CTFR 18/890,143 CTFR 100974 Detailed Action Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims This FINAL communication is in response to application No. 18/890,143 filed on 12 February 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follows. Response to Arguments Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 101 as set forth in the office action of 02 December 2025 have been considered and are PERSUASIVE . Therefore, the rejection of claims under 35 USC 101 as set forth in the office action of 02 December 2025 have been withdrawn. Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 02 December 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 6-10, 14-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromin (US 20170185851 A1) in view of Satat (US 20250086950 A1), Lee (US 20180339700 A1) and Kim (US 20200180528 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Jeromin discloses A computer-implemented method when executed on data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: mapping the sensor data to generate a depth map of a proximity zone around the vehicle, the depth map including an object in the proximity zone around the vehicle; (see at least [0020]; "Because the image sensors 216 and 218 can be mounted to vehicle 202, as previously described, a depth map of the vehicle's surroundings visible to the image sensors can be determined. For example, if an object is within the field of view of both image sensors 216 and 218, a depth map can be generated that indicates the position of the object, from which the vehicle can determine whether an object will interfere with the opening of one or both of doors 204 and 206.") Jeromin teaches using the sensor data to generate a depth map of a proximity zone, or interaction space, around the vehicle. determining whether the object in the proximity zone is within a zone of interest corresponding to the side door of the vehicle; (see at least [0018]; "The image sensors 216 and 218 can be utilized to determine whether an object (e.g., object 112) will interfere with the opening of one or more of doors 204 and 206 (e.g., by determining whether the object is within the interaction spaces of doors 204 and/or 206, as previously described).") Jeromin teaches determining an object is in the proximity zone and within a zone of interest to the side of the door. generating a notification for a user of the vehicle, (see at least [0013, 0014]; " In some examples, vehicle 102 can determine whether an object will interfere with the opening of one or more of doors 104 and 106 by determining whether the object is within interaction spaces 105 and 107, respectively…Thus, vehicle 102 can determine that object 112 will interfere with the opening of door 106, and the vehicle can determine an appropriate response,…If doors 104 and/or 106 are manual doors (e.g., if the doors are opened by hand), vehicle 102 can similarly determine to provide a warning to an operator of the vehicle about the interfering object, ") Jeromin describes generating a notification to the user when an object is within the zone of interest of the door of the vehicle. the notification warning the user that the door is not clear to open. (see at least [0013]; "if an object will interfere with the opening of doors 104 and/or 106, vehicle 102 can determine to provide a warning to an operator of the vehicle about the interfering object, prevent the opening of doors 104 and/or 106, and/or only open doors 104 and/or 106 to the extent permitted by the interfering object (e.g., only open door 106 halfway )") Jeromin teaches the notification warning to the user that the door is not clear to open. However, Jeromin does not explicitly disclose receiving sensor data captured by a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system of a vehicle; wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map comprises iteratively updating the depth map as the vehicle moves through a parking maneuver by starting with rear sensor data collected from a rear corner of the vehicle and ending with side sensor data collected from a side door of the vehicle; receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied; when the object is within the zone of interest of the side door of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied:and locking the side door that is not clear to open. However, Satat teaches receiving sensor data captured by a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system of a vehicle; (see at least [0014]; "AVs can be equipped with additional depth sensor(s) such as a LIDAR sensor, a RADAR sensor, a time-of-flight (TOF) camera, an ultrasonic sensor, and so on. ") Satat outlines receiving sensor data captured by time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system of a vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate the teachings of Satat which teaches sensor data captured by time of flight sensor systems in order to develop an awareness of it’s surroundings to avoid damage to the vehicle or harm to a pedestrian. Satat and Jeromin, in combination, do not explicitly teach wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map comprises iteratively updating the depth map as the vehicle moves through a parking maneuver by starting with rear sensor data collected from a rear corner of the vehicle and ending with side sensor data collected from a side door of the vehicle; receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied; when the object is within the zone of interest of the side door of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied:and locking the side door