Applicant’s filed IDS of 09/19/2024 and 02/04/2025 have been entered and considered.
Claims 1-22 are currently pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as unpatentable over Shibuya et al. (JP 2015176533, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shibuya teaches a server apparatus configured to manage an image forming apparatus (server 20 of the disclosure is configured for receiving print job request data and managing an image forming apparatus 40 of Fig. 1),
the server apparatus comprising:
a storage unit configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus 20 of Figs. 1-3 comprising at least a job storage unit 22, and a log storage unit 24 collectively configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, which the setting unit 26 of Figs. 3-5 sets stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period);
and a processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets (the server 20 is configured to receive an excess printed sheet override request from the user and a processing request such as “If an instruction to continue printing is received even if the warning message is displayed, the availability determination requesting unit 47 indicates the number of sheets exceeding the upper limit number in the first period of the user who requests execution of a print job exceeding the upper limit number. A request for determining whether or not to execute printing is transmitted to the print control server 20 including the excess number and the user ID of the user. the first determination unit 27 The excess number included in the acceptability determination request corresponds to the second period before the first period the first determination unit 27 determines whether or not the excess number included in the availability determination request falls within the range of the surplus number obtained as described above. When the excess number included in the permission determination request falls within the range of the surplus number, the permission determination unit 28 permits execution of the print job (as requested by the user identified by the user ID included in the permission determination request” further implying said server comprising a well-known processing means configured in a case in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets).
Regarding claim 10, Shibuya teaches at least in Fig. 1 a server apparatus 20 operable to manage an image forming apparatus 40,
the server apparatus comprising:
a storage unit configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a maximum number of sheets that can be printed during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus 20 of Figs. 1-3 comprising at least a job storage unit 22, and a log storage unit 24 collectively configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, which the setting unit 26 of Figs. 3-5 sets stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period);
a processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing the maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform processing for changing the maximum number of sheets, number of sheets (the server 20 is configured to receive an excess printed sheet override request from the user such as “If an instruction to continue printing is received even if the warning message is displayed, the availability determination requesting unit 47 indicates the number of sheets exceeding the upper limit number in the first period of the user who requests execution of a print job exceeding the upper limit number. A request for determining whether or not to execute printing is transmitted to the print control server 20 including the excess number and the user ID of the user. the first determination unit 27 The excess number included in the acceptability determination request corresponds to the second period before the first period the first determination unit 27 determines whether or not the excess number included in the availability determination request falls within the range of the surplus number obtained as described above. When the excess number included in the permission determination request falls within the range of the surplus number, the permission determination unit 28 permits execution of the print job (as requested by the user identified by the user ID included in the permission determination request” further implying said server configured in a case in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets);
wherein the storage unit is configured to store, as the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, the number of sheets obtained by weighting the number of sheets actually printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the storage unit 22, and a log storage unit 24 collectively forming the storage means of at least Figs. 1-3 further configured to store information as the number of said sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, the number of sheets obtained by obviously weighting the number of sheets actually printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period).
Regarding claim 19, Shibuya teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, which when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus (the server 20 of at least Fig. 1 comprising as cited in the disclosure the CPU of the server comprising inherent the one or more processors and cited “storage unit 22 and the log storage unit 24 of the print control server 20 can be realized by a ROM, an HDD, or the like”, which would obviously include the one or more computer-readable storage medium), including:
the one or more processors (the CPU of the server 20); and
a memory configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus 20 of Figs. 1-3 comprising at least a job storage unit 22, and a log storage unit 24 collectively configured as the memory to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, which the setting unit 26 of Figs. 3-5 sets stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period);
causes the one or more processors to:
in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets (the server 20 is configured to receive an excess printed sheet override request from the user such as “If an instruction to continue printing is received even if the warning message is displayed, the availability determination requesting unit 47 indicates the number of sheets exceeding the upper limit number in the first period of the user who requests execution of a print job exceeding the upper limit number. A request for determining whether or not to execute printing is transmitted to the print control server 20 including the excess number and the user ID of the user. the first determination unit 27 The excess number included in the acceptability determination request corresponds to the second period before the first period the first determination unit 27 determines whether or not the excess number included in the availability determination request falls within the range of the surplus number obtained as described above. When the excess number included in the permission determination request falls within the range of the surplus number, the permission determination unit 28 permits execution of the print job (as requested by the user identified by the user ID included in the permission determination request” further implying said server configured in a case in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets).
