Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Polley et al. (Hereinafter, “Polley”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20170059627 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Polley teaches an integrated system for electric-current monitoring (a Fluxgate-based current sensor, and in particular to sensor that is packaged in a compact integrated circuit type package; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3; FIGS. 2-3 are illustrations of a packaged current sensor; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2), comprising:
a package [200] (FIG. 2 is an illustration of a packaged current sensor 200 that is mounted on a substrate; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-2); and
a Micro-Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) sensor device [211, 212] (Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 as the Micro-Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) sensor device) (Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 may be micro fluxgate sensors, or another type of known or later developed magnetometer sensor; Paragraph [0034] Line 6-8; Micro-fluxgate magnetometers (MFGM), which are based on CMOS (complementary metal oxide semiconductor) or MEMS (micro-electromechanical) technology, appeared in 1990s. Compared with a traditional fluxgate magnetic sensor, MFGM has some advanced features, such as less mass, smaller size, less power consumption, better performance, and batch production. Micro-fluxgate devices may be fabricated using layered spiral coils, for example. For the planar design, the in-plane spiral coils can be readily fabricated by using standard CMOS or MEMS processes, for example; Paragraph [0021] Line 1-7) inside the package [200] and configured to provide an output electrical signal [230] (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows current flow 230 as the output electrical signal) indicative of the electric current to be monitored (A current 230 may flow from trace 221 to trace 222, or vice versa, through packaged current sensor 200 on conductive lead frame 205. Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 are mounted adjacent lead frame 205 and thereby are configured to sense a magnet field created by current flow 230; Paragraph [0034] Line 1-5);
wherein a sensing coil [208] (Loop portion 208 of the Lead frame 205 as the sensing coil as its senses current) is located inside the package (Packaged current sensor 200 includes a conductive lead frame 205 that includes contact pins 201-204; Paragraph [0033] Line 4-5; Lead frame 205 includes parallel portions 206, 207 connected together by a loop portion 208. As explained in more detail above, lead frame 205 is configured to cause current 230 to flow in one direction adjacent sensor 211 and in an opposite direction adjacent sensor 212 on parallel portions 206, 207 in order to cancel interference produced by external magnetic fields, such as the Earth field; Paragraph [0034] Line 8-14; A current 230 may flow from trace 221 to trace 222, or vice versa, through packaged current sensor 200 on conductive lead frame 205. Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 are mounted adjacent lead frame 205 and thereby are configured to sense a magnet field created by current flow 230; Paragraph [0034] Line 1-5; In magnetic circuit design, a lead frame can be used as a coil when it is wound with conductive wire and placed within a magnetic path — often a ferromagnetic core or window — to generate or guide magnetic flux.
A lead frame is typically a thin, conductive structure (often copper or aluminum) used in electronics for mechanical support and electrical interconnection. When it is wound with wire and connected to a current source, it becomes a solenoid or toroidal coil.
https://www.bing.com/search?q=lead%20frame%20as%20a%20coil%20in%20magnetic%20circuit&qs=n&form=QBRE&sp=-1&lq=0&pq=lead%20frame%20as%20a%20coil%20in%20magnetic%20circuit&sc=12-40&sk=&cvid=E886BACC9097427985FD773B65410A6A);
the sensing coil [208] configured to be traversed by the electric current to be monitored (Lead frame 205 includes parallel portions 206, 207 connected together by a loop portion 208. As explained in more detail above, lead frame 205 is configured to cause current 230 to flow in one direction adjacent sensor 211 and in an opposite direction adjacent sensor 212 on parallel portions 206, 207 in order to cancel interference produced by external magnetic fields, such as the Earth field; Paragraph [0034] Line 8-14);
wherein the MEMS sensor device [211, 212] is arranged relative to said sensing coil [205] (Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 are mounted adjacent lead frame 205; Paragraph [0034] Line 3-4) so as to be affected by flux lines of a magnetic field generated as a whole by said sensing coil [205] as a function of said electric current to be monitored (A current 230 may flow from trace 221 to trace 222, or vice versa, through packaged current sensor 200 on conductive lead frame 205. Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 are mounted adjacent lead frame 205 and thereby are configured to sense a magnet field created by current flow 230; Paragraph [0034] Line 1-5; As explained in more detail above, lead frame 205 is configured to cause current 230 to flow in one direction adjacent sensor 211 and in an opposite direction adjacent sensor 212 on parallel portions 206, 207 in order to cancel interference produced by external magnetic fields, such as the Earth field; Paragraph [0034] Line 9-13; See Paragraph [0024]; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows the MEMS sensor device [211, 212] is arranged relative to said sensing coil [205] so as to be affected by flux lines of a magnetic field generated as a whole by said sensing coil as a function of said electric current to be monitored).
Regarding claim 2, Polley teaches a system,
wherein said MEMS sensor device [211, 212] comprises a magnetometer (Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 may be microfluxgate sensors, or another type of known or later developed magnetometer sensor; Paragraph [0034] Line 6-8) configured to generate said output electrical signal indicative of the electric current to be monitored, as a function of said magnetic field (A current 230 may flow from trace 221 to trace 222, or vice versa, through packaged current sensor 200 on conductive lead frame 205. Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 are mounted adjacent lead frame 205 and thereby are configured to sense a magnet field created by current flow 230; Paragraph [0034] Line 1-5; As explained in more detail above, lead frame 205 is configured to cause current 230 to flow in one direction adjacent sensor 211 and in an opposite direction adjacent sensor 212 on parallel portions 206, 207 in order to cancel interference produced by external magnetic fields, such as the Earth field; Paragraph [0034] Line 9-14).
Regarding claim 3, Polley teaches a system,
wherein said MEMS sensor device [211, 212] is arranged along a central axis of the flux of said magnetic field, wherein the central axis of the flux corresponds to a central axis of said sensing coil [208] (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows MEMS sensor device [211, 212] is arranged along a central axis of the flux of said magnetic field, wherein the central axis of the flux corresponds to a central axis of said sensing coil [208]).
Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Polley
Regarding claim 12, Polley teaches a system,
wherein said package [200] has a horizontal plane of main extension (Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows said package [200] has a horizontal plane of main extension); and
wherein the MEMS sensor device [211, 212] and the sensing coil [208] are arranged in the package [200] in a stack along a vertical axis, orthogonal to said horizontal plane (Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows the MEMS sensor device [211, 212] and the sensing coil [208] are arranged in the package [200] in a stack along a vertical axis, orthogonal to said horizontal plane), so that the MEMS sensor device [211] is in a central position relative to the sensing coil [208] along a central axis of said sensing coil and is affected by flux lines of the magnetic field directed along said vertical axis (Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows the MEMS sensor device [211] is in a central position relative to the sensing coil [208] along a central axis of said sensing coil and is affected by flux lines of the magnetic field directed along said vertical axis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-10 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polley ‘627 A1 in view of Schmitt in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220026469 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Polley teaches a system, further comprising:
a frame structure [206+207] (Lead frame 205 includes parallel portions 206, 207 as the frame structure) inside the package (Lead frame 205 includes parallel portions 206, 207 connected together by a loop portion 208. As explained in more detail above, lead frame 205 is configured to cause current 230 to flow in one direction adjacent sensor 211 and in an opposite direction adjacent sensor 212 on parallel portions 206, 207 in order to cancel interference produced by external magnetic fields, such as the Earth field; Paragraph [0034] Line 8-14);
wherein said frame structure [206+207] has a main extension in a horizontal plane and comprises a first isle [206] and a second isle [207] arranged side by side in the horizontal plane (Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows frame structure [206+207] has a main extension in a horizontal plane and comprises a first isle [206] and a second isle [207] arranged side by side in the horizontal plane), said first [206] and second isles [207] being distinct and separate (Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows first [206] and second isles [207] being distinct and separate by the loop 208); and
wherein said first isle [206] carries the MEMS sensor device [211] and said second isle is configured to form, at least in part, said sensing coil [208] and a path for said electric current to be monitored (Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows first isle [206] carries the MEMS sensor device [211] and said second isle is configured to form, at least in part, said sensing coil [208] and a path for said electric current to be monitored).
Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley
However, Polley fails to teach that the frame structure incorporated in a coating of said package; and said first and second isles being electrically insulated from each other.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein the frame structure incorporated in a coating [220] in Figure 3 (shield 220 as the coating) of said package [200] (Moreover, the sensing device 200 comprises an electrical shield 220 and an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) 222. The electrical shield 220 is preferably made from a conductive material, such as a metal material, a doped semiconductor material, or graphite. In the depicted embodiment, the electrical shield 220 is arranged on the upper surface of the insulation layer 212; Paragraph [0039] Line 12-16); and
said first [218a] and second [218b] isles being electrically insulated [ 212] (insulation layer 212) from each other (FIG. 3 shows a further embodiment according to the present disclosure. It shows a sensing device 200, comprising a chip casing 202, connection pins 204a, 204b, 206a to 206g, a primary bar 208 comprising legs 218a and 218b and a connecting, arc-shaped conductor (hidden in FIG. 3), a sensor 210 in form of the semiconductor chip 214 and an insulation layer 212; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-7; The method comprises the steps of: providing a primary current bar in a base layer, the primary current bar having at least two antiparallel segments; providing an insulation layer comprising an insulating film, the insulation layer being arranged above the base layer in a stacking direction; providing an electrical shield in a shielding layer, the shielding layer being arranged above the base layer and the insulation layer in the stacking direction; Paragraph [0009] Line 3-10; Figure 3 shows said first [218a] and second [218b] isles being electrically insulated [ 212] (insulation layer 212) from each other by the insulation layer 212). The purpose of doing so is to isolate the first and second isles, to provide a differential magnetic field sensor in a sensing layer, to detect a magnetic field in the area of the at least two antiparallel segments, to prevent or reduce eddy currents in a conductive material forming the electrical shield.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to incorporate the frame structure in a coating of said package and to insulate first and second isles electrically from each other isolates the first and second isles, provides a differential magnetic field sensor in a sensing layer, detects a magnetic field in the area of the at least two antiparallel segments (Paragraph [0009]), prevents or reduces eddy currents in a conductive material forming the electrical shield (Paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 5, Polley fails to teach a system, wherein said sensing coil comprises a first bridge element arranged above said second isle and made of a conductive material; wherein said first bridge element forms, with the second isle underlying the first bridge element, a first turn of said sensing coil and the path for said electric current to be monitored.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein said sensing coil comprises a first bridge element [924, 926, 928 and 930 are arranged in an electrical Wheatstone bridge 950] in Figure 9 or 10 arranged above said second isle [916/918] and made of a conductive material [914]; wherein said first bridge element forms [Figure 10], with the second isle underlying the first bridge element [950] (Figure 10), a first turn of said sensing coil and the path for said electric current to be monitored (FIG. 9 shows schematically a differential sensor design. A sensor chip 914 comprises two different, magneto-sensitive areas 916 and 918. Due to the way these sensitive areas 916 and 918 are formed, they are responsive to magnetic fields orientated in different, opposite directions, as indicated by arrows 920 and 922, respectively. The two sensing areas 916 and 918 are placed a distance d apart, which is aligned with the physical configuration of the primary bar 908 of the sensor device, so that the first sensing area 916 is placed closer to a first leg of the primary bar 908 and the second sensing area 918 is placed closer to a second leg of the primary bar 908. For example, the center of the sensing area 916 could be placed close to an inner edge of the left leg 218a of the primary bar 208 of FIGS. 3 and 4 extending into the first terminal 204a, and the second sensing area 918 could be placed close to an opposite, inner edge of the right leg 218b of the primary bar 208 extending to the second terminal 204b; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-18; FIG. 10 shows a basic architecture for implementing the differential sensor design shown in FIG. 9. To achieve the desired sensitivity direction, four different sensor elements 924, 926, 928 and 930 are arranged in an electrical Wheatstone bridge 950; Paragraph [0072] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to achieve the desired sensitivity direction, to provide the net effect of any disturbance signals to be zero, i.e., to cancel out, to cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry by the regular inversion of the magnetization and to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to include a first bridge element arranged above said second isle and made of a conductive material achieves the desired sensitivity direction (Paragraph [0072]), provides the net effect of any disturbance signals to be zero, i.e., to cancel out (Paragraph [0071]), cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry by the regular inversion of the magnetization and to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration (Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 6, Polley teaches a system,
wherein said package [200] comprises electrical contact terminals [201, 202, 203, 204] (contact pins 201, 202, 203, 204 as the contact terminals) made of a conductive material and arranged externally to the coating and accessible from outside of said package [200] (Packaged current sensor 200 includes a conductive lead frame 205 that includes contact pins 201-204. In this example, the package is a small outline integrated circuit (SOIC) in which the pins are typically soldered to conductive pads on another substrate, such as a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0033] Line 4-9; Polley in view of Schmitt discloses wherein said package [200] comprises electrical contact terminals arranged externally to the coating and accessible from outside of said package [200] as Schmitt already discloses the coating in the package);
wherein said second isle [207] is directly connected to first terminals [terminal of the contact pin 203, 204 that is connected with the portion 207 as the first terminal] of said electrical contact terminals, which are an extension thereof in the horizontal plane (Figure 2 shows second isle [207] is directly connected to first terminals [terminal of the contact pin 203, 204 that is connected with the portion 207 as the first terminal] of said electrical contact terminals, which are an extension thereof in the horizontal plane), to define, in the path of the electric current to be monitored, one of an input to the sensing coil [208] or an output from the sensing coil [208] (figure 2 shows define, in the path of the electric current to be monitored, one of an input to the sensing coil [208] or an output from the sensing coil [208]).
