Status of the Application
This non-final office action is in response to Applicant’s response to the restriction requirement filed on 3/13/2026. Applicant elected Group II with traverse. Upon further consideration of the claims and review of the prior art, Examiner is persuaded by Applicant that a serious search burden is not present. Therefore, the restriction requirement has been withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined below.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1-20
Per step 1 of the eligibility analysis set forth in MPEP § 2106, subsection III