DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on March 11, 2025 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copies of form PTO-1449).
Drawings
Seven (7) sheets of drawings were filed on September 19, 2024.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract contains more than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet,
apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become
aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-19, and 21-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al (US 6337941 B1), hereafter Yang.
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a multi-conductor ribbon structure (FIG. 2-6) structurally configured to reduce the overall termination time by concentrating bonding residue on a predetermined and/or preferential conductor portion to reduce cleaning time and/or prevent damage to an optical fiber , comprising:
a first conductor portion (sub-unit ribbon 2) ;
a second conductor portion disposed adjacent to the first conductor portion (sub-unit ribbon 1);
a bonding portion (second matrix material 5. FIG. 2) structurally configured to partially or wholly surround at least a portion of the first conductor portion and the second conductor portion (FIG. 2);
wherein the first conductor portion comprises an optical fiber (optical fibers 3) that is structurally configured to be surrounded by at least a portion of a coating having an outer surface portion ( matrix material 4);
wherein the bonding portion includes a separation portion located between the outer surface portion and the second conductor portion (The ribbon is a split type ribbon therefore there would necessarily be a separation portion located between the two conductor portions as depicted in FIG. 6 and annotated FIG. 6. The separation portion is interpreted as the location in which the bonding residue splits);
wherein the bonding portion comprises a bonding material (polyurethane acrylate resin. Column 3 lines 38-39);
wherein the separation portion is structurally configured to lack lateral symmetry between the first conductor portion and the second conductor portion (see annotated figure 6 below);
wherein the separation portion is structurally configured to include a reduced amount of the bonding material located adjacent to the first conductor portion relative to an amount of the bonding material adjacent the second conductor portion so as to provide a preferential separation region between the first conductor portion and the second conductor portion at the first conductor portion (See annotated figure below);
and wherein the bonding portion is structurally configured to preferentially detach or separate at the preferential separation region, in a predetermined manner (Fracture points. Column 7 lines 7-10 ), in response to a separation force that urges the first conductor portion away from the second conductor portion so as to reduce cleaning times for termination by concentrating bonding residue on a predetermined and/or preferential conductor portion and/or prevent damage to the optical fiber.
When a structure recited in a reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01. Yang teaches split type ribbon that is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, therefore the claimed property of “reduce cleaning times for termination by concentrating bonding residue on a predetermined and/or preferential conductor portion and/or prevent damage to the optical fiber” is presumed to be inherent. The burden is on the applicant to show that the prior art device does not inherently possess the claimed properties. See MPEP 2112.01. The examiner notes that if the claimed structure does not inherently possess the claimed properties, then the claims would be incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections necessary to clearly and precisely define the invention, wherein the structure necessary to provide the claimed properties is essential.
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the device of claim 1. Yang further discloses the preferential detachment or separation at the preferential separation region is structurally configured to provide average performance and optical attenuation characteristics between the individual conductors (Column 2 lines 12-33).
Regarding claim 4, Yang discloses the device of claim 1. Yang further discloses the separation portion is structurally configured to lack symmetry in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction (see annotated FIG. 6 above) .
Regarding claim 5, Yang discloses the device of claim 1. Yang further discloses the first conductor portion comprises a first optical fiber and wherein the second conductor portion comprises a second optical fiber (See annotated FIG. 6 above) .
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses the device of claim 1. Yang further discloses an additional conductor portion (third sub-unit ribbon 1”. FIG 8) adjacent to the second conductor portion;
wherein the additional conductor portion comprises an optical fiber (Optical fiber 3) that is configured to be at least partially surrounded by a coating portion having an outer surface portion (Matrix material 4) ;
wherein the bonding portion includes a second separation portion between the outer surface portion of the additional conductor portion and the outer surface portion of the second conductor portion (see annotated FIG. 8) ; wherein the second separation portion includes a reduced amount of the bonding material adjacent to the additional conductor portion relative to the amount of the bonding material adjacent the second conductor portion so as to provide a second preferential separation region between the additional conductor portion and the second conductor portion (see annotated FIG. 8);
and wherein the bonding portion is structurally configured to preferentially detach, or separate, at the second preferential separation region in a predetermined manner, (Fracture points. Column 7 lines 7-10 ) in response to a separation force that urges the additional conductor portion and the second conductor portion away from one another so as to reduce cleaning times for installation by concentrating bonding residue on predicted and/or preferential conductors and/or prevent damage to the optical fibers.
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses the device of claim 6. Yang further discloses the second conductor portion comprises a second optical fiber, and wherein the additional conductor portion comprises a third optical fiber (FIG. 8) .
