Information Disclosure Statement
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first and second brackets coupled to the rear rail assembly (claim 6 “one of the front and rear”) and the first and second tracks formed on an inward-facing portion of the front rail (claim 7) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: para. [0010] calls out area 5-5 which is not shown in the drawing. Para. [0011] describes an exploded view which is not shown in the drawings. This list may not be exhaustive, the applicant is encouraged to review drawing items from the specification and confirm that they are present in the figures, no new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9, 16, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, it is unclear how the first and second positions limit the claim. The first and second position are first claimed as the locations of brackets on the front rail. Then it is later claimed that movement along the tracks, which are on the back rail, between the first position and the second position. It is unclear how movement along the track of the back rails would be considered between the first position and the second position located on the front rails. It appears the claim may be omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the first and second positions of the brackets on the front rails the and the movement of the platform along the tracks so as to be between the two positions.
Regarding claim 16, The first position and the second position lack proper antecedent basis. Also see the rejection above.
Regarding claim 22, a second and a third position are claimed without a first position rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alim (6,347,687).
Regarding claim 1, Alim discloses a ladder comprising: a front rail (8 and 28) assembly including a first front rail (8) and a second front rail (28) spaced from and opposite the first front rail, a first pair of brackets (unlabeled bracket attaching 48 to 8 and 28) coupled to the front rail assembly at a first position, and a second pair of brackets (unlabeled brackets attaching 100 to 8 and 28) coupled to the front rail assembly at a second position; a rear rail assembly coupled to the front rail assembly at a hinged portion (4 and 24), the rear rail assembly including a first rear rail (32) having a first track (40) and a second rear rail (12) spaced from and opposite the first rear rail, the second rear rail having a second track (20) that is opposite and aligned with the first track; and a platform (44) positioned between the front rail assembly and the rear rail assembly, the platform including a first projection (72) that engages the first track and a second projection (80) that engages the second track, such that the platform is moveable along the first track and the second track between the first position and the second position (as best understood in light off the 112 rejection above the projections are able to move between a first and second position from deployed to stored).
Regarding claim 6, Alim discloses a ladder comprising: a front rail assembly including a first front rail (8) and a second front rail (28) spaced from and opposite the first front rail; a rear rail assembly coupled to the front rail assembly at a hinged portion, the rear rail assembly including a first rear rail (32) and a second rear rail (12) spaced from and opposite the first rear rail; a first pair of brackets (unlabeled bracket attaching 48 to 8 and 28) disposed at a first position along the ladder and a second pair of brackets (unlabeled brackets attaching 100 to 8 and 28) disposed at a second position along the ladder, the first pair of brackets and the second pair of brackets being coupled to the front rail assembly; a first track (40) and a second track (20) extending from the first position to the second position; and a platform positioned between the front rail assembly and the rear rail assembly, the platform (44) including a first projection (72) that engages the first track and a second projection (80) that engages the second track, such that the platform is moveable along the first track and the second track between the first position and the second position (as best understood in light off the 112 rejection above the projections are able to move between a first and second position from deployed to stored).
Regarding claim 7, Alim discloses the second track is spaced from and opposite the first track and the first track and the second track are formed on an inward-facing portion of the front rail assembly or the rear rail assembly (the two tracks 40 and 20 face each other in an inward direction; at least fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Alim discloses a rear rail assembly including a first rear rail (32) having a first track (40) and a second rear rail (32) spaced from and opposite the first rear rail, the second rear rail having a second track (40) that is opposite and aligned with the first track; and a platform (44) including a first projection (72) that engages the first track and a second projection (80) that engages the second track, such that the platform is moveable along the first track and the second track between a first position and a second position on the ladder.
Regarding claim 9, Alim discloses pins that engage the grooves (the pegs 72 and 80 that extend horizontally into the grooves are broadly and reasonably considered pins).
Regarding claim 10, Alim discloses wherein the first track is disposed on an inward-facing portion of the first rear rail and wherein the second track is disposed on an inward-facing portion of the second rear rail (the two tracks 40 and 20 face each other in an inward direction; at least fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Alim discloses the first rear rail includes a first rear inner flange (X in annotated figure below) spaced from a first rear outer flange (Y below) by a first rear web (Z below), the first track (where the peg travels) disposed between the first rear inner flange and the first rear outer flange, and wherein the second rear rail (second rail is a mirror image of the first as described previously) includes a second rear inner flange spaced from a second rear outer flange by a second rear web, the second track disposed between the second rear inner flange and the second rear outer flange.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-17 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alim (6,347,687) in view of Clough (771,352).
Regarding claims 14-16, Alim discloses the invention as previously described, but lacks specifically disclosing the candy-can shape of the rail.
Clough teaches that it is known to use a candy cane shape with hook and straight portions for the track of a sliding element (see figure 2) in a ladder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a candy cane shaped track with hook and straight portions similar to Clough for the track of Alim, as the shape increases safety by locking the element in a more fixed position of the track and reduce the chance of unwanted movement. It is further noted that replacing one track shape for another would yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 17 and 22, Clough teaches hook portions at an angle (fig. 2) to the rail (7) and multiple hooks (fig. 2) which could be designated second and third positions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 11, 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637