Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This FINAL communication is in response to amendments made application No. 18/890,238 filed on 30 March 2026. Claims 1-5, 9-23 are presented for examination; claims 5-8 have been cancelled. Claims 1-5, 9-23 have been rejected as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the Claim Objections, Claim Interpretation, and rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(f) and 35 USC 101 as set forth in the office action of 30 December 2025 have been considered and are PERSUASIVE. Therefore, the Claim Objections, Claim Interpretation, and rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(f) and 35 USC 101 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 30 December 2025 have been considered and are NOT PERSUASIVE. Applicant argues Yumita does not teach "execution frequency of the power management mode, associated with the location". As cited in the office action, Yumita teaches a travel history database that stored data related to power consumption and the amount of regenerated power measured while the vehicle is traveling, to include a travel route. A route would be associated with the location of the vehicle, as well as the power management of the vehicle during that specific location and route.
Further, the applicant argues that Yumita, nor the other references, teach "classifying a location in the location-specific execution history into one of a plurality of types of locations". Applicant states Yumita stores travel history data organized by travel conditions but doesn't classify them into types. Claim 1 describes classifying locations into types based on execution frequency and power consumption. Yumita states in paragraph 61, “Further, the operation management server 1 calculates the transition of the SOC (see FIG. 4) on the planned travel route of the vehicle 2 based on the received travel plan and the travel history stored in the travel history database 132 (S12). More specifically, the operation management server 1 can estimate the SOC change in the vehicle 2 on the planned travel route of the vehicle 2, based on the travel histories collected under similar travel conditions from many vehicles of the same vehicle type (type/model) as the vehicle”). This can be interpreted as the saved histories being categorized into conditions that would match the conditions of the vehicle. For example, a type of condition the saved histories could be whether it is raining or clear skies.
Lastly, the applicant argues that "outputting information related to the power management mode, based on a type of a destination and driving progress". Yumita describes generating a message proposing external power supply but considers the destination of a specific geographic location, not as a classified type of location. However, Yumita outlines in paragraph 16, “ The one or more power supply facilities include a first power supply facility that requires conversion of direct current power from the battery to alternating current power, and a second power supply facility that allows direct supply of direct current power from the battery. The processor generates the message so as to preferentially propose the second power supply facility over the first power supply facility.” This, in combination with the cited teachings of Yumita, describes a system that outputs information based on the type of destination as well as driving progress.
Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 9-20 under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 30 December 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Katoh (US 8447452 B2) in view of Braunstein (US 20230196846 A1), Yumita (US 20240067039 A1) and Wehefritz (DE 102021208051 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Katoh discloses wherein the electrified vehicle comprises a power generation device and a traction battery, (see at least [20]; "The electricity management system 1 includes an alternator 11 driven by an engine 15 to generate electricity, a battery 12 to store electricity generated by the alternator 11, ") Katoh describes a power generation device and a traction battery.
wherein the power generation device is configured to use fuel to generate electrical energy, (see at least [84, 20]; "In the first embodiment, energy for generating the traction power is derived from fuel supplied to the engine 15.… The electricity management system 1 includes an alternator 11 driven by an engine 15 to generate electricity")
wherein the traction battery is configured to store the generated electrical energy; (See at least [20]; " a battery 12 to store electricity generated by the alternator 11") Katoh outlines a traction battery configured to store the generated electrical energy.
Katoh does not explicitly teach A method comprising: storing location-specific execution history of a power management mode of an electrified vehicle.
However, Braunstein teaches A method comprising: storing location-specific execution history of a power management mode of an electrified vehicle, (see at least [0008]; "The system may also be programmed to receive historical information mapping the performance and energy consumption of one or more BEM's operating over one or more travel route segments of the job site." Braunstein describes storing location-specific history of a power management mode of an electrical vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Braunstein which teaches storing location specific execution history of a power management mode of an electric vehicle in order to increase efficiency of the battery usage of the vehicle.
Katoh and Braunstein teach the limitations of claim 1 as described above, however they do not explicitly teach classifying a location in the location-specific execution history into one of a plurality of types of locations based on: an execution frequency, of the power management mode, associated with the location, and vehicle power consumption associated with the location; outputting information related to the power management mode, based on a type of a destination and driving progress.