Regarding claim 20, Shibuya teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, which when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus (the server 20 of at least Fig. 1 comprising as cited in the disclosure the CPU of the server comprising inherent the one or more processors and cited “storage unit 22 and the log storage unit 24 of the print control server 20 can be realized by a ROM, an HDD, or the like”, which would obviously include the one or more computer-readable storage medium), including:
the one or more processors (the CPU of the server 20); and
a memory configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a maximum number of sheets that can be printed during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus 20 of Figs. 1-3 comprising at least a job storage unit 22, and a log storage unit 24 collectively configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, which the setting unit 26 of Figs. 3-5 sets stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period);
causes the one or more processors to:
in response to a first request for changing the maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the maximum number of sheets (the server 20 is configured to receive an excess printed sheet override request from the user such as “If an instruction to continue printing is received even if the warning message is displayed, the availability determination requesting unit 47 indicates the number of sheets exceeding the upper limit number in the first period of the user who requests execution of a print job exceeding the upper limit number. A request for determining whether or not to execute printing is transmitted to the print control server 20 including the excess number and the user ID of the user. the first determination unit 27 The excess number included in the acceptability determination request corresponds to the second period before the first period the first determination unit 27 determines whether or not the excess number included in the availability determination request falls within the range of the surplus number obtained as described above. When the excess number included in the permission determination request falls within the range of the surplus number, the permission determination unit 28 permits execution of the print job (as requested by the user identified by the user ID included in the permission determination request” further implying said server configured in a case in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets);
wherein the computer program causes the one or more processors to:
store, in the memory, as the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, the number of sheets obtained by weighting the number of sheets actually printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the storage unit 22, and a log storage unit 24 collectively forming the storage means of at least Figs. 1-3 further configured to store information as the number of said sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, the number of sheets obtained by obviously weighting the number of sheets actually printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period).
Regarding claim 21, Shibuya teaches a management system (at least Fig. 1 teaches a print management system 1 comprising a terminal apparatus 10, a managing server 20, authentication server 30 and at least one target image forming apparatus 40),
comprising:
a server apparatus configured to manage an image forming apparatus (Fig.1 further illustrates the server apparatus 20 configured to manage an image forming apparatus 40); and
the image forming apparatus configured to be capable of communicating with the server apparatus (Fig. 1);
wherein the server apparatus includes:
a storage unit configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus 20 of Figs. 1-3 comprising at least a job storage unit 22, and a log storage unit 24 collectively configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, which the setting unit 26 of Figs. 3-5 sets stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period); and
a processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets (the server 20 is configured to receive an excess printed sheet override request from the user such as “If an instruction to continue printing is received even if the warning message is displayed, the availability determination requesting unit 47 indicates the number of sheets exceeding the upper limit number in the first period of the user who requests execution of a print job exceeding the upper limit number. A request for determining whether or not to execute printing is transmitted to the print control server 20 including the excess number and the user ID of the user. the first determination unit 27 The excess number included in the acceptability determination request corresponds to the second period before the first period the first determination unit 27 determines whether or not the excess number included in the availability determination request falls within the range of the surplus number obtained as described above. When the excess number included in the permission determination request falls within the range of the surplus number, the permission determination unit 28 permits execution of the print job (as requested by the user identified by the user ID included in the permission determination request” further implying said server configured in a case in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets).
