DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on September 19th 2024 and August 11th 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein an extension direction of the first transmission line and an extension direction of the second transmission line are symmetrical with respect to an extension direction of the relay pattern” as recited in claim 5 and “a first transmission line and a second transmission line facing each other” as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a first transmission line and a second transmission line facing each other” renders the claim indefinite.
It is unclear has to how said elements can be facing each other since they are disposed parallel on a flat surface and have an element 127 disposed between them. These elements faces point outward in the z direction and even if taken form a sideview, they would face element 127 and not each other. For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret claim 1 to be read as “a first transmission line and a second transmission line adjacent to each other” to bring the claim more in line with what is taught in the specifications and drawings.
Claims 2-14 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4 and 5, the limitation “wherein the first transmission line and the second transmission line extend in different directions from the radiator” as recited in claim 4 and “wherein an extension direction of the first transmission line and an extension direction of the second transmission line are symmetrical with respect to an extension direction of the relay pattern.” as recited in claim 5 render the claims indefinite. It is unclear as to how the two transmission lines can extend in different directions but then have an extension direction that is symmetrical with the extension direction of the relay pattern. The relay pattern has a vertical extension direction and as such if the transmission lines have an symmetrical extension direction then they would not be extending in different directions, and if they have different extension direction then both of them can’t be symmetrical to the relay pattern. These claims can only be true said transmission lines comprise a bending shape which can have different parts extending in different directions. For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret the claims to mean “wherein a part of the first transmission line and a part of the second transmission line…” for claim 4 and “wherein an extension direction of a part of the first transmission line and a part of the second transmission line…” for claim 5.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “wherein the antenna device further comprises a signal pad connected to the transmission line and bonded to the signal wiring.” renders the claim indefinite since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear to which transmission line the signal pad is connected to since there is a first and second transmission line. Furthermore even if we assume that “the transmission line” means both first and second, it is unclear how a single signal pad can be connected to both since that is not taught in the specifications or drawings. For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret the claim to mean “wherein the antenna device further comprises signal pads connected to the transmission lines and bonded to the signal wiring” to bring the claim more in line with what is taught in the specifications and drawings.
Claim 13 inherited the indefinites of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220263224 A1) in view of Byun et al. (US 20220209414 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 as best understood, Kim et al. discloses an antenna device (Antenna device 100 as seen in figure 1-4 of Kim et al.) comprising:
a radiator (Radiator 120 of antenna device 100; Paragraph 46-89 and figure 1-4 of Kim et al.);
a transmission line connected to the radiator, the transmission line including a first transmission line and a second transmission line facing each other (Transmission1 lines 130 and 135 are disposed adjacent to each other and connected to the radiating element 120; Paragraph 46-89 and figure 1-4 of Kim et al.); and
a relay pattern disposed between the first transmission line and the second transmission line (Parasitic portion 140 may serve as a relay pattern wherein it helps implement radiation in a high frequency band like 25-40ghz by serving as a UWB radiation portion that is disposed between the transmission lines 130 and 135; Paragraph 46-89 and figure 1-4 of Kim et al.).
Although, Kim et al. fails to explicitly disclose a relay pattern to be connected to the radiator. Kim et al. does suggest a relay pattern to be connected to the radiator (Parasitic portion 140 can be connected to the radiator 120 through coupling; Paragraph 46-89 and figure 1-4 of Kim et al.).
However, Byun et al. does disclose a relay pattern to be connected to the radiator (Antenna structure 300f comprises a radiator 320p that comprises a radiation portion like RP1-2a which generates an additional resonance in a band adjacent to a band like 28ghz thus serving as a relay pattern wherein RP1-2a can be directly connected to a patch 320p; Paragraph 169-191 and figure 18-19 of Byun et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kim et al. to have a relay pattern to be connected to the radiator as taught by Byun et al. to reduce coupling losses and since the type of connection would affect the resonant frequency generated.