However, Yumita teaches classifying a location in the location-specific execution history into one of a plurality of types of locations based on: an execution frequency, of the power management mode, associated with the location, and vehicle power consumption associated with the location; (see at least [0044, 0049]; "The travel history database 132 stores data related to travel histories (operation results) of each of the vehicles 2. More specifically, the travel history database 132 stores data on power consumption and regenerated electric power measured while each vehicle 2 is traveling, for each vehicle type (type/model) and for each of various travel conditions (travel route, vehicle speed, date, day of the week, weather, temperature, etc.). The travel history database 132 may further include other travel conditions that may affect power consumption and regenerated electric power, such as indexes indicating the driver's driving tendency (frequency of sudden acceleration/deceleration, etc.), air conditioning system on/off, tire pressure, traffic congestion, etc…
FIG. 4 is a diagram showing an example of a travel plan of the vehicle 2 in a comparative example. In FIGS. 4 and 5, the horizontal axis represents the distance along the travel route (R1 in this example) from the current location of the vehicle 2 to the destination location. The vertical axis represents the SOC of the battery mounted on the vehicle 2. [0050] In this example, it is assumed that the SOC of the battery is already high at the current location of the vehicle 2. The vehicle 2 travels downhill on the route from D1 to D3. This increases the SOC of the battery. On the route from D4 to D8, the vehicle 2 further travels downhill. As a result, the SOC of the battery further increases and reaches the maximum value MAX (typically MAX=100%). .") Yumita describes storing and classifying location specific execution history to include execution frequency and power consumption associated with the location.
outputting information related to the power management mode, based on a type of a destination and driving progress; and (see at least [0046, 0052, 0008]; " The operation management server 1 is configured to execute the following processes via the communication device 14. The operation management server 1 receives a power supply and demand adjustment request from the CEMS server 501. The operation management server 1 collects position information based on the GPS receiver (not shown) from each vehicle 2 and collects the SOC of the battery. Further, the operation management server 1 collects the travel conditions described above. The operation management server 1 also transmits various messages to the vehicle 2 to be displayed on the multi-information display (MID) (not shown) of the vehicle 2….The operation management server 1 determines based on the travel histories of the vehicles 2 whether the SOC of the battery will exceed the upper limit value UL when the target vehicle 2 travels from the current location to the destination location along the planned travel route. The upper limit value UL (corresponding to the “predetermined amount” according to the present disclosure) is a value lower than the maximum value MAX, and, for example, UL=90%. When the SOC of the battery is expected to exceed the upper limit value UL, the operation management server 1 generates a message proposing external power supply and transmits the message to the vehicle 2 and/or the user terminal 3. This message is transmitted before the SOC of the battery exceeds the upper limit value UL….2) The processor generates the message to include one or more power supply facilities for which a delay in arrival time of the vehicle at the destination location when the external power supply is executed is within a predetermined time compared to when the external power supply is not executed.") Yumita describes outputting information related to the power management mode, based on driving progress and destination information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Yumita which teaches classifying and storing location specific execution history in order to increase the efficiency of the battery usage and create an increasingly accurate forecast of the battery life.
Katoh, Braunstein, and Yumita, in combination, disclose the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, yet do not explicitly disclose based on the electrified vehicle being parked and satisfying a predetermined condition, causing the electrified vehicle to, in the power management mode, use the stored electrical energy of the traction battery.
However, Wehefritz teaches based on the electrified vehicle being parked and satisfying a predetermined condition, causing the electrified vehicle to, in the power management mode, use the stored electrical energy of the traction battery. (see at least [42]; "If one or more electrical consumers 5-i are active in the low-voltage network of a parked vehicle, then electrical energy will also be drawn from the traction battery 2 even when the vehicle is parked.") Wehefritz describes using stored electrical energy from the traction battery when the vehicle is in park.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Wehefritz which teaches using stored electrical energy from the traction battery once the vehicle is in park in order to provide accessory power to the user and increase the convenience of using the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, Katoh, Braunstein, Yumita,and Wehefritz in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Wehefritz discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined condition comprises at least one of a parking state condition or a power state condition. (see at least [0017]; "The parking detector can be designed to detect a state in which the vehicle is parked or unattended. For example, such a condition can be detected if the vehicle's parking brake has been activated or the electric drive system has been deactivated. Accordingly, the control unit can be designed to set and, in particular, limit the maximum quiescent current in the vehicle only when the vehicle is parked..")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Wehefritz which teaches a predetermined condition of a parking state in order to prevent draining the battery while the vehicle is driving.
Regarding claim 11, Katoh teaches a traction battery configured to store generated electrical energy: (See at least [20]; " a battery 12 to store electricity generated by the alternator 11") Katoh outlines a traction battery configured to store the generated electrical energy.
