ETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Response filed August 20, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-25 are pending in the application. The previous objections to the specification and claims; rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b); and rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claims. Response to applicant's arguments can be found at the end of this Office action.
Examiner reminds Applicant that 37 CFR § 1.121(c) requires that in the claim listing, “the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number.”
The Claims Listing presents claims 18-21 without the required status indicator.
In the interest of compact prosecution, claims 18-21 are being examined as if they were presented with the necessary status indicators.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yevzlin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20100130995; hereinafter “Yevzlin”) in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160096008; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Yevzlin discloses a sutureless end-to-side anastomosis assembly (Fig. 2), comprising:
a. An access graft (16) having a distal end (Fig. 2);
b. A flange (18) projecting radially outward from a central axis of the access graft at the distal end of the access graft (Fig. 2), the flange having a peripheral edge (outer edge of flange (18); Fig. 2); and
c. A reinforcing wire member (thin thread or rod forming mesh frame (29); Fig. 2; paras. [0030]-[0031]) associated with the peripheral edge of the flange at the distal end of the graft (Fig. 2; para. [0031]).
The device of Yevzlin is disclosed with the access graft distal end having cylindrical profile instead of a non-circular transverse cross-sectional profile.
However, Park shows that a cylindrical profile and a non-circular transverse cross-sectional profile were equivalent structures known in the art for an access graft to pass fluid therethrough (para. [0225]).
Therefore, because these two cross-sectional profiles were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a non-circular transverse cross-sectional profile for the cylindrical profile, in view of Park, to achieve the predictable result of shaping the access graft for flowing fluid therethrough during use and since the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, the modified device discloses wherein the reinforcing wire member and the flange are configured to pass into a lumen of a blood vessel and abut against a luminal wall surface of the blood vessel (Yevzlin para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 3, the modified device discloses wherein the blood vessel is a peripheral artery (Yevzlin para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified device discloses the system further comprising a tubular graft (tubular member (para. [0046])) configured to operably engage with the access graft through a vascular wall without suture engagement between the tubular graft and the access graft (para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device is not explicitly disclosed with the tubular graft further comprising an expandable stent. However, Park teaches providing a tubular graft with an expandable stent (2010; Figs. 28-29) to facilitate holding the tubular graft in place (para. [0272]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tubular graft with an expandable stent, in view of Park, in order to prevent dislodgement of the tubular graft during use and maintain desired blood flow.
Regarding claim 6, the modified device is not explicitly disclosed with the distal end of the access graft and the flange having an acute angle relative to a longitudinal axis of the access graft. However, Park teaches configuring an anastomosis device such that the distal end of the access graft and the flange have an acute angle relative to a longitudinal axis of the access graft (Fig. 28) to effect proper connection between blood vessels at an anastomosis site (para. [0228]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the distal end of the access graft and the flange to have an acute angle relative to a longitudinal axis of the access graft, in view of Park , in order to provide a secure connection between the device and an artery.
Regarding claim 7, the modified device discloses wherein the acute angle is between about 30 degrees to about 40 degrees relative to the longitudinal axis of the access graft (Park para. [0228]).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device discloses wherein the reinforcing wire member further comprising at least one semi-ovular wire ring member (e.g., portion of mesh frame extending around flange (18); Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device is not explicitly disclosed with a shape memory wire and shape memory tube. However, Yevzlin teaches another anastomosis device including a reinforcing member (23) with a shape memory wire (forming mesh frame (23); Fig. 1; para. [0023]) and a shape memory tube (12), wherein the shape memory wire has opposing ends that are engaged within the shape memory tube and movable therein (e.g., from collapsed to expanded configurations; para. [0023]) to provide rigidity and reinforcement to the anastomosis device (para. [0022]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the reinforcing member to include a shape memory wire and a shape memory tube, wherein the shape memory wire has opposing ends that are engaged within the shape memory tube and movable therein, in view of Yevzlin, to provide sufficient rigidity and reinforcement to press the flange against a blood vessel wall to prevent leakage of fluid.
Regarding claim 10, the modified device discloses wherein the reinforcing wire member further comprises at least one wire configured into one or more wire loops (e.g., loop following the shape of flange (18); Fig. 2) capable of diametrically expanding the flange of the access graft (paras. [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 11, the modified device is not explicitly disclosed with the flange including an asymmetric flange. However, Park teaches configuring a flange as an asymmetric flange (Fig. 3; para. [0229]) having a heel portion (312A) and a toe portion (312B), wherein the heel portion and the toe portion project in opposite directions from one another (Fig. 3) to promote stability of the flanges within a blood vessel (para. [0229]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the flange to include an asymmetric flange having a heel portion and a toe portion, wherein the heel portion and the toe portion project in opposite directions from one another, in view of Park, to promote stability of the anastomosis connector within a blood vessel during use.
Regarding claim 12, the modified device discloses wherein the heel portion further comprises a section that subtends less than a 180-degree arc relative to a blood vessel lumen (Park Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device is not explicitly disclosed with the toe portion subtending greater than a 180-degree arc. However, Yevzlin teaches configuring a toe portion of a flange to include a section (12) that subtends greater than a 180-degree arc relative to a blood vessel lumen (Fig. 1; paras. [0021]-[0022]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the toe portion to comprise a section that subtends greater than a 180-degree arc relative to a blood vessel lumen, in view of Yevzlin, in order to better secure the flange within a blood vessel by having the toe portion contact a greater portion of the circumference of the blood vessel during use.
