DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-41 are pending in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,124,526. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that all of the limitations in the current application are disclosed in patent 12,124,526 which includes extra features in the claim limitation.
With respect to claim 21, Patent ‘526 discloses A method comprising: receiving, by a server system, a request from a computing device, wherein the request
comprises an identifier of content (claim 1);
finding, by the server system and based on the identifier of content, a set of two or more routing policies that have been associated with the content (claim 1);
composing, by the server system, a target uniform resource identifier using at least one of the routing policies to determine how to parse the identifier of content and based on one or more attributes comprising at least one variable evaluated at the time of the composing (claim 1); and
redirecting, by the server system, the computing device to the target uniform resource identifier (claim 1).
With respect to claim 41, Patent ‘526 discloses a system comprising:
a client computing device (claim 12); and
one or more server computers operable to interact with the client computing device, the one or more computers comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium tangibly encoding a computer program operable to cause the server one or more computers to perform operations comprising receiving a request from the client computing device, wherein the request comprises an identifier of content (claim 12),
finding, based on the identifier of content, a set of two or more routing policies that have been associated with the content (claim 12),
composing a target uniform resource identifier using at least one of the routing policies to determine how to parse the identifier of content and based on one or more attributes comprising at least one variable evaluated at the time of the composing (claim 12), and
redirecting the client computing device to the target uniform resource identifier (claim 12).
With respect to claims 22-40, they are dependent off claim 21 and therefore are rejected for the same reasons above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 23-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trifa (US 2014/0181256) and in view of Grant (US 2015/0170072).
Re Claim 21, Trifa discloses a method comprising:
finding, by the server system and based on the identifier of content, a set of two or more routing policies that have been associated with the content ([0075], rules database stores rules for each one of the short URL, where each rule points to a different target URL.);
composing, by the server system, a target uniform resource identifier using at least one of the routing policies to determine how to parse the identifier of content and based on one or more attributes comprising at least one variable evaluated at the time of the composing ([0078]-[0081], Short URL includes an ID in which the target URI now includes the ID from the Short URL.); and
redirecting, by the server system, the computing device to the target uniform resource identifier ([0078]-[0081], the redirector front-end will check the addition of additional parameters with the HTTP request and return a unique target URL.).
Trifa does not disclose, however Grant discloses receiving, by a server system, a request from a computing device, wherein the request comprises an identifier of content ([0214]-[0218],the URL request is redirected via DNS redirect server. The server receives the redirected request and selectively rewrites URL using a rewrite engine). Trifa and Grant are analogous art because they both disclose URL redirects.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Trifa’s URL redirect with Grant’s server that provides a rewrite engine for URL redirect. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to have a rewrite engine for rewriting URLs for a URL redirect.
Re Claim 23, Trifa discloses wherein the at least one of the routing policies includes a specification for how to parse the identifier of content, the at least one variable specifies at least one piece of the identifier of content, and the composing comprises adding the at least one piece of the identifier of content to the target uniform resource identifier ([0081]-[0083], the redirector will extract the location from the request using where header and other such as who.).
Re Claim 24, Trifa discloses retrieving metadata that is associated with the content; and adding at least a portion of the metadata to the target uniform resource identifier ([0078]-[0081], Short URL includes an ID in which the target URI now includes the ID from the Short URL.).
Re Claim 25, Trifa discloses wherein the retrieving comprises calling an application programming interface of a product tracking system ([0060], [0095], Unique-object address identifier to be attached to a physical product. internal admin application which can used only by the manufacturer to track and trace the location of a product and its status).
Re Claim 26, Trifa discloses wherein the one or more attributes include at least one attribute that is not included in the request, and the composing comprises:
retrieving the at least one attribute ([0049], application request the user to share the location, etc.);
validating the at least one attribute ([0049], user can authorize the application to access their location and share GPS coordinates); and
using the at least one attribute to compose the target uniform resource identifier ([0083]-[0084], map the current GPS coordinates of the mobile device into the actual string used to describe locations in the redirection table and return a unique target URL).
Re Claim 27, Trifa discloses wherein the metadata comprises lot information, expiration date, current product state, born on information, recall information, or a combination thereof ([0055], specific information such as date of manufacture).
Re Claim 28, Trifa discloses wherein the retrieving comprises using a product serial number extracted from the request when calling the application programming interface of the product tracking system ([0055], unique serial number).
Re Claim 29, Trifa discloses wherein the set of two or more routing policies are from multiple routing policies that map codes to locations of relevant information, and the method comprises changing mappings of the codes to the locations ([0080]-[0081], table 1, utilizes the location for different rules for the short URL).