Katoh teaches the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. However, Katoh does not explicitly teach a controller configured to: store location-specific execution history of a power management mode of the electrified vehicle; classify a location in the location-specific execution history into one of a plurality of types of locations based on: an execution frequency, of the power management mode, associated with the location, and vehicle power consumption associated with the location; output, via the output device, information related to the power management mode, based on a type of a destination and driving progress; and based on the electrified vehicle being parked and satisfying a predetermined condition, cause the electrified vehicle to, in the power management mode, use the stored electrical energy of the traction battery.
However, and a controller configured to: store location-specific execution history of a power management mode of the electrified vehicle; (see at least [0018, 0044, 0049]; " A vehicle management method according to another aspect of the present disclosure manages, by a computer, ….The travel history database 132 stores data related to travel histories (operation results) of each of the vehicles 2. More specifically, the travel history database 132 stores data on power consumption and regenerated electric power measured while each vehicle 2 is traveling, for each vehicle type (type/model) and for each of various travel conditions (travel route, vehicle speed, date, day of the week, weather, temperature, etc.).") Yumita describes storing and classifying location specific execution history to include execution frequency and power consumption associated with the location.
classify a location in the location-specific execution history into one of a plurality of types of locations based on: an execution frequency, of the power management mode, associated with the location, and vehicle power consumption associated with the location; (see at least [0049]; "The travel history database 132 may further include other travel conditions that may affect power consumption and regenerated electric power, such as indexes indicating the driver's driving tendency (frequency of sudden acceleration/deceleration, etc.), air conditioning system on/off, tire pressure, traffic congestion, etc…
FIG. 4 is a diagram showing an example of a travel plan of the vehicle 2 in a comparative example. In FIGS. 4 and 5, the horizontal axis represents the distance along the travel route (R1 in this example) from the current location of the vehicle 2 to the destination location. The vertical axis represents the SOC of the battery mounted on the vehicle 2. [0050] In this example, it is assumed that the SOC of the battery is already high at the current location of the vehicle 2. The vehicle 2 travels downhill on the route from D1 to D3. This increases the SOC of the battery. On the route from D4 to D8, the vehicle 2 further travels downhill. As a result, the SOC of the battery further increases and reaches the maximum value MAX (typically MAX=100%). ")
output, via the output device, information related to the power management mode, based on a type of a destination and driving progress; and (see at least [0046, 0052, 0008]; " The operation management server 1 is configured to execute the following processes via the communication device 14. The operation management server 1 receives a power supply and demand adjustment request from the CEMS server 501. The operation management server 1 collects position information based on the GPS receiver (not shown) from each vehicle 2 and collects the SOC of the battery. Further, the operation management server 1 collects the travel conditions described above. The operation management server 1 also transmits various messages to the vehicle 2 to be displayed on the multi-information display (MID) (not shown) of the vehicle 2….The operation management server 1 determines based on the travel histories of the vehicles 2 whether the SOC of the battery will exceed the upper limit value UL when the target vehicle 2 travels from the current location to the destination location along the planned travel route. The upper limit value UL (corresponding to the “predetermined amount” according to the present disclosure) is a value lower than the maximum value MAX, and, for example, UL=90%. When the SOC of the battery is expected to exceed the upper limit value UL, the operation management server 1 generates a message proposing external power supply and transmits the message to the vehicle 2 and/or the user terminal 3. This message is transmitted before the SOC of the battery exceeds the upper limit value UL….2) The processor generates the message to include one or more power supply facilities for which a delay in arrival time of the vehicle at the destination location when the external power supply is executed is within a predetermined time compared to when the external power supply is not executed.") Yumita describes outputting information related to the power management mode, based on driving progress and destination information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Yumita which teaches classifying and storing location specific execution history in order to increase the efficiency of the battery usage and create an increasingly accurate forecast of the battery life.
Katoh and Yumita teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, however, do not explicitly teach based on the electrified vehicle being parked and satisfying a predetermined condition, cause the electrified vehicle to, in the power management mode, use the stored electrical energy of the traction battery.
However, Wehefritz teaches based on the electrified vehicle being parked and satisfying a predetermined condition, cause the electrified vehicle to, in the power management mode, use the stored electrical energy of the traction battery. (see at least [42]; "If one or more electrical consumers 5-i are active in the low-voltage network of a parked vehicle, then electrical energy will also be drawn from the traction battery 2 even when the vehicle is parked.") Wehefritz describes using stored electrical energy from the traction battery when the vehicle is in park.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Wehefritz which teaches a predetermined condition of a parking state in order to prevent draining the battery while the vehicle is driving.
