Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/19/2024 and 04/10/2025 have been placed in the record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-8,10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2020/0145967 A1; hereinafter “Park”), in view of HAKOLA et al. (US 2024/0137099 A1; hereinafter “HAKOLA”).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3 wireless device 110), comprising: a transceiver ([0259] Transceivers; FIG. 3 communication interface 310) configured to:
transmit a first uplink (UL) signal ([0274] discloses that a wireless device transmits UCL, including a scheduling request, to a base station, [0465] identifies a schedule request as a first UL signal),
receive, in response to the first UL signal ([0274], [0465] scheduling request), a first downlink (DL) signal (PDCCH carrying DCI) indicating resources for a second DL signal (PDSCH) and a second UL signal (PUCCH) (FIG. 38B; [0461]-[0462] disclose receiving PDCCH/DCI including frequency and time-domain resource allocation for PDSCH together with a PUCCH resource indicator and HARQ-feedback timing), and
receive the second DL signal based on the indicated resources for the second DL signal ([0287] discloses that the base station transmits DCI including downlink assignment and the wireless device receives one or more PDSCH scheduled by the one or more PDCCHs after successfully detecting the PDCCHs); and
wherein the transceiver (FIG. 3 communication interface 310) is further configured to transmit the report based on the indicated resources for the second UL signal ([0462] discloses that the DCI includes a PUCCH resource indicator and feedback timing, [0274] discloses that the wireless device transmits UCI, including CSI, via PUCCH or multiplexed on PUSCH), and
wherein the second UL signal is a physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0274] discloses the UCI is transmitted via PUCCH or multiplexed on PUSCH).
However, Park does not teach a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: measure the second DL signal, and determine a report based on the measurement.
In an analogous art, HAKOLA teaches a processor (FIG. 2 processor 720) operably coupled to the transceiver (FIG. 2 wireless/wired communications interfaces 760), the processor configured to:
measure the second DL signal, and determine a report based on the measurement ([0114]-[0115] disclose measuring the configured DL reference signals and determining the best DL reference-signal resources according to measurement criteria, [0121]-[0122] disclose determining a DL reference-signal set based on the measurement results and reporting the determined set with associated capability indices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DL reference signals as taught by HAKOLA within the system of Park. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve beam selection, thereby enhancing system performance (HAKOLA [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Park and HAKOLA, specifically Park teaches wherein: the first DL signal is a physical DL control channel (PDCCH) carrying a DL control information (DCI) format ([0291] a base station transmits DCI via PDCCH to wireless device), and the DCI format includes at least one of:
an indication of a transmission time of the second DL signal ([0462] time-domain resource allocation for PDSCH), and an indication of a transmission time of the second UL signal ([0462] HARQ-feedback timing for PUCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park and HAKOLA, specifically HAKOLA teaches wherein the second DL signal is a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ([0052]-[0055] disclose that the UE is configured with CSI-RS resources for L1-RSRP measurement and reporting, [0113]-[0115] further disclose receiving and measuring configured DL reference-signal resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DL reference signals as taught by HAKOLA within the system of Park. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve beam selection, thereby enhancing system performance (HAKOLA [0008]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Park and HAKOLA, specifically Park teaches transmit a third UL signal (FIG. 5A PUSCH 503) ([0271] transmitting PUSCH 503), and transmit a fourth UL signal (FIG. 5A SRS 508) based on the third UL signal (FIG. 5A and [0271] disclose transmitting SRS after transmission of PUSCH and its corresponding uplink DM-RS, including when the PUSCH and SRS are transmitted in the same slot), and the fourth UL signal is a sounding reference signal (SRS) (FIG. 5A SRS 508).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Park and HAKOLA, specifically Park teaches transmit a third UL signal (scheduling request) ([0274] discloses that the wireless device transmits UCI including a scheduling request via PUCCH),
receive, in response to the third UL signal, a third DL signal (PDCCH carrying DCI) indicating resources for a fourth UL signal (DCI-triggered SRS) ([0291] discloses receiving DCI via PDCCH including uplink scheduling information, an SRS request, and timing information), and
transmit the fourth UL signal ([0271] discloses transmitting an SRS based on a DCI trigger using a selected configured SRS resource set), and
the fourth UL signal is a sounding reference signal (SRS) ([0271] discloses that the transmitted signal is SRS 508).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Park and HAKOLA, specifically Park teaches wherein: the third DL signal is a physical DL control channel (PDCCH) carrying a DL control information (DCI) format ([0291] discloses that the base station transmits DCI via PDCCH), and
