Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 202210283823.4, filed on 03/22/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 01/10/2025, 07/15/2025, and 01/27/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO 2022143493 A1), in view of Li, Mingju (WO 2023/050056 A1), hereinafter Li.
Re. Claims 1 and 13, Wang teaches a communication apparatus comprising a receiver and a transmitter wherein the receiver is configured to receive (Fig. 7), by a terminal device or a chip in the terminal device, first configuration information (Pg. 12, Paragraph 4 - receiving first information, where the first information is used to instruct to perform aggregation processing on the target sounding reference signal and/or determine a measurement result of the target sounding reference signal), wherein the first configuration information is useable to configure n sounding reference signals, the n sounding reference signals are useable for positioning (Pg. 12, Paragraph 1- when the target sounding reference signal includes N second sounding reference signals & Pg. 12, Paragraph 5 - In the embodiment of the present application, the network side device receives the first information, performs aggregation processing on the target sounding reference signal according to the indication of the first information, and determines the measurement result of the target sounding reference signal, so as to realize the positioning of the terminal), and where n is an integer greater than 1 (Pg. 19, Paragraph 6 - target sounding reference signal includes N second sounding reference signals, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 2); and sending the n sounding reference signals based on the first configuration information, wherein the n sounding reference signals (Pg. 25, Paragraph 10 - Sending the target sounding reference signal, so that the network side device performs aggregation processing on the target sounding reference signal to determine the measurement result of the target sounding reference signal. & Pg. 19, Paragraph 6 - target sounding reference signal includes N second sounding reference signals) are included in a same time domain resource unit (Pg. 21, Paragraph 9 - the first sounding reference signal has the same first characteristic on N carriers, and the first characteristic includes one or more of the following:… time domain position).
However, Wang does not expressly teach a carrier corresponding to at least one of the n sounding reference signals is a first positioning carrier.
Yet, Li explicitly teaches a carrier corresponding to at least one of the n sounding reference signals is a first positioning carrier (Pg. 7, Paragraph 1 - the first resource configuration information includes time-domain parameters respectively corresponding to carriers in the at least one carrier, where the time-domain parameters are used to indicate time-domain resources on the carriers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Wang. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission efficiency as Li provides that the carrier corresponding to the reference signals is a positioning carrier (Pg. 7, Paragraph 1, Li). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 8 and 18, Wang teaches a communication apparatus, comprising a processor, and a transmitter (Fig. 7), wherein the processor is configured to determine first configuration information (Pg. 12, Paragraph 4 - receiving first information, where the first information is used to instruct to perform aggregation processing on the target sounding reference signal and/or determine a measurement result of the target sounding reference signal. Examiner interprets in order for the first information regarding the first SRS to be received it must be determined and sent), wherein the first configuration information is useable to configure n sounding reference signals, the n sounding reference signals are useable for positioning (Pg. 12, Paragraph 1- when the target sounding reference signal includes N second sounding reference signals & Pg. 12, Paragraph 5 - In the embodiment of the present application, the network side device receives the first information, performs aggregation processing on the target sounding reference signal according to the indication of the first information, and determines the measurement result of the target sounding reference signal, so as to realize the positioning of the terminal), the n sounding reference signals (Pg. 25, Paragraph 10 - Sending the target sounding reference signal, so that the network side device performs aggregation processing on the target sounding reference signal to determine the measurement result of the target sounding reference signal. & Pg. 19, Paragraph 6 - target sounding reference signal includes N second sounding reference signals) are included in a same time domain resource unit (Pg. 21, Paragraph 9 - the first sounding reference signal has the same first characteristic on N carriers, and the first characteristic includes one or more of the following:… time domain position), where n is an integer greater than 1 (Pg. 19, Paragraph 6 - target sounding reference signal includes N second sounding reference signals, where N is an integer greater than or equal to 2); and the transmitter is configured to send the first configuration information (Pg. 12, Paragraph 4 - receiving first information, where the first information is used to instruct to perform aggregation processing on the target sounding reference signal and/or determine a measurement result of the target sounding reference signal).
However, Wang does not expressly teach a carrier corresponding to at least one of the n sounding reference signals is a first positioning carrier.
Yet, Li explicitly teaches a carrier corresponding to at least one of the n sounding reference signals is a first positioning carrier (Pg. 7, Paragraph 1 - the first resource configuration information includes time-domain parameters respectively corresponding to carriers in the at least one carrier, where the time-domain parameters are used to indicate time-domain resources on the carriers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Wang. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission efficiency as Li provides that the carrier corresponding to the reference signals is a positioning carrier (Pg. 7, Paragraph 1, Li). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 2, 9, 14, and 19, Wang and Li teach Claims 1, 8, 13 and 18.