Re Claim 30, Trifa discloses wherein each of the multiple routing policies includes a template that defines a structure of a target uniform resource identifier to be composed based on static and variable content ([0007], [0080]-[0081], location-dependent information is done with the same application template. table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc.).
Re Claim 31, Trifa discloses, comprising using a decision tree to derive the at least one of the routing policies in accordance with criteria elements used in constructing target uniform resource identifiers ([0080]-[0081], table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc.).
Re Claim 32, Trifa discloses wherein the criteria elements used in constructing target uniform resource identifiers determine which display elements or web components within a destination webpage are to be shown to or be hidden from a user based on presence or absence of particular criteria 0080]-[0081], location-dependent information is done with the same application template. table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc. and shown in the target URI).
Re Claim 33, Trifa discloses wherein the criteria elements used across the set of two or more routing policies are not mutually exclusive ([0080]-[0081], table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc.).
Re Claim 34, Trifa discloses wherein the identifier of content comprises an encrypted code, and the composing comprises determining a destination web page based on successful decryption of the encrypted code ([0033], various techniques to encode and decode data with the redirection identifier.).
Re Claim 35, Trifa discloses wherein the encrypted code is generated at each interaction with a product connection point ([0046], [0050], [0063], user application uses bar code, code and/or QR codes and NFC tags encode a unique identifier of various types of information.).
Re Claim 36, Trifa discloses comprising tracking event data for the identifier of content, the event data comprising interactions of the server system with the identifier of content and related information for each of the interactions ([0080]-[0081], table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc.).
Re Claim 37, Trifa discloses wherein the related information comprises one or more attributes, parameters or elements related to a connection point for the interaction, the computing device that generated the request, a digital destination of redirection of the computing device, or a combination thereof ([0080]-[0081], table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc. [0083]-[0084], map the current GPS coordinates of the mobile device into the actual string used to describe locations in the redirection table and return a unique target URL).
Re Claim 38, Trifa discloses presenting a user interface to receive definitions of multiple routing policies, including the set of two or more routing policies, used by the server system, wherein the user interface enables specification of how to compose a target resource identifier for each of the multiple routing policies using one or more variables that reference static content, dynamic content, another variable, or a combination thereof ([0080]-[0081], table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc. [0083]-[0084], map the current GPS coordinates of the mobile device into the actual string used to describe locations in the redirection table and return a unique target URL); and
processing a simulated inbound request in accordance with the multiple routing policies ([0080]-[0081], table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc. [0083]-[0084], map the current GPS coordinates of the mobile device into the actual string used to describe locations in the redirection table and return a unique target URL); and
displaying a generated resource identifier, which has been composed by the processing, in the user interface for confirmation of the definitions of the multiple routing policies ([0050]-[0051], location of web apps for example further incorporate when the user signs in the redirector application using a third party identity provider such as facebook, twitter, etc everytime the user will access the redirector server).
Re Claim 39, Trifa discloses wherein the finding comprises sending a product identifier, which is the identifier of content or is retrieved using the identifier of content, to a data store that uses product identifiers as keys to identify routing policies, and the method comprises eliminating one or more routing policies from the set of two or more routing policies based on an evaluation of context information associated with the request policies ([0080]-[0081], table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc. Uses the information and returns a target URI.).
Re Claim 40, Trifa discloses wherein the composing comprises: copying non-variable components specified by a template into the target uniform resource identifier ([0007], [0080]-[0081], location-dependent information is done with the same application template. table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc.);
evaluating variable components specified by the template, including determining properties of a computing environment of the server system ([0007], [0080]-[0081], location-dependent information is done with the same application template. table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc.); and
adding one or more results of the evaluating into the target uniform resource identifier at one or more positions specified by the template ([0007], [0080]-[0081], location-dependent information is done with the same application template. table 1, utilizes short URL and other content that is a variable such as the ID, user, location, time, etc.).
Re Claim 41, it is similar to claim 21 and therefore is rejected for the same reason above.
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trifa and in view of Grant and in view of Payne (US 9,002,864).
Re Claim 22, Trifa and Grant does not disclose, however Payne discloses wherein identifier of content is associated with a product, and the request uses a non-standard format for encoding the identifier of content (col. 6, lines 35-40, the request is a non-standard URL prefix). Trifa, Grant and Payne are analogous art because they disclose URL representation.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the teachings of Trifa and Grant’s URL redirect format with Payne’s formatting to include non-standard URL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings with one another in order to have a more versatile system by being able to utilize URLs of a non-standard format.
Conclusion
/HO T SHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
HO T. SHIU
Examiner
Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443