DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
IMAGE FORMING APPARATUS, METHOD OF CONTROLLING IMAGE FORMING APPARATUS, AND STORAGE MEDIUM COMPRISING DETERMINING WHETHER TO STORE DATA IN A FIRST STORAGE UNIT OR A SECOND STORAGE UNIT WHEN DETECTING A RECEIVED FORMAT OF THE PRINT DATA.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: FIRST STORAGE UNIT, SECOND STORAGE UNIT, RECEPTION UNIT AND CONTROL UNIT in claims 1-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US Pub 2015/0153986) in view of Iida (US Pub 2022/0156020).
Re claim 1: Lin discloses an image forming apparatus comprising:
a first storage unit (interpretation: The forced hold region 301 is a storage region in which print data received from the PC 102 is temporarily stored in a case where the image forming apparatus 101 is set to operate in the forced hold mode, which is taught in ¶ [43]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for the claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) configured to store print data, a print setting of the print data being unchangeable by a user (e.g. the forcible reservation area is considered as the first storage unit area that print data and print settings that are not changeable by a user since an authentication of the data is applied in order to print the data. This is taught in ¶ [48].);
[0047] FIG. 4 is a conceptual view illustrating sections of storage areas provided in the HDD 204. The HDD 204 includes a forcible reservation area 1101, a box area 1102, and the other area 1103.
[0048] The forcible reservation area 1101 serves as, when the MFP 102 is set to operate in the forcible reservation mode, a storage area for temporarily storing print data received from the PC 101. An instruction to print the print data stored in the forcible reservation area 1101 can be issued, in view of security, only by a user authenticated by an authentication unit (IC card authentication, or keyboard authentication). More specifically, to the print data sent from the PC 101, the user name of the user logging in the PC 101 is added, and the user name is associated with the print data as a job owner name to be stored in the forcible reservation area 1101. When the job owner name stored in the forcible reservation area 1101 corresponds to the user name of the user authenticated by the above-described authentication processing, printing of the image data is permitted.
a second storage unit (interpretation: The hold region 302 is a storage region for storing print data designated by the PC 102 to be stored in the hold region 302. The print data stored in the hold region 302 can be printed, edited, and deleted regardless of whether the user is the user who has been authenticated by the authentication means, which is taught in ¶ [44]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) configured to store print data, a print setting of the print data being changeable by the user (e.g. the box area is considered similar to the second storage unit that stores print data and print settings that can be edited are associated with the enlargement or reduction of the image, which is shown in figure 12. This can occur on the operation panel or this screen shown on the user PC, which is explained in ¶ [49] and [71].);
[0049] The box area 1102 serves as a storage area for storing print data specified to be stored in the box area by the printer driver of the PC 101. The print data stored in the box area 1102 can be printed, sent, edited, or deleted regardless of whether the user is authenticated by the authentication unit or not. The data can be, however, locked with a password or encrypted as necessary.
[0071] FIG. 12 illustrates a screen 1300 for specifying a document in the PC 101 from the operation unit 206 in the MFP 102 to print (pull print) the document. The screen in FIG. 12 is displayed on the operation unit 206. The MFP 102 temporarily stores a document 1301 in the PC 101 via a network 311 into the RAM 202. The MFP 102 reads the document 1301 stored in the RAM 202, and displays it on the operation unit 206. When the user presses a print button 1302, the MFP 102 converts the document 1301 into print data, and performs printing by the printer 209. Other types of pull printing can also be employed, however, in this exemplary embodiment, the description is omitted.
a reception unit (interpretation: In step S901, first, the CPU 201 detects reception of data of a print job from the PC 102 via the network I/F 210, and analyzes the job ticket 801 added to the received data of the print job, which is taught in ¶ [67]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) configured to receive print data (e,g. the MFP receives print data from a PC, which is taught in ¶ [32].); and
[0032] The CPU 201 performs various kinds of information processing according to a control program, and controls the operation unit 206, the scanner 208, and the printer 209. The CPU 201 also controls the network I/F 210 to perform communication processing with an external device.