Regarding claim 22, Shibuya teaches a management system (at least Fig. 1 teaches a print management system 1 comprising a terminal apparatus 10, a managing server 20, authentication server 30 and at least one target image forming apparatus 40),
comprising:
a server apparatus configured to manage an image forming apparatus (Fig.1 further illustrates the server apparatus 20 configured to manage an image forming apparatus 40); and
the image forming apparatus configured to be capable of communicating with the server apparatus (Fig. 1);
wherein the server apparatus includes:
a storage unit configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a maximum number of sheets that can be printed during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus 20 of Figs. 1-3 comprising at least a job storage unit 22, and a log storage unit 24 collectively configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, which the setting unit 26 of Figs. 3-5 sets stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period); and
a processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing the maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform processing for changing the maximum number of sheets (the server 20 is configured with a managing unit as said processing unit to receive and process an excess printed sheet override request from the user such as “If an instruction to continue printing is received even if the warning message is displayed, the availability determination requesting unit 47 indicates the number of sheets exceeding the upper limit number in the first period of the user who requests execution of a print job exceeding the upper limit number. A request for determining whether or not to execute printing is transmitted to the print control server 20 including the excess number and the user ID of the user. the first determination unit 27 The excess number included in the acceptability determination request corresponds to the second period before the first period the first determination unit 27 determines whether or not the excess number included in the availability determination request falls within the range of the surplus number obtained as described above. When the excess number included in the permission determination request falls within the range of the surplus number, the permission determination unit 28 permits execution of the print job (as requested by the user identified by the user ID included in the permission determination request” further implying said server configured in a case in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets);
wherein the storage unit is configured to store, as the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, the number of sheets obtained by weighting the number of sheets actually printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the storage unit 22, and a log storage unit 24 collectively forming the storage means of at least Figs. 1-3 further configured to store information as the number of said sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, the number of sheets obtained by obviously weighting the number of sheets actually printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-12, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yokomizo et al. (US 20220229614, A1) in view Funane et al. (US 20090251713, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hosomizo teaches a server apparatus configured to manage an image forming apparatus (management device 3 of at least para. 0034-0035 and Fig. 1 serves as a server apparatus configured to manage an image forming apparatus 2/200 of Fig. 1),
the server apparatus comprising:
a storage unit configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus comprising at least a storage unit 33 of Fig. 1 and para. 0031 configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, para. 0031 further supported by para. 0060-0062, 0109-0111 and Figs. 2, and 6 further illustrates stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period);
and a processing unit (the server 3 of further para. 0054 further configured to exchange information with the user terminal 1by means of an implied processing unit configured to, in response to a first request 135 of para. 0067 and 0104 and Fig. 6 for receiving a change setting request)
Hosomizo is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as specifically said processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets.
Funane teaches at least in Figs 1-2 a managing server 201 configured to manage connected plugins/printers and further in para. 0171 and Fig. 18 managing maximum number of sheets that can be printed and illustrates further in Figs. 6, 18, 33 and para. 0177 a managed updated print sheet table configured to, in response to a first request from a user of at least para. 0191 for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a PC terminal used by the user of para. 0191, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Hosomizo in view of Funane to include wherein said processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets, as discussed above, as Hosomizo in view of Funane are in the same field of endeavor of employing a server managing apparatus for managing usage functions of connected printers such as to control the managing of print resource privileges of users indicating at least one of the first maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user during a specific time or the like, Funane’s combination architecture of the managing server receiving a request to change the maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user and to illustrate a change screen with updated maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user further complements the managed print maximum number of color or monochrome sheets and the change settings request of Hosomizo, in a sense that said change settings request when combined to the combination architecture of Funane, it further enables the disablement of the restriction made to the maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, where the server is then as combined capably perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets where a print job as initially desired by the user can be performed thereby increase a user convenience and usability of said printing device according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), Hosomizo is silent regarding wherein the processing unit is configured to, in response to receiving the first request from the terminal, perform processing for displaying, on the terminal, a screen for inputting information indicating a changed maximum number of sheets of the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets.