Polley fails to teach wherein said first bridge element is directly connected to second terminals of said electrical contact terminals through a first end portion to define, in the path of the electric current to be monitored, the other of the input to the sensing coil or the output from the sensing coil.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein said first bridge element is directly connected to second terminals of said electrical contact terminals through a first end portion to define, in the path of the electric current to be monitored, the other of the input to the sensing coil or the output from the sensing coil (FIG. 9 shows schematically a differential sensor design. A sensor chip 914 comprises two different, magneto-sensitive areas 916 and 918. Due to the way these sensitive areas 916 and 918 are formed, they are responsive to magnetic fields orientated in different, opposite directions, as indicated by arrows 920 and 922, respectively. The two sensing areas 916 and 918 are placed a distance d apart, which is aligned with the physical configuration of the primary bar 908 of the sensor device, so that the first sensing area 916 is placed closer to a first leg of the primary bar 908 and the second sensing area 918 is placed closer to a second leg of the primary bar 908. For example, the center of the sensing area 916 could be placed close to an inner edge of the left leg 218a of the primary bar 208 of FIGS. 3 and 4 extending into the first terminal 204a, and the second sensing area 918 could be placed close to an opposite, inner edge of the right leg 218b of the primary bar 208 extending to the second terminal 204b; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-18; FIG. 10 shows a basic architecture for implementing the differential sensor design shown in FIG. 9. To achieve the desired sensitivity direction, four different sensor elements 924, 926, 928 and 930 are arranged in an electrical Wheatstone bridge 950; Paragraph [0072] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to achieve the desired sensitivity direction, to provide the net effect of any disturbance signals to be zero, i.e., to cancel out, to cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry by the regular inversion of the magnetization and to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to connect said first bridge element directly to second terminals of said electrical contact terminals through a first end portion achieves the desired sensitivity direction (Paragraph [0072]), provides the net effect of any disturbance signals to be zero, i.e., to cancel out (Paragraph [0071]), cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry by the regular inversion of the magnetization and to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration (Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Polley fails to teach a system, wherein further terminals of said electrical contact terminals are connected to said MEMS sensor device by respective bonding wires.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein further terminals of said electrical contact terminals [206a-206g] in figure 3 are connected to said MEMS sensor device [210] by respective bonding wires [226/228] ([0040] For this purpose, sensor 210 and ASIC 222 are coupled by a plurality of first bond wires 224. A plurality of second bond wires 226 connects the ASIC 222 with the connection pins 206a to 206g. One additional bond wire 228 connects the ASIC 222 to the electrical shield 220. For example, bond wire 228 may be connected to a predetermined electrical potential, such as electrical ground, and therefore provide a conductive discharge path for any charge stored on the electrical shield 220; Paragraph [0040] Line 3-11). The purpose of doing so is to provide a predetermined electrical potential, such as electrical ground, and therefore provide a conductive discharge path for any charge stored on the electrical shield.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to connect further terminals of said electrical contact terminals to said MEMS sensor device by respective bonding wires provides a predetermined electrical potential, such as electrical ground, and therefore provide a conductive discharge path for any charge stored on the electrical shield (Paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Polley fails to teach a system, wherein a second end of said first bridge
element is directly connected to said second isle.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein a second end of said first bridge element is directly connected to said second isle (FIG. 9 shows schematically a differential sensor design. A sensor chip 914 comprises two different, magneto-sensitive areas 916 and 918. Due to the way these sensitive areas 916 and 918 are formed, they are responsive to magnetic fields orientated in different, opposite directions, as indicated by arrows 920 and 922, respectively. The two sensing areas 916 and 918 are placed a distance d apart, which is aligned with the physical configuration of the primary bar 908 of the sensor device, so that the first sensing area 916 is placed closer to a first leg of the primary bar 908 and the second sensing area 918 is placed closer to a second leg of the primary bar 908. For example, the center of the sensing area 916 could be placed close to an inner edge of the left leg 218a of the primary bar 208 of FIGS. 3 and 4 extending into the first terminal 204a, and the second sensing area 918 could be placed close to an opposite, inner edge of the right leg 218b of the primary bar 208 extending to the second terminal 204b; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-18; FIG. 10 shows a basic architecture for implementing the differential sensor design shown in FIG. 9. To achieve the desired sensitivity direction, four different sensor elements 924, 926, 928 and 930 are arranged in an electrical Wheatstone bridge 950; Paragraph [0072] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to achieve the desired sensitivity direction, to provide the net effect of any disturbance signals to be zero, i.e., to cancel out, to cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry by the regular inversion of the magnetization and to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to connect a second end of said first bridge element directly to said second isle achieves the desired sensitivity direction (Paragraph [0072]), provides the net effect of any disturbance signals to be zero, i.e., to cancel out (Paragraph [0071]), cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry by the regular inversion of the magnetization and to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration (Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 9, Polley fails to teach a system, wherein said sensing coil comprises a second bridge element arranged above said second isle and made of a conductive material, said second bridge element positioned side by side to said first bridge element to define at least in part a second turn of said sensing coil.