DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
In response to applicant’s preliminary amendment received on 12/2/24, all requested changes to the drawings have been entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II (claims 29-33) in the reply filed on 9/14/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the requirement does not show that the combination (Invention II) does not require the particulars of the subcombination (Invention I, claims 1-28). This is not found persuasive because the claims of the combination (Invention II) refer to what appears to be a broad and loosely associated variant of the subcombination (Invention I) as claimed, and thus the actual claims of the combination (Invention II) do not require or recite the specifics/particulars of the subcombination (Invention I). The applicant also argues that there is no serious burden. The Examiner disagrees because the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification (Invention I corresponds to G06V 30/274 and Invention II corresponds to G09B 21/001), the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter (i.e. detailed semantic context recognition in an image vs. tools for assisting blind and low-vision individuals), the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries), and the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention. While only one of the above reasons is necessary to show the burden, all apply in the present situation.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/539175, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for claims 29-33 of this application.
For example, at least the following limitations of claims 29 and 32 are NOT disclosed in any manner in the provisional (63/539175):
“a form-driven, keyboard-accessible control interface, enabling the selection and manipulation of components in the diagram without the use of a mouse” in claim 29;
“an artificial intelligence-driven learning assistant, configured to answer user queries based on the alt text descriptions, wherein the learning assistant offers personalized responses to clarify and guide the user in understanding and manipulating the diagram” in claim 29;
“a user interface…allowing the user to add, modify, and review components of the diagram, wherein feedback is provided through dynamically updated alt text that describes actions performed by the user” in claim 32; and
“an artificial intelligence assistant integrated with the alt text generation engine, wherein the assistant responds to user inquiries, providing detailed or specific information about the diagram based on the alt text data” in claim 32.
As a result, the effective filing date for applying prior art with regards to claims 29-33 is the date of filing of the current non-provisional application which is 9/19/24.
Claim Interpretation – 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a form-driven, keyboard-accessible control interface, enabling the selection and manipulation of components in the diagram without the use of a mouse” in claim 29;
“an artificial intelligence-driven learning assistant, configured to answer user queries based on the alt text descriptions, wherein the learning assistant offers personalized responses to clarify and guide the user in understanding and manipulating the diagram” in claim 29;
“alt text generation engine” applies a drill-down organization method to create the descriptions, wherein the overview provides a high-level summary, and additional layers of detail are available upon user request;
“an alt text generation engine configured to receive configuration data from a digital interactive system, wherein the engine automatically generates alt text descriptions based on the diagram’s components, said alt text following a structured format of overview, detailed description, and component relationships” in claim 32;
“a user interface…allowing the user to add, modify, and review components of the diagram, wherein feedback is provided through dynamically updated alt text that describes actions performed by the user” in claim 32; and
“an artificial intelligence assistant integrated with the alt text generation engine, wherein the assistant responds to user inquiries, providing detailed or specific information about the diagram based on the alt text data” in claim 32 and “the artificial intelligence assistant provides guided suggestions to help users improve their construction of the diagram, based on specific learning objectives” in claim 33.
Regarding a “a form-driven, keyboard-accessible control interface” the corresponding structure described in the specification is a computer/processor implementing the functions as a program/algorithm (paragraphs 33 and 82). Therefore, according to MPEP 2181(II)(B), the entire algorithm associated with the function being performed is also considered to be included in the structure covered by the interpretation. However, the disclosure does not appear to disclose a sufficient algorithm (e.g. paragraphs 06, 07, 78-82 and 111) for accomplishing the specific functions related to the claimed “form-driven, keyboard-accessible control interface” of enabling the selection and manipulation of components in the diagram without the use of a mouse. As such the limitation is rejected under 112(a) and 112(b) below.