that is not clear to open. However, Lee teaches wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map comprises iteratively updating the depth map as the vehicle moves through a parking maneuver by starting with rear sensor data collected from a rear corner of the vehicle and ending with side sensor data collected from a side door of the vehicle; (see at least [449]; " For example, the processor 757 may generate a depth map based on a plurality of images that is acquired while the vehicle 100 is moving during sensing of a parking available space. Based on the depth map, the processor 757 may determine the length 1910 of the space between the first nearby vehicle 1010 and the second nearby vehicle 1020.") Lee teaches mapping sensor data to generate a depth map that iteratively generates as it moves through a parking maneuver with sensors including the area from the rear corner of the vehicle and side door of the vehicle. Lee, Satat and Jeromin, in combination, do not explicitly receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied; when the object is within the zone of interest of the side door of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied: and locking the side door that is not clear to open. However, Kim teaches receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied;and (see at least [0075]; " In addition, the present disclosure may determine whether the rear-seat passenger is present,") Kim describes receiving seat data to determine whether the seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied. when the object is within the zone of interest of the side door of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied: (see at least [0050]; "When an external object approaches a rear-side of a seat occupied by the passenger,") Kim describes an object within the zone of interest corresponding to a seat that is occupied by a passenger. locking the side door that is not clear to open . (see at least [0067]; " the present disclosure may perform the secondary notification and the door lock control.") Kim teaches locking the door that is not clear to open. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate the teachings of Kim which teaches receiving seat data to determine an occupied seat, and locking the door that is not clear to open when it is occupied in order to prevent damage to the vehicle and harm to the occupant or pedestrian within the zone of interest. Regarding claim 2, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin discloses wherein the operations further include receiving vehicle data of the vehicle, the vehicle data comprising one or more of: vehicle position; vehicle steering; or vehicle speed. (see at least [0023]; "In some examples, vehicle 202 can determine that it will likely come to a stop within a threshold amount of time if the vehicle slows down below a threshold speed (e.g., 5 mph, 10 mph, etc.) or is decelerating above a threshold rate from a detected speed of travel. ") Regarding claim 3, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin discloses wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map of the proximity zone around the vehicle further comprises reconciling the vehicle data of the vehicle with the sensor data captured by the sensor system of the vehicle. (see at least [0015]; "The vehicle of the disclosure can determine whether one or more objects will interfere with the opening of one or more doors by using one or more stereo cameras, as will be discussed below. In particular, the examples of the disclosure can use image data from two or more image sensors to create a depth map in the interaction space of a door and then determine whether an object in the depth map intersects with the interaction space of the door.") Regarding claim 6, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin discloses wherein generating the notification to the user of the vehicle comprises displaying, on a display in communication with the data processing hardware, the notification. (see at least [0024]; "If the confidence value falls below a predetermined threshold (e.g., 90%), then ultrasonic detection may be used instead of the stereo camera. In some examples, when the confidence value falls below a predetermined threshold, a user may be notified of a warning (e.g., via an audio notification, such as a beep, or a graphical notification on a display) that the vehicle cannot determine whether an object would interfere with the door opening.") Regarding claim 7, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Kim teaches The method of Claim 6, wherein generating the notification to the user of the vehicle further comprises one or more of generating a visual alert; or generating an audio alert. (see at least [0014]; "According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the processor may perform at least one of a seat vibration, a door handle vibration, a sound warning, and a rendering of a door lamp in different colors for the secondary notification.") It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate teachings of Kim which teaches generating an alert to the user in order to notify a user of an object within the interaction space of the door and prevent the door opening and sustaining damage to the vehicle. Regarding claim 8, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin discloses, wherein the zone of interest is configured during a configuration process. (see at least [0018]; "In some examples, the interaction spaces of doors 204 and 206 can be stored in a memory in vehicle 202 prior to the above-described determinations being made (e.g., when