Funane further illustrates in at least Figs. 6, 18, 33 and para. 0177 a screen depicting a managed updated print sheet table configured to, in response to a first request from a user of at least para. 0191 to at display a screen for inputting information indicating a changed maximum number of sheets of the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Hosomizo in view of Funane to include wherein said processing unit is configured to, in response to receiving the first request from the terminal, perform processing for displaying, on the terminal, a screen for inputting information indicating a changed maximum number of sheets of the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets, as discussed above, as Hosomizo in view of Funane are in the same field of endeavor of employing a server managing apparatus for managing usage functions of connected printers such as to control the managing of print resource privileges of users indicating at least one of the first maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user during a specific time or the like, Funane’s combination architecture of the managing server receiving a request to change the maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user and to illustrate a change screen with updated maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user further complements the managed print maximum number of color or monochrome sheets and the change settings request of Hosomizo, in a sense that said change settings request when combined to the combination architecture of Funane, it further enables the disablement of the restriction made to the maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, where the server is then as combined capably perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets where a print job as initially desired by the user can be performed thereby increase a user convenience and usability of said printing device according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 1), Hosomizo is silent regarding wherein the screen for inputting the information indicating the changed maximum number of sheets indicates an option for the changed maximum number of sheets.
Funane further illustrates in at least Figs. 6, 18, 33 and para. 0177 a screen depicting a managed updated print sheet table configured to, in response to a first request from a user of at least para. 0191 to at display a screen for inputting information indicating a changed maximum number of sheets of the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets, said further illustrates option for the changed maximum number of sheets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Hosomizo in view of Funane to include wherein said screen for inputting the information indicating the changed maximum number of sheets indicates an option for the changed maximum number of sheets, as discussed above, as Hosomizo in view of Funane are in the same field of endeavor of employing a server managing apparatus for managing usage functions of connected printers such as to control the managing of print resource privileges of users indicating at least one of the first maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user during a specific time or the like, Funane’s combination architecture of the managing server receiving a request to change the maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user and to illustrate a change screen with updated maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user further complements the managed print maximum number of color or monochrome sheets and the change settings request of Hosomizo, in a sense that said change settings request when combined to the combination architecture of Funane, it further enables the disablement of the restriction made to the maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, where the server is then as combined capably perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets where a print job as initially desired by the user can be performed thereby increase a user convenience and usability of said printing device according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 10, Hosomizo teaches a server apparatus operable to manage an image forming apparatus (management device 3 of at least para. 0034-0035 and Fig. 1 serves as a server apparatus configured to manage an image forming apparatus 2/200 of Fig. 1),
the server apparatus comprising:
a storage unit configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a maximum number of sheets that can be printed during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus comprising at least a storage unit 33 of Fig. 1 and para. 0031 configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, para. 0031 further supported by para. 0060-0062, 0109-0111 and Figs. 2, and 6 further illustrates stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period);
and a processing unit (the server 3 of further para. 0054 further configured to exchange information with the user terminal 1by means of an implied processing unit configured to, in response to a first request 135 of para. 0067 and 0104 and Fig. 6 for receiving a change setting request)
Hosomizo is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as specifically said processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing the maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform processing for changing the maximum number of sheets.
Funane teaches at least in Figs 1-2 a managing server 201 configured to manage connected plugins/printers and further in para. 0171 and Fig. 18 managing maximum number of sheets that can be printed and illustrates further in Figs. 6, 18, 33 and para. 0177 a managed updated print sheet table configured to, in response to a first request from a user of at least para. 0191 for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a PC terminal used by the user of para. 0191, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Hosomizo in view of Funane to include wherein processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing the maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform processing for changing the maximum number of sheets, as discussed above, as Hosomizo in view of Funane are in the same field of endeavor of employing a server managing apparatus for managing usage functions of connected printers such as to control the managing of print resource privileges of users indicating at least one of the first maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user during a specific time or the like, Funane’s combination architecture of the managing server receiving a request to change the maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user and to illustrate a change screen with updated maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user further complements the managed print maximum number of color or monochrome sheets and the change settings request of Hosomizo, in a sense that said change settings request when combined to the combination architecture of Funane, it further enables the disablement of the restriction made to the maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, where the server is then as combined capably perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets where a print job as initially desired by the user can be performed thereby increase a user convenience and usability of said printing device according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 11 (according to claim 10), Hosomizo is silent regarding wherein the processing unit is configured to, in response to receiving the first request from the terminal, perform processing for displaying, on the terminal, a screen for inputting information indicating a changed maximum number of sheets.