Examiner’s note - Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Regarding the recitation that an element “a relay pattern” in claim 1, it is the position of the office that such limitations will be interpreted as “a ultra-high frequency band radiation portion of the antenna device” as said language is the definition given for the term “a relay pattern” as noted in paragraph 60-61 of the applicants specifications.
Regarding Claim 2, Kim et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the relay pattern is directly connected to the radiator.
However, Byun et al. does disclose wherein the relay pattern is directly connected to the radiator (Antenna structure 300f comprises a radiator 320p that comprises a radiation portion like RP1-2a which generates an additional resonance in a band adjacent to a band like 28ghz thus serving as a relay pattern wherein RP1-2a can be directly connected to a patch 320p; Paragraph 169-191 and figure 18-19 of Byun et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kim et al. to have the relay pattern be directly connected to the radiator as taught by Byun et al. to reduce coupling losses and since the type of connection would affect the resonant frequency generated.
Regarding Claim 4 as best understood, Kim et al. further discloses wherein the first transmission line and the second transmission line extend in different directions from the radiator (Transmission lines 130 and 135 comprise bent portions 132 and 133 that extend in different directions from the radiator; Paragraph 169-191 and figure 18-19 of Byun et al.).
Regarding Claim 5 as best understood, Kim et al. further discloses wherein an extension direction of the first transmission line and an extension direction of the second transmission line are symmetrical with respect to an extension direction of the relay pattern (Transmission lines 130 and 135 comprise portions 132 and 131 that extend in a direction that is symmetrical to an extension direction of the portion 140 with said direction being upward; Paragraph 169-191 and figure 18-19 of Byun et al.).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim et al. further discloses wherein the radiator includes a mesh structure, and the transmission line and the relay pattern include a solid structure (The radiator 120 may comprise a mesh pattern and relay portion 140 may comprise a solid pattern whole the transmission lines may can comprise both mesh and solid patterns or just be solid as seen in figure 1; Paragraph 104-116 and figure 1-4 of Kim et al.).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim et al. further discloses a circuit board electrically connected to the antenna device (Antenna device may have is transmission lines connected to a flexible circuit board 200; Paragraph 60 and 125-133 as well as figure 6-8 of Kim et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Kim et al. further discloses wherein the circuit board comprises a core layer, and a signal wiring disposed on one surface of the core layer and connected to the first transmission line and the second transmission line (Circuit board 200 comprises a core layer 210 wherein feeding lines 220 may be formed on one surface of the core layer and connected to the transmission lines 130 and 135; Paragraph 60 and 125-133 as well as figure 6-8 of Kim et al.).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim et al. further discloses an image display device comprising: a display panel (Image display device, like a phone, may comprise a display panel 405 and an antenna structure 100; Paragraph 100-112 and 124-128 and figure 6-7 of Kim et al.).
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220263224 A1) in view of Byun et al. (US 20220209414 A1) and Choi’ 412 et al. (US 20220271412 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Byun et al. and Kim et al. fail to disclose wherein the first transmission line and the second transmission line are connected to both lateral ends of a lower side of the radiator.
However, Choi’ 412 et al. does disclose wherein the first transmission line and the second transmission line are connected to both lateral ends of a lower side of the radiator (First and second transmission lines 320 and 330 are connected to the lateral ends of a lower side of a radiator 310; Paragraph 80-106 and figure 3-6 of Choi’ 412 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kim et al. and Byun et al. to have the first transmission line and the second transmission line be connected to both lateral ends of a lower side of the radiator as taught by Choi’ 412 et al. since the connection point of the transmission lines would affect the impedance and radiation pattern of the antenna.
Regarding Claim 9, Byun et al. and Kim et al. fail to disclose wherein the circuit board further comprises a first ground disposed around the signal wiring and disposed at the same layer as that of the signal wiring to be spaced apart from the signal wiring.
