DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 08/11/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in claim 9 . Therefore, the “a delay circuit… and the output via an inverter” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Examiner’s note: According to claim 1 the current path is between the input and the output and between 202 and 204 of the figures there is no resistor.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 17 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 17 “a first resistor coupled to an input terminal of the output” should be “a first resistor coupled to an input terminal of the output”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Le US 2010/0201332.
Regarding Claims 1 and 17, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) a device (fig. 2) comprising: an input (at 38) configured to receive an input voltage (38); an output (at Vout) configured to provide an output voltage (Vout); a first circuit (R1-R6) coupled to the output, the first circuit being configured to generate a first signal (Vs2) associated with the output voltage (Vout); a first comparator (64) coupled to the first circuit (at 54), the first comparator (64) being configured to compare the first signal with a first reference voltage (Vref2) and generate a second signal (66) based on the comparison, a first resistor (Rz1) coupled to an input terminal of the output; a second resistor (Rz3) coupled to the first resistor at a node at a first terminal (at 36); and a switch (t3) coupled to the comparator, the switch being configured to receive the second signal (66) and adjust a first resistance (of 36) in a current path (I) between the input and the output (38 and Vout) based at least on the second signal (66), the switch being coupled to the node (see fig. 2). (For example: Paragraph 29-30, 40 and 47-58)
Regarding Claim 2, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) further comprising a first amplifier (32) coupled to the switch (t3), the first amplifier being configured to adjust an output current (Iout) based at least on the second signal (66). (For example: Paragraph 29-30, 40 and 47-58)
Regarding Claim 3, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the first circuit (R1Rr6) comprises a first resistor coupled to the output (R5).
Regarding Claims 4-5 and 18-19, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the switch (t3) is configured to provide a first current limit ( Rz1, see fig. 5) in response to the output voltage being below the first reference voltage (with 64), and a second current limit (see fig. 5, Rz1+Rz3) in response to the output voltage being above the first reference voltage (with 64); wherein the first current limit is higher than the second current limit (See fig. 5, Is2 is higher and Is1). (For example: Paragraph 29-30, 40 and 47-58)
Regarding Claims 8 and 20, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the switch comprises a transistor (T1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in view of Lopata US 2007/0018623.
Regarding Claim 7, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) the apparatus.
Le does not teach a delay circuit coupled to the switch, the delay circuit being configured to control an activation timing of the switch based at least on the second signal.
Lopata teaches (Figure 2) a delay circuit coupled to the switch (D coupled to the switch at R1), the delay circuit (D) being configured to control an activation timing of the switch (at R1) based at least on the second signal (from 220 or 221). (For example: Paragraph 15-23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Le to include a delay circuit coupled to the switch, the delay circuit being configured to control an activation timing of the switch based at least on the second signal, as taught by Lopata to avoid voltage overshoot during operation of the device.
Regarding Claims 9, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) a device.
Le does not teach a second comparator coupled to the first circuit, the second comparator being configured to compare the first signal with a second reference voltage and generate a third signal based on the comparison.
Lopata teaches (Figure 2) a second comparator (221) coupled to the first circuit (R2 and R1), the second comparator being configured to compare the first signal (at input of COMP) with a second reference voltage (Vn) and generate a third signal (from 221) based on the comparison. (For example: Paragraph 15-23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Le to include a second comparator coupled to the first circuit, the second comparator being configured to compare the first signal with a second reference voltage and generate a third signal based on the comparison, as taught by Lopata to avoid voltage overshoot during operation of the device.
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in view of Tonomura US 2010/0264896.
Regarding Claim 10, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) a device (fig. 2) comprising: an input (at 38) configured to receive an input voltage (38); an output (at Vout) configured to provide an output voltage (Vout); a first circuit (R1-R6) coupled to the output (at Vout), the first circuit being configured to generate a first signal (Vs2) associated with the output voltage (Vout); a first comparator (64) coupled to the first circuit (R1-R6), the first comparator being configured to compare the first signal with a first reference voltage (inputs to 64) and generate a second signal (66) based on the comparison; a first switch (t1) coupled to the comparator, the first switch being configured to receive the second signal (66); and a first resistor (Rz) coupled to the first switch (t2), the first switch (T2) is configured to adjust a first resistance (of 36) of the first resistor (Rz) based at least on the second signal (66). (For example: Paragraph 29-30, 40 and 47-58)
Le does not teach a delay circuit coupled to a gate of the first switch and the output via an inverter, the delay circuit being associated with an activation timing.
Tonomura teaches (Figure 2) a delay circuit (nand1) coupled to a gate of the first switch (sw2) and the output (at Vout) via an inverter (inv1), the delay circuit being associated with an activation timing (activation of the switches). (For example: Paragraph 57-58 and 66-83)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Le to include a delay circuit coupled to a gate of the first switch and the output via an inverter, the delay circuit being associated with an activation timing, as taught by Tonomura to avoid high inrush currents.
Regarding Claim 11, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) further comprising a first amplifier (32) coupled to the switch (t1), the first amplifier being configured to adjust an output current (Iout) based at least on the second signal (66). (For example: Paragraph 29-30, 40 and 47-58)
Regarding Claim 12, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the first circuit (r1-r6) comprises a second resistor (r6) coupled to the output.
Regarding Claims 13-14, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the switch is configured to provide a first current limit (rz1 and Is2 with fig. 5) in response to the output voltage being below the first reference voltage ( with 64, Vref2 and Vs2 ), and a second current limit (Rz1+Rz3 and Is1, see fig. 5) in response to the output voltage being above the first reference voltage (with 64); wherein the first current limit is higher than the second current limit (see fig. 5, Is1 and Is2). (For example: Paragraph 29-30, 40 and 47-58)
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le in view of Tonomura and further in view of Lopata US 2007/0018623.
Regarding Claim 15, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) a device.
Le does not teach a second comparator coupled to the first circuit, the second comparator being configured to compare the first signal with a second reference voltage and generate a third signal based on the comparison.
Lopata teaches (Figure 2) a second comparator (221) coupled to the first circuit (R2 and R1), the second comparator being configured to compare the first signal (at input of COMP) with a second reference voltage (Vn) and generate a third signal (from 221) based on the comparison. (For example: Paragraph 15-23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Le to include a second comparator coupled to the first circuit, the second comparator being configured to compare the first signal with a second reference voltage and generate a third signal based on the comparison, as taught by Lopata to avoid voltage overshoot during operation of the device.
Regarding Claim 16, Le teaches (Figures 2-5) the device.
Le does not teach a second switch coupled to the second comparator and the first resistor, the second switch is configured to adjust the resistance of the first resistor based at least on the third signal.
Lopata teaches (Figure 2) a second switch (at R1n) coupled to the second comparator (at 221) and the first resistor (at R1), the second switch is configured to adjust the resistance of the first resistor (R1) based at least on the third signal (from 221). (For example: Paragraph 15-23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Le to include a second switch coupled to the second comparator and the first resistor, the second switch is configured to adjust the resistance of the first resistor based at least on the third signal, as taught by Lopata to avoid voltage overshoot during operation of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838