Funane further illustrates in at least Figs. 6, 18, 33 and para. 0177 a screen depicting a managed updated print sheet table configured to, in response to a first request from a user of at least para. 0191 to at display a screen for inputting information indicating a changed maximum number of sheets of the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Hosomizo in view of Funane to include wherein processing unit is configured to, in response to receiving the first request from the terminal, perform processing for displaying, on the terminal, a screen for inputting information indicating a changed maximum number of sheets, as discussed above, as Hosomizo in view of Funane are in the same field of endeavor of employing a server managing apparatus for managing usage functions of connected printers such as to control the managing of print resource privileges of users indicating at least one of the first maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user during a specific time or the like, Funane’s combination architecture of the managing server receiving a request to change the maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user and to illustrate a change screen with updated maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user further complements the managed print maximum number of color or monochrome sheets and the change settings request of Hosomizo, in a sense that said change settings request when combined to the combination architecture of Funane, it further enables the disablement of the restriction made to the maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, where the server is then as combined capably perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets where a print job as initially desired by the user can be performed thereby increase a user convenience and usability of said printing device according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 12 (according to claim 11), Hosomizo is silent regarding wherein the screen for inputting the information indicating the changed maximum number of sheets indicates an option for the changed maximum number of sheets.
Funane further illustrates in at least Figs. 6, 18, 33 and para. 0177 a screen depicting a managed updated print sheet table configured to, in response to a first request from a user of at least para. 0191 to at display a screen for inputting information indicating a changed maximum number of sheets of the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets, said further illustrates option for the changed maximum number of sheets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Hosomizo in view of Funane to include wherein said screen for inputting the information indicating the changed maximum number of sheets indicates an option for the changed maximum number of sheets, as discussed above, as Hosomizo in view of Funane are in the same field of endeavor of employing a server managing apparatus for managing usage functions of connected printers such as to control the managing of print resource privileges of users indicating at least one of the first maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user during a specific time or the like, Funane’s combination architecture of the managing server receiving a request to change the maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user and to illustrate a change screen with updated maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user further complements the managed print maximum number of color or monochrome sheets and the change settings request of Hosomizo, in a sense that said change settings request when combined to the combination architecture of Funane, it further enables the disablement of the restriction made to the maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, where the server is then as combined capably perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets where a print job as initially desired by the user can be performed thereby increase a user convenience and usability of said printing device according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 19, Hosomizo teaches at least in para. 0002 and 0004 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, which when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus 3 of Fig. 1 and para. 0004 including:
the one or more processors (para. 0004); and
a memory (para. 0004) configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus of para. 0004, further supported by para. 0031 further supported by para. 0060-0062, 0109-0111 and Figs. 2, and 6, comprises at least a storage unit 33 of configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user , further illustrates stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period);
Hosomizo is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as specifically causes the one or more processors to: in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets.
