DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a separately filed document (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is Christopher.Legendre@uspto.gov.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 September 2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is hereby considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the Abstract, “An object of the present disclosure is to provide a” (line 1) should be changed to --A-- and “present disclosure provides a” (line 4) should be deleted (note: the language of the Abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "This disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "This disclosure describes," etc - see MPEP 608.01(b)).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
There are no limitations deemed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Inoue ‘216 et al. (US 2024/0399216 - hereafter referred to as Inoue ‘216).
The applied reference has a common assignee / applicant / joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In reference to claim 1
Inoue ‘216 discloses:
A golf ball comprising a spherical core (4), an intermediate layer (6) covering the spherical core, and an outermost cover (8) covering the intermediate layer, wherein
the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition (see par. [0071]) containing a base rubber, a co-crosslinking agent, and a crosslinking initiator,
the base rubber contains a natural rubber (see par. [0072]), the co-crosslinking agent contains (see par. [0071]) methacrylic acid and/or a metal salt thereof, and
a center hardness (H0) of the spherical core, a hardness (H2.5) at a point having a radial distance of 2.5 mm from a center of the spherical core, a hardness (H5.0) at a point having a radial distance of 5.0 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H7.5) at a point having a radial distance of 7.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H10) at a point having a radial distance of 10 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H12.5) at a point having a radial distance of 12.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H15) at a point having a radial distance of 15 mm from the center of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core satisfy a relationship of H0<H2.5<H5.0<H7.5<H10<H12.5<H15<Hs (see Core No. A, B, C, D, E, and F in Table 1, all of which satisfy the claimed relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 2
Inoue ‘216 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5), the hardness (H15) and the surface hardness (Hs) satisfy the following relationships of
H2.5-H0<4,
H5.0-H2.5<4,
H7.5-H5.0<4,
H10-H7.5<4,
H12.5-H10<4,
H15-H12.5<4, and
Hs-H15<4 in Shore C hardness (see Core No. D in Table 1, which satisfies the claimed relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 3
Inoue ‘216 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein a hardness difference (Hs-H0) between the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core and the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 10 or less in Shore C hardness (see Core No. D in Table 1, which satisfies the claimed relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 8
Inoue ‘216 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the base rubber further contains a polybutadiene rubber (see par. [0072]).
In reference to claim 9
Inoue ‘216 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 2, wherein the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5), the hardness (H15) and the surface hardness (Hs) satisfy the following relationships of
0.3≤H2.5-H0<4,
0.5≤H5.0-H2.5<4,
0.5≤H7.5-H5.0<4,
0.5≤H10-H7.5<4,
0.5≤H12.5-H10<4,
0.1≤H15-H12.5<4, and
0<Hs-H15<4 in Shore C hardness (see Core No. D in Table 1, which satisfies the claimed relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 10
Inoue ‘216 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core ranges from 55 to 77 in Shore C hardness (see Core No. A, B, C, D, E, and F in Table 1, all of which satisfy the claimed relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 11
Inoue ‘216 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core ranges from 60 to 87 in Shore C hardness (see Core No. A, B, C, D, E, and F in Table 1, all of which satisfy the claimed relationship(s)).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Inoue ‘215 et al. (US 2024/0399215 - hereafter referred to as Inoue ‘215) AND/OR Inoue ‘671 et al. (US 2025/0041671 - hereafter referred to as Inoue ‘671) AND/OR Inoue ‘672 et al. (US 2025/0041672 - hereafter referred to as Inoue ‘672) AND/OR Inoue ‘628 et al. (US 12,544,628 - hereafter referred to as Inoue ‘628).
The applied references have a common assignee / applicant / joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, they constitute prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the references was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the references and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In reference to claim 1
Inoue ‘215 AND/OR Inoue ‘671 AND/OR Inoue ‘672 AND/OR Inoue ‘628 each disclose all aspects of claim 1 (apparent from the respective disclosures; detailed mapping not provided for brevity purposes).
Claims 1-3, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US 2023/0166160).