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein said sensing coil comprises a second bridge element [924a-d, 926a-d, 928a-d or 930a-d] arranged above said second isle and made of a conductive material, said second bridge element positioned side by side to said first bridge element to define at least in part a second turn of said sensing coil [940/942] (A further optimization of a differential field sensor is shown in FIG. 11. Instead of four sensor elements 924 to 930, a total of 16 sensor elements 924a-d, 926a-d, 928a d and 930a-d are used, which are arranged as shown in FIG. 11. The sensor elements 924a-d, 926a-d, 928a-d and 930a-d are AMR sensor elements, and have a predefined, but changeable magnetization direction. Together, the sensor elements 924a-d, 926a-d, 928a-d and 930a-d form a Wheatstone bridge 960, wherein each one of the four outer branches of the bridge comprises a group of four series connected sensor elements 924a-d, 926a-d, 928a-d or 930a-d having the same magnetic configuration. For example, the branch between the supply voltage VDD and the positive output voltage Vo+ comprises sensor elements 930a-d. Two of these sensor elements 930a and 930b are placed in a first sensitive area 916 co-located with a first coil 940, and the remaining sensor elements 930c and 930d are placed in a second sensitive area 918 co-located with a second coil 942; Paragraph [0073] Line 1-19). The purpose of doing so is to change the magnetization of all sensor elements, leading to a change in their resistivity, to electrically reverse or flip at regular intervals the intrinsic magnetic field of the respective sensor elements in the two sensing areas, to cancel out any offsets in the processing circuitry, to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to include a second bridge element arranged above said second isle and made of a conductive material changes the magnetization of all sensor elements, leading to a change in their resistivity, electrically reverses or flips at regular intervals the intrinsic magnetic field of the respective sensor elements in the two sensing areas, cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry, compensates potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration (Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 10, Polley teaches a system,
wherein said package comprises electrical contact terminals [201-204] made of a conductive material and arranged externally to the coating and accessible from outside of said package [200] (Packaged current sensor 200 includes a conductive lead frame 205 that includes contact pins 201-204. In this example, the package is a small outline integrated circuit (SOIC) in which the pins are typically soldered to conductive pads on another substrate, such as a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0033] Line 4-9; Polley in view of Schmitt discloses wherein said package [200] comprises electrical contact terminals arranged externally to the coating and accessible from outside of said package [200] as Schmitt already discloses the coating in the package; Figure 3 shows contact terminals [201-204] arranged externally to the coating and accessible from outside of said package [200]);
wherein said second isle [207] is directly connected to first terminals [203/204] of said electrical contact terminals, which are an extension thereof in the horizontal plane (Figure 2 shows second isle [207] is directly connected to first terminals [terminal of the contact pin 203, 204 that is connected with the portion 207 as the first terminal] of said electrical contact terminals, which are an extension thereof in the horizontal plane), to define, in the path of the electric current to be monitored, one of an input to the sensing coil [208] or an output from the sensing coil [208] (figure 2 shows define, in the path of the electric current to be monitored, one of an input to the sensing coil [208] or an output from the sensing coil [208]).
Polley fails to teach wherein said first bridge element is directly connected to second terminals of said electrical contact terminals through a first end portion to define, in the path of the electric current to be monitored, one of the input to the sensing coil or the output from the sensing coil; and said second bridge element is directly connected to third terminals of said electrical contact terminals through a respective end portion to define, in the path of the electric current to be monitored, the other of the input to the sensing coil or the output from the sensing coil.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein said first bridge element is directly connected to second terminals of said electrical contact terminals through a first end portion to define, in the path of the electric current to be monitored, one of the input to the sensing coil or the output from the sensing coil (FIG. 9 shows schematically a differential sensor design. A sensor chip 914 comprises two different, magneto-sensitive areas 916 and 918. Due to the way these sensitive areas 916 and 918 are formed, they are responsive to magnetic fields orientated in different, opposite directions, as indicated by arrows 920 and 922, respectively. The two sensing areas 916 and 918 are placed a distance d apart, which is aligned with the physical configuration of the primary bar 908 of the sensor device, so that the first sensing area 916 is placed closer to a first leg of the primary bar 908 and the second sensing area 918 is placed closer to a second leg of the primary bar 908. For example, the center of the sensing area 916 could be placed close to an inner edge of the left leg 218a of the primary bar 208 of FIGS. 3 and 4 extending into the first terminal 204a, and the second sensing area 918 could be placed close to an opposite, inner edge of the right leg 218b of the primary bar 208 extending to the second terminal 204b; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-18; FIG. 10 shows a basic architecture for implementing the differential sensor design shown in FIG. 9. To achieve the desired sensitivity direction, four different sensor elements 924, 926, 928 and 930 are arranged in an electrical Wheatstone bridge 950; Paragraph [0072] Line 1-5); and
said second bridge element is directly connected to third terminals of said electrical