Regarding an “artificial intelligence-driven learning assistant” the corresponding structure described in the specification is a computer/processor implementing the functions as a program/algorithm (paragraphs 33 and 82). Therefore, according to MPEP 2181(II)(B), the entire algorithm associated with the function being performed is also considered to be included in the structure covered by the interpretation. However, the disclosure does not appear to disclose a sufficient algorithm (e.g. paragraphs 06, 07 and 78-82) for accomplishing the specific functions related to the claimed “artificial intelligence-driven learning assistant” of answering user queries based on the alt text descriptions or offering personalized responses to clarify and guide the user in understanding and manipulating the diagram. As such the limitation is rejected under 112(a) and 112(b) below.
Regarding an “alt text generation engine” (claims 30 and 32) the corresponding structure described in the specification is a computer/processor implementing the functions as a program/algorithm (paragraphs 33, 76 and 82). Therefore, according to MPEP 2181(II)(B), the entire algorithm associated with the function being performed is also considered to be included in the structure covered by the interpretation. However, the disclosure does not appear to disclose a sufficient algorithm (e.g. paragraphs 06, 07 and 76) for the specific functions related to the claimed “alt text generation engine” of applying a drill-down organization method to create the descriptions, wherein the overview provides a high-level summary, and additional layers of detail are available upon user request (claim 30) or receiving configuration data from a digital interactive system, wherein the engine automatically generates alt text descriptions based on the diagram’s components, said alt text following a structured format of overview, detailed description, and component relationships (claim 32). As such the limitation is rejected under 112(a) and 112(b) below.
Regarding a “a user interface” the corresponding structure described in the specification is a computer/processor implementing the functions as a program/algorithm (paragraphs 33 and 82). Therefore, according to MPEP 2181(II)(B), the entire algorithm associated with the function being performed is also considered to be included in the structure covered by the interpretation. However, the disclosure does not appear to disclose a sufficient algorithm (e.g. paragraphs 06, 07, 78-82 and 111) for accomplishing the specific functions related to the claimed “user interface” for allowing the user to add, modify, and review components of the diagram, wherein feedback is provided through dynamically updated alt text that describes actions performed by the user. As such the limitation is rejected under 112(a) and 112(b) below.
Regarding an “artificial intelligence assistant” the corresponding structure described in the specification is a computer/processor implementing the functions as a program/algorithm (paragraph 33 and 82). Therefore, according to MPEP 2181(II)(B), the entire algorithm associated with the function being performed is also considered to be included in the structure covered by the interpretation. However, the disclosure does not appear to disclose a sufficient algorithm (e.g. paragraphs 06, 07 and 78-82) for accomplishing the specific functions related to the claimed “artificial intelligence assistant” of responding to user inquiries and providing detailed or specific information about the diagram based on the alt text data (claim 32) or a sufficient algorithm for providing guided suggestions to help users improve their construction of the diagram (claim 33). As such the limitation is rejected under 112(a) and 112(b) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As discussed above, the limitations “a form-driven, keyboard-accessible control interface” (claim 29), “artificial intelligence-driven learning assistant” (claim 29), “alt text generation engine” (claims 30 and 32), “a user interface” (claim 32) and “artificial intelligence assistant” (claims 32 and 33) invoke interpretation under 112(f), and the structure is a computer/processor implementing an algorithm however the specification is insufficient/devoid of the algorithm for performing the functions of the limitations claimed. For example, paragraphs 06, 07, 76-82 and 111, recite a broad overview of the functions performed by each but there is no disclosure of the actual algorithm for performing the entirety of the functions claimed. Thus, the claims contain subject matter which is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Please refer to MPEP 2181 for further guidance.
Claims 30, 31 and 33 are also rejected by the virtue of their dependency upon rejected claims 29 and 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "said image file" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the alt text generation engine" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As noted in the remarks filed on 9/14/26, claim 33 recites the limitation "the system of claim 2" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination and applying prior art the Examiner will treat this as a typo that should say “the system of claim 32”.