Funane teaches at least in Figs 1-2 a managing server 201 configured to manage connected plugins/printers and further in para. 0171 and Fig. 18 managing maximum number of sheets that can be printed and illustrates further in Figs. 6, 18, 33 and para. 0177 a managed updated print sheet table configured to, in response to a first request from a user of at least para. 0191 for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a PC terminal used by the user of para. 0191, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Hosomizo in view of Funane to include wherein causes said one or more processors to: in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets, as discussed above, as Hosomizo in view of Funane are in the same field of endeavor of employing a server managing apparatus for managing usage functions of connected printers such as to control the managing of print resource privileges of users indicating at least one of the first maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user during a specific time or the like, Funane’s combination architecture of the managing server receiving a request to change the maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user and to illustrate a change screen with updated maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user further complements the managed print maximum number of color or monochrome sheets and the change settings request of Hosomizo, in a sense that said change settings request when combined to the combination architecture of Funane, it further enables the disablement of the restriction made to the maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, where the server is then as combined capably perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets where a print job as initially desired by the user can be performed thereby increase a user convenience and usability of said printing device according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 20, Hosomizo teaches at least in para. 0002 and 0004 a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program, which when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus comprising:
the one or more processors (para. 0002 and 0004); and
a memory (para. 0004) configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a maximum number of sheets that can be printed during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus of para. 0004, further supported by para. 0031, 0060-0062, 0109-0111 and Figs. 2, and 6, comprises at least a storage unit 33 of configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user , further illustrates stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period);
wherein the computer program causes the one or more processors to: store, in the memory, as the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, the number of sheets obtained by weighting the number of sheets actually printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (stored number of sheets printed in memory of at least para. 0004, further supported by para. 0031, 0060-0062, 0109-0111 and Figs. 2, and 6, further comprises at least stored number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, the number of sheets obtained by obviously weighting the number of sheets actually printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period).
Hosomizo is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as specifically causes the one or more processors to: in response to a first request for changing the maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the maximum number of sheets.
Funane teaches at least in Figs 1-2 a managing server 201 configured to manage connected plugins/printers and further in para. 0171 and Fig. 18 managing maximum number of sheets that can be printed and illustrates further in Figs. 6, 18, 33 and para. 0177 a managed updated print sheet table configured to, in response to a first request from a user of at least para. 0191 for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a PC terminal used by the user of para. 0191, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Hosomizo in view of Funane to include wherein causes said one or more processors to: in response to a first request for changing the maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the maximum number of sheets, as discussed above, as Hosomizo in view of Funane are in the same field of endeavor of employing a server managing apparatus for managing usage functions of connected printers such as to control the managing of print resource privileges of users indicating at least one of the first maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user during a specific time or the like, Funane’s combination architecture of the managing server receiving a request to change the maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user and to illustrate a change screen with updated maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user further complements the managed print maximum number of color or monochrome sheets and the change settings request of Hosomizo, in a sense that said change settings request when combined to the combination architecture of Funane, it further enables the disablement of the restriction made to the maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, where the server is then as combined capably perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets where a print job as initially desired by the user can be performed thereby increase a user convenience and usability of said printing device according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 21, Hosomizo teaches at least in Fig. 1 a management system comprising:
a server apparatus configured to manage an image forming apparatus (Fig. 1 further teaches a server apparatus 3 configured to manage at least one or more plurality of image forming apparatus 2/200); and
the image forming apparatus configured to be capable of communicating with the server apparatus (Fig. 1 further illustrates image forming apparatus 2/200 configured to be capable of communicating with the server apparatus 3);
wherein the server apparatus includes:
a storage unit configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus of para. 0004, further supported by para. 0031, 0060-0062, 0109-0111 and Figs. 2, and 6, comprises at least a storage unit 33 of configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user , further illustrates stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period); and
a processing unit (the server 3 of further para. 0054 further configured to exchange information with the user terminal 1by means of an implied processing unit configured to, in response to a first request 135 of para. 0067 and 0104 and Fig. 6 for receiving a change setting request)
Hosomizo is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as specifically said processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets.