vehicle 202 is manufactured, or during a calibration procedure performed after manufacture of the vehicle).") Regarding claim 9, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin discloses, wherein a dimension of the zone of interest is adjustable. (see at least [0022]; " In some examples, the baseline distance between the image sensors 216 and 218 can be selected based on the interaction spaces of the doors 204 and 206. For example, as illustrated in FIGS. 2B-2C, the usable stereo field of view is larger when the baseline distance between the sensors is smaller, as in FIG. 2B, as compared to FIG. 2C, which illustrates a larger baseline distance corresponding to a smaller stereo field of view") Regarding claim 10, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin discloses, wherein the operations further comprise detecting a vehicle gear of the vehicle and generating the notification for the user of the vehicle when the vehicle gear indicates that the vehicle is parked. (see at least [0023, 0013]; "In some examples, the depth maps may be generated when the vehicle is placed in park…if an object will interfere with the opening of doors 104 and/or 106, vehicle 102 can determine to provide a warning to an operator of the vehicle about the interfering object, prevent the opening of doors 104 and/or 106, and/or only open doors 104 and/or 106 to the extent permitted by the interfering object (e.g., only open door 106 halfway). ") Regarding claim 14, Jeromin discloses A system comprising: data processing hardware; and memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: (see at least [0027]; "On-board computer 510 can include storage 512, memory 516, and a processor 514. Processor 514 can perform any of the methods described with reference to FIGS. 1-4. Additionally, storage 512 and/or memory 516 can store data and instructions for performing any of the methods described with reference to FIGS. 1-4. Storage 512 and/or memory 516 can be any non-transitory computer readable storage medium, such as a solid-state drive or a hard disk drive, among other possibilities. ") mapping the sensor data to generate a depth map of a proximity zone around the vehicle, the depth map including an object in the proximity zone around the vehicle; (see at least [0015]; "In particular, the examples of the disclosure can use image data from two or more image sensors to create a depth map in the interaction space of a door and then determine whether an object in the depth map intersects with the interaction space of the door.") Jeromin teaches using the sensor data to generate a depth map of a proximity zone, or interaction space, around the vehicle. determining whether the object in the proximity zone is within a zone of interest corresponding to the side door of the vehicle; (see at least [0018]; "he image sensors 216 and 218 can be utilized to determine whether an object (e.g., object 112) will interfere with the opening of one or more of doors 204 and 206 (e.g., by determining whether the object is within the interaction spaces of doors 204 and/or 206, as previously described).") Jeromin teaches determining an object is in the proximity zone and within a zone of interest to the side door. generating a notification for a user of the vehicle, the notification warning the user that the side door is not clear to open; and (see at least [0013, 0014]; " In some examples, vehicle 102 can determine whether an object will interfere with the opening of one or more of doors 104 and 106 by determining whether the object is within interaction spaces 105 and 107, respectively…Thus, vehicle 102 can determine that object 112 will interfere with the opening of door 106, and the vehicle can determine an appropriate response,…If doors 104 and/or 106 are manual doors (e.g., if the doors are opened by hand), vehicle 102 can similarly determine to provide a warning to an operator of the vehicle about the interfering object, ") Jeromin describes generating a notification to the user when an object is within the zone of interest of the door of the vehicle. Jeromin does not explicitly disclose receiving sensor data captured by a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system of a vehicle; wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map comprises iteratively updating the depth map as the vehicle moves through a parking maneuver by starting with rear sensor data collected from a rear corner of the vehicle and ending with side sensor data collected from a side door of the vehicle; receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied; and when the object is within the zone of interest of the side door of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied: locking the side door that is not clear to open. However, Satat teaches receiving sensor data captured by a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system of a vehicle; (see at least [0014]; "AVs can be equipped with additional depth sensor(s) such as a LIDAR sensor, a RADAR sensor, a time-of-flight (TOF) camera, an ultrasonic sensor, and so on. ") Satat outlines receiving sensor data captured by time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system of a vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate the teachings of Satat which teaches sensor data captured by time of flight sensor systems in order to develop an awareness of it’s surroundings to avoid damage to the vehicle or harm to a pedestrian. Satat and Jeromin, in combination, do not explicitly disclose wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map comprises iteratively updating the depth map