However, Choi’ 412 et al. does disclose wherein the circuit board further comprises a first ground disposed around the signal wiring and disposed at the same layer as that of the signal wiring to be spaced apart from the signal wiring (Circuit board 500 comprises a signal wiring 520 formed on a surface of the core layer 519 wherein ground pads 550 serve as a first ground disposed around and on the same layer as the wiring 520; Paragraphs 95-106 and figure 5-6 of Choi’ 412 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kim et al. and Byun et al. to have the circuit board further comprises a first ground disposed around the signal wiring and disposed at the same layer as that of the signal wiring to be spaced apart from the signal wiring as taught by Choi’ 412 et al. to providing a grounding structure for the antenna (Paragraphs 95-106 of Choi’ 412 et al.) and to partially shield signal wires.
Regarding Claim 12 as best understood, Byun et al. and Kim et al. fail to disclose wherein the antenna device further comprises a signal pad connected to the transmission line and bonded to the signal wiring.
However, Choi’ 412 et al. does disclose wherein the antenna device further comprises a signal pad connected to the transmission line and bonded to the signal wiring (Antenna device further comprises signal pads 240 and 250 that are connected the transmission lines 320 and 330 and bonded to the signal wiring 520; Paragraph 68-100 and figure 3-6 of Choi’ 412 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kim et al. and Byun et al. to have the antenna device further comprises a signal pad connected to the transmission line and bonded to the signal wiring as taught by Choi’ 412 et al. to connect the transmission lines to the signal wiring which serves as power supply lines (Paragraph 96-100 of Choi’ 412 et al.).
Regarding Claim 13, Byun et al. and Kim et al. fail to wherein the antenna device further comprises a ground pad arranged around the signal pad and spaced apart from the signal pad.
However, Choi’ 412 et al. does disclose wherein the antenna device further comprises a ground pad arranged around the signal pad and spaced apart from the signal pad (Ground pads 260 and 270 may be disposed around the first signal pad 240 and 250 and spaced apart from them ; Paragraph 72-78 and figure 3-6 of Choi’ 412 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kim et al. and Byun et al. to have the antenna device further comprises a ground pad arranged around the signal pad and spaced apart from the signal pad as taught by Choi’ 412 et al. to ground the antenna structure and connect the antenna device and circuit board (Paragraph 102-103 of Choi’ 412 et al.)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20220263224 A1) in view of Byun et al. (US 20220209414 A1) and Choi’ 462 et al. (KR 20210133462 A).
Regarding Claim 11, Byun et al. and Kim et al. fail to disclose wherein the circuit board further comprises a second ground disposed on the other surface opposite to the one surface of the core layer.
However, Choi’ 462 et al. does disclose wherein the circuit board further comprises a second ground disposed on the other surface opposite to the one surface of the core layer (Antenna device comprises a PCB with a core layer 230 with a signal wiring 210 with a first ground like ground pattern 214 or 216 disposed on one side and on another side comprises a second ground layer 250; Paragraph 65-87 and figure 3-4 of Choi’ 462 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Kim et al. and Byun et al. to have the circuit board further comprises a second ground disposed on the other surface opposite to the one surface of the core layer as taught by Choi’ 462 et al. to improve noise absorption efficiency of the antenna device (Paragraph 97 of Choi’ 462 et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of a “wherein the relay pattern is connected to the first ground.” as recited in claim 10.
Kim et al., Byun et al., and Choi’ 412 are cited as teaching some of the elements of the claimed invention including an image display device comprising a display panel, an antenna device, a radiator, a first transmission line, a second transmission line, a circuit board, a core layer, a wiring layer, a first ground, and a signal pad.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20220231429 A1 (KIM; Jong Min et al.) disclose an antenna device with a radiator structures connected to two transmission lines with said lines being connected to the lateral ends of a square radiator.
KR 20210115797 A (KIM JONG MIN et al.) discloses an antenna device with a radiator structure comprising a radiation portion for high frequency radiation that can serve as a relay portion
US 11929541 B2 (Kaufmann; Thomas et al.) discloses an antenna device with a radiator structure comprising multiple relay antenna structures directly connected to the radiating element and two transmission lines connected to the main radiating element.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845