In reference to claim 1
Watanabe ‘160 discloses:
A golf ball comprising a spherical core (1), an intermediate layer (3) covering the spherical core (i.e., the intermediate layer 3 is radially outward of the core 1)(note: Applicant’s par. [0087] stating “at least two intermediate layers covering the spherical core, and an outermost cover covering the intermediate layers” indicates that the term “covering” does not denote a contact relationship - i.e., in the case of “at least two intermediate layers”, at least one of such “intermediate layers” would not contact the “spherical core” and/or at least one of such “intermediate layers” would not contact the “outermost cover”), and an outermost cover (4) covering the intermediate layer, wherein
the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition (see par. [0029]) containing a base rubber, a co-crosslinking agent, and a crosslinking initiator,
the base rubber contains a natural rubber (see par. [0030]), the co-crosslinking agent contains methacrylic acid and/or a metal salt (see par. [0031]) thereof, and
a center hardness (H0) of the spherical core, a hardness (H2.5) at a point having a radial distance of 2.5 mm from a center of the spherical core, a hardness (H5.0) at a point having a radial distance of 5.0 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H7.5) at a point having a radial distance of 7.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H10) at a point having a radial distance of 10 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H12.5) at a point having a radial distance of 12.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H15) at a point having a radial distance of 15 mm from the center of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core satisfy a relationship of H0<H2.5<H5.0<H7.5<H10<H12.5<H15<Hs (note: see attached calculation showing Example 1 (Ex1), Example 2 (Ex2), Example 3 (Ex3), Example 4 (Ex4), and Comparative Example 1 (CEx1) as meeting the instant relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 2
Watanabe ‘160 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5), the hardness (H15) and the surface hardness (Hs) satisfy the following relationships of
H2.5-H0<4,
H5.0-H2.5<4,
H7.5-H5.0<4,
H10-H7.5<4,
H12.5-H10<4,
H15-H12.5<4, and
Hs-H15<4 in Shore C hardness (note: see attached Examiner’s Calculation showing Ex2, Ex4, and CEx1 as satisfying the instant relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 3
Watanabe ‘160 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein a hardness difference (Hs-H0) between the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core and the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 10 or less in Shore C hardness (note: see attached Examiner’s Calculation showing CEx1 as satisfying the instant relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 8
Watanabe ‘160 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the base rubber further contains a polybutadiene rubber (see par. [0030]).
In reference to claim 9
Watanabe ‘160 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 2, wherein the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5), the hardness (H15) and the surface hardness (Hs) satisfy the following relationships of
0.3≤H2.5-H0<4,
0.5≤H5.0-H2.5<4,
0.5≤H7.5-H5.0<4,
0.5≤H10-H7.5<4,
0.5≤H12.5-H10<4,
0.1≤H15-H12.5<4, and
0<Hs-H15<4 in Shore C hardness (note: see attached Examiner’s Calculation showing Ex2 and Ex4 as satisfying the instant relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 11
Watanabe ‘160 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core ranges from 60 to 87 in Shore C hardness (note: see attached Examiner’s Calculation showing Ex2 and Ex4 as satisfying the instant relationship(s)).
Claims 1, 5-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isogawa et al. (US 9,248,347 - hereafter referred to as Isogawa).
In reference to claim 1
Isogawa discloses:
A golf ball comprising a spherical core (107), an intermediate layer (108) covering the spherical core, and an outermost cover (112) covering the intermediate layer, wherein
the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition (see col.15:ll.19-30) containing a base rubber, a co-crosslinking agent, and a crosslinking initiator,
the base rubber contains a natural rubber (see col.15:ll.59-66), the co-crosslinking agent contains (see col.16:ll.47-54) methacrylic acid and/or a metal salt thereof, and
a center hardness (H0) of the spherical core (note: see col.9:ll.52-54 indicating a core diameter of at least 38 mm), a hardness (H2.5) at a point having a radial distance of 2.5 mm from a center of the spherical core, a hardness (H5.0) at a point having a radial distance of 5.0 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H7.5) at a point having a radial distance of 7.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H10) at a point having a radial distance of 10 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H12.5) at a point having a radial distance of 12.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H15) at a point having a radial distance of 15 mm from the center of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core satisfy a relationship of H0<H2.5<H5.0<H7.5<H10<H12.5<H15<Hs (see e.g. Golf ball No. 2 in Table 13; also note e.g. col.3:ll.65-67 stating “The spherical core having the rubber layer where the hardness increases linearly or almost linearly…”).
