DETAILED ACTION
Claims 30-39 are pending.
Applicants’ cancellation of claims 1-29 and submission of new claims 30-39 in the reply filed 9/3/2026 are acknowledged.
As a result, claims 30-37 are withdrawn from consideration for be drawn to non-elected invention
Claims 38-39 are examined on the merits.
The rejection and objection not recited in this action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are broadly drawn to any plant/tissue/plant cell comprising a recombinant introgression comprising a recombinant chromosomal segment that comprises a first allele conferring improved resistance to Phytophthora capsici and wherein said first allele lacks a second allele genetically linked to said first allele, wherein the second allele would confer light immature fruit color phenotype if present.
The specification describes crossing between P. capsici resistance donor (CM334) and P. capsici susceptible parent (SBR-99-1274),and F1 progeny from said cross, SBRHJ12-G011, that exhibited P. capsici resistance and does not produce light green fruit at the immature stage.
The purpose of the written description is to ensure that the inventor had possession at the time the invention was made, of the specific subject claimed. For a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim.
“The test for sufficiency is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon reasonably conveys to skilled in the art that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date.” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010). To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Lockwood v. Amer. Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997). “An applicant shows possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations. Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d at 1966”. While the written description requirement does not demand either examples or an actual reduction, actual “possession” or reduction to practice outside of the specification is not enough. Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1352 (Fed. Cir. 2010). Rather, it is the specification itself that must demonstrate possession. Id.
The Federal Circuit has recently clarified the application of the written description requirement to inventions in the field of biotechnology. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568, 43 USPQ2d 1398; 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In summary, the court stated that a written description of an invention requires a precise definition, one that defines the structural features of the chemical genus that distinguishes it from other chemical structures. A definition by function does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is. The court goes on to say, "A description of a genus of cDNAs may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of cDNAs, defined by nucleotide sequence, falling within the scope of the genus or of a recitation of structural features common to members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus." See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559; 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
First, the claims are broadly drawn to a genus of plants comprising unspecified first allele that confers resistance to Phytophthora capsici, and wherein the plant lacks unspecified second allele that would confer light immature fruit color phenotype if present. The specification has disclosed the breeding history of a pepper plant using genetic markers. The first and second allele are described by function only and not by both structure and function. There is no known correlation between the structure and function of an allele from chromosome 5 that confers resistance to Phytophthora capsici and not linked to an allele that confers undesirable light immature fruit color phenotype. In addition, the specification fails to describe a sequence for the allele or locus that confers resistance to Phytophthora capsici. The specification also fails to describe a sequence of the second allele that confers undesirable light immature fruit color phenotype. The identity of an allele is located in the genomic region encoding AIG1 is also unknown.
Furthermore, the specification fails to sufficiently describe a representative number of DNA sequences that corresponds to Phytophthora capsici resistance alleles or describe structural features common to the genus of Phytophthora capsici resistance alleles recited in the claims or representative number of pepper plants comprising recombinant introgression conferring Phytophthora capsici resistance without light immature fruit color phenotype or genotype. The only structure described is a region of between about 39.4 cM and 41.8 cM and flanked by marker locus SEQ ID NO:1 and 6 as well as encoding AIG1 gene on chromosome 5 of PTA-123693 line. The only structure described for chromosomal segment for additional resistance to Phytophthora capsici under all disease pressure is the chromosomal segment located between about 26.4 cM and 28.7 cM on chromosome 6 and associated with marker locus SNPmarker_1 or SNPmarker_2 from DH lines developed from F1 progeny generated from a cross between HAS-144-6103 and HAS-144-1357.
Still further, instant claim are not limited to the pepper plant, but rather broadly drawn to any plant/plant cell comprising the introgression fragment. The specification only describes crossing between P. capsici resistance donor (CM334) and P. capsici susceptible parent (SBR-99-1274),and F1 progeny from said cross, SBRHJ12-G011, that exhibited P. capsici resistance and does not produce light green fruit at the immature stage. There is no description for any other plant having said introgression fragment except for pepper plant SBRHJ12-G011.
Therefore, given this lack of adequate written description of the allele from anyt plant that confers resistance Phytophthora capsici and lack of a second allele from any plant that confers light immature fruit color phenotype and the lack of written description of a representative number of plant comprising said allele, one of skill in the art would not have recognized Applicants in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed. Therefore, the claimed invention is not adequately described.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brian Just (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0205419).
The claims are broadly drawn to plant/plant cell/tissue comprising a recombinant introgression that comprises a first allele conferring improved resistance to Phytophthora capsici and wherein said first allele lacks a second allele genetically linked to said first allele, wherein the second allele would confer light immature fruit color phenotype if present.