a control unit (interpretation: The control unit 200 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 201, a random-access memory (RAM) 202, a read-only memory (ROM) 203, a hard disk drive (HDD) 204, an operation unit interface (I/F) 205, a device I/F 207, and a network I/F 210, which are communicably connected to each other via a bus 211. The CPU 201 executes various kinds of information processing in accordance with a control program, and controls the operation unit 206, the scanner 208, and the printer 209. Additionally, the CPU 201 controls the network I/F 210 to perform processing of communicating with an external apparatus, which is taught in ¶ [24] and [25]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) configured to:
in a case where a mode of storing the print data received by the reception unit and printing the stored print data after acceptance of a print instruction from the user is set and a format of the print data received by the reception unit is a first format, perform control to store the print data in the first format in the first storage unit (e.g. when the printer is set into forced reservation mode, the printer can receive a print instruction and it is forced to be stored in order for a user to enter in a print instruction with authorizing information, which is explained in ¶ [47] and [48] above. The data is received in a PDL format, which is taught in ¶ [28].), and
[0028] FIG. 2 illustrates a hardware configuration of the PC 101. The PC 101 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 21. A random access memory (RAM) 22 provides a work area of the CPU 21. An auxiliary storage unit 23 stores a control program. The auxiliary storage unit 23 can be a hard disk or a compact disc read-only memory (CD-ROM). The auxiliary storage unit 23 stores a printer driver program (hereinafter, referred to as a printer driver). The CPU 21 executes a printer driver so that the PC 101 generates page description language (PDL) data based on document data created by a document creation application, and sends the data to the MFP 102.
in a case where the mode is set and the format of the print data received by the reception unit is a format, perform control to store the print data in the format in the second storage unit (e.g. the PC sends a job in a first PDL format. If the print job designates the “SAVE” option, this option requires a user to designate the job for editing or printing. In order to print the job, the user has to order the printing at the operation unit at the MFP. This occurs to the PDL data received and the box are is considered as the second storage unit area, which is taught in ¶ [28] and [54].).
[0054] If "SAVE" has been set as the output method 601, the print data sent by the printer driver of the PC 101 is stored in the box area 1102 of the MFP 102. As described above, if "SAVE" has been set as the output method 601 at the PC 101 side, regardless of whether the MFP 102 is operating in the forcible reservation mode or not, the print data is stored in the box area 1102. To the data stored in the box area 1102, the user can issue an instruction of processing such as printing, editing, and deletion via the operation unit 206.
However, Lin fails to specifically teach the features of second format.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Iida. Similar to the primary reference, Iida discloses determining if JDF is received (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Iida discloses second format (e.g. the system discloses determining if JDF is received in the system and stores the JDF data in a specific area for the JDF data to be stored, which is taught in ¶ [91].).
[0091] The print control unit further includes a job execution unit 812 and the PDF function program 407. The job execution unit is made up of an image generating unit 813 and a print setting unit 814. The print setting unit receives job data, that is, JDF 809, PDF 808, and PRX, transmitted from the job registration request unit 806 and provides an instruction for an image generating process to the image generating unit 813. The print setting unit also provides an instruction for a process of analyzing the received PDF 808 to the PDF function program 407. The print setting unit 814 provides an instruction to the inspection unit 214 to perform inspection for quality requirements items of the PRX 810 required for a product produced. The PDF function program 407 transmits intermediate data (not shown) generated after analysis to the image generating unit 813 and executes the following image forming process. In other words, the image generating unit 813 provides an instruction for the size and count by type of sheets used in a print process to the sheet count program 409, and executes a process of forming an image of intermediate data (not shown) generated after analysis on the printing unit 815. The inspection unit 214 executes a process of inspecting an image generated on a sheet by the printing unit 815 and registers the result in the quality report creation unit 817.
Therefore, in view of Iida, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of a second format, incorporated in the device of Lin, in order to determine whether JDF data is received and make changes to the JDF data to make sure correct settings are received, which improves the inspection of the data and ensures correct data is used (as stated in Iida ¶ [60]).
Re claim 2: However, Lin fails to specifically teach the features of the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second format is a job definition format (JDF).
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Iida. Similar to the primary reference, Iida discloses determining if JDF is received (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Iida discloses wherein the second format is a job definition format (JDF) (e.g. the system discloses determining if JDF is received in the system and stores the JDF data in a specific area for the JDF data to be stored, which is taught in ¶ [91] above.).
Therefore, in view of Iida, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the second format is a job definition format (JDF), incorporated in the device of Lin, in order to determine whether JDF data is received and make changes to the JDF data to make sure correct settings are received, which improves the inspection of the data and ensures correct data is used (as stated in Iida ¶ [60]).