contact terminals through a respective end portion to define, in the path of the electric current to be monitored, the other of the input to the sensing coil or the output from the sensing coil (A further optimization of a differential field sensor is shown in FIG. 11. Instead of four sensor elements 924 to 930, a total of 16 sensor elements 924a-d, 926a-d, 928a d and 930a-d are used, which are arranged as shown in FIG. 11. The sensor elements 924a-d, 926a-d, 928a-d and 930a-d are AMR sensor elements, and have a predefined, but changeable magnetization direction. Together, the sensor elements 924a-d, 926a-d, 928a-d and 930a-d form a Wheatstone bridge 960, wherein each one of the four outer branches of the bridge comprises a group of four series connected sensor elements 924a-d, 926a-d, 928a-d or 930a-d having the same magnetic configuration. For example, the branch between the supply voltage VDD and the positive output voltage Vo+ comprises sensor elements 930a-d. Two of these sensor elements 930a and 930b are placed in a first sensitive area 916 co-located with a first coil 940, and the remaining sensor elements 930c and 930d are placed in a second sensitive area 918 co-located with a second coil 942; Paragraph [0073] Line 1-19). The purpose of doing so is to change the magnetization of all sensor elements, leading to a change in their resistivity, to electrically reverse or flip at regular intervals the intrinsic magnetic field of the respective sensor elements in the two sensing areas, to cancel out any offsets in the processing circuitry, to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to connect first bridge element is directly to second terminals of said electrical contact terminals and to connect said second bridge element directly to third terminals of said electrical contact terminals changes the magnetization of all sensor elements, leading to a change in their resistivity, electrically reverses or flips at regular intervals the intrinsic magnetic field of the respective sensor elements in the two sensing areas, cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry, compensates potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration (Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 16, Polley teaches an integrated circuit (a Fluxgate-based current sensor, and in particular to sensor that is packaged in a compact integrated circuit type package; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3; FIGS. 2-3 are illustrations of a packaged current sensor; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-2), comprising:
a frame structure [206+207] (Lead frame 205 includes parallel portions 206, 207 as the frame structure) (Lead frame 205 includes parallel portions 206, 207 connected together by a loop portion 208. As explained in more detail above, lead frame 205 is configured to cause current 230 to flow in one direction adjacent sensor 211 and in an opposite direction adjacent sensor 212 on parallel portions 206, 207 in order to cancel interference produced by external magnetic fields, such as the Earth field; Paragraph [0034] Line 8-14);
comprising a first isle [206] and a second isle [207] arranged side by side in the horizontal plane (Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows frame structure [206+207] has a main extension in a horizontal plane and comprises a first isle [206] and a second isle [207] arranged side by side in the horizontal plane), wherein said first and second isles are distinct (Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows first [206] and second isles [207] being distinct and separate by the loop 208);
a Micro-Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) sensor device [211, 212] (Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 as the Micro-Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) sensor device) (Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 may be micro fluxgate sensors, or another type of known or later developed magnetometer sensor; Paragraph [0034] Line 6-8; Micro-fluxgate magnetometers (MFGM), which are based on CMOS (complementary metal oxide semiconductor) or MEMS (micro-electromechanical) technology, appeared in 1990s. Compared with a traditional fluxgate magnetic sensor, MFGM has some advanced features, such as less mass, smaller size, less power consumption, better performance, and batch production. Micro-fluxgate devices may be fabricated using layered spiral coils, for example. For the planar design, the in-plane spiral coils can be readily fabricated by using standard CMOS or MEMS processes, for example; Paragraph [0021] Line 1-7) mounted to the first isle and configured to provide an output electrical signal [230] (Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows current flow 230 as the output electrical signal) indicative of the electric current to be monitored (A current 230 may flow from trace 221 to trace 222, or vice versa, through packaged current sensor 200 on conductive lead frame 205. Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 are mounted adjacent lead frame 205 and thereby are configured to sense a magnet field created by current flow 230; Paragraph [0034] Line 1-5);
a sensing coil [208] (Loop portion 208 of the Lead frame 205 as the sensing coil as its senses current) (Packaged current sensor 200 includes a conductive lead frame 205 that includes contact pins 201-204; Paragraph [0033] Line 4-5; Lead frame 205 includes parallel portions 206, 207 connected together by a loop portion 208. As explained in more detail above, lead frame 205 is configured to cause current 230 to flow in one direction adjacent sensor 211 and in an opposite direction adjacent sensor 212 on parallel portions 206, 207 in order to cancel interference produced by external magnetic fields, such as the Earth field; Paragraph [0034] Line 8-14; A current 230 may flow from trace 221 to trace 222, or vice versa, through packaged current sensor 200 on conductive lead frame 205. Magnetometer sensors 211, 212 are mounted adjacent lead frame 205 and thereby are configured to sense a magnet field created by current flow 230; Paragraph [0034] Line 1-5; In magnetic circuit design, a lead frame can be used as a coil when it is wound with conductive wire and placed within a magnetic path — often a ferromagnetic core or window — to generate or guide magnetic flux.
A lead frame is typically a thin, conductive structure (often copper or aluminum) used in electronics for mechanical support and electrical interconnection. When it is wound with wire and connected to a current source, it becomes a solenoid or toroidal coil.
https://www.bing.com/search?q=lead%20frame%20as%20a%20coil%20in%20magnetic%20circuit&qs=n&form=QBRE&sp=-1&lq=0&pq=lead%20frame%20as%20a%20coil%20in%20magnetic%20circuit&sc=12-40&sk=&cvid=E886BACC9097427985FD773B65410A6A) formed at least in part by the second isle [207] (Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley below shows said second isle is configured to form, at least in part, said sensing coil [208] and a path for said electric current to be monitored), wherein the sensing coil [208] configured to be traversed by the electric current to be monitored (Lead frame 205 includes parallel portions 206, 207 connected together by a loop portion 208. As explained in more detail above, lead frame 205 is configured to cause current 230 to flow in one direction adjacent sensor 211 and in an opposite direction adjacent sensor 212 on parallel portions 206, 207 in order to cancel interference produced by external magnetic fields, such as the Earth field; Paragraph [0034] Line 8-14);
a package [200] (FIG. 2 is an illustration of a packaged current sensor 200 that is mounted on a substrate; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-2) encapsulating the first isle [206], the second isle [207], the MEMS sensor device [211] and the sensing coil [208] (Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley above shows a package [200] encapsulating the first isle, the second isle, the MEMS sensor device and the sensing coil).