as the vehicle moves through a parking maneuver by starting with rear sensor data collected from a rear corner of the vehicle and ending with side sensor data collected from a side door of the vehicle; receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied;and when the object is within the zone of interest of the sidedoor of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied: locking the side door that is not clear to open. However, Lee teaches wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map comprises iteratively updating the depth map as the vehicle moves through a parking maneuver by starting with rear sensor data collected from a rear corner of the vehicle and ending with side sensor data collected from a side door of the vehicle; (see at least [449]; " For example, the processor 757 may generate a depth map based on a plurality of images that is acquired while the vehicle 100 is moving during sensing of a parking available space. Based on the depth map, the processor 757 may determine the length 1910 of the space between the first nearby vehicle 1010 and the second nearby vehicle 1020.") Lee teaches mapping sensor data to generate a depth map that iteratively generates as it moves through a parking maneuver with sensors including the area from the rear corner of the vehicle and side door of the vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate the teachings of Lee which teaches using the sensor data to generate a depth map that updates during a parking maneuver in order for the vehicle or driver to get a live feed of their vehicle location in relation to their surroundings to avoid running into other cars or surroundings. Lee, Satat and Jeromin, in combination, do not explicitly disclose receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied;and when the object is within the zone of interest of the sidedoor of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied: locking the side door that is not clear to open. However, Kim teaches receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied; and (see at least [0075]; " In addition, the present disclosure may determine whether the rear-seat passenger is present,") Kim describes receiving seat data to determine whether the seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied. when the object is within the zone of interest of the side door of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied:[[,]] (see at least [0050]; "When an external object approaches a rear-side of a seat occupied by the passenger,") Kim describes an object within the zone of interest corresponding to a seat that is occupied by a passenger. locking the side door that is not clear to open. (see at least [0067]; " the present disclosure may perform the secondary notification and the door lock control.") Kim teaches locking the door that is not clear to open. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate the teachings of Kim which teaches receiving seat data to determine an occupied seat, and locking the door that is not clear to open when it is occupied in order to prevent damage to the vehicle and harm to the occupant or pedestrian within the zone of interest. Regarding claim 15, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin discloses wherein the operations further include receiving vehicle data of the vehicle, the vehicle data comprising one or more of:vehicle position;vehicle steering; or vehicle speed. (see at least [0023]; "In some examples, vehicle 202 can determine that it will likely come to a stop within a threshold amount of time if the vehicle slows down below a threshold speed (e.g., 5 mph, 10 mph, etc.) or is decelerating above a threshold rate from a detected speed of travel. ") Regarding claim 16, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin discloses wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map of the proximity zone around the vehicle further comprises reconciling the vehicle data of the vehicle with the sensor data captured by the sensor system of the vehicle. (see at least [0015]; "The vehicle of the disclosure can determine whether one or more objects will interfere with the opening of one or more doors by using one or more stereo cameras, as will be discussed below. In particular, the examples of the disclosure can use image data from two or more image sensors to create a depth map in the interaction space of a door and then determine whether an object in the depth map intersects with the interaction space of the door.") Regarding claim 18, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, furthermore, Kim teaches wherein generating the notification warning the user that the door is not clear to open comprises: displaying, on a display in communication with the data processing hardware, the notification. (see at least [0019, 0020]; "According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the device may perform a primary notification when an external object approaching from a rear lateral side of the vehicle is detected, and a secondary notification when the passenger has the intent to exit from the vehicle. [0020] According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the device may display a notification message or notification image on a display,") It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate teachings of Kim which teaches generating a notification to the user by displaying the in order to prevent damage to the vehicle by notifying the driver or user of an object within the interaction space of the door associated with an occupant. Regarding claim 19, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, furthermore, Kim teaches (see at least [0014]; "According to an aspect of the present disclosure, the processor may perform at least one of a seat vibration, a door handle vibration, a sound warning, and a rendering of a door lamp in different colors for the secondary notification.") It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate teachings of Kim which teaches generating an alert to the user in order to notify a user of an object within the interaction space of the door and prevent the door opening and sustaining damage to the vehicle. Regarding claim 20, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin discloses wherein the zone of interest is configured during a configuration process. (see at least [0018]; "In some examples, the interaction spaces of doors 204 and 206 can be stored in a memory in vehicle 202 prior to the above-described determinations being made (e.g., when vehicle 202 is manufactured, or during a calibration procedure performed after manufacture of the vehicle).") 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 4, 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromin (US 20170185851 A1) in view of Satat, Lee and Kim as applied to claim s 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Tanriover (US 10112505 B2) . Regarding claim 4, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin does not explicitly disclose The method of Claim 1, wherein the seat data is captured by one or more of a seat weight sensor or a seat belt reminder system. However, Tanriover teaches The method of Claim 1, wherein the seat data is captured by one or more of a seat weight sensor or a seat belt reminder system. (see at least [33]; "The determination of whether the seat is occupied by a person may be performed using a camera (e.g., with face detection), a base cushion seat sensor (e.g., detecting weight on the seat), ") It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate teachings of Tanriover which teaches a weight sensor for seat data in order to determine which seats are occupied in order to monitor which doors would be opened and need to be monitored for interferences. Regarding claim 5, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin does not explicitly disclose The method of Claim 1, wherein the notification includes a visual exclusion over another door corresponding to an unoccupied seat. However, Tanriover teaches The method of Claim 1, wherein the notification includes a visual exclusion over another door corresponding to an unoccupied seat. (see at least [37]; " FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating a process of occupant profiling, according to an embodiment. At 500, face detection is performed. The purpose of this operation is to detect the seat locations where there is a human occupant, in order to avoid redundant processing. Face detection process is a computationally costly operation. Therefore, in some embodiments, to improve the overall efficiency of the detection process, if the base cushion sensor, backrest sensor, or height detector sensor indicate an empty seat, the face detection operation for that particular seat may be skipped thereby saving computational overhead.") It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate teachings of Tanriover which teaches determining a seat isn’t occupied and avoiding it in order to avoid false alerts if the door isn’t to be opened by an occupant since the associated seat is empty. Regarding claim 17, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin does not explicitly disclose The system of Claim 14, wherein the seat data is captured by one or more of a seat weight sensor or a seat belt reminder system. However, Tanriover teaches The system of Claim 14, wherein the seat data is captured by one or more of a seat weight sensor or a seat belt reminder system. (see at least [33]; "The determination of whether the seat is occupied by a person may be performed using a camera (e.g., with face detection), a base cushion seat sensor (e.g., detecting weight on the seat), ") It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate teachings of Tanriover which teaches a weight sensor for seat data in order to determine which seats are occupied in order to monitor which doors would be opened and need to be monitored for interferences . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Jeromin (US 20170185851 A1) in view of Satat (US 20250086950 A1), Lee (US 20180339700 A1) and Kim (US 20200180528 A1), and further in view of Menard (US 20050242618 A1) . Regarding claim 11, Jeromin discloses a computer-implemented method when executed on data processing hardware causes the data processing hardware to perform operations comprising: (see at least [0027]; "On-board computer 510 can include storage 512, memory 516, and a processor 514. Processor 514 can perform any of the methods described with reference to FIGS. 1-4. Additionally, storage 512 and/or memory 516 can store data and instructions for performing any of the methods described with reference to FIGS. 1-4. Storage 512 and/or memory 516 can be any non-transitory computer readable storage medium, such as a solid-state drive or a hard disk drive, among other possibilities.") while a vehicle is executing a parking procedure: (see at least [23]; "In some examples, the depth maps may be generated when the vehicle is placed in park, ") Jeromin describes a vehicle executing a parking procedure. determining whether the object in the proximity zone is within a zone of interest corresponding to the side door of the vehicle; (see at least [0018]; "he