Regarding claim 12, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz, in combination, teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above, furthermore Katoh teaches further comprising a power generator configured to generate, using fuel, the electrical energy (see at least [84, 20]; "In the first embodiment, energy for generating the traction power is derived from fuel supplied to the engine 15.… The electricity management system 1 includes an alternator 11 driven by an engine 15 to generate electricity") Katoh teaches a generation device using fuel to generate electrical energy.
Katoh does not explicitly teach The electrified vehicle of claim 11, wherein the predetermined condition comprises at least one of a parking state condition or a power state condition.
Wehefritz teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 11, wherein the predetermined condition comprises at least one of a parking state condition or a power state condition. (see at least [0017]; "The parking detector can be designed to detect a state in which the vehicle is parked or unattended. For example, such a condition can be detected if the vehicle's parking brake has been activated or the electric drive system has been deactivated. Accordingly, the control unit can be designed to set and, in particular, limit the maximum quiescent current in the vehicle only when the vehicle is parked.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Wehefritz which teaches a predetermined condition of a parking state in order to prevent draining the battery while the vehicle is driving.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Katoh (US 8447452 B2) in view of Braunstein (US 20230196846 A1), Yumita (US 20240067039 A1) and Wehefritz (DE 102021208051 A1) in view of Xie (TW 201032171 A).
Regarding claim 3, Katoh, Braunstein, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach The method of claim 1, wherein the driving progress comprises a pre-departure stage, a mid-trip stage, and a post-arrival stage.
However, Xie teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the driving progress comprises a pre-departure stage, a mid-trip stage, and a post-arrival stage. (see at least [0017, 0018, 0019] "
Pre-trip phase: The period from when passengers submit a ride-sharing request to when they contact each other to confirm the establishment of the ride-sharing service order is defined as the pre-trip phase.
[0018] Mid-stage: The period from when the shared vehicle starts moving until the last passenger gets off is defined as the mid-stage of the trip;
[0019] Post-trip phase: Actions such as evaluating the ride and checking the ride record after the ride trip are completed are considered post-trip phase.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Xie which teaches stages of the vehicle trip in order to for the vehicle to be able to initiate appropriate battery usage.
Regarding claim 13, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach The electrified vehicle of claim 11, wherein the driving progress comprises a pre-departure stage, a mid-trip stage, and a post-arrival stage.
However, Xie teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 11, wherein the driving progress comprises a pre-departure stage, a mid-trip stage, and a post-arrival stage. (see at least [0017, 0018, 0019] "
Pre-trip phase: The period from when passengers submit a ride-sharing request to when they contact each other to confirm the establishment of the ride-sharing service order is defined as the pre-trip phase.
[0018] Mid-stage: The period from when the shared vehicle starts moving until the last passenger gets off is defined as the mid-stage of the trip;
[0019] Post-trip phase: Actions such as evaluating the ride and checking the ride record after the ride trip are completed are considered post-trip phase.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Xie which teaches stages of the vehicle trip in order to for the vehicle to be able to initiate appropriate battery usage.
Claims 4, 14, 5, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Katoh (US 8447452 B2) in view of Braunstein (US 20230196846 A1), Yumita (US 20240067039 A1) and Wehefritz (DE 102021208051 A1) in view of Burleigh (US 20110087389 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Braunstein, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach he method of claim 3, wherein the information comprises an option to, while the destination is being set in the pre-departure stage, make a reservation for entering the power management mode.
However, Burliegh teaches The method of claim 3, wherein the information comprises an option to, while the destination is being set in the pre-departure stage, make a reservation for entering the power management mode. (see at least [0017]; "
The present invention requires certain entrance criteria to be satisfied to put the system 10 into the stand-by mode. The entrance criteria can be sub-divided into two major classifications, namely, vehicle level entrance criteria and fuel cell module level criteria. The basic vehicle level criteria include, but are not limited to, the key state is crank-to-run or run position, the PRNDL position allows stand-by, the brake switch state allows stand-by, a hybrid vehicle battery state-of-charge (SOC) is greater than a predetermined upper threshold, a vehicle heating, ventilation and air condition (HVAC) system state allows the stand-by mode where no cabin heating or air conditioning is being requested, a vehicle level fault status allows stand-by where no service indicator lamp has been illuminated, the vehicle speed is below a maximum threshold speed, low fuel cell power is required, an economy mode selector switch state is in the economy position, and the distance from home, work or other locations in the navigation system is greater than a threshold.
