DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9-11, 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20160121227 (hereinafter “DeCaro”).
Regarding claim 1, DeCaro discloses a water play area installation (Abstract), comprising:
a water reservoir tank installed at least partially underground (Figs. 9 and 10, 116);
an equipment enclosure positioned above the water reservoir tank (Figs. 9 and 10, 50);
a water distribution manifold that supports water distribution from the equipment enclosure to at least one water spray element in a water play area (Fig. 4, 36; Para. 0024);
a water waste line extending from the water play area to the water reservoir tank (Figs. 7 and 10, 112); and
a drain having a port that collects water from the water play area and channels the water through the water waste line (Fig. 7, 40).
Regarding claim 5, DeCaro further discloses the equipment enclosure is positioned as an underground vault configuration (Para. 0041).
Regarding claim 6, DeCaro further discloses the equipment enclosure further comprises a water purifying component pre-installed into the equipment enclosure (Fig. 9, 126 – under BRI, filter is interpreted to read on a water purifying component).
Regarding claim 9, DeCaro further discloses the water distribution manifold comprises a water line that is connected to the water reservoir tank (Fig. 9, 41; Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 10, DeCaro discloses a method of installing a water operations support assembly (Figs. 9 and 10), comprising:
constructing an equipment enclosure (Figs. 9 and 10, 50);
connecting a plurality of pre-installed operations support components to the equipment enclosure (Para. 0040; Fig. 9, 118);
installing a water reservoir tank at least partially underground (Figs. 9 and 10, 116);
positioning an equipment enclosure above the water reservoir tank (Fig. 10, vault 50 + lid 138 are positioned above reservoir 116).
Regarding the limitation of “pre-installed”, under BRI the examiner is taking the stance that because the final product of DeCaro has all of the components as claimed, and all of the components are assembled accordingly prior, this reads on “pre-installed” to the final construction of the product.
Regarding claim 11, DeCaro further discloses the water reservoir tank is pre-installed with a plurality of pipes to connect the water reservoir tank to the pre-installed operations support components (Fig. 9, pipes shown connecting between 116 and 118). The limitation of “pre-installed” is being interpreted as stated supra in claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, DeCaro further discloses the plurality of pre-installed operation support components includes a water distribution manifold (Fig. 4, 36 and Fig. 9, 41; Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 14, DeCaro further discloses connecting a water spray element to the water distribution manifold (Para. 0024).
Regarding claim 15, DeCaro further discloses the plurality of pre-plumbed operations support components are configured to allow water to flow in a continuous cycle (Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 17, DeCaro discloses a water play area system (Abstract), comprising:
a water reservoir tank (Figs. 9 and 10, 116);
an equipment enclosure positioned directly above the water reservoir tank (Figs. 9 and 10, 50);
a series of operations support components connecting the equipment enclosure to the water reservoir tank (Para. 0040; Fig. 9, 118);
a water distribution manifold configured to support water distribution from the equipment enclosure to at least one water spray element in a water play area (Fig. 4, 36; Para. 0024);
a waste line spanning from the water play area to the water reservoir tank (Figs. 7 and 10, 112);
a drain with a port that collects water from the water play area and channels the water through the waste line to the water reservoir tank (Fig. 7, 40);
wherein the water is pumped through a water pump system such that the water is reused within the water play area system (Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 18, DeCaro further discloses the underground water reservoir tank comprises a bottom section and a top section (See annotated Fig. 10 below), the bottom section being buried partially underground and the top section substantially level with ground level.
Regarding claim 19, DeCaro further discloses the equipment enclosure (Fig. 10, 50) is positioned directly above the top section (See annotated Fig. 10 above) of the underground water reservoir tank such that the top section acts as a floor for the equipment enclosure. Under BRI, the lid (Fig. 10, 138) of the vault/reservoir provides a flat, walkable surface that could be considered a floor.