Re claim 3: Lin discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the mode is not set, the control unit is configured to execute printing of the print data received by the reception unit without accepting the print instruction from the user (e.g. when a forced reservation mode is not set, print data is output without receiving an instruction from a user, which is taught in ¶ [63] and [64].).
[0063] In step S7025, the CPU 201, to check an operation mode of the MFP, acquires the setting value stored in the RAM 202. The setting value has been set by the administrator who performed the setting on the setting screen in FIG. 8, and the setting value is read from the HDD 204 into the RAM 202 at the time of the start of the MFP 102. In step S7030, the CPU 201, based on the acquired setting value, determines whether the MFP 102 is operating in the forcible reservation mode. If the CPU 201 determines that the MFP 102 is not operating in the forcible reservation mode (NO in step S7030), the CPU 201 processes the print data according to the output method included in the command received with the print data. Specifically, if the processing type 902 in the command has been specified to store the data in the box area 1102 (YES in step S7050), in step S7060, the CPU 201 stores the received print data in the box area 1102 in the HDD 204. If the processing type 902 in the command received with the print data has been specified to print the data (NO in step S7050), in step S7070, the CPU 201 instructs the printer 209 to print the received print data.
[0064] If the CPU 201 determines that the MFP 102 is operating in the forcible reservation mode (YES in step S7030), in step S7032, based on the command analyzed in step S7020, the CPU 201 determines whether the received print data is an application ID of the printer driver. If the CPU 201 determines that the print data is not an application ID of the printer driver (NO in step S7032), in step S7070, the CPU 201 does not reserve the received print data in the forcible reservation area 1101, and instructs the printer 209 to print the data.
Re claim 4: However, Lin fails to specifically teach the features of the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the print setting is a setting of a number of copies.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Iida. Similar to the primary reference, Iida discloses determining if JDF is received (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Iida discloses wherein the print setting is a setting of a number of copies (e.g. the system discloses changing the number of copies, the stapling of documents, forming an image on both sides of a document or changing paper type, which is taught in ¶ [154]-[156], [94] and [95]. In addition, this can be applied to a partial aspect of the document or whole document.).
[0154] Job ticket includes information as follows. In other words, Job ticket includes the number of pages (1201) included in a copy, global job print parameters 1202, and partition job print parameters (1206, 1208).
[0155] The global job print parameters 1202 include a total number of copies printed 1203 and a media setting 1204 used in a global job. The partition job print parameters (1206, 1208) include page range information (1205, 1209) designated as a partition, and a media setting (1207, 1210) used as a partition.
[0156] Actual details of settings of the media setting 1204 used in a global job and the media settings (1207, 1210) used in part of a job are defined in media tags (1211, 1214, 1217). The media tags (1211, 1214, 1217) further include setting information including media types (1213, 1216, 1219), media sizes (1212, 1215, 1218), and the like.
[0094] A post-processing unit 905 is further installed on the downstream end of the inspection unit 904. In the post-processing unit 905, printed sheets are subjected to processing, including a binding process, such as stapling, a perforating process, such as punching, and the like. One example of the type, number, and connection order of constituent apparatuses that make up the image forming apparatus 104 shown in the drawing is shown; however, the configuration is not limited to the example shown in the drawing.
[0095] FIG. 9B is a configuration view for showing the internal configuration of the inspection unit 904. A printed sheet is conveyed from an apparatus corresponding to the one upstream of the inspection unit 904 to a conveying path 906. A first inspection unit 907 and a second inspection unit 908 for inspecting image information formed on a conveyed sheet are respectively placed above and below the sheet. This is a configuration to inspect images respectively formed on the front and back surfaces of a sheet at the same time. The first inspection unit 907 and the second inspection unit 908 in the present embodiment each are made up of a contact image sensor placed parallel to a main scanning direction for a sheet conveyed to the conveying path 906. Each of the first inspection unit 907 and the second inspection unit 908 each made up of the contact image sensor continuously reads an image on the sheet conveyed to the conveying path 906 in the main scanning direction in step with the conveying speed of the sheet and highly accurately acquires planar image information formed on a sheet. In other words, the first inspection unit 907 and the second inspection unit 908 are capable of detecting defects of an image, such as misregistration of an image and a stain, of image information formed on a sheet, and inspecting an image, such as the reading accuracy of a barcode.