[0018] These criteria are used to determine if entering the stand-by mode will optimize the overall hybrid system efficiency within the bounds of maintaining passenger comfort. If so, the stand-by mode will be requested at the vehicle level.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Burleigh which teaches initiating a power management mode before the vehicle has left in order to extend the charge on the battery.
Regarding claim 14, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach The electrified vehicle of claim 13, wherein the information comprises an option to, while the destination is being set in the pre-departure stage, make a reservation for entering the power management mode.
However, Burleigh teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 13, wherein the information comprises an option to, while the destination is being set in the pre-departure stage, make a reservation for entering the power management mode.
(see at least [0017]; "The present invention requires certain entrance criteria to be satisfied to put the system 10 into the stand-by mode. The entrance criteria can be sub-divided into two major classifications, namely, vehicle level entrance criteria and fuel cell module level criteria. The basic vehicle level criteria include, but are not limited to, the key state is crank-to-run or run position, the PRNDL position allows stand-by, the brake switch state allows stand-by, a hybrid vehicle battery state-of-charge (SOC) is greater than a predetermined upper threshold, a vehicle heating, ventilation and air condition (HVAC) system state allows the stand-by mode where no cabin heating or air conditioning is being requested, a vehicle level fault status allows stand-by where no service indicator lamp has been illuminated, the vehicle speed is below a maximum threshold speed, low fuel cell power is required, an economy mode selector switch state is in the economy position, and the distance from home, work or other locations in the navigation system is greater than a threshold.
[0018] These criteria are used to determine if entering the stand-by mode will optimize the overall hybrid system efficiency within the bounds of maintaining passenger comfort. If so, the stand-by mode will be requested at the vehicle level.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Burleigh which teaches initiating a power management mode before the vehicle has left in order to extend the charge on the battery.
Regarding claim 5, Braunstein, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach The method of claim 3, wherein the information comprises an option to, in the mid-trip stage, execute, based on a driving status, the power management mode after arriving at the destination.
However, Burliegh teaches The method of claim 3, wherein the information comprises an option to, in the mid-trip stage, execute, based on a driving status, the power management mode after arriving at the destination. (see at least [0017]; "The present invention requires certain entrance criteria to be satisfied to put the system 10 into the stand-by mode. The entrance criteria can be sub-divided into two major classifications, namely, vehicle level entrance criteria and fuel cell module level criteria. The basic vehicle level criteria include, but are not limited to, the key state is crank-to-run or run position, the PRNDL position allows stand-by, the brake switch state allows stand-by, a hybrid vehicle battery state-of-charge (SOC) is greater than a predetermined upper threshold, a vehicle heating, ventilation and air condition (HVAC) system state allows the stand-by mode where no cabin heating or air conditioning is being requested, a vehicle level fault status allows stand-by where no service indicator lamp has been illuminated, the vehicle speed is below a maximum threshold speed, low fuel cell power is required, an economy mode selector switch state is in the economy position, and the distance from home, work or other locations in the navigation system is greater than a threshold.
[0018] These criteria are used to determine if entering the stand-by mode will optimize the overall hybrid system efficiency within the bounds of maintaining passenger comfort. If so, the stand-by mode will be requested at the vehicle level.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Burleigh which teaches initiating a power management mode after the vehicle has arrived at its destination in order to extend the charge on the battery.
Regarding claim 15, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach The electrified vehicle of claim 13, wherein the information comprises an option to, in the mid-trip stage, execute, based on a driving status, the power management mode after arriving at the destination.
However, Burliegh teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 13, wherein the information comprises an option to, in the mid-trip stage, execute, based on a driving status, the power management mode after arriving at the destination. (see at least [0017]; "The present invention requires certain entrance criteria to be satisfied to put the system 10 into the stand-by mode. The entrance criteria can be sub-divided into two major classifications, namely, vehicle level entrance criteria and fuel cell module level criteria. The basic vehicle level criteria include, but are not limited to, the key state is crank-to-run or run position, the PRNDL position allows stand-by, the brake switch state allows stand-by, a hybrid vehicle battery state-of-charge (SOC) is greater than a predetermined upper threshold, a vehicle heating, ventilation and air condition (HVAC) system state allows the stand-by mode where no cabin heating or air conditioning is being requested, a vehicle level fault status allows stand-by where no service indicator lamp has been illuminated, the vehicle speed is below a maximum threshold speed, low fuel cell power is required, an economy mode selector switch state is in the economy position, and the distance from home, work or other locations in the navigation system is greater than a threshold.
