DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAYATO (JP2015-199986A, see also machine translation) in view of IMAE (JP 2005146370 A, see also machine translation) and APPLIED MATERIALS (KR 10-1741447, from IDS, see also machine translation, henceforth named as “APPLIED”).
Re 1, HAYATO teaches of an ultra-thin lithium foil manufacturing apparatus using molten metal droplet spraying (see Fig. 1), comprising:
a crucible (see melting unit 11 with heating mechanism 12) configured to apply heat to molten metal supplied from an external source to maintain a molten state of metal;
a nozzle portion (nozzle 14) installed at one end of the crucible to eject the molten metal;
a pressurizing pipe (see pressure application unit 13, that can be a compressor) coupled to the crucible to transmit a pressurizing force to the molten metal, wherein
HAYATO does not teach of: a piezoelectric transducer installed at the other end of the crucible to transmit an excitation force to the molten metal in the crucible at a frequency set by a function generator; and
Regarding the piezoelectric transducer, IMAE teaches of formation in the battery arts for lithium-ion battery manufacturing, and teaching of forming molten metal droplet (see Fig. 1 below), comprising:
a crucible (1) configured to apply heat to molten metal supplied from an external source to maintain a molten state of metal (melt 8);
a nozzle portion (orifice 7) installed at one end of the crucible to eject the molten metal;
a piezoelectric transducer (piezoelectric element 4 and vibrating bar 5) installed at the other end of the crucible to transmit an excitation force to the molten metal in the crucible at a frequency set by a function generator; and
a pressurizing pipe (gas inlet 3 for pressurized gas) coupled to the crucible to transmit a pressurizing force to the molten metal.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the crucible of HAYATO with the piezoelectric transducer of IMAE that allows to transmit an excitation force to the molten metal, and thus “Due to the transmission of this vibration, the melt ejected from the orifice 7 is divided into uniform droplets.” (see page 4 of translation).
Regarding the crucible and the nozzle portion move within a set range while the molten metal is ejected through the nozzle portion.
Whereupon, the claimed teaching of the movement of the crucible and nozzle portion is noted as seen in the APPLIED reference. It is noted that in the HAYATO reference instead teaches of the movement of the target area instead, see Fig. 1. Whereupon, the APPLIED reference teaches of the dispenser 406 (which corresponds to the claimed crucible) along with a nozzle 420, that can be moved within a set range while the molten material is ejected, see Figs. 3-4, see teaching of the movement along the positioning via actuator across the chamber 402 (see page 10 of APPLIED translation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modify the crucible and nozzle of the modified HAYATO with the additional movement as taught by APPLIED allowing for dispensing across a film over all or a substantial portion of the substrate disposed on the substrate support 404 (see page 10 of APPLIED translation)
Re 2 (upon 1), wherein the crucible comprises:
Wherein the HAYATO reference teaches of the crucible comprises:
at least one or more heaters (see heating mechanism 12, sheath heater);
a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the molten metal or an outer surface of the crucible (heating mechanism 12 being controlled via heating control device 90).
HAYATO does not teach of a vibrating shaft configured to vibrate due to the excitation force transmitted from the piezoelectric transducer.
Wherein IMAE teaches of the crucible comprises:
at least one or more heaters (heater 2);
a temperature sensor (thermocouple 6) configured to measure a temperature of the molten metal or an outer surface of the crucible; and
a vibrating shaft (vibrating bar 5) configured to vibrate due to the excitation force transmitted from the piezoelectric transducer (piezoelectric element 4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the crucible of HAYATO with the vibrating shaft of IMAE that allows to transmit an excitation force to the molten metal and thus allowing for the ability to divide the melt ejected into uniform droplets, see page 4 of IMAE translation.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAYATO in view of IMAE and APPLIED as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SHIBAYAMA (US 2021/0178478 A1).
Re 3 (upon 1), wherein HAYATO reference does not specifically teach of the nozzle portion comprises: an adapter coupled to one end of the crucible; and a nozzle with a certain diameter coupled to the adapter to eject the molten metal inside the crucible to the outside.
Whereupon, in SHIBIYAMA teaches of the crucible apparatus 10 having a crucible 11, and see in [0059-0062] of further having an adapter (see orifice part 17b that is seen as equivalent to the claimed adapter) that is connected to the crucible, whereupon the nozzle 17a is attachable/detachable to the to the nozzle fixing hole 11a or the upper end of the molten metal nozzle body 17a, see specifically in [0061], the adapter further being attached to the metal nozzle body 17a, see Figs. 10-11.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modify the nozzle of the modified HAYATO with the adapter portion as taught by SHIBIYAMA as known manner of assembly of the nozzle to the crucible, as it allows for easy to exchange for the orifice part and of the nozzle, see in SHIBIYAMA [0061].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 form, more specifically the US references provided are generally to teach of the molten metal droplets form crucibles for spraying/forming a layer.
/EMMANUEL S LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744