S17=YES),
Iwami appears silent about stopping rotation of the image bearing member during the mode. Kojima teaches stopping a driving motor for the photoconductive drum when an inter-sheet time including a post-processing operation is longer than the time to stop/start image formation to prevent the lives of the units, supplies, and parts of the image forming apparatus from being shortened (Fig.8, [0076]). Thus, in a case execution of the blowing operation significantly extends the inter-sheet time (i.e. predetermined period), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Iwami and Kojima such that
the control portion is configured to control the driving portion such that there is a period in which rotation of the image bearing member is stopped during the predetermined period when the control portion executes the mode in the continuous image forming job, and
the control portion is configured to control the driving portion to perform the rotation of the image bearing member during the predetermined period when the control portion does not execute the mode in the continuous image forming job
for at least the purpose of reducing wear of the image bearing member without impacting productivity, while the blowing operation is executed.
The combination further renders obvious,
(claim 2) The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control portion is configured to control the driving portion to stop the rotation of the image bearing member during the mode, in a case where a time for which the sheet blowing portion performs the blowing operation in the predetermined period is equal to or longer than a predetermined time (Kojima: [0073]).
(claim 3) The image forming apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the control portion is configured to execute the mode without stopping the rotation of the image bearing member during the mode, in a case where the time for which the sheet blowing portion performs the blowing operation in the predetermined period is less than the predetermined time (Kojima teaches the drive motor is not stopped when the inter-sheet time is short).
(claim 4) The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control portion is configured to execute the mode without stopping the rotation of the image bearing member during the mode, in a case where a time for which the sheet blowing portion performs the blowing operation in the predetermined period is less than a predetermined time (Kojima teaches the drive motor is not stopped when the inter-sheet time is short).
(claim 6) The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the sheet blowing portion is configured to perform the blowing operation in the predetermined period, in a case where the sheet supported on the sheet support portion is a predetermined sheet (Iwami: coated paper/smooth surface sheets [0002, 0042]).
(claim 7) The image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: an image forming apparatus body including the image forming portion, wherein the sheet support portion is a manual feed tray provided on a side surface of the image forming apparatus body (Iwami: [0029]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0219776 to Iwami in view of US 2016/0131999 to Kojima et al., and further in view of US 2020/0033800 to Aoki.
Regarding claim 5, Iwami in view of Kojima teach an image forming apparatus according to claim 1, but appear silent about a detecting portion as claimed.
Aoki discloses an image forming apparatus including a sheet storage portion (507) in which a plurality of sheets is stored, a sheet-loosening fan (611a) which sprays air on the sheet stored in the sheet storage portion, a detection portion (614) configured to detect environmental humidity and a controller (301) which controls the drive of the fan according to a detection result of the detection portion [0063]. Spray of warm wind on the sheet has an advantage in increasing an effect of relieving adhesion between sheets caused by moisture and loosening the sheets. On the other hand, an excessive difference in a moisture content between a sprayed portion and a non-sprayed portion of the sheet causes uneven sheet deformation to generate sheet wrinkles in moisture evaporation and expansion and contraction occurring in the course of heating and pressurizing when the sheet passes through a fixing device [0064]. Driving of the fan during a print job is OFF in low temp/low humidity environments in which a variation in moisture content of the sheet is low (Figs. 8-10, [0093-0122]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure an image forming apparatus according to claim 1 to further comprise a detection portion configured to detect environmental humidity, wherein the sheet blowing portion is configured to (i) perform the blowing operation for a first time in the predetermined period in a case where the environmental humidity detected by the detection portion is a first humidity and (ii) perform the blowing operation for a second time longer than the first time in the predetermined period in a case where the environmental humidity detected by the detection portion is a second humidity higher than the first humidity, for at least the purpose of controlling blown air so to effectively reduce moisture content difference in a sheet surface according to environmental conditions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are only partially persuasive. The applicants point to the features of claim 1 that they believe to be allowable and state that the cited art fails to teach these features. The Office respectfully disagrees, and the rejection has been presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2025/0189922 is relevant to the teachings of an image forming apparatus including a blowing unit that blows gas onto the recording medium loaded on the loading unit before the image formation processing on the recording medium starts; and a processor that sets, based on adjustment time before printing and blowing time that is a time in which the gas is blown, start timing of at least one of blowing start timing that is a timing at which blowing of the gas starts and adjustment processing start timing that is a timing at which the adjustment processing starts.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Arlene Heredia Ocasio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852