DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morishita (WO2015029145) of which attached English translation is attached.
Regarding Claim 1, Morishita teaches a method for manufacturing a fin by processing a plate-shaped fin material (Fig. 1, 41) into a fin for a heat exchanger, the method comprising:
a waffle forming step of forming a waffle portion (Fig. 2, 35) and a plate-shaped portion around the waffle portion in the plate-shaped fin material (Fig. 1, 41) (page 2, lines 19-20: a louver 35 is formed);
a cutting step of forming
a continuous portion (Fig. 2, 38) continuous with the plate-shaped portion, and
a fin slit (Fig. 2, 34) configured to receive a flat tube in a side of the plate-shaped portion of the plate-shaped fin material (page 2, lines 18-20: notch portion 34 into which flat tubes are inserted. Cutout portion 34) ; and
a drawing step of forming a drawn portion (Fig. 2, 110) protruding with respect to the continuous portion (Fig. 2, 38) in the continuous portion (page 2, lines 28: a dent 110 is formed on the metal strip 49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN104482791) of which English translation is cited in view of Matsumoto et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0262740).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu teaches a method for manufacturing a fin (Fig. 1, 1) by processing a plate-shaped fin material ([0053]: a sheet-shaped fin body) into a fin for a heat exchanger, the method comprising:
a waffle forming step of forming a waffle portion (Fig. 1, 104) and a plate-shaped portion around the waffle portion in the plate-shaped fin material ([0056]);
a providing step of providing
a continuous portion (Fig. 1, 102) continuous with the plate-shaped portion ([0053]: continuous, forming a drainage portion 102), and
a fin slit (Fig. 1, 105) configured to receive a flat tube in a side of the plate-shaped portion of the plate-shaped fin material ([0020], [0053]); and
a drawing step of forming a drawn portion (Fig. 1, 101) protruding with respect to the continuous portion (Fig. 1, 102) in the continuous portion ([0055]:one support member 101 is stamped).
Wu does not explicitly teach a cutting step.
Matsumoto teaches cutting a fin slit (Fig. 6, 33) configured to receive a flat tube in a side of the plate-shaped portion of the plate-shaped fin material (Fig. 6, 31) ([0044]: the tube receiving opening (33) is cut.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cut the plate-shaped fin of Wu as taught by Matsumoto in order to provide a flange of Matusumoto along the fin slit of Wu, so that the heat tube can be brazed to the fin using the flange as suggested in Matzumoto [0049].
Regarding Claim 4, Wu/Matsumoto teach the method of claim 1, further comprising:
a flanging step of forming a flange (Matsumoto Fig. 5, 32) at an edge of the fin slit (Wu Fig. 1, 105) (Matsumoto [0052]: bent up to form the collar (32)).
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN104482791) of which attached English translation is cited in view of Matsumoto et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0262740), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Maejima (JP59141330) of which attached English translation is cited.
Regarding Claim 2, Wu/Matsumoto teach the method of claim 1, but, do not explicitly teach further comprising:
a hitting step of hitting the continuous portion.
Maejima teaches a hitting step of hitting the continuous portion (Fig. 1, 2) (page 3, line 17: the notch 15 is formed by punching).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to punch a notch in the continuous portion of Wu/Matsumoto as taught by Maejima in order to correct the warp of the fin as suggested in Maejima page 3, line 23-24.
Regarding Claim 3, Wu/Matsumoto/Maejima teach the method of claim 2, wherein in the hitting step, the continuous portion (Wu Fig. 1, 102) is hit from a side toward which the drawn portion protrudes (In the punching process of Maejima, a punch and a die would hit the continuous portion from both sides including the side toward which the drawn portion protrudes.).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN104482791) of which attached English translation is cited in view of Matsumoto et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0262740), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Morishita (WO2015029145) of which attached English translation is cited and Maejima (JP59141330) of which attached English translation is cited.
Regarding Claim 5, Wu/Matsumoto teach the method of claim 1, but, do not explicitly teach further comprising:
a step of forming a plurality of the fins on the plate-shaped fin material; and
a cut step of cutting a portion between the fins adjacent to each other, the hitting step being performed after the cut step is finished.
Morishita teaches a step of forming a plurality of the fins on the plate-shaped fin material (Fig. 1, 41) (page 2, lines 16-17: The metal strip 49 is formed by arranging four products side by side.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a plurality of fins of Wu/Matsumoto on a thin metal plate (e.g. coil) as taught by Morishita in order to improve the efficiency of fin production process.
Maejima teaches the hitting step being performed after the cut step is finished. (page 3, lines 17-19: the notch 15 is formed by punching so as to create a cutting stress that is commensurate with the processing strain generated by punching the cutout portion. The cutting stress can be adjusted by the punching clearance of the notch 15 forming die. This paragraph suggests that the notch 15 is formed by a forming die after the cut step (or “punching the cutout portion”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to punch a notch in the continuous portion of Wu/Matsumoto/Morishita after the cut step is finished as taught by Maejima in order to correct the warp of the fin as suggested in Maejima page 3, line 23-24.
Conclusion
/JUN S YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 9/22/2025