However, Polley fails to teach that said first and second isles being electrically insulated from each other.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
first [218a] and second [218b] isles being electrically insulated [ 212] (insulation layer 212) from each other (FIG. 3 shows a further embodiment according to the present disclosure. It shows a sensing device 200, comprising a chip casing 202, connection pins 204a, 204b, 206a to 206g, a primary bar 208 comprising legs 218a and 218b and a connecting, arc-shaped conductor (hidden in FIG. 3), a sensor 210 in form of the semiconductor chip 214 and an insulation layer 212; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-7; The method comprises the steps of: providing a primary current bar in a base layer, the primary current bar having at least two antiparallel segments; providing an insulation layer comprising an insulating film, the insulation layer being arranged above the base layer in a stacking direction; providing an electrical shield in a shielding layer, the shielding layer being arranged above the base layer and the insulation layer in the stacking direction; Paragraph [0009] Line 3-10; Figure 3 shows said first [218a] and second [218b] isles being electrically insulated [ 212] (insulation layer 212) from each other by the insulation layer 212). The purpose of doing so is to isolate the first and second isles, to provide a differential magnetic field sensor in a sensing layer, to detect a magnetic field in the area of the at least two antiparallel segments, to prevent or reduce eddy currents in a conductive material forming the electrical shield.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to insulate said first and second isles electrically from each other provides a differential magnetic field sensor in a sensing layer, detects a magnetic field in the area of the at least two antiparallel segments (Pa4ragraph [0009]), prevents or reduces eddy currents in a conductive material forming the electrical shield (Paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 17, Polley fails to teach an integrated circuit, further comprising a first bridge element arranged above said second isle and made of a conductive material, wherein said first bridge element forms, with the second isle, a first turn of said sensing coil.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
further comprising a first bridge element [924, 926, 928 and 930 are arranged in an electrical Wheatstone bridge 950] in Figure 9 or 10 arranged above said second isle [916/918] and made of a conductive material [914]; wherein said first bridge element forms, with the second isle, a first turn of said sensing coil [940] (FIG. 9 shows schematically a differential sensor design. A sensor chip 914 comprises two different, magneto-sensitive areas 916 and 918. Due to the way these sensitive areas 916 and 918 are formed, they are responsive to magnetic fields orientated in different, opposite directions, as indicated by arrows 920 and 922, respectively. The two sensing areas 916 and 918 are placed a distance d apart, which is aligned with the physical configuration of the primary bar 908 of the sensor device, so that the first sensing area 916 is placed closer to a first leg of the primary bar 908 and the second sensing area 918 is placed closer to a second leg of the primary bar 908. For example, the center of the sensing area 916 could be placed close to an inner edge of the left leg 218a of the primary bar 208 of FIGS. 3 and 4 extending into the first terminal 204a, and the second sensing area 918 could be placed close to an opposite, inner edge of the right leg 218b of the primary bar 208 extending to the second terminal 204b; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-18; FIG. 10 shows a basic architecture for implementing the differential sensor design shown in FIG. 9. To achieve the desired sensitivity direction, four different sensor elements 924, 926, 928 and 930 are arranged in an electrical Wheatstone bridge 950; Paragraph [0072] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to achieve the desired sensitivity direction, to provide the net effect of any disturbance signals to be zero, i.e., to cancel out, to cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry by the regular inversion of the magnetization and to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to include a first bridge element above said second isle and made of a conductive material achieves the desired sensitivity direction (Paragraph [0072]), provides the net effect of any disturbance signals to be zero, i.e., to cancel out (Paragraph [0071]), cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry by the regular inversion of the magnetization and to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration (Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 18, Polley teaches an integrated circuit,
wherein said package [200] comprises:
first electrical contact terminals [201, 202] (Packaged current sensor 200 includes a conductive lead frame 205 that includes contact pins 201-204. In this example, the package is a small outline integrated circuit (SOIC) in which the pins are typically soldered to conductive pads on another substrate, such as a printed circuit board (PCB); Paragraph [0033] Line 4-9; Polley in view of Schmitt discloses wherein said package [200] comprises electrical contact terminals arranged connected to one end of the first bridge element as Schmitt already discloses the bridge element);
second electrical contact terminals [203] connected to the second isle [207] wherein said electric current to be monitored flows between the first [201, 202] and second electrical contact terminals [203] (Figure 2 shows second electrical contact terminals [203] connected to the second isle [207] wherein said electric current to be monitored flows between the first and second electrical contact terminals).
Polley fails to teach the integrated circuit comprises a first bridge element.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3), comprises
a first bridge element connected to first electrical contact terminals [204a] (FIG. 9 shows schematically a differential sensor design. A sensor chip 914 comprises two different, magneto-sensitive areas 916 and 918. Due to the way these sensitive areas 916 and 918 are formed, they are responsive to magnetic fields orientated in different, opposite directions, as indicated by arrows 920 and 922, respectively. The two sensing areas 916 and 918 are placed a distance d apart, which is aligned with the physical configuration of the primary bar 908 of the sensor device, so that the first sensing area 916 is placed closer to a first leg of the primary bar 908 and the second sensing area 918 is placed closer to a second leg of the primary bar 908. For example, the center of the sensing area 916 could be placed close to an inner edge of the left leg 218a of the primary bar 208 of FIGS. 3 and 4 extending into the first terminal 204a, and the second sensing area 918 could be placed close to an opposite, inner edge of the right leg 218b of the primary bar 208 extending to the second terminal 204b; Paragraph [0070] Line 1-18; FIG. 10 shows a basic architecture for implementing the differential sensor design shown in FIG. 9. To achieve the desired sensitivity direction, four different sensor elements 924, 926, 928 and 930 are arranged in an electrical Wheatstone bridge 950; Paragraph [0072] Line 1-5). The purpose of doing so is to achieve the desired sensitivity direction, to provide the net effect of any disturbance signals to be zero, i.e., to cancel out, to cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry by the regular inversion of the magnetization and to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to include a first bridge element achieves the desired sensitivity direction (Paragraph [0072]), provides the net effect of any disturbance signals to be zero, i.e., to cancel out (Paragraph [0071]), cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry by the regular inversion of the magnetization and to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration (Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 19, Polley teaches an integrated circuit,
wherein said package [200] comprises third electrical contact terminals [204] connected to the MEMS sensor device [212] (Figure 2 (i): Modified Figure 2 of Polley above shows said package comprises third electrical contact terminals [204] connected to the MEMS sensor device [212]).