In reference to claim 5
Isogawa discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein a slab hardness (i.e., 65 - see e.g. Golf ball No. 2 in Table 13; also see Intermediate layer composition No. (a) in Table 4) of an intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is greater than a slab hardness (i.e., 29 - see e.g. Golf ball No. 2 in Table 13) of a cover composition forming the outermost cover.
In reference to claim 6
Isogawa discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein a cover composition (see Cover composition No. A in Table 5, and note that Golf ball No. 2 includes Composition A for the cover as indicated in Table 13) forming the outermost cover is a resin composition containing a urethane resin as a base resin, and
a slab hardness of the cover composition forming the outermost cover is 40 or less (i.e., 29 - see e.g. Golf ball No. 2 in Table 13; also see Cover composition No. A in Table 5) in Shore D hardness.
In reference to claim 7
Isogawa discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein an intermediate layer composition (see Intermediate layer composition No. (a) in Table 4, and note that Golf ball No. 2 includes composition (a) for the Intermediate Layer as indicated in Table 13) forming the intermediate layer is a resin composition containing an ionomer resin as a base resin, and
a slab hardness of the intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is 50 or more (i.e., 65 - see e.g. Golf ball No. 2 in Table 13; also see Intermediate layer composition No. (a) in Table 4) in Shore D hardness.
In reference to claim 8
Isogawa discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the base rubber further contains a polybutadiene rubber (see col.15:ll.59-66).
In reference to claim 10
Isogawa discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core ranges from 55 to 77 (see e.g. Golf ball No. 2 in Table 13) in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 11
Isogawa discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core ranges from 60 to 87 (see e.g. Golf ball No. 2 in Table 13) in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 12
Isogawa discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 5, wherein a hardness difference (Hm-Hc) between the slab hardness (Hm) of the intermediate layer (i.e., 65 - see e.g. Golf ball No. 2 in Table 13) composition and the slab hardness (Hc) of the cover composition (i.e., 29 - see e.g. Golf ball No. 2 in Table 13) is more than 0 and 50 or less (i.e., 65 - 29 = 36) in Shore D hardness.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe ‘741 et al. (US 10,610,741 - hereafter referred to as Watanabe ‘741).
In reference to claim 1
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
A golf ball comprising a spherical core (1), an intermediate layer (2) covering the spherical core, and an outermost cover (3) covering the intermediate layer, wherein
the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition containing a base rubber (see col.4:ll.23-24), a co-crosslinking agent (i.e., Zinc salt - see Table 1), and a crosslinking initiator (i.e., organic peroxide - see Table 1),
the base rubber contains a natural rubber (see col.4:ll.23-34), the co-crosslinking agent contains methacrylic acid and/or a metal salt thereof, and
a center hardness (H0) of the spherical core, a hardness (H2.5) at a point having a radial distance of 2.5 mm from a center of the spherical core, a hardness (H5.0) at a point having a radial distance of 5.0 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H7.5) at a point having a radial distance of 7.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H10) at a point having a radial distance of 10 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H12.5) at a point having a radial distance of 12.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H15) at a point having a radial distance of 15 mm from the center of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core satisfy a relationship of H0<H2.5<H5.0<H7.5<H10<H12.5<H15<Hs (see Working Example 2, Comparative Example 1, Comparative Example 2, Comparative Example 3, Comparative Example 5, and Comparative Example 6 in Table 6, all of which satisfy the instant relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 5
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein a slab hardness (i.e., 64 or 66 - see sheet hardness in Table 6) of an intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is greater than a slab hardness (i.e., 47 - see sheet hardness in Table 6) of a cover composition forming the outermost cover.
In reference to claim 7
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein an intermediate layer composition (see col.9:ll.37-39) forming the intermediate layer is a resin composition containing an ionomer resin as a base resin, and
a slab hardness (i.e., 64 or 66 - see sheet hardness in Table 6) of the intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is 50 or more in Shore D hardness.
In reference to claim 8
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the base rubber further contains a polybutadiene rubber (see col.4:ll.23-34).