Regarding claims 29, 30, 32 and 33, the limitations of “a form-driven, keyboard-accessible control interface” (claim 29), “artificial intelligence-driven learning assistant” (claim 29), “alt text generation engine” (claims 30 and 32), “a user interface” (claim 32), and “artificial intelligence assistant” (claims 32 and 33) invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
As discussed above, the structure of each limitation is a computer/processor implementing an algorithm however the specification is insufficient/devoid of the algorithm for performing the function of the limitations claimed. For example, paragraphs 06, 07, 76-82 and 111, recite a broad overview of the functions performed by each but there is no disclosure of the actual algorithm for performing the entirety of the functions claimed. Please refer to MPEP 2181 for further guidance.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 30, 31 and 33 are also rejected by the virtue of their dependency upon rejected claims 29 or 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29, 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US2024/0331235 Smock et al. (“Smock”).
Regarding claim 29, Smock discloses a method for providing interactive STEM education tools accessible to blind and low-vision individuals (the italicized is a statement of intended use not given patentable weight, see MPEP 2111.02), comprising:
generating, in real-time, alt text descriptions for diagrams based on configuration data from a STEM interactive tool, wherein said alt text descriptions comprise a contextual overview, component details, and relationships between components (Fig. 6, elements 608 and 612; paragraphs 104-109, wherein text description (e.g. “an alkane with three carbons combined with a hydroxyl group” corresponding to a description of overview, components and relationships) of a molecular image (i.e. diagram) is generated based on configuration data from a user interaction (i.e. STEM interactive tool));
allowing user interaction with the tool through a form-driven, keyboard-accessible control interface, enabling the selection and manipulation of components in the diagram without the use of a mouse (Fig. 6, elements 602, 604; paragraphs 31,46, 100-103,106, wherein the user is allowed to select and manipulate components of the molecule/diagram using natural language texts via a keyboard);
providing an artificial intelligence-driven learning assistant, configured to answer user queries based on the alt text descriptions, wherein the learning assistant offers personalized responses to clarify and guide the user in understanding and manipulating the diagram (the italicized is a statement of intended result not afforded patentable weight, see MPEP 2111.04. However, this is disclosed by Smock, Fig. 4; Fig. 6, element 606 and 608; paragraphs 47, 70-72, 100-103, wherein user interaction includes inquiries (e.g. “make that a double bond”) to a machine learning model (i.e. artificial intelligence-driven learning assistant) that provides the output/answer based on molecules with text descriptions available, thereby offering a personalized response based on the user inquiry thus clarifying and guiding the user for iterative understanding and manipulation of the molecule/diagram); and
embedding said alt text descriptions into the metadata of an exportable image generated from the STEM interactive tool, wherein said image file retains its accessibility for future use (Fig. 6, element 612, 614; paragraphs 86-88 and 109, 110, wherein the text description of the molecular image created via the user interaction (i.e. STEM interactive tool) are then included/embedded into an image file that can be exported to downstream applications (i.e. retains its accessibility for future use)).
Regarding claim 32, Smock discloses a system (Fig. 5) for generating alt text for interactive STEM diagrams for blind and low-vision individuals (the italicized is a statement of intended use not given patentable weight, see MPEP 2111.02), comprising:
an alt text generation engine (Figs, 4, 5 and 6, paragraphs 73 and 99) configured to receive configuration data from a digital interactive system, wherein the engine automatically generates alt text descriptions based on the diagram’s components, said alt text following a structured format of overview, detailed description, and component relationships (Fig. 6, elements 608 and 612; paragraphs 104-109, wherein text descriptions (e.g. “an alkane with three carbons combined with a hydroxyl group” corresponding to a structured format based on an overview, detailed description of components and relationships) of a molecular image (i.e. diagram) are automatically generated based on configuration data from a user interaction (i.e. digital interactive system));
a user interface (Figs, 4, 5 and 6, paragraphs 73 and 99), operable via keyboard controls (Fig. 5, element 506; paragraphs 31 and 78), allowing the user to add, modify, and review components of the diagram, wherein feedback is provided through dynamically updated alt text that describes actions performed by the user (Fig. 6, elements 602, 604; paragraphs 31,46, 100-106, wherein the user is allowed to review, select and manipulate components of the molecule/diagram using natural language texts via a user interface using a keyboard. The process is iterative providing a display (i.e. dynamic feedback) with updated text description associated with users interaction); and
an artificial intelligence assistant integrated with the alt text generation engine, wherein the assistant responds to user inquiries, providing detailed or specific information about the diagram based on the alt text data (Fig. 4 and 5; Fig. 6, element 606 and 608; paragraphs 47, 70-72, 100-103, wherein user interaction includes inquiries (e.g. “make that a double bond”) generated via the “alt text generation engine” are input to a machine learning model (i.e. artificial intelligence assistant) that provides the output/answer based on molecules with text descriptions providing detailed/specific info about molecule/diagram).