Claim(s) 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Polley ‘627 A1 in view of Schmitt ‘469 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kentsch in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20090140724 A1.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Polley and Schmitt fails to teach a system, further comprising: a calibration coil, in addition to the sensing coil, integrated inside the package, said calibration coil designed to be traversed by a calibration current for generation of a calibration magnetic field; wherein said calibration coil comprises a respective bridge element arranged above the first isle; and wherein said MEMS sensor device is arranged in the package interposed between the sensing coil and the calibration coil in such a way as to also be affected by the flux lines of the calibration magnetic field.
Kentsch teaches a magnetic field sensor assembly having at least one magnetic field sensor integrated into a semiconductor chip and having at least one magnetic field source (Paragraph [0001]) Line 1-3), further comprising:
a calibration coil [10] in Figure 6, in addition to the sensing coil, integrated inside the package, said calibration coil designed to be traversed by a calibration current for generation of a calibration magnetic field; wherein said calibration coil comprises a respective bridge element arranged above the first isle; and wherein said MEMS sensor device is arranged in the package interposed between the sensing coil and the calibration coil in such a way as to also be affected by the flux lines of the calibration magnetic field (FIG. 6, a calibration coil 10 is associated with at least one permanently magnetic magnetic field source 4, with which the magnetic flux in the magnetic field sensor 3 may be calibrated, for example in order to compensate for magnetic manufacturing tolerances in the magnetic field source(s) 4. The calibration coil 10 is connected to an adjustable current source that is provided in a control and/or evaluation device 11, which is only represented schematically in the drawing. The calibration coil 10 is integrated into the semiconductor chip 2 and has a plurality of first conductive traces 12 that run parallel to each other and that are located in a first conductive trace layer. In a second conductive trace layer a plurality of conductive traces 13 that run parallel to each other and that are connected in series with the first conductive traces 12 by means of vias 14 are provided. The windings of the calibration coil 10 then surround the magnetic field sensor 3; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-17). The purpose of doing so is to compensate for tolerances in the magnetization of the permanent magnet with the aid of the at least one calibration coil, to achieve a predetermined detection sensitivity with the aid of the calibration coils located in the various sectors, specifically a symmetrical detection sensitivity, to have an even more compact and more cost-effective construction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley and Schmitt in view of Kentsch, because Kentsch teaches to include a calibration coil, in addition to the sensing coil, integrated inside the package compensates for tolerances in the magnetization of the permanent magnet with the aid of the at least one calibration coil, achieves a predetermined detection sensitivity with the aid of the calibration coils located in the various sectors, specifically a symmetrical detection sensitivity (Paragraph [0013]), have an even more compact and more cost-effective construction (Paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 13, Polley fails to teach a system, wherein said MEMS sensor device comprises: a die of semiconductor material incorporated in a base substrate of the package; wherein said base substrate has a first main surface in the horizontal plane at which the
MEMS sensor device is arranged and a second main surface which defines an external surface of the package; wherein a redistribution layer made of a conductive material is arranged above the first main surface, separated from the first main surface by a dielectric layer, having through vias formed therethrough, said redistribution layer being patterned to define said sensing coil.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein a die of semiconductor material incorporated in a base substrate of the package; wherein said base substrate has a first main surface in the horizontal plane at which the MEMS sensor device is arranged and a second main surface which defines an external surface of the package (The completed shield assembly 630 comprising the substrate 614, the polyimide film 612, forming an insulation sub-layer, and the conductive shield structure 620, forming a shielding sub-layer, is then glued to the primary current bar using a non-conductive die attachment glue as shown in FIG. 6A; Paragraph [0054] Line 12-18). The purpose of doing so is to change the magnetization of all sensor elements, leading to a change in their resistivity, to electrically reverse or flip at regular intervals the intrinsic magnetic field of the respective sensor elements in the two sensing areas, to cancel out any offsets in the processing circuitry, to compensate potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to include a die of semiconductor material incorporated in a base substrate of the package changes the magnetization of all sensor elements, leading to a change in their resistivity, electrically reverses or flips at regular intervals the intrinsic magnetic field of the respective sensor elements in the two sensing areas, cancels out any offsets in the processing circuitry, compensates potential manufacturing variations associated with each magnetic sensor configuration (Paragraph [0073]).
The combination of Polley and Schmitt fails to teach wherein a redistribution layer made of a conductive material is arranged above the first main surface, separated from the first main surface by a dielectric layer, having through vias formed therethrough, said redistribution layer being patterned to define said sensing coil.
Kentsch teaches a magnetic field sensor assembly having at least one magnetic field sensor integrated into a semiconductor chip and having at least one magnetic field source (Paragraph [0001]) Line 1-3),
wherein a redistribution layer (conductive trace layer as the redistribution layer) made of a conductive material is arranged above the first main surface, separated from the first main surface by a dielectric layer, having through vias formed therethrough, said redistribution layer being patterned to define said sensing coil (In the example embodiment shown in FIG. 6, a calibration coil 10 is associated with at least one permanently magnetic magnetic field source 4, with which the magnetic flux in the magnetic field sensor 3 may be calibrated, for example in order to compensate for magnetic manufacturing tolerances in the magnetic field source(s) 4. The calibration coil 10 is connected to an adjustable current source that is provided in a control and/or evaluation device 11, which is only represented schematically in the drawing. The calibration coil 10 is integrated into the semiconductor chip 2 and has a plurality of first conductive traces 12 that run parallel to each other and that are located in a first conductive trace layer. In a second conductive trace layer a plurality of conductive traces 13 that run parallel to each other and that are connected in series with the first conductive traces 12 by means of vias 14 are provided. The windings of the calibration coil 10 then surround the magnetic field sensor 3; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-17). The purpose of doing so is to compensate for tolerances in the magnetization of the permanent magnet with the aid of the at least one calibration coil, to achieve a predetermined detection sensitivity with the aid of the calibration coils located in the various sectors, specifically a symmetrical detection sensitivity, to have an even more compact and more cost-effective construction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley and Schmitt in view of Kentsch, because Kentsch teaches to arrange a redistribution layer made of a conductive material above the first main surface compensates for tolerances in the magnetization of the permanent magnet with the aid of the at least one calibration coil, achieves a predetermined detection sensitivity with the aid of the calibration coils located in the various sectors, specifically a symmetrical detection sensitivity (Paragraph [0013]), have an even more compact and more cost-effective construction (Paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Polley and Schmitt fails to teach a system, wherein said sensing coil has a single-turn arrangement in the horizontal plane defined in said redistribution layer.