Funane teaches at least in Figs 1-2 a managing server 201 configured to manage connected plugins/printers and further in para. 0171 and Fig. 18 managing maximum number of sheets that can be printed and illustrates further in Figs. 6, 18, 33 and para. 0177 a managed updated print sheet table configured to, in response to a first request from a user of at least para. 0191 for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a PC terminal used by the user of para. 0191, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Hosomizo in view of Funane to include wherein said processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets, as discussed above, as Hosomizo in view of Funane are in the same field of endeavor of employing a server managing apparatus for managing usage functions of connected printers such as to control the managing of print resource privileges of users indicating at least one of the first maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user during a specific time or the like, Funane’s combination architecture of the managing server receiving a request to change the maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user and to illustrate a change screen with updated maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user further complements the managed print maximum number of color or monochrome sheets and the change settings request of Hosomizo, in a sense that said change settings request when combined to the combination architecture of Funane, it further enables the disablement of the restriction made to the maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, where the server is then as combined capably perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets where a print job as initially desired by the user can be performed thereby increase a user convenience and usability of said printing device according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 22, Hosomizo teaches at least in Fig. 1 a management system comprising:
a server apparatus configured to manage an image forming apparatus (Fig. 1 further teaches a server apparatus 3 configured to manage at least one or more plurality of image forming apparatus 2/200); and
the image forming apparatus configured to be capable of communicating with the server apparatus (Fig. 1 further illustrates image forming apparatus 2/200 configured to be capable of communicating with the server apparatus 3);
wherein the server apparatus includes:
a storage unit configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a maximum number of sheets that can be printed during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (the server apparatus of para. 0004, further supported by para. 0031, 0060-0062, 0109-0111 and Figs. 2, and 6, comprises at least a storage unit 33 of configured to store information indicating a target image forming apparatus used by a user , further illustrates stored information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period); and
a processing unit (the server 3 of further para. 0054 further configured to exchange information with the user terminal 1by means of an implied processing unit configured to, in response to a first request 135 of para. 0067 and 0104 and Fig. 6 for receiving a change setting request)
wherein the storage unit is configured to store, as the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, the number of sheets obtained by weighting the number of sheets actually printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period (stored number of sheets printed in memory of at least para. 0004, further supported by para. 0031, 0060-0062, 0109-0111 and Figs. 2, and 6, further comprises at least stored number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, the number of sheets obtained by obviously weighting the number of sheets actually printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period).
Hosomizo is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as specifically said processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing the maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform processing for changing the maximum number of sheets.
Funane teaches at least in Figs 1-2 a managing server 201 configured to manage connected plugins/printers and further in para. 0171 and Fig. 18 managing maximum number of sheets that can be printed and illustrates further in Figs. 6, 18, 33 and para. 0177 a managed updated print sheet table configured to, in response to a first request from a user of at least para. 0191 for changing at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a PC terminal used by the user of para. 0191, perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Hosomizo in view of Funane to include wherein said processing unit configured to, in response to a first request for changing the maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, perform processing for changing the maximum number of sheets, as discussed above, as Hosomizo in view of Funane are in the same field of endeavor of employing a server managing apparatus for managing usage functions of connected printers such as to control the managing of print resource privileges of users indicating at least one of the first maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user during a specific time or the like, Funane’s combination architecture of the managing server receiving a request to change the maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user and to illustrate a change screen with updated maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user further complements the managed print maximum number of color or monochrome sheets and the change settings request of Hosomizo, in a sense that said change settings request when combined to the combination architecture of Funane, it further enables the disablement of the restriction made to the maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, where the server is then as combined capably perform change processing for changing the at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets at least one of the first maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets where a print job as initially desired by the user can be performed thereby increase a user convenience and usability of said printing device according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Claims 5, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hosomizo in view Funane, and further in view of Itoh et al. (US 2016/0231686, A1).
Regarding claim 5 (according to claim 1), and claim 14 (according to claim 10), Hosomizo in view of Funane are silent regarding wherein the processing unit is configured to, in response to a second request for changing the target image forming apparatus received from the terminal, perform processing for changing the target image forming apparatus.
