DETAILED ACTION
This is the third office action for US Application 18/890,361 for Novel Systems and Methods For Supporting Suspended Items.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 44 02 327 C2 to Kuhn. Regarding claim 1, Kuhn discloses a method for installing a supporting assembly. The method comprises the steps of:: obtaining a main tube (10) including an interior-main surface that extends from a first end to a second end, and that defines a cavity having disposed therewithin, at the first end, an area-narrowing feature (26) that includes a first inner surface that defines a first aperture; obtaining a telescoping rod (16) having an outer-telescoping surface that extends from a connecting end to a terminating end, and that has disposed thereon, at the connecting end, an area-expanding feature (28), wherein the area-expanding feature includes a second outer surface; and passing the telescoping rod through the cavity, at the second end, and through the first aperture such that at least a portion of the telescoping rod comes out of the main tube and the outer-telescoping surface slidably passes through and establishes a first frictional contact with the first inner surface of the area-narrowing feature, wherein the second outer surface slidably engages and establishes a second frictional contact with the interior-main surface of the main tube, and the area-narrowing feature and the area-expanding feature facilitate slidable engagement of the telescoping rod to expand out of or retract inside, without decoupling from the main tube.
Regarding claim 7, the obtaining the main tube includes obtaining a main tube subassembly including the main tube having attached thereto a first annular component that provides the area-narrowing feature. Regarding claim 8, the obtaining the main tube includes press fitting the first annular component inside the cavity of the main tube. Regarding claim 9, the obtaining the telescoping rod includes obtaining a telescoping rod subassembly including the telescoping rod having attached thereto a second annular component that provides the area-expanding feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhn in view of official notice provided by the Examiner. Kuhn discloses each of the obtaining the main tube and the obtaining the telescoping rod using a single, unitary piece. Kuhn does not disclose the method of forming the unitary piece as extrusion, but extrusion is a well-known manufacturing method and it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have used extrusion for forming the tube and rod.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 10, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claims 2-5, the closest prior art does not disclose or suggest the features of claim 1, further including the step of coupling a hook portion of a first bracket with a main-tube-connecting aperture defined at or proximate to a second end of the main tube to couple the main tube to the first bracket. Regarding claim 10, the closest prior art does not disclose the step of obtaining the telescoping rod using a locking nut that couples the second annular component to the telescoping rod, at least a portion of which is threaded to receive the locking nut. Regarding claim 11, the closest prior art does not disclose the features of claim 1, further comprising the step of installing at least one of a radar or a camera to the main tube.
Conclusion
STEVEN M. MARSH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/STEVEN M MARSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632