Kentsch teaches a magnetic field sensor assembly having at least one magnetic field sensor integrated into a semiconductor chip and having at least one magnetic field source (Paragraph [0001]) Line 1-3),
wherein said sensing coil has a single-turn arrangement in the horizontal plane defined in said redistribution layer [12] (The calibration coil 10 is integrated into the semiconductor chip 2 and has a plurality of first conductive traces 12 that run parallel to each other and that are located in a first conductive trace layer. In a second conductive trace layer a plurality of conductive traces 13 that run parallel to each other and that are connected in series with the first conductive traces 12 by means of vias 14 are provided. The windings of the calibration coil 10 then surround the magnetic field sensor 3; Paragraph [0037] Line 8-17; Therefore, sensing coil has a single-turn arrangement in the horizontal plane defined in said redistribution layer [12]). The purpose of doing so is to compensate for tolerances in the magnetization of the permanent magnet with the aid of the at least one calibration coil, to achieve a predetermined detection sensitivity with the aid of the calibration coils located in the various sectors, specifically a symmetrical detection sensitivity, to have an even more compact and more cost-effective construction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley and Schmitt in view of Kentsch, because Kentsch teaches to have sensing coil with a single-turn arrangement in the horizontal plane defined in said redistribution layer. compensates for tolerances in the magnetization of the permanent magnet with the aid of the at least one calibration coil, achieves a predetermined detection sensitivity with the aid of the calibration coils located in the various sectors, specifically a symmetrical detection sensitivity (Paragraph [0013]), have an even more compact and more cost-effective construction (Paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Polley and Kentsch fails to teach a system, wherein a conductive layer is patterned above the first main surface to define electrical connection tracks towards said MEMS sensor device; and wherein said redistribution layer is arranged above the conductive layer separated from said conductive layer by said dielectric layer.
Schmitt teaches systems and methods useful for detecting and measuring electrical currents (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein a conductive layer is patterned above the first main surface to define electrical connection tracks towards said MEMS sensor device; and wherein said redistribution layer is arranged above the conductive layer separated from said conductive layer by said dielectric layer [212] (FIG. 3 shows a further embodiment according to the present disclosure. It shows a sensing device 200, comprising a chip casing 202, connection pins 204a, 204b, 206a to 206g, a primary bar 208 comprising legs 218a and 218b and a connecting, arc-shaped conductor (hidden in FIG. 3), a sensor 210 in form of the semiconductor chip 214 and an insulation layer 212; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-7; The method comprises the steps of: providing a primary current bar in a base layer, the primary current bar having at least two antiparallel segments; providing an insulation layer comprising an insulating film, the insulation layer being arranged above the base layer in a stacking direction; providing an electrical shield in a shielding layer, the shielding layer being arranged above the base layer and the insulation layer in the stacking direction; Paragraph [0009] Line 3-10; Figure 3 shows said first [218a] and second [218b] isles being electrically insulated [ 212] (insulation layer 212) from each other by the insulation layer 212). The purpose of doing so is to isolate the first and second isles, to provide a differential magnetic field sensor in a sensing layer, to detect a magnetic field in the area of the at least two antiparallel segments, to prevent or reduce eddy currents in a conductive material forming the electrical shield.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Polley and Kentsch in view of Schmitt, because Schmitt teaches to insulate said first and second isles electrically from each other provides a differential magnetic field sensor in a sensing layer, detects a magnetic field in the area of the at least two antiparallel segments (Paragraph [0009]), prevents or reduces eddy currents in a conductive material forming the electrical shield (Paragraph [0030]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
David et al. (US 20200249286 A1) discloses, “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MAGNETIC SENSOR PRODUCING A CHANGING MAGNETIC FIELD- [0002] This disclosure relates to magnetic field sensors and, more particularly, to magnetic field sensors having an integrated coil or magnet. [0025] FIG. 1 is a diagram of an exemplary embodiment of a magnetic field sensor 10 and a target 12. Magnetic field sensor 10 may include a package 14, sensing element 16 (transducer), and coil 18. Also included are a semiconductor die or integrated circuit 20, lead frame 22, and leads 24a and 24b. Wire bonds 26 and 28 couple die 20 to leads 24a and 24b. In other embodiments the die 20 may be coupled to the leads 24a and 24b using other standard packaging methods, including but not limited to solder bumps, solder balls, or pillar bumps. In other embodiments the die may be attached, for example, in a flip-chip or chip-on-lead configuration. [0028] In some embodiments, coil 18 produces a magnetic field. Coil 18 would be a coil of conductive material that, when energized with a current flowing through the material, induces a magnetic field. Integrated circuit 20 may be configured to drive a changing current through coil 18 resulting in a changing magnetic field produced by coil 18. The changing current may be an alternating current, a ramped current, a pulsed current, transient current, or any type of changing current that causes coil 18 to produce a similarly changing, i.e. complementary, magnetic field. The changing magnetic field produced by coil 18 may have sufficient magnitude to intersect the body of, and/or induce eddy currents in, target 12-However David does not disclose that the integrated system for electric-current monitoring, comprising: a Micro-Electro-Mechanical System (MEMS) sensor device.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858