image sensors 216 and 218 can be utilized to determine whether an object (e.g., object 112) will interfere with the opening of one or more of doors 204 and 206 (e.g., by determining whether the object is within the interaction spaces of doors 204 and/or 206, as previously described).") Jeromin teaches determining an object is in the proximity zone and within a zone of interest to the door. Jeromin does not explicitly disclose receiving sensor data captured by a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system of the vehicle; mapping the sensor data to generate a depth map of a proximity zone around the vehicle, the depth map including an object in the proximity zone around the vehicle, wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map comprises iteratively updating the depth map as the vehicle moves through a parking maneuver by starting with rear sensor data collected from a rear corner of the vehicle and ending with side sensor data collected from a side door of the vehicle; receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied;and when the object is within the zone of interest of the sidedoor of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied: And when the object is within the zone of interest of the door of the vehicle, displaying, on a display in communication with the data processing hardware, an indication highlighting the zone of interest; and locking the side door that is not clear to open. However, Satat teaches receiving sensor data captured by a time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system of the vehicle; (see at least [0014]; "AVs can be equipped with additional depth sensor(s) such as a LIDAR sensor, a RADAR sensor, a time-of-flight (TOF) camera, an ultrasonic sensor, and so on. ") Satat outlines receiving sensor data captured by time-of-flight (TOF) sensor system of a vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate the teachings of Sata which teaches sensor data captured by time of flight sensor systems in order to develop an awareness of it’s surroundings to avoid damage to the vehicle or harm to a pedestrian. Satat and Jeromin, in combination, do not explicitly disclose mapping the sensor data to generate a depth map of a proximity zone around the vehicle, the depth map including an object in the proximity zone around the vehicle, wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map comprises iteratively updating the depth map as the vehicle moves through a parking maneuver by starting with rear sensor data collected from a rear corner of the vehicle and ending with side sensor data collected from a side door of the vehicle; receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied;and when the object is within the zone of interest of the sidedoor of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied: And when the object is within the zone of interest of the door of the vehicle, displaying, on a display in communication with the data processing hardware, an indication highlighting the zone of interest; and locking the side door that is not clear to open. However, Lee teaches mapping the sensor data to generate a depth map of a proximity zone around the vehicle, the depth map including an object in the proximity zone around the vehicle, wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map comprises iteratively updating the depth map as the vehicle moves through a parking maneuver by starting with rear sensor data collected from a rear corner of the vehicle and ending with side sensor data collected from a side door of the vehicle; (see at least [449]; " For example, the processor 757 may generate a depth map based on a plurality of images that is acquired while the vehicle 100 is moving during sensing of a parking available space. Based on the depth map, the processor 757 may determine the length 1910 of the space between the first nearby vehicle 1010 and the second nearby vehicle 1020.") Lee teaches mapping sensor data to generate a depth map that iteratively generates as it moves through a parking maneuver with sensors including the area from the rear corner of the vehicle and side door of the vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate the teachings of Lee which teaches using the sensor data to generate a depth map that updates during a parking maneuver in order for the vehicle or driver to get a live feed of their vehicle location in relation to their surroundings to avoid running into other cars or surroundings. Lee, Satat and Jeromin, in combination, do not explicitly disclose receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied;and when the object is within the zone of interest of the sidedoor of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied: And when the object is within the zone of interest of the door of the vehicle, displaying, on a display in communication with the data processing hardware, an indication highlighting the zone of interest; and locking the side door that is not clear to open However, Menard teaches And when the object is within the zone of interest of the door of the vehicle, displaying, on a display in communication with the data processing hardware, an indication highlighting the zone of interest. (see at least [0018, 0023, 0013]; "One operational limitation for the present invention is to limit operation to only those occasions where a vehicle is occupied by a driver and/or passengers. Therefore, the present invention can include a vehicle occupant detector 26, wherein the occupant detector 26 prevents operation of the system unless an occupant is detected in the vehicle…In all of the above cases, an alert 40 can coupled with the system, wherein an alert is provided when an external object is detected. Further, the alert can be a visual (e.g. a light) or audio (e.g. tone from vehicle speaker as shown) warning…The alert serves the function of notifying the user that the system has sensed an object and that the door will be deterred from opening a full amount.) Menard describes when an object is within the zone of interest of the door, displaying, on a display in communication with the data processing hardware, an indication highlighting the zone of interest. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate teachings of Menard which teaches displaying an indication of a zone of interest in order to notify the driver or user where the object would interfere with the door opening and potentially damage the door as well as hinder the occupant from exiting the vehicle if the associated seat is occupied. Menard, Lee, Satat and Jeromin, in combination, do not explicitly disclose receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied;and when the object is within the zone of interest of the sidedoor of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied: and locking the side door that is not clear to open However, Kim teaches receiving seat data indicating that a seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied; and (see at least [0075]; " In addition, the present disclosure may determine whether the rear-seat passenger is present,") Kim describes receiving seat data to determine whether the seat associated with the side door of the vehicle is occupied. when the object is within the zone of interest of the side door of the vehicle and the zone of interest corresponds to the seat that is occupied:[[,]] (see at least [0050]; "When an external object approaches a rear-side of a seat occupied by the passenger,") Kim describes an object within the zone of interest corresponding to a seat that is occupied by a passenger. locking the side door that is not clear to open. (see at least [0067]; " the present disclosure may perform the secondary notification and the door lock control.") Kim teaches locking the door that is not clear to open. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jeromin to incorporate the teachings of Kim which teaches receiving seat data to determine an occupied seat, and locking the door that is not clear to open when it is occupied in order to prevent damage to the vehicle and harm to the occupant or pedestrian within the zone of interest. Regarding claim 12, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin discloses, wherein the operations further include receiving vehicle data of the vehicle, the vehicle data comprising one or more of vehicle steering or vehicle speed. (see at least [0023]; "In some examples, vehicle 202 can determine that it will likely come to a stop within a threshold amount of time if the vehicle slows down below a threshold speed (e.g., 5 mph, 10 mph, etc.) or is decelerating above a threshold rate from a detected speed of travel. ") Regarding claim 13, Jeromin, Satat, Lee and Kim, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 113. as discussed above, furthermore, Jeromin discloses wherein mapping the sensor data to generate the depth map of the proximity zone around the vehicle further comprises reconciling the vehicle data of the vehicle with the sensor data captured by the sensor system of the vehicle. (see at least [0015]; "The vehicle of the disclosure can determine whether one or more objects will interfere with the opening of one or more doors by using one or more stereo cameras, as will be discussed below. In particular, the examples of the disclosure can use image data from two or more image sensors to create a depth map in the interaction space of a door and then determine whether an object in the depth map intersects with the interaction space of the door.") Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Inquiry Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HANA VICTORIA HALL whose telephone number is (571)272-5289. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rachid Bendidi can be reached at 5712724896. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664 /RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 2 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 3 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 4 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 5 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 6 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 7 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 8 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 9 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 10 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 11 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 12 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 13 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 14 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 15 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 16 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 17 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 18 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 19 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 20 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 21 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 22 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 23 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 24 Art Unit: 3664 Application/Control Number: 18/890,143 Page 25 Art Unit: 3664