Regarding claim 14, the modified device discloses the system further comprising a circumferential constraining member (deployment catheter; Yevzlin para. [0048]) operably connected with the access graft, the circumferential constraining member being configured to allow a medical device to pass into and through the access graft and circumferentially seal the access graft against the medical device (the deployment catheter is structured to be capable of allowing a medical device to pass into and through the access graft as claimed because it is dimensioned to allow the passage of components therethrough; Yevzlin Figs. 8A-8C; paras. [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 15, the modified device discloses wherein the medical device is a circulatory assist device (the deployment catheter is structured to be capable of passing a medical device that is a circulatory assist device dimensioned to fit within the deployment catheter; Yevzlin Figs. 8A-8C; paras. [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses wherein the circulatory assist device is an axial flow ventricular assist device (the deployment catheter is structured to be capable of passing an axial flow ventricular assist device dimensioned to fit within the deployment catheter; Yevzlin Figs. 8A-8C; paras. [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Yevzlin discloses a sutureless end-to-side anastomosis assembly, comprising:
a. A reinforcing member comprising a covered stent graft having a lattice structure (29) defining a tubular projection (portion of mesh frame (29) reinforcing side access port (16); Fig. 2; para. [0031]), a proximal projecting flange (portion of mesh frame (29) extending proximally from port (16); Fig. 2), and a distal projecting flange (portion of mesh frame (29) extending distally from port (16); Fig. 2), wherein the reinforcing member is configured to be placed through an access opening in a blood vessel and expand within the blood vessel and seat the proximal projecting flange and the distal projecting flange of the reinforcing member within the lumen of the blood vessel with the tubular projection passing through the access opening (para. [0030]); and
b. An access graft (tubular member; para. [0046]), the access graft being removably coupled to the tubular projection of the reinforcing member para. [0046]).
The device of Yevzlin is disclosed with the access graft distal end having cylindrical profile instead of a non-circular transverse cross-sectional profile.
However, Park shows that a cylindrical profile and a non-circular transverse cross-sectional profile were equivalent structures known in the art for an access graft to pass fluid therethrough (para. 0225]).
Therefore, because these two cross-sectional profiles were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention], one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a non-circular transverse cross-sectional profile for the cylindrical profile, in view of Park, to achieve the predictable result of shaping the access graft for flowing fluid therethrough during use and since the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Regarding claim 18, the modified device discloses wherein the blood vessel is a peripheral artery (Yevzlin para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 19, the modified device wherein the tubular projection (14) of the reinforcing member is positioned at a non-orthogonal angle relative to the distal projecting flange (Yevzlin para. [0020]).
Regarding claim 20, the modified device is not explicitly disclosed with the non-orthogonal angle being between about 30 degrees to about 40 degrees.
Park teaches that a non-orthogonal angle between a tubular projection and a distal flange may be varied between 10 degrees and 90 degrees depending on the needs of a patient to effect proper connection between blood vessels at an anastomosis site (para. [0228]).
Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the angle between the tubular projection and the flange of the modified device to have the angle be within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the shape of the anastomosis connector.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the non-orthogonal angle to be between about 30 degrees to about 40 degrees, in view of Park, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 21, the modified device is not explicitly disclosed with the flanges being asymmetric relative to one another.
Park teaches configuring a proximal projecting flange (312A) and a distal projecting flange (312B) to be asymmetric relative to one another (Fig. 3) to promote stability of the flanges within a blood vessel (para. [0229]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the proximal projecting flange and the distal projecting flange to be asymmetric relative to one another in view of Park, to promote stability of the anastomosis connector within a blood vessel during use.
Regarding claim 22, the modified device discloses wherein the proximal projecting flange further comprises a section that subtends less than a 180-degree arc relative to a blood vessel lumen (Yevzlin Fig. 2; Park Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, the modified device discloses wherein the distal projecting flange comprises a section that subtends greater than a 180-degree arc relative to a blood vessel lumen (the distal portion of mesh frame (29) subtends an arc greater than 180-degrees relative to a longitudinal axis of port (16) which is positioned relative to a blood vessel lumen; Yevzlin Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 24, the modified device discloses wherein the tubular portion subtends an entire circumferential extent of the blood vessel lumen (the portion of mesh frame (29) reinforcing port (16) subtends an entire circumferential extent of the opening in the blood vessel wall defining the blood vessel lumen; Yevzlin Fig. 2; paras. [0029]-[0030]).
Regarding claim 25, the modified device disclose wherein the access graft further comprises a side-arm branch (at a connection with a second blood vessel; para. [0046]) in fluid flow communication with a primary lumen in the access graft (para. [0046]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the disclosure of Park relied upon in the rejections of claims 1-16 (Response pp. 12-13) have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection of Yevzlin in view of Park. Specifically, Yevzlin is relied upon for disclosure of a reinforcing wire member as claimed.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the disclosure of Yevzlin relied upon in the previous rejections of claims 17-25 (Response pp. 13-14) have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection relying on a new anastomosis device depicted in Fig. 2 of Yevzlin that is modified in view of Park relying on.
Applicant’s argument that differences between the anastomosis devices of Yevzlin and Park would undercut a combination of the teachings in those references (Response pp. 13-14) is inapposite because the argument relies on discussion of mesh frame (23), as depicted in Fig. 1 of Yevzlin, which is not relied upon in the new grounds of rejection.
Rather, the new grounds of rejection relies on the structure of mesh frame (29) as depicted in Fig. 2 of Yevzlin, which has different structure than mesh frame (23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hoffman (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20080195125) disclosing an anastomosis device including a stent structure (Figs. 1-5J).; and
Aboud (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20100036400) disclosing an anastomosis device including a flange (Figs. 24-25).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN A HOLLM/Examiner, Art Unit 3771