DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment(s) filed 1/23/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/8/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11-13, 16-19 recites the limitation "the output device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Recommended recitation (Claim 11): “…an output device…”
Claims 14, 15 & 20 are rejected based on their dependency of claim 11
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,099,047 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claims 1 & 11 U.S. Patent ‘047 discloses a housing containing a sensor, a transmitter electronically connected to the sensor, and a power source for providing power to the sensor and the transmitter, wherein the sensor contains hardware and software, the software configured to keep maintain the sensor in an off state and to turn on the sensor periodically to take measurements. [Claims 1 & 10]
Regarding claims 2, 9 & 12 U.S. Patent ‘047 discloses the sensor is one of a temperature sensor, a conductivity sensor, a pH sensor, oxygen reduction potential sensor, a liquid level sensor, at turbidity sensor, a humidity sensor, or combinations thereof. [Claims 1 and 10]
Regarding claim 3 U.S. Patent ‘047 discloses a housing, the housing containing the sensor assembly and having has a magnet on a surface thereof and attaching the sensor assembly to the aquarium, vivarium, or terrarium. [Claim 8].
Regarding claim 4 U.S. Patent ‘047 discloses the transmitter is turned on only when a measurement is to be transmitted. [Claims 1, 9 & 10]
Regarding claim 5 U.S. Patent ‘047 discloses a sensor assembly attached to the operably associated with one of an aquarium, vivarium, or terrarium, wherein the sensor assembly is configured to measure an environmental quantity within the aquarium, vivarium, or terrarium; b. an output device comprising one of a heater and/or water cooler, a water pump, and a base additive pump, the output device attached to operably associated with the aquarium, vivarium, or terrarium, and in communication with the sensor assembly and configured to control the environmental quantity; c. a main system for recording environmental data thereto; and d. a user interface, wherein the user interface communicates with the sensor assembly and the output device. [Claims 1-4]
Regarding claim 6 Patent ‘047 discloses the user interface is one of a computer, a tablet, and a mobile phone. [Claim 2]
Regarding claim 7 Patent ‘047 discloses communication between the sensor assembly, the output device, the main system, and the user interface is wireless. [Claim 3]
Regarding claim 8 Patent ‘047 discloses the user interface are provided with hardware and software for communication and control of the output device. [Claim 1]
Regarding claim 10 Patent ‘047 discloses the user interface is configured to provide a preset environmental quantity to be maintained within the aquarium, vivarium, or terrarium. [Claims 8 & 10]
Regarding claim 13 Patent ‘047 discloses the user interface entering the present environmental quantity is implemented directly on the output device or by through the user interface. [Claim 12
Regarding claim 14 Patent ‘047 discloses periodically activating the sensor is implemented to measure the environmental quantity. [ Claims 13]
Regarding claim 15 Patent ‘047 discloses the sensor takes several measurements and averages them to provide a single value. [Claim 14]
Regarding claim 16 Patent ‘047 discloses the value is transmitted to the output device if the value is not within the preset environmental quantity. [Claim 15]
Regarding claim 17 Patent ‘047 discloses the output device is periodically turning turned on or off to control the environmental quantity [Claims 1-19]
Regarding claim 18 Patent ‘047 discloses tracking an amount time of during a day when the output device is turned on. [Claim 17]
Regarding claim 19 Patent ‘047 discloses comparing the amount of time to an average amount of time the output device is on per day. [Claim 18]
Regarding claim 20 Patent ‘047 discloses notifying the user interface when the amount of time is greater than the average amount of time. [Claim 19]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curtis et al (US 2017/088072 A1) in view of Hardman et al (US 8,266,465 B2).
Regarding claim 1 Curtis et al teaches a sensor [0017][0018][0026][0027], a transmitter [0034] electronically connected to the sensor [0017][0018][0026][0027],(figs. 1-5) , and a power source [0035][0041] for providing power to the sensor and the transmitter [0034], and hardware and software configured to keep the sensor in an off state and to turn on periodically to take measurements [0026][0028][0029]-[0031][0033]. Curtis et al however does not teach a sensor containing hardware and software configured to keep the sensor in an off state and to turn on periodically to take measurements. Hardman et al teaches a system for conserving battery life comprising a sensor 14 72 74 containing hardware and software configured to keep the sensor in an off state and to turn on periodically to take measurements (abstract)(col. 18 lines 20-31)(col. 26 lines 30-39).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art of power conserving sensing systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power conserving system as taught by Curtis et al with a sensor that contains hardware and software configured to keep the sensor in an off state and to turn on periodically to take measurements as taught by Hardman et al for the purpose maximizing the performance of a sensor system by effectively managing / conserving power.
Regarding claim 2 Curtis et al teaches the sensor is one of a temperature sensor, a conductivity sensor, a pH sensor, oxygen reduction potential sensor, a liquid level sensor, at turbidity sensor, a humidity sensor, or combinations thereof [0027].
Regarding claim 3 Curtis et al teaches a housing containing the sensor assembly and having a magnet on a surface thereof and attaching the sensor assembly to the aquarium, vivarium, or terrarium. [0025].
Regarding claim 4 Curtis et al teaches the transmitter [0034] is turned on only when a measurement is to be transmitted [0017] [0018] [0026] [0027].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 208421588 U Integrated control system of intelligent aquarium
DE 202017005441 U1 Control unit for all types of terrarium, aquarium, paludarium
/ANDRE J ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855