Therefore, in view of Iida, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the print setting is a setting of a number of copies, incorporated in the device of Lin, in order to determine whether JDF data is received and make changes to the JDF data to make sure correct settings are received, which improves the inspection of the data and ensures correct data is used (as stated in Iida ¶ [60]).
Re claim 5: However, Lin fails to specifically teach the features of the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the print setting is a setting of stapling.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Iida. Similar to the primary reference, Iida discloses determining if JDF is received (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Iida discloses wherein the print setting is a setting of stapling (e.g. the system discloses changing the number of copies, the stapling of documents, forming an image on both sides of a document or changing paper type, which is taught in ¶ [155], [156], [94] and [95]. In addition, this can be applied to a partial aspect of the document or whole document.).
Therefore, in view of Iida, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the print setting is a setting of stapling, incorporated in the device of Lin, in order to determine whether JDF data is received and make changes to the JDF data to make sure correct settings are received, which improves the inspection of the data and ensures correct data is used (as stated in Iida ¶ [60]).
Re claim 6: However, Lin fails to specifically teach the features of the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second storage unit is configured to be capable of changing a print setting of a whole of the stored print data and changing a print setting of partial pages of the stored print data.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Iida. Similar to the primary reference, Iida discloses determining if JDF is received (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Iida discloses wherein the second storage unit is configured to be capable of changing a print setting of a whole of the stored print data and changing a print setting of partial pages of the stored print data (e.g. the system discloses changing the number of copies, the stapling of documents, forming an image on both sides of a document or changing paper type, which is taught in ¶ [155], [156], [94] and [95]. In addition, this can be applied to a partial aspect of the document or whole document.).
Therefore, in view of Iida, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the second storage unit is configured to be capable of changing a print setting of a whole of the stored print data and changing a print setting of partial pages of the stored print data, incorporated in the device of Lin, in order to determine whether JDF data is received and make changes to the JDF data to make sure correct settings are received, which improves the inspection of the data and ensures correct data is used (as stated in Iida ¶ [60]).
Re claim 7: However, Lin fails to specifically teach the features of the image forming apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the print setting of the partial pages of the print data is a setting of a type of paper to be used in printing.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Iida. Similar to the primary reference, Iida discloses determining if JDF is received (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Iida discloses wherein the print setting of the partial pages of the print data is a setting of a type of paper to be used in printing (e.g. the system discloses changing the number of copies, the stapling of documents, forming an image on both sides of a document or changing paper type, which is taught in ¶ [155], [156], [94] and [95]. In addition, this can be applied to a partial aspect of the document or whole document.).
Therefore, in view of Iida, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the print setting of the partial pages of the print data is a setting of a type of paper to be used in printing, incorporated in the device of Lin, in order to determine whether JDF data is received and make changes to the JDF data to make sure correct settings are received, which improves the inspection of the data and ensures correct data is used (as stated in Iida ¶ [60]).
Re claim 8: However, Lin fails to specifically teach the features of the image forming apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the print setting of the partial pages of the print data is a setting of double-sided print.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Iida. Similar to the primary reference, Iida discloses determining if JDF is received (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Iida discloses wherein the print setting of the partial pages of the print data is a setting of double-sided print (e.g. the system discloses changing the number of copies, the stapling of documents, forming an image on both sides of a document or changing paper type, which is taught in ¶ [155], [156], [94] and [95]. In addition, this can be applied to a partial aspect of the document or whole document.).
Therefore, in view of Iida, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the print setting of the partial pages of the print data is a setting of double-sided print, incorporated in the device of Lin, in order to determine whether JDF data is received and make changes to the JDF data to make sure correct settings are received, which improves the inspection of the data and ensures correct data is used (as stated in Iida ¶ [60]).
Re claim 9: Lin discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the print setting of the partial pages of the print data is a setting of image processing (e.g. the user can set for enlargement or reduction of the sheet within the job, which is seen in figure 12 and taught in ¶ [71] above.).
Re claim 10: Lin discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the second storage unit is designated in the print data received by the reception unit, the control unit is configured to perform control to store the print data in the second storage unit regardless of the format of the print data (e.g. when forced reservation mode is not set and the job designates box area for storage, the job is stored within the box area to be held, which is taught in ¶ [54] above).