Regarding claim 20, while DeCaro discloses the operations support components are pre-installed to the equipment enclosure prior to installation of the equipment enclosure (Under BRI, the operations support components within Fig. 9, 118 are connected to the equipment enclosure, which reads on being pre-installed as this connection is made prior to use of the enclosure) and are configured to direct water to different locations (Fig. 9; Para. 0040).
Additionally, regarding “pre-installed”, the examiner notes that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. See in re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case, the final product is merely an equipment enclosure that has operations support components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCaro, as applied to claims 1 and 10, and in further view of US 7980914 (hereinafter “Blais”).
Regarding claim 2, the embodiment of DeCaro the water distribution vault is described to have a lid, but does not explicitly show the water reservoir tank comprises a tank lid exposed above ground level in Fig. 10, additionally. However, DeCaro states that there may be more than one cover if desired (Para. 0041). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add another cover to the water reservoir tank portion to prevent spillage across other parts of the vault.
Additionally, Blais also discloses a splash pad system with a water holding tank that has removable lid to allow access to cleaning of debris in the tank (Col. 3, lines 48-51). Thus, it would be obvious to have a lid over the water reservoir to prevent overflow/spillage while allowing access to the tank to remove debris.
Regarding claim 3, modified DeCaro further discloses that the equipment enclosure has a plurality of walls that form a perimeter, and the tank lid is positioned within the perimeter (Fig. 9, 50).
Regarding claim 12, the embodiment of DeCaro the water distribution vault is described to have a lid, but does not explicitly disclose that the water reservoir tank has a tank lid, and positioning the equipment enclosure comprises positioning the equipment enclosure over the tank lid in Fig. 10, additionally. However, DeCaro states that there may be more than one cover if desired (Para. 0041). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add another cover to the water reservoir tank portion to prevent spillage across other parts of the vault.
Additionally, Blais also discloses a splash pad system with a water holding tank that has removable lid to allow access to cleaning of debris in the tank (Col. 3, lines 48-51). Thus, it would be obvious to have a lid over the water reservoir to prevent overflow/spillage while allowing access to the tank to remove debris.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCaro, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 20090072685 (hereinafter “Bundza”).
Regarding claim 4, though DeCaro discloses all the limitations of claim 1, including a concrete base pad (Fig. 1, 10; Para. 0019), it is silent regarding the equipment enclosure is mounted to a concrete support pad positioned above ground level. Bundza, in the analogous art of equipment installation protection, discloses an enclosure secured to a concrete anchor pad to combat buoyancy forces during a flood (Para. 0058). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to mount the enclosure of DeCaro to a concrete pad, as taught by Bundza, in order to prevent damage to the enclosure during flooding.
Claims 7 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCaro, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 5849199 (hereinafter “Jack”).
Regarding claim 7, DeCaro discloses all the limitations of claim 1, it does not disclose the equipment enclosure further comprises a water chemical treatment system pre-installed into the equipment enclosure. Jack, in the analogous art of recreational water attractions, discloses that is well known in the field to have a chemical regulation system in order to sanitize and balance the pH of the water (Fig. 1, 9; Col. 1, lines 31-37). Thus, it would be obvious to provide the water play installation of DeCaro with a water chemical treatment system, as taught by Jack, to sanitize and balance the pH of the water for users.
Regarding claim 8, modified DeCaro further discloses the water chemical treatment system comprises a pH adjustment reservoir (Jack: Fig. 1, 10) and associated pump (Jack: Fig. 1, 8). Reasons for combination are as stated supra in claim 7.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeCaro, as applied to claim 10, and further in view of US 20040134260 (hereinafter “Pampinella”).
Regarding claim 16, DeCaro discloses all the limitations of claim 10, but does not disclose testing the plurality of pre-installed operation support components prior to connecting the plurality of pre-installed operations support components to the equipment enclosure. Pampinella, in the analgous art of plumbing, discloses that it is common in the industry to test pipes for leaks prior to use to comply with government regulations (Para. 0003). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to test the components individually before installing to prevent water damage and comply with regulations.
Conclusion
/S.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711