Brian Just teach a hybrid pepper SBR 163-5031 with dark green immature fruit color and intermediate resistance to Phytophthora capsici (Table 2, paragraph [0030]).
Although the reference did not teach the recombinant introgression, it exhibits same phenotype of the claimed plant which includes Phytophthora capsici resistance. Although the reference does not teach the lack of light green immature fruit color, it would have been obvious exhibited by SBR 163-5031 which show dark green immature fruit color. Although the Office is not in position to determine the genetic structure associated with these phenotypes are the same in SBR 163-5031 and instant claimed pepper plant, they are obviously possessed by the SBR 163-5031 line given the same phenotype as those described in the claimed plant.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 38-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No.8,962,944. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The claims are broadly drawn to a plant of comprising a recombinant introgression that comprises a first allele conferring improved resistance to Phytophthora capsici and wherein said first allele lacks a second allele genetically linked to said first allele, wherein the second allele would confer light immature fruit color phenotype if present.
US Patent NO. 8,962,944 teaches a hybrid pepper SBR 163-5031 with dark green immature fruit color and intermediate resistance to Phytophthora capsici (Table 2, paragraph bridging columns 5-6, claim 1-28).
Although the reference did not teach the recombinant introgression on chromosome 5 or chromosomal segment on chromosome 6, it exhibits same phenotype of the claimed plant which includes Phytophthora capsici resistance. Although the reference does not teach the lack of light green immature fruit color, it would have been obvious exhibited by SBR 163-5031 which show dark green immature fruit color. Although the Office is not in position to determine the genetic structure associated with these phenotypes are the same in SBR 163-5031 and instant claimed plant, they are obviously possessed by the SBR 163-5031 line given the same phenotype as those described in the claimed plant.
7. Claims 38-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No.10,858,667. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The claims are broadly drawn to a plant of comprising a recombinant introgression that comprises a first allele conferring improved resistance to Phytophthora capsici and wherein said first allele lacks a second allele genetically linked to said first allele, wherein the second allele would confer light immature fruit color phenotype if present.
US Patent NO. 10,858,667 teaches a pepper plant of a cultivated pepper variety comprising a recombinant introgression on chromosome 5 that comprises a first allele conferring resistance to Phytophthora capsici, wherein said recombinant introgression is flanked in the genome of said plant by marker locus SNPmarker_7 (SEQ ID NO: 1) and marker locus SNPmarker_12 (SEQ ID NO: 6), wherein said first allele lacks a second allele genetically linked thereto that confers a light green immature fruit color phenotype when present, and wherein a representative sample of seed comprising said allele conferring resistance to Phytophthora capsici has been deposited under ATCC Accession No. PTA-123693.
Therefore, the reference anticipated instant claims.
8. Claims 38-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No.12,116,587. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant claims are discussed above.
US Patent NO. 12,116,587 teaches a method for selecting a pepper plant of a cultivated variety exhibiting resistance to Phytophthora capsici comprising: a) detecting in said plant a Phytophthora capsici resistance enhancing allele on chromosome 6, wherein said allele is flanked in the genome of said plant by marker locus SNPmarker_1 (SEQ ID NO: 8) and marker locus SNPmarker_2 (SEQ ID NO: 9), and wherein said Phytophthora capsici resistance enhancing allele confers to said plant improved resistance to Phytophthora capsici relative to a plant lacking said allele; and b) selecting a pepper plant comprising said Phytophthora capsici resistance enhancing allele (claim 1); or wherein the method further comprises introgressing said Phytophthora capsici resistance enhancing allele into a further pepper plant; or wherein said introgressing comprises: a) crossing the plant comprising said Phytophthora capsici resistance enhancing allele with itself or with a second pepper plant of a different genotype to produce one or more progeny plants; and b) selecting a progeny plant comprising said Phytophthora capsici resistance enhancing allele; or wherein said second pepper plant comprises an introgressed Phytophthora capsici resistance allele within a second recombinant chromosomal segment flanked in the genome of said plant by marker locus SNPmarker_7 (SEQ ID NO: 1) and marker locus SNPmarker_12 (SEQ ID NO: 6) on chromosome 5; or wherein selecting said progeny plant comprises detecting a first marker locus within or genetically linked to a chromosomal segment flanked in the genome of said plant by marker locus SNPmarker_1 (SEQ ID NO: 8) and marker locus SNPmarker_2 (SEQ ID NO: 9) on chromosome 6 and a second marker locus within or genetically linked to a chromosomal segment flanked in the genome of said plant by marker locus SNPmarker_7 (SEQ ID NO: 1) and marker locus SNPmarker_12 (SEQ ID NO: 6) on chromosome 5.
Although the reference did not teach the plant per se, such plant would have been obviously generated by the method of claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No.12,116,587.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LI ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662