Re claim 11: Lin discloses a method of controlling an image forming apparatus including
at least a first storage unit configured to store print data, a print setting of the print data being unchangeable by a user (e.g. the forcible reservation area is considered as the first storage unit area that print data and print settings that are not changeable by a user since an authentication of the data is applied in order to print the data. This is taught in ¶ [48].);, and
a second storage unit configured to store print data, a print setting of the print data being changeable by the user (e.g. the box area is considered similar to the second storage unit that stores print data and print settings that can be edited are associated with the enlargement or reduction of the image, which is shown in figure 12. This can occur on the operation panel or this screen shown on the user PC, which is explained in ¶ [49] and [71].),
the method comprising:
receiving print data (e,g. the MFP receives print data from a PC, which is taught in ¶ [32].); and
performing, in a case where a mode of storing the received print data and printing the stored print data after acceptance of a print instruction from the user is set and a format of the received print data is a first format, control to store the print data in the first format in the first storage unit (e.g. when the printer is set into forced reservation mode, the printer can receive a print instruction and it is forced to be stored in order for a user to enter in a print instruction with authorizing information, which is explained in ¶ [47] and [48] above. The data is received in a PDL format, which is taught in ¶ [28].), and
in a case where the mode is set and the format of the received print data is a format, control to store the print data in the format in the second storage unit (e.g. the PC sends a job in a first PDL format. If the print job designates the “SAVE” option, this option requires a user to designate the job for editing or printing. In order to print the job, the user has to order the printing at the operation unit at the MFP. This occurs to the PDL data received and the box are is considered as the second storage unit area, which is taught in ¶ [28] and [54] above.).
However, Lin fails to specifically teach the features of second format.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Iida. Similar to the primary reference, Iida discloses determining if JDF is received (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Iida discloses second format (e.g. the system discloses determining if JDF is received in the system and stores the JDF data in a specific area for the JDF data to be stored, which is taught in ¶ [91].).
Therefore, in view of Iida, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of a second format, incorporated in the device of Lin, in order to determine whether JDF data is received and make changes to the JDF data to make sure correct settings are received, which improves the inspection of the data and ensures correct data is used (as stated in Iida ¶ [60]).
Re claim 12: Lin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs including instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an image forming apparatus including
at least a first storage unit configured to store print data, a print setting of the print data being unchangeable by a user (e.g. the forcible reservation area is considered as the first storage unit area that print data and print settings that are not changeable by a user since an authentication of the data is applied in order to print the data. This is taught in ¶ [48].), and
a second storage unit configured to store print data, a print setting of the print data being changeable by the user (e.g. the box area is considered similar to the second storage unit that stores print data and print settings that can be edited are associated with the enlargement or reduction of the image, which is shown in figure 12. This can occur on the operation panel or this screen shown on the user PC, which is explained in ¶ [49] and [71].),
cause the image forming apparatus to perform a method comprising:
receiving print data (e,g. the MFP receives print data from a PC, which is taught in ¶ [32].); and
performing, in a case where a mode of storing the received print data and printing the stored print data after acceptance of a print instruction from the user is set and a format of the received print data is a first format, control to store the print data in the first format in the first storage unit (e.g. when the printer is set into forced reservation mode, the printer can receive a print instruction and it is forced to be stored in order for a user to enter in a print instruction with authorizing information, which is explained in ¶ [47] and [48] above. The data is received in a PDL format, which is taught in ¶ [28].), and
in a case where the mode is set and the format of the received print data is a format, control to store the print data in the format in the second storage unit (e.g. the PC sends a job in a first PDL format. If the print job designates the “SAVE” option, this option requires a user to designate the job for editing or printing. In order to print the job, the user has to order the printing at the operation unit at the MFP. This occurs to the PDL data received and the box are is considered as the second storage unit area, which is taught in ¶ [28] and [54] above.).
However, Lin fails to specifically teach the features of second format.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Iida. Similar to the primary reference, Iida discloses determining if JDF is received (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Iida discloses second format (e.g. the system discloses determining if JDF is received in the system and stores the JDF data in a specific area for the JDF data to be stored, which is taught in ¶ [91].).
Therefore, in view of Iida, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of a second format, incorporated in the device of Lin, in order to determine whether JDF data is received and make changes to the JDF data to make sure correct settings are received, which improves the inspection of the data and ensures correct data is used (as stated in Iida ¶ [60]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kanamoto discloses changing settings of held jobs.
/CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683