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses a multi-conductor ribbon structure (FIG. 2-6) structurally configured to reduce the overall termination time by concentrating bonding residue on a predetermined and/or preferential conductor portion to reduce cleaning time and/or prevent damage to an optical fiber, comprising:
an adjacent conductor portion (sub-unit ribbon 2) ;
a bonding portion (second matrix material 5. FIG. 2) structurally configured to partially or wholly surround at least a portion of the adjacent conductor portion( see annotated figure above);
wherein the adjacent conductor portion comprises an optical fiber (optical fibers 3) that is structurally configured to be surrounded by at least a portion of a coating having an outer surface portion (matrix material 4);
wherein the bonding portion includes a separation portion located between the outer surface portion of the adjacent conductor portion (The ribbon is a split type ribbon therefore there would therefore necessarily be a separation portion located between the two conductor portions as depicted in FIG. 6 and annotated FIG. 6. The separation portion is interpreted as the location in which the bonding residue splits);
wherein the bonding portion comprises a bonding material (polyurethane acrylate resin. Column 3 lines 38-39);
wherein the separation portion is structurally configured to include a reduced amount of the bonding material located adjacent to a first portion of the adjacent conductor portion relative to an amount of the bonding material adjacent a second portion of the adjacent conductor portion so as to provide a preferential separation region between the first portion and the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion at the first portion of the adjacent conductor portion (See annotated figures above) ;
and wherein the bonding portion is structurally configured to preferentially detach or separate at the preferential separation region in a predetermined manner (Fracture points. Column 7 lines 7-10) , in response to a separation force that urges one or more conductor portions of the adjacent conductor portion away from one another so as to reduce cleaning times for termination by concentrating bonding residue on a predetermined and/or preferential conductor portion and/or prevent damage to the optical fiber.
When a structure recited in a reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01. Yang teaches split type ribbon that is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, therefore the claimed property of “reduce cleaning times for termination by concentrating bonding residue on a predetermined and/or preferential conductor portion and/or prevent damage to the optical fiber” is presumed to be inherent. The burden is on the applicant to show that the prior art device does not inherently possess the claimed properties. See MPEP 2112.01. The examiner notes that if the claimed structure does not inherently possess the claimed properties, then the claims would be incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections necessary to clearly and precisely define the invention, wherein the structure necessary to provide the claimed properties is essential.
Regarding claim 9, Yang discloses the device of claim 8. Yang further discloses the preferential detachment or separation at the preferential separation region is structurally configured to provide average performance and optical attenuation characteristics between the individual conductors(Column 2 lines 12-33).
Regarding claim 10, Yang discloses the device of claim 8. Yang further discloses the separation portion is structurally configured to lack lateral symmetry between the adjacent conductors(see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 12, Yang discloses the device of claim 10. Yang further discloses the separation portion is structurally configured to lack symmetry in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 13, Yang discloses the device of claim 8. Yang further discloses the first portion of the adjacent conductor portion comprises a first conductor and wherein the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion comprises a second conductor (see annotated figures above).
Regarding claim 14, Yang discloses the device of claim 13. Yang further discloses the first conductor comprises a first optical fiber and the second conductor comprises a second optical fiber (optical fibers 3).
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses the device claim 8. Yang further discloses an additional conductor adjacent to the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion (third sub-unit ribbon 1”. FIG 8);
wherein the additional conductor comprises an optical fiber (Optical fiber 3) that is configured to be at least partially surrounded by a coating portion having an outer surface portion (matrix material 4) ;
wherein the bonding portion includes a second separation portion between the outer surface portion of the additional conductor portion and the outer surface portion of the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion (see annotated FIG. 8);
wherein the second separation portion includes a reduced amount of the bonding material adjacent to the additional conductor portion relative to the amount of the bonding material adjacent the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion so as to provide a second preferential separation region between the additional conductor portion and the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion (see annotated FIG. 8) ;
and wherein the bonding portion is structurally configured to preferentially detach, or separate, at the second preferential separation region in a predetermined manner (Fracture points. Column 7 lines 7-10), in response to a separation force that urges the additional cable and the second one of the adjacent cables away from one another so as to reduce cleaning times for installation by concentrating bonding residue on predicted and/or preferential conductors and/or prevent damage to the optical fibers.
Regarding claim 16, Yang discloses the device of claim 15. Yang further discloses the first portion of the adjacent conductor portion comprises a first conductor and wherein the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion comprises a second conductor (FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Yang discloses a multi-conductor ribbon structure (FIG. 2-6) structurally configured to reduce the overall termination time by concentrating bonding residue on a predetermined and/or preferential conductor portion to reduce cleaning time and/or prevent damage to an optical fiber, comprising:
an adjacent conductor portion (sub-unit ribbon 2) ;
a bonding portion (second matrix material 5. FIG. 2) structurally configured to partially or wholly surround at least a portion of the adjacent conductor portion( see annotated figure above);
wherein the adjacent conductor portion comprises an optical fiber (optical fibers 3) that is structurally configured to be surrounded by at least a portion of a coating having an outer surface portion (matrix material 4);
wherein the bonding portion includes a separation portion located between the outer surface portion of the adjacent conductor portion (The ribbon is a split type ribbon therefore there would therefore necessarily be a separation portion located between the two conductor portions as depicted in FIG. 6 and annotated FIG. 6. The separation portion is interpreted as the location in which the bonding residue splits);
wherein a portion of the bonding portion located adjacent to a first portion of the adjacent conductor portion is smaller than a portion of the bonding portion adjacent a second portion of the adjacent conductor portion so as to provide a preferential separation region between the first portion and the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion at the first portion of the adjacent conductor portion (See annotated figures above) ;
and wherein the bonding portion is structurally configured to preferentially detach or separate at the preferential separation region in a predetermined manner (Fracture points. Column 7 lines 7-10) , in response to a separation force that urges one or more conductor portions of the adjacent conductor portion away from one another so as to reduce cleaning times for termination by concentrating bonding residue on a predetermined and/or preferential conductor portion and/or prevent damage to the adjacent conductor portion.