Itoh teaches a print management system in at least Figs. 1 and 13 where a server computer 160 including at least an HDD 108 is configured to store as illustrated at least in para. 0081-0083, 0139-0140 and Figs. 3-23 stored information depicting a target image forming apparatus used by a user, information indicating a first maximum number of sheets that can be printed in color during a predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating a second maximum number of sheets that can be printed in monochrome during the predetermined period using the target image forming apparatus, information indicating the number of sheets printed in color using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, and information indicating the number of sheets printed in monochrome using the target image forming apparatus in the predetermined period, the server comprising further in at least para. 0088 and 0150 and Figs. 13-14 a processing means to receive user setting change request to at least change by an Administrator the upper limitation restriction and another received request of at least para. 0088 and 0150 and Figs. 13-14 for changing the target image forming apparatus received from the terminal, perform processing for changing the target image forming apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Hosomizo in view of Funane and further in view of Itoh to include wherein said processing unit is configured to, in response to a second request for changing the target image forming apparatus received from the terminal, perform processing for changing the target image forming apparatus, as discussed above, as Hosomizo in view of Funane and further in view of Itoh are in the same field of endeavor of employing a server managing apparatus for managing usage functions of connected printers such as to control the managing of print resource privileges of users indicating at least one of the first maximum number of color or monochrome sheets that can be printed by a user during a specific time or the like, Itoh’s combination architecture of the managing server and changed printer request to obviate the maximum printed sheet upper limit restriction further complements the managed print maximum number of color or monochrome sheets and the change settings request of Hosomizo in view of Funane, in a sense that said change settings request when combined to the combination architecture of Itoh, it further enables the disablement of the restriction made to the maximum number of sheets and the second maximum number of sheets received from a terminal used by the user, to bypass a restricted printer with the new destination request where the user may conduct the print job as initially desired with the initial setting thereby increase a user convenience and usability of said printing device according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Claims Standings
Claims 4, 6-9, 13, and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior arts do not appear to teach: claim 4. The server apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the storage unit stores destination information of a message to the user, and the processing unit is configured to, in response to receiving the first request from the terminal, transmit a message indicating that the first request has been received to a destination indicated by the destination information and, upon receiving an affirmative response to the transmitted message, perform the processing for displaying, on the terminal, the screen for inputting the changed maximum number of sheets.
6. The server apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the processing unit is configured to, in response to receiving the second request from the terminal, perform processing for displaying, on the terminal, a screen for inputting information indicating a changed target image forming apparatus.
7. The server apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the screen for inputting the information indicating the changed target image forming apparatus indicates an option for the changed target image forming apparatus.
8. The server apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the screen for inputting the information indicating the changed target image forming apparatus indicates an option as to whether the changed target image forming apparatus needs to be delivered to the user.
9. The server apparatus according to claim 8, wherein in a case where the changed target image forming apparatus needs to be delivered to the user, the screen for inputting the information indicating the changed target image forming apparatus indicates an option for which of a new product and a used product to deliver.
13. The server apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the storage unit stores destination information of a message to the user, and the processing unit is configured to, in response to receiving the first request from the terminal, transmit a message indicating that the first request has been received to a destination indicated by the destination information and, upon receiving an affirmative response to the transmitted message, perform the processing for displaying, on the terminal, the screen for inputting the changed maximum number of sheets.
15. The server apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the processing unit is configured to, in response to receiving the second request from the terminal, perform processing for displaying, on the terminal, a screen for inputting information indicating a changed target image forming apparatus.
16. The server apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the screen for inputting the information indicating the changed target image forming apparatus indicates an option for the changed target image forming apparatus.
17. The server apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the screen for inputting the information indicating the changed target image forming apparatus indicates an option as to whether the changed target image forming apparatus needs to be delivered to the user.
18. The server apparatus according to claim 17, wherein in a case where the changed target image forming apparatus needs to be delivered to the user, the screen for inputting the information indicating the changed target image forming apparatus indicates an option for which of a new product and a used product to deliver.
Conclusion
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 08/13/2026