Double Patenting
Double Patenting
Claim (ss) 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim(s) 1-20 are of U.S. Patent No. (12, 101, 599), since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
The instant claim(s) are merely a broader variation of the patented claim(s) language and thus as standing would have been anticipated by the prior patent as presented.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-7, 10, 13-17, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the double patent rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amengual Gari et al. (US 10,616, 706 B1) and Ryu et al. (US 11,557, 291 B2).
Claim 1, Amengual Gari et al. disclose of a computer-implemented method, the method comprising: generating, by a device having a first microphone and a second microphone, first audio data including a representation of an audible sound generated by a sound source (fig.1 (120); col.6 line 10-35); performing acoustic decomposition using the first audio data to determine complex amplitude data associated with a plurality of acoustic waves (col.6 line 65-col.7 line 15; col.10 line 15-40); determining, using the complex amplitude data, a first value indicating a first likelihood that a first acoustic wave, from among the plurality of acoustic waves, has a shortest time delay between the sound source and the device (col.10 line 50-65; col.14 line 20-35/the timing of the direct signal path among diffused and indirect signal and inherently the shortest time delay can be determined); determining, using the complex amplitude data, a second value indicating a second likelihood that the first acoustic wave has an energy value of the plurality of acoustic waves (col.14 line 20-35).
Nonetheless, the prior art never specify of determining the highest energy value of the acoustic wave. However, the art as in disclose of the similar parameter associated for determining the highest energy value of the acoustic wave (col.19 line 25-32). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such concept related determining the highest energy value of the acoustic wave. However, the art as in disclose of the similar parameter associated for determining the highest energy value of the acoustic wave so as to select the dominant signal and best quality signal among the various received signals.
Thus, as combined the prior art would have disclose of the concept of determining, using the first value and the second value, direction data associated with the sound source (Am-col.11 line 15-25 & col.14 line 20-35/the amplitude and timing associated with direct signal may be chosen for determining the direction).
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining acoustic characteristics data of the device (Am-col.6 line 65-col.7 lien 15; col.9 line 30-67); and determining a subset of the acoustic characteristics data that corresponds to a subset of the plurality of acoustic waves, wherein the acoustic decomposition uses the subset of the acoustic characteristics data (Am-col.12 line 10-40).
Claim 11, Amengual Gari et al. disclose of a system comprising: at least one processor; and memory including instructions operable to be executed by the at least one processor to cause the system to: generate, by a device having a first microphone and a second microphone, first audio data including a representation of an audible sound generated by a sound source (fig.1 (120); col.6 line 10-35); perform acoustic decomposition using the first audio data to determine complex amplitude data associated with a plurality of acoustic waves (col.6 line 65-col.7 line 15; col.10 line 15-40); determine, using the complex amplitude data, a first value indicating a first likelihood that a first acoustic wave, from among the plurality of acoustic waves, has a shortest time delay between the sound source and the device (col.10 line 50-65; col.14 line 20-35/the timing of the direct signal path among diffused and indirect signal and inherently the shortest time delay can be determined); determine, using the complex amplitude data, a second value indicating a second likelihood that the first acoustic wave has a general energy value of the plurality of acoustic waves (col.14 line 20-35),
Nonetheless, the prior art never specify of determining the highest energy value of the acoustic wave. However, the art as in disclose of the similar parameter associated for determining the highest energy value of the acoustic wave (col.19 line 25-32). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such concept related determining the highest energy value of the acoustic wave. However, the art as in disclose of the similar parameter associated for determining the highest energy value of the acoustic wave so as to select the dominant signal and best quality signal among the various received signals.
The prior art further mentioned such concept related a determine, using the first value and the second value, direction data associated with the sound source (Am-col.11 line 15-25 & col.14 line 20-35/the amplitude and timing associated with direct signal may be chosen for determining the direction).
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the memory further comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the system to: determine acoustic characteristics data of the device; and determine a subset of the acoustic characteristics data that corresponds to a subset of the plurality of acoustic waves, wherein acoustic decomposition uses using the subset of the acoustic characteristics data (Am-col.12 line 10-40).
.
Claim(s) 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amengual Gari et al. (US 10,616, 706 B1) and Ryu et al. (US 11,557, 291 B2) and Stachura (US 12,010,487 B1).
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, although, the prior art never specify as further comprising: detecting an acoustic event represented in the first audio data; and determining a time duration associated with the acoustic event, wherein the direction data is determined using the time duration.
However, Stachura et al. disclose of a certain method as detecting an acoustic event represented in the first audio data; and determining a time duration associated with the acoustic event, wherein the direction data is determined using the time duration (col.18 line 40-25; col.22 line 40-60). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted aspect related to a detecting an acoustic event represented in the first audio data; and determining a time duration associated with the acoustic event, wherein the direction data is determined using the time duration so as to completely capture localize sound event for processing.
The claim(s) 18 which in substance disclose of the same feature as in claim(s) 8 has been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 9, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amengual Gari et al. (US 10,616, 706 B1) and Ryu et al. (US 11,557, 291 B2) and Schultz et al. (US 9,612,310 B2).
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, but the prior art never specify as wherein the direction data comprises a first azimuth value.
But, Schultz et al. disclose of the similar aspect related to the direction data comprises a first azimuth value (abstract; col.1 line 55-67). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such concept related to direction data comprises a first azimuth value for providing a spatialized sound associated with certain parameter of the received data.
The claim(s) 19 which in substance disclose of the similar feature as that to claim(s) 9 has been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695