In reference to claim 10
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core ranges from 55 to 77 in Shore C hardness (see Working Example 2, Comparative Example 1, Comparative Example 2, Comparative Example 3, Comparative Example 5, and Comparative Example 6 in Table 6, all of which satisfy the instant relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 11
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core ranges from 60 to 87 in Shore C hardness (see Comparative Example 1 and Comparative Example 2 in Table 6, both of which satisfy the instant relationship(s)).
In reference to claim 12
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 5, wherein a hardness difference (Hm-Hc) between the slab hardness (Hm) (i.e., 64 or 66 - see sheet hardness in Table 6) of the intermediate layer composition and the slab hardness (Hc) (i.e., 47 - see sheet hardness in Table 6) of the cover composition is more than 0 and 50 (i.e., 17 or 19) or less in Shore D hardness.
Claims 1, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe ‘067 et al. (US 2010/0298067 - hereafter referred to as Watanabe ‘067).
In reference to claim 1
Watanabe ‘067 discloses:
A golf ball comprising a spherical core (1), an intermediate layer (2) covering the spherical core, and an outermost cover (3) covering the intermediate layer, wherein
the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition (see par. [0044]) containing a base rubber (see par. [0044] and [0052]), a co-crosslinking agent (see par. [0044]), and a crosslinking initiator (i.e., an organic peroxide - see par. [0044]),
the base rubber contains a natural rubber (see par. [0051]), the co-crosslinking agent contains methacrylic acid and/or a metal salt (see par. [0052]) thereof, and
a center hardness (H0) of the spherical core, a hardness (H2.5) at a point having a radial distance of 2.5 mm from a center of the spherical core, a hardness (H5.0) at a point having a radial distance of 5.0 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H7.5) at a point having a radial distance of 7.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H10) at a point having a radial distance of 10 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H12.5) at a point having a radial distance of 12.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H15) at a point having a radial distance of 15 mm from the center of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core satisfy a relationship of H0<H2.5<H5.0<H7.5<H10<H12.5<H15<Hs (see Example 1, Example 2, Example 3, Comparative Example 2, Comparative Example 3, and Comparative Example 4 in Table 4 in combination with Figure 3 and par. [0041]).
In reference to claim 8
Watanabe ‘067 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the base rubber further contains a polybutadiene rubber (see par. [0051])
In reference to claim 10
Watanabe ‘067 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core ranges from 55 to 77 (see Example 1, Example 2, Example 3, Comparative Example 2, Comparative Example 3, and Comparative Example 4 in Table 4) in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 11
Watanabe ‘067 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core ranges from 60 to 87 (see Example 1, Example 2, Example 3, Comparative Example 2, Comparative Example 3, and Comparative Example 4 in Table 4) in Shore C hardness.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe ‘160 AND/OR Isogawa AND/OR Watanabe ‘741 AND/OR Watanabe ‘067 in view of Nakamura et al. (US 8,262,508 - hereafter referred to as Nakamura), and wherein Britton et al. (US 2024/0350868 - hereafter referred to as Britton) is cited on an evidentiary basis.
In reference to claim 4
Watanabe ‘160 AND/OR Isogawa AND/OR Watanabe ‘741 AND/OR Watanabe ‘067 each disclose:
The golf ball according to claim 1.
Watanabe ‘160 AND/OR Isogawa AND/OR Watanabe ‘741 AND/OR Watanabe ‘067 each does not disclose:
an amount of the natural rubber ranges from 10 mass % to 90 mass % in 100 mass % of the base rubber.
Nakamura discloses:
a golf ball core comprising a base rubber composition (see (a), (b), and (c) in Table 1) including natural rubber and synthetic rubber, wherein the natural rubber is 50% by weight of the base rubber composition.
Britton teaches a golf ball core that includes natural rubber due to it being ecologically friendly (see par. [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the golf ball of Watanabe ‘160 AND/OR Isogawa AND/OR Watanabe ‘741 AND/OR Watanabe ‘067 to include a base rubber composition having natural rubber as 50% by weight, as disclosed by Nakamura, for the purpose of imbuing a desired ecological friendliness thereto.
Citations of Pertinent Art
The following art is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Iizuka (US 2016/0184646) discloses a golf ball core comprising natural rubber.
All other cited references are co-pending applications having a common applicant and/or inventor(s) that disclose a golf ball hardness gradient.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711