Regarding claim 33, Smock discloses the system of claim 2, further comprising a rubric-based feedback system, wherein the artificial intelligence assistant provides guided suggestions to help users improve their construction of the diagram, based on specific learning objectives (the italicized is a statement of intended result not afforded patentable weight, see MPEP 2111.04. However, this is disclosed by Smock, paragraphs 89-90, wherein the machine learning model (i.e. AI assistant) validates the molecular image (i.e. diagram) using octet rule (i.e. rubric) based feedback thereby providing guided suggestions to help user improve the construction of the molecule/diagram in further iterations.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0331235 Smock et al. (“Smock”) in view of US 2025/0322903 to Christiansen-Salameh et al. (“Christiansen-Salameh”).
Regarding claim 30, Smock discloses the method of claim 29 including an alt text generation engine (Figs, 4, 5 and 6, paragraphs 73 and 99) that applies an organization method to create the description, wherein the overview provides a high-level summary (Fig. 6, elements 608 and 612; paragraphs 104-109, wherein text description created (e.g. “an alkane with three carbons combined with a hydroxyl group” corresponding to a high level summary/overview).
Smock does not disclose expressly that the engine applies a drill-down organization method to create the description or that the overview provides additional layers of detail available upon user request.
Christiansen-Salameh discloses a process for applying a drill-down organization method to create descriptions of molecules including an overview that provides a high-level summary along with additional layers of detail available upon user request (Fig. 3-1; paragraphs 41-48, 54 and 55).
Smock & Christiansen-Salameh are combinable because they are from the same art of providing descriptions for molecules.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the technique of applying a drill-down organization method to create descriptions of molecules including an overview that provides a high-level summary along with additional layers of detail available upon user request, as taught by Christiansen-Salameh, into the process for providing user interactive tools disclosed by Smock.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide simultaneously display information about the molecule at multiple levels of granularity (Christiansen-Salameh, paragraph 55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Christiansen-Salameh with Smock to obtain the invention as specified in claim 30.
Regarding claim 31, Smock discloses the method of claim 29, wherein the control interface includes selection options corresponding to diagram components, configured to present real-time updates and feedback as the user interacts with the tool (Fig. 6, elements 602, 604; paragraphs 31,46, 100-106, wherein the user interface includes the options to review, select and manipulate components of the molecule/diagram using natural language texts using a keyboard. The process is iterative providing a real-time display with updated text description associated with users interaction).
Smock does not disclose expressly that the control interface includes drop-down menus or buttons corresponding to diagram components.
Christiansen-Salameh discloses a user control interface including drop-down menus or buttons corresponding to molecule/diagram components (Figs. 2-1 and 2-2; paragraphs 29-38).
Smock & Christiansen-Salameh are combinable because they are from the same art of providing descriptions for molecules.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a user control interface including drop-down menus or buttons corresponding to molecule/diagram components, as taught by Christiansen-Salameh, into the process for providing user interactive tools disclosed by Smock.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide an easy way for user to modify and visualize both sequence and structure aspects of molecular components of a sequence (Christiansen-Salameh, paragraph 37-38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Christiansen-Salameh with Smock to obtain the invention as specified in claim 31.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/AARON W CARTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661