[0018] These criteria are used to determine if entering the stand-by mode will optimize the overall hybrid system efficiency within the bounds of maintaining passenger comfort. If so, the stand-by mode will be requested at the vehicle level."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Burleigh which teaches initiating a power management mode after the vehicle has arrived at its destination in order to extend the charge on the battery.
Regarding claim 18, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. However, they do not explicitly teach The electrified vehicle of claim 13, wherein the information comprises an option to enter the power management mode based on the driving progress being the post-arrival stage.
However, Burleigh teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 13, wherein the information comprises an option to enter the power management mode based on the driving progress being the post-arrival stage. (see at least [0017]; "The present invention requires certain entrance criteria to be satisfied to put the system 10 into the stand-by mode. The entrance criteria can be sub-divided into two major classifications, namely, vehicle level entrance criteria and fuel cell module level criteria. The basic vehicle level criteria include, but are not limited to, the key state is crank-to-run or run position, the PRNDL position allows stand-by, the brake switch state allows stand-by, a hybrid vehicle battery state-of-charge (SOC) is greater than a predetermined upper threshold, a vehicle heating, ventilation and air condition (HVAC) system state allows the stand-by mode where no cabin heating or air conditioning is being requested, a vehicle level fault status allows stand-by where no service indicator lamp has been illuminated, the vehicle speed is below a maximum threshold speed, low fuel cell power is required, an economy mode selector switch state is in the economy position, and the distance from home, work or other locations in the navigation system is greater than a threshold.
[0018] These criteria are used to determine if entering the stand-by mode will optimize the overall hybrid system efficiency within the bounds of maintaining passenger comfort. If so, the stand-by mode will be requested at the vehicle level.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Burleigh which teaches initiating a power management mode after the vehicle has arrived at its destination in order to extend the charge on the battery.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Katoh (US 8447452 B2) in view of Braunstein (US 20230196846 A1), Yumita (US 20240067039 A1) and Wehefritz (DE 102021208051 A1) in view of Rogers (US RE40820 E).
Regarding claim 16, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach The electrified vehicle of claim 15, wherein the driving status comprises a remaining distance to the destination and a traction battery state.
However, Rogers teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 15, wherein the driving status comprises a remaining distance to the destination and a traction battery state. (see at least [85, 97]; "In the preferred embodiment, microprocessor 200 is provided with suitable software program instructions in memory so that the vehicle operator can obtain and display information regarding time, date, an alarm function, estimated time of arrival, time on remaining fuel to recharge station, time on remaining fuel to an empty fuel tank, the remaining distance to go on a trip, … In addition, microprocessor 200 may be programmed to display the state of charge measures automatically when the state of charge of the respective battery falls below a preselected level or to display an appropriate message when a diagnostic routine indicates that a problem has been detected. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Rogers which teaches a driving status with the remaining distance to the destination and a battery state in order for the user or controller to be able to gauge if the vehicle can travel the distance to the destination on the current charge.
Regarding claim 17, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. The electrified vehicle of claim 16, wherein the controller is further configured to perform a charging control based on the remaining distance and the traction battery state and further based on receiving a command to execute the power management mode through the option.
However, Rogers teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 16, wherein the controller is further configured to perform a charging control based on the remaining distance and the traction battery state and further based on receiving a command to execute the power management mode through the option. (see at least [85, 97]; "In the preferred embodiment, microprocessor 200 is provided with suitable software program instructions in memory so that the vehicle operator can obtain and display information regarding time, date, an alarm function, estimated time of arrival, time on remaining fuel to recharge station, time on remaining fuel to an empty fuel tank, the remaining distance to go on a trip, … In addition, microprocessor 200 may be programmed to display the state of charge measures automatically when the state of charge of the respective battery falls below a preselected level or to display an appropriate message when a diagnostic routine indicates that a problem has been detected. "). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Rogers which teaches performing a charging control based on remaining distance and battery state and receiving a command to execute the power management mode in order for the vehicle to extend the distance it travels to enable the vehicle to reach the desired destination.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Katoh (US 8447452 B2) in view of Braunstein (US 20230196846 A1), Yumita (US 20240067039 A1) and Wehefritz (DE 102021208051 A1) in view of Staats (US RE40820 E).
Regarding claim 9, Katoh, Braunstein, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Yumita teaches wherein stored location-specific execution history data comprises the execution frequency and the vehicle power consumption associated with the location. They do not explicitly teach The method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of types of locations matches one or more stages of the driving progress. (see at least [0044, 0049]; "The travel history database 132 stores data related to travel histories (operation results) of each of the vehicles 2. More specifically, the travel history database 132 stores data on power consumption and regenerated electric power measured while each vehicle 2 is traveling, for each vehicle type (type/model) and for each of various travel conditions (travel route, vehicle speed, date, day of the week, weather, temperature, etc.). The travel history database 132 may further include other travel conditions that may affect power consumption and regenerated electric power, such as indexes indicating the driver's driving tendency (frequency of sudden acceleration/deceleration, etc.), air conditioning system on/off, tire pressure, traffic congestion, etc…
FIG. 4 is a diagram showing an example of a travel plan of the vehicle 2 in a comparative example. In FIGS. 4 and 5, the horizontal axis represents the distance along the travel route (R1 in this example) from the current location of the vehicle 2 to the destination location. The vertical axis represents the SOC of the battery mounted on the vehicle 2. [0050] In this example, it is assumed that the SOC of the battery is already high at the current location of the vehicle 2. The vehicle 2 travels downhill on the route from D1 to D3. This increases the SOC of the battery. On the route from D4 to D8, the vehicle 2 further travels downhill. As a result, the SOC of the battery further increases and reaches the maximum value MAX (typically MAX=100%). .")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Yumita which teaches classifying and storing location specific execution history in order to increase the efficiency of the battery usage and create an increasingly accurate forecast of the battery life.
Yumita does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of types of locations matches one or more stages of the driving progress,
However, Staats teaches wherein each of the plurality of types of locations matches one or more stages of the driving progress. (see at least [0134]; "The estimated trip loads 900, 902 and onboard stored electric energies are shown alongside a horizontal axis 908 representative of progress along the trip and a vertical axis 910 representative of electric energy, such as electric energy represented in terms of joules, watts, and the like. The trip progress represented by the horizontal axis can be expressed temporally or spatially, such as by time elapsed or distance traveled since the beginning of the trip or since a designated time or location in the trip. The trip progress is segmented in the illustrated example into six segments 912 (e.g., 912A-912F), although the trip may be segmented into fewer or more segments.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Staats which teaches a plurality of locations matching a stage of the driving process in order for the user to assess the status of the vehicle and make appropriate decisions for the trip.
Regarding claim 19, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach The electrified vehicle of claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of types of locations matches one or more stages of the driving progress.
However, Staats teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of types of locations matches one or more stages of the driving progress. (see at least [0134]; "The estimated trip loads 900, 902 and onboard stored electric energies are shown alongside a horizontal axis 908 representative of progress along the trip and a vertical axis 910 representative of electric energy, such as electric energy represented in terms of joules, watts, and the like. The trip progress represented by the horizontal axis can be expressed temporally or spatially, such as by time elapsed or distance traveled since the beginning of the trip or since a designated time or location in the trip. The trip progress is segmented in the illustrated example into six segments 912 (e.g., 912A-912F), although the trip may be segmented into fewer or more segments.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Staats which teaches a plurality of locations matching a stage of the driving process in order for the user to assess the status of the vehicle and make appropriate decisions for the trip.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Katoh (US 8447452 B2) in view of Braunstein (US 20230196846 A1), Yumita (US 20240067039 A1) and Wehefritz (DE 102021208051 A1) in view of Nakamura (US 20230128961).
Regarding claim 10, Katoh, Braunstein, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach The method of claim 1, further comprising outputting a proposal to enter the power management mode based on unavailability of information about the destination and further based on a condition being satisfied for the proposal after the electrified vehicle is parked.
However, Nakamura teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising outputting a proposal to enter the power management mode based on unavailability of information about the destination and further based on a condition being satisfied for the proposal after the electrified vehicle is parked. (see at least [0006]; "The management server includes a processor configured to execute a notification process of notifying a user of the electrified vehicle of promotion information for promoting the charge or discharge, and a memory configured to store a program executable by the processor. The processor is configured to execute the notification process in a case where a first condition and a second condition are satisfied. The processor is configured not to execute the notification process in a case where the first condition or the second condition is not satisfied. The first condition is a condition that a destination of the electrified vehicle is a predetermined place at which the charge or discharge of the electrified vehicle is possible. The second condition is a condition that a request for the charge or discharge is estimated in a period in which the electrified vehicle is present at the predetermined place.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Nakamura which teaches outputting a proposal to enter the power management mode based on unavailability of information about the destination and based on a condition being satisfied for the proposal after the vehicle is parked in order to preserve the charge of the battery in the event the destination does not have a charging or fuel station.
Regarding claim 20, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach The electrified vehicle of claim 11, wherein the controller is further configured to output a proposal to enter the power management mode based on unavailability of information about the destination and further based on the condition for the proposal after the electrified vehicle is parked being satisfied
However, Nakamura teaches The electrified vehicle of claim 11, wherein the controller is further configured to output a proposal to enter the power management mode based on unavailability of information about the destination and further based on the condition for the proposal after the electrified vehicle is parked being satisfied.(see at least [0006]; "The management server includes a processor configured to execute a notification process of notifying a user of the electrified vehicle of promotion information for promoting the charge or discharge, and a memory configured to store a program executable by the processor. The processor is configured to execute the notification process in a case where a first condition and a second condition are satisfied. The processor is configured not to execute the notification process in a case where the first condition or the second condition is not satisfied. The first condition is a condition that a destination of the electrified vehicle is a predetermined place at which the charge or discharge of the electrified vehicle is possible. The second condition is a condition that a request for the charge or discharge is estimated in a period in which the electrified vehicle is present at the predetermined place.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate teachings of Nakamura which teaches outputting a proposal to enter the power management mode based on unavailability of information about the destination and based on a condition being satisfied for the proposal after the vehicle is parked in order to preserve the charge of the battery in the event the destination does not have a charging or fuel station.
Claims 21, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Katoh (US 8447452 B2) in view of Braunstein (US 20230196846 A1), Yumita (US 20240067039 A1) and Wehefritz (DE 102021208051 A1) in further view of Ichikawa (US 10562395 B2).
Regarding claim 21, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to: based on receiving a command to make the reservation for entering the power management mode, driving a powertrain of the electrified vehicle in a charge-oriented control mode that increases a state of charge (SOC) of the traction battery until the destination is reached.
However, Ichikawa teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: based on receiving a command to make the reservation for entering the power management mode, driving a powertrain of the electrified vehicle in a charge-oriented control mode that increases a state of charge (SOC) of the traction battery until the destination is reached. (see at least [18]; "According to the first aspect of the present disclosure, the level of the SOC can be made higher than usual before the arrival at the destination in preparation for the unavailability of the external charging at the destination.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate the teachings of Ichikawa which teaches increasing the charge amount of the battery in order to be able to travel if the charge location does not have charging availability.
Regarding claim 22, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to cause the electrified vehicle to use the stored electrical energy of the traction battery by prohibiting operation of a drive system of the electrified vehicle and supplying power to a non- drive system
However, Ichikawa teaches wherein the controller is further configured to cause the electrified vehicle to use the stored electrical energy of the traction battery by prohibiting operation of a drive system of the electrified vehicle and supplying power to a non- drive system. (see at least [53]; "The CD mode is a control mode in which the SOC of the electric power storage device 15 is consumed. In other words, basically, the electric power that is stored in the electric power storage device 15 (mainly the electric energy resulting from the external charging) is consumed in the CD mode. When the selected mode is the CD mode, operation of the engine 16A for the SOC to be maintained is not performed.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate the teachings of Ichikawa which teaches using stored energy in order to deplete the battery and enhance performance of the battery over time.
Regarding claim 23, Katoh, Yumita and Wehefritz teach the limitations of claim 11 as discussed above. They do not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to cause the electrified vehicle to use the stored electrical energy of the traction battery by suppressing activation of a charging device of the electrified vehicle until a state of charge (SOC) of the traction battery reaches a threshold lower than a center SOC used during driving.
However, Ichikawa teaches wherein the controller is further configured to cause the electrified vehicle to use the stored electrical energy of the traction battery by suppressing activation of a charging device of the electrified vehicle until a state of charge (SOC) of the traction battery reaches a threshold lower than a center SOC used during driving. (see at least [54]; "The CS mode is a control mode in which the SOC is maintained within a predetermined range. When the selected mode is the CS mode, the SOC is maintained within the predetermined range by the engine 16A being operated once the SOC declines and the engine 16A being stopped once the SOC rises. In other words, in the CS mode, the engine 16A is operated for the SOC to be maintained")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Katoh to incorporate the teachings of Ichikawa which teaches suppression of the charging of the battery until a desired SOC is reached in order to maintain health and longevity of the vehicle battery and preserve fuel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664