the DCI format includes an indication of a transmission time of the fourth UL signal ([0291] discloses that the DCI includes an SRS request and timing information including transmission timing, [0271] further discloses transmitting the SRS based on a DCI trigger).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches a base station (BS) (FIG. 3 base station 1 120A), comprising: a transceiver ([0259] Transceivers; FIG. 3 communication interface 320A) configured to receive a first uplink (UL) signal ([0274] discloses that a wireless device transmits UCL, including a scheduling request, to a base station, [0465] identifies a schedule request as a first UL signal); and
a processor (FIG. 3 processor 321A) operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to determine, in response to the first UL signal, resources for a second downlink (DL) signal and a second UL signal ([0274] discloses receiving UCI including a scheduling request from the wireless device, and [0291] discloses determining downlink and uplink resources including PDSCH resource allocation information and PUCCH/PUSCH scheduling information),
wherein the transceiver is further configured to: transmit a first DL signal (PDCCH carrying DCI) indicating the resources for the second DL signal (PDSCH) and the second UL signal (PUCCH) (FIG. 38B; [0461]-[0462] disclose receiving PDCCH/DCI including frequency and time-domain resource allocation for PDSCH together with a PUCCH resource indicator and HARQ-feedback timing),
transmit the second DL signal based on the indicated resources for the second DL signal ([0287] discloses that the base station transmits DCI including downlink assignment and the wireless device receives one or more PDSCH scheduled by the one or more PDCCHs after successfully detecting the PDCCHs), and
wherein the second UL signal is a physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0274] discloses the UCI is transmitted via PUCCH or multiplexed on PUSCH).
However, Park does not teach receive a report about the second DL signal based on the indicated resources for the second UL signal.
In an analogous art, HAKOLA teaches receive a report about the second DL signal based on the indicated resources for the second UL signal ([0114]-[0115] disclose measuring the configured DL reference signals and determining selected DL reference-signal resource based on the measurements, and [0121]-[0122] disclose the gNB receives a report including the selected DL reference signals and associated capability indices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DL reference signals as taught by HAKOLA within the system of Park. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve beam selection, thereby enhancing system performance (HAKOLA [0008]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Park and HAKOLA, specifically Park teaches wherein: the first DL signal is a physical DL control channel (PDCCH) carrying a DL control information (DCI) format ([0291] a base station transmits DCI via PDCCH to wireless device), and the DCI format includes at least one of: an indication of a transmission time of the second DL signal ([0462] time-domain resource allocation for PDSCH), and an indication of a transmission time of the second UL signal ([0462] HARQ-feedback timing for PUCCH transmission).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Park and HAKOLA, specifically HAKOLA teaches wherein the second DL signal is a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) ([0052]-[0055] disclose that the UE is configured with CSI-RS resources for L1-RSRP measurement and reporting, [0113]-[0115] further disclose receiving and measuring configured DL reference-signal resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DL reference signals as taught by HAKOLA within the system of Park. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve beam selection, thereby enhancing system performance (HAKOLA [0008]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Park and HAKOLA, specifically Park teaches receive a third UL signal (FIG. 5A PUSCH 503) ([0271] transmitting PUSCH 503), and receive a fourth UL signal (FIG. 5A SRS 508) based on the third UL signal (FIG. 5A and [0271] disclose transmitting SRS after transmission of PUSCH and its corresponding uplink DM-RS, including when the PUSCH and SRS are transmitted in the same slot), and the fourth UL signal is a sounding reference signal (SRS) (FIG. 5A SRS 508).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Park and HAKOLA, specifically Park teaches wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive a third UL signal (scheduling request) ([0274] discloses that a base station receives UCI including a scheduling request transmitted by a wireless device via PUCCH),
the processor is further configured to determine, in response to the third UL signal, resources for a fourth UL signal (DCI-triggered SRS) ([0291] discloses that the base station provides uplink scheduling information, an SRS request, and timing information via DCI, thereby determining resources for a DCI-triggered SRS transmission), and
the transceiver is further configured to: transmit a third DL signal (PDCCH carrying DCI) indicating resources for the fourth UL signal ([0291] discloses transmitting DCI via PDCCH, where the DCI includes uplink scheduling information, an SRS request, and timing information), and
receive the fourth UL signal, and the fourth UL signal is a sounding reference signal (SRS) ([0271] discloses that the wireless device transmits an SRS to the base station based on a DCI trigger).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Park and HAKOLA, specifically Park teaches wherein: the third DL signal is a physical DL control channel (PDCCH) carrying a DL control information (DCI) format ([0291] discloses that the base station transmits DCI via PDCCH), and
the DCI format includes an indication of a transmission time of the fourth UL signal ([0291] discloses that the DCI includes an SRS request and timing information including transmission timing, [0271] further discloses transmitting the SRS based on a DCI trigger).
Regarding claim 15, Park teaches a method (FIG. 38B) of operating a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 38B wireless device 3715), the method comprising:
transmitting a first uplink (UL) signal ([0274] discloses that a wireless device transmits UCL, including a scheduling request, to a base station, [0465] identifies a schedule request as a first UL signal);
receiving, in response to the first UL signal ([0274], [0465] scheduling request), a first downlink (DL) signal (PDCCH carrying DCI) indicating resources for a second DL signal (PDSCH), and a second UL signal (PUCCH) (FIG. 38B; [0461]-[0462] disclose receiving PDCCH/DCI including frequency and time-domain resource allocation for PDSCH together with a PUCCH resource indicator and HARQ-feedback timing);
receiving the second DL signal based on the indicated resources for the second DL signal ([0287] discloses that the base station transmits DCI including downlink assignment and the wireless device receives one or more PDSCH scheduled by the one or more PDCCHs after successfully detecting the PDCCHs);
transmitting the report based on the indicated resources for the second UL signal ([0462] discloses that the DCI includes a PUCCH resource indicator and feedback timing, [0274] discloses that the wireless device transmits UCI, including CSI, via PUCCH or multiplexed on PUSCH),
wherein the second UL signal is a physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0274] discloses the UCI is transmitted via PUCCH or multiplexed on PUSCH).
However, Park does not teach measuring the second DL signal; determining a report based on the measurement.
In an analogous art, HAKOLA teaches measuring the second DL signal; determining a report based on the measurement ([0114]-[0115] disclose measuring the configured DL reference signals and determining the best DL reference-signal resources according to measurement criteria, [0121]-[0122] disclose determining a DL reference-signal set based on the measurement results and reporting the determined set with associated capability indices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DL reference signals as taught by HAKOLA within the system of Park. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve beam selection, thereby enhancing system performance (HAKOLA [0008]).
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Claims 2,9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, in view of HAKOLA, and further in view of Cirik et al. (US 2020/0260300 A1; hereinafter “Cirik”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Park and HAKOLA does not teach wherein the first UL signal is a PUCCH with format 0 or a PUCCH with format 1.
In an analogous art, Cirik teaches wherein the first UL signal is a PUCCH with format 0 or a PUCCH with format 1 ([0206] discloses transmitting an uplink signal using PUCCH format 0 or 1 based on a PUCCH configuration). including the selected DL reference signals and associated capability indices).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PUCCH as taught by Cirik within the system of Park and HAKOLA. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce uplink signaling latency, thereby improving network performance (Cirik [0183]).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2023/0113784 A1 (CHA et al.) discloses a method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving a signal in a wireless communication system.
US 2023/0156636 A1 (JI et al.) discloses physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) rate-matching in non-terrestrial networks (NTNs).
US 2026/0190104 A1 (LU) discloses a method for determining a spatial domain parameter, a terminal, and a network-side device.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413