Additionally, Wang further teaches wherein before the receiving the first configuration information, the method further comprises: sending first information, wherein the first information is useable to indicate capability information of the terminal device, wherein the first information comprises AT LEAST ONE: first indication information, useable to indicate a first maximum aggregated bandwidth, wherein the first maximum aggregated bandwidth is useable to send m sounding reference signals, the m sounding reference signals are useable for positioning, a carrier corresponding to at least one of [[the]]m sounding reference signals is a second positioning carrier, and the m sounding reference signals are configured to be carried included in the same time domain resource unit, where m is an integer greater than 1; second indication information, indicating useable to indicate a quantity of contiguous carriers corresponding to a first maximum aggregated bandwidth (Pg. 19, Paragraph 1 - the capability information is specifically the capability related to the carrier and the sounding reference signal, and specifically includes:… contiguous carrier aggregation, and non-contiguous carrier aggregation; Maximum bandwidth of each of N carriers; maximum bandwidth of N carriers… Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “AT LEAST ONE”); third indication information, useable to indicate that the terminal device supports uplink carrier aggregation (UL CA), and a carrier set corresponding to the UL CA comprises at least one positioning carrier; fourth indication information, useable to indicate first switching time, wherein the first switching time is useable for switching between sending a signal by the terminal device on a first carrier set and sending a sounding reference signal on a second carrier set, the first carrier set does not comprise a positioning carrier, and the second carrier set comprises at least one positioning carrier; fifth indication information, useable to indicate that the terminal device does not send the m sounding reference signals in response to a conflict occurs occurring on a carrier corresponding to one or more of the m sounding reference signals included in the same time domain resource unit; or sixth indication information, useable to indicate that the terminal device does not send one or more sounding reference signals in response to a conflict occurring on the carrier corresponding to the one or more m sounding reference signals included in the same time domain resource unit.
Re. Claims 3, 10, 15, and 20, Wang and Li teach Claims 1, 8, 13, and 18.
However, Wang does not expressly teach wherein the positioning carrier is not useable to transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH)
Yet, Li explicitly teaches wherein the positioning carrier is not useable to transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Pg. 9, Paragraph 1 - the network device sends resource configuration information to the terminal device to indicate to the terminal device the transmission resource of the reference signal used for positioning, such as time domain resources, frequency domain resources, transmission power, etc., providing In the case of carrier aggregation, a method for configuring a reference signal for positioning is helpful for improving positioning accuracy).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Wang. The motivation for such would be to improve transmission efficiency as Li provides that the positioning carrier does not transmit on an uplink channel (Pg. 9, Paragraph 1, Li). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 4 and 16, Wang and Li teach Claims 1, and 13.
However, Wang does not expressly teach wherein before the sending, by the terminal device, the n sounding reference signals based on the first configuration information, the method further comprises: determining that the n sounding reference signals do not conflict with other scheduled signals on corresponding time-frequency domain resources.
Yet, Li explicitly teaches wherein before the sending, by the terminal device, the n sounding reference signals based on the first configuration information, the method further comprises: determining that the n sounding reference signals do not conflict with other scheduled signals on corresponding time-frequency domain resources (Pg. 10, Paragraph 2 - the time domain parameter includes at least one of the following: period, start time slot, start symbol, and number of occupied symbols).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teaching of Wang. The motivation for such would to improve transmission efficiency by checking to see if there is a conflict before scheduling the signals, which Li provides (Pg. 10, Paragraph 2, Li). All of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements, as claimed by known methods, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention.
Re. Claims 5 and 17, Wang and Li teach Claims 1, and 16.
Additionally, Wang further teaches further comprising: determining not to send the n sounding reference signals in response to determining that a conflict occurs on a carrier corresponding to one or more of then sounding reference signals included in the same time domain resource unit (Pg. 12, Paragraph 13 - Sending the target sounding reference signal, so that the network side device performs aggregation processing on the target sounding reference signal to determine the measurement result of the target sounding reference signal. & Pg. 2, Paragraph 11- target sounding reference signal includes N second sounding reference signals. Examiner interprets that the structure of this claim language is a “negative claim” or a claim that is referring to the absence of action being performed. Herein this “absence of action” refers to a reference signal NOT being sent due to a conflict. In the current understanding of the art there are two options when choosing to send, performing the action and not performing the action. As Examiner has established that one consideration of the disclosure is the overlap within the time domain, it can be easily understood and inferred that if the signal is sent, then the checks that were performed deemed a lack of conflict and as such, the action was performed. Likewise, due to this conclusion, the inverse can also be inferred).
Re. Claims 6 and 11, Wang and Li teach Claims 1, and 8.
Additionally Wang teaches wherein n carriers corresponding to the n sounding reference signals are located in a same band (Pg. 15, Paragraph 18- when certain conditions are met, the network side device does not expect to perform aggregation processing on the target sounding reference signal, that is, cannot perform aggregation processing on the target sounding reference signal, and reports that the aggregation processing fails… The carriers of the target sounding reference signal belong to different frequency bands. Examiner interprets this much in the same way as above, the claimed language focuses on everything being in the same band, and Examiner here shows that the process fails when the carriers are on different bands. Functionally, these both disclose the same idea).
Re. Claims 7 and 12, Wang and Li teach Claims 1, and 8.
Additionally Wang teaches the n sounding reference signals share an antenna port (Pg. 27, Paragraph 1 - the radio frequency unit 1901 may be used to send and receive information or send and receive signals during a call, and specifically, receive downlink data from the base station or send uplink data to the base station. The radio frequency unit 1901 includes, but is not limited to, an antenna. Examiner interprets that if the N reference signals are sent as a single signal (the “first sounding reference signal”) then this signal would be sent over an antenna port in the radio frequency unit 1901, as disclosed here. Since only one signal would need to be sent, the same port would be used for all of the N sounding reference signals. Additionally, Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features needs to be mapped because of the presence of “Or”) OR at least two reference signals of the n sounding reference signals have a phase difference with each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zarifi Keyvan (WO 2022042658 A1) – Pg. 2, Paragraph 7 - Pg. 4, Paragraph 6
/N.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475