When a structure recited in a reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01. Yang teaches split type ribbon that is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, therefore the claimed property of “reduce cleaning times for termination by concentrating bonding residue on a predetermined and/or preferential conductor portion and/or prevent damage to the optical fiber” is presumed to be inherent. The burden is on the applicant to show that the prior art device does not inherently possess the claimed properties. See MPEP 2112.01. The examiner notes that if the claimed structure does not inherently possess the claimed properties, then the claims would be incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections necessary to clearly and precisely define the invention, wherein the structure necessary to provide the claimed properties is essential.
The examiner notes that if the claimed structure does not inherently possess the claimed properties, then the claims would be incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections necessary to clearly and precisely define the invention, wherein the structure necessary to provide the claimed properties is essential.
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses the device of claim 17. Yang further discloses the preferential detachment or separation at the preferential separation region is structurally configured to provide average performance and optical attenuation characteristics between the individual conductors (Column 2 lines 12-33).
Regarding claim 19, Yang discloses the device of claim 17. Yang further discloses the separation portion is structurally configured to lack lateral symmetry between the adjacent conductors (See annotated figures above) .
Regarding claim 21, Yang discloses the device of claim 17. Yang further discloses the separation portion is structurally configured to lack symmetry in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction (see annotated figures above).
Regarding claim 22, Yang discloses the device of claim 17. Yang further discloses the first portion of the adjacent conductor portion comprises a first conductor and wherein the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion comprises a second conductor (See annotated figures above).
Regarding claim 23, Yang discloses the device of claim 22. Yang further discloses the first conductor comprises a first optical fiber and the second conductor comprises a second optical fiber (See annotated figures above).
Regarding claim 24, Yang discloses the device claim 17. Yang further discloses an additional conductor adjacent to the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion (third sub-unit ribbon 1”. FIG 8);
wherein the additional conductor comprises an optical fiber (Optical fiber 3) that is configured to be at least partially surrounded by a coating portion having an outer surface portion (matrix material 4) ;
wherein the bonding portion includes a second separation portion between the outer surface portion of the additional conductor portion and the outer surface portion of the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion (see annotated FIG. 8);
wherein the second separation portion includes a reduced amount of the bonding material adjacent to the additional conductor portion relative to the amount of the bonding material adjacent the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion so as to provide a second preferential separation region between the additional conductor portion and the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion (see annotated FIG. 8) ;
and wherein the bonding portion is structurally configured to preferentially detach, or separate, at the second preferential separation region in a predetermined manner (Fracture points. Column 7 lines 7-10), in response to a separation force that urges the additional cable and the second one of the adjacent cables away from one another so as to reduce cleaning times for installation by concentrating bonding residue on predicted and/or preferential conductors and/or prevent damage to the adjacent and additional conductor portions.
Regarding claim 25, Yang discloses the device of claim 24. Yang further discloses the first portion of the adjacent conductor portion comprises a first conductor and wherein the second portion of the adjacent conductor portion comprises a second conductor (FIG. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 6337941 B1), hereafter Yang and in view of Conrad et al. (US20030223714A1), hereafter Conrad.
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the device of claim 1. Yang fails to disclose the separation portion is structurally configured to be symmetrical in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction.
Conrad teaches the separation portion is structurally configured to be symmetrical in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction (See annotated FIG. 3a).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Yang by configuring the separation portion to be symmetrical in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction, as taught by Conrad, in order to improve ribbon planarity control and provide uniform separation characteristics and balanced twist performance across the ribbon subunits (Par. [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Yang discloses the device of claim 10. Yang fails to disclose the separation portion is structurally configured to be symmetrical in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction.
Conrad teaches the separation portion is structurally configured to be symmetrical in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction (See annotated FIG. 3a).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Yang by configuring the separation portion to be symmetrical in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction, as taught by Conrad, in order to improve ribbon planarity control and provide uniform separation characteristics and balanced twist performance across the ribbon subunits (Par. [0039]).
Regarding claim 20, Yang discloses the device of claim 19. Yang fails to disclose the separation portion is structurally configured to be symmetrical in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction.
Conrad teaches the separation portion is structurally configured to be symmetrical in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction (See annotated FIG. 3a).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Yang by configuring the separation portion to be symmetrical in a direction perpendicular to the lateral direction, as taught by Conrad, in order to improve ribbon planarity control and provide uniform separation characteristics and balanced twist performance across the ribbon subunits (Par. [0039]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Itaru et al. (JP2014074910A) see FIG. 10.
Paap et al. (US 7274846 B1) See entire disclosure
/TAJANAE NICOLE GREEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874