DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Responsive to the claims filed December 2, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fletcher et al (US 2017/0002542).
As per claim 1, Fletcher et al teach a utility vehicle for moving a material comprising:
a frame including a first motion detection apparatus; a work tool movably coupled with an arm, where the arm is movably coupled with the frame; a second motion detection apparatus coupled with the work tool (see at least fig 2, paragraphs [0020, 0024-0027]);
a vibration apparatus coupled with the work tool; and a controller in communication with the motion detection apparatus and the vibration apparatus, wherein the controller includes a processor and a memory having a work tool vibration algorithm stored thereon (see at least paragraphs [0007, 0034, 0049]),
wherein the processor is operatable to execute the work tool vibration algorithm to: receive motion data from the motion detection apparatus, analyze the motion data to determine if the motion data represents a movement of the motion detection apparatus that drops below a threshold movement level, actuate the vibration apparatus to vibrate the work tool (see at least paragraphs [0031, 0034, 0049]).
As per claim 2, Fletcher et al teach wherein analyzing the motion data to determine if the motion data represents a movement of the motion detection apparatus drops below a threshold movement level includes analyzing a commanded cylinder velocity with a delivered cylinder velocity (see at least paragraphs [0031, 0049], fig 5).
As per claim 3, Fletcher et al teach wherein the tool comprises a bucket (see at least fig 1).
As per claim 4, Fletcher et al teach wherein the vibration apparatus comprises a hydraulic cylinder commanded to oscillate to alternate between extension and retraction (see at least paragraphs [0032, 0040-0042]).
As per claim 5, Fletcher et al teach wherein the vibration apparatus comprises an electric actuator (non-functional descriptive language, however, see at least paragraphs [0015, 0018, 0025]). The limitation is non-functional descriptive language that does not actively recite a function and therefore does not add any meaningful limitations to the scope of the claim. “A claim term is functional when it recites a feature by what it does not what it is" (MPEP 2173.05g). Non-functional descriptive material does not impart a patentable distinction to a claim. Patentable weight will only be given when such descriptive material has a functional relationship to the substrate (MPEP 2111.05).
As per claim 6, Fletcher et al teach wherein the motion detection apparatus comprises an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (non-functional descriptive language). The limitation is non-functional descriptive language that does not actively recite a function and therefore does not add any meaningful limitations to the scope of the claim. “A claim term is functional when it recites a feature by what it does not what it is" (MPEP 2173.05g). Non-functional descriptive material does not impart a patentable distinction to a claim. Patentable weight will only be given when such descriptive material has a functional relationship to the substrate (MPEP 2111.05).
As per claim 7, Fletcher et al teach wherein the pressure sensor is coupled with a hydraulic cylinder coupled with the work tool (non-functional descriptive language, however, see fig 2). The limitation is non-functional descriptive language that does not actively recite a function and therefore does not add any meaningful limitations to the scope of the claim. “A claim term is functional when it recites a feature by what it does not what it is" (MPEP 2173.05g). Non-functional descriptive material does not impart a patentable distinction to a claim. Patentable weight will only be given when such descriptive material has a functional relationship to the substrate (MPEP 2111.05).
As per claim 8, Fletcher et al teach wherein the motion detection apparatus comprises a pressure sensor (non-functional descriptive language, however, see at least paragraph [0020]). The limitation is non-functional descriptive language that does not actively recite a function and therefore does not add any meaningful limitations to the scope of the claim. “A claim term is functional when it recites a feature by what it does not what it is" (MPEP 2173.05g). Non-functional descriptive material does not impart a patentable distinction to a claim. Patentable weight will only be given when such descriptive material has a functional relationship to the substrate (MPEP 2111.05).
Claims 9-20 contain similar limitations as the claims above and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
RAMSEY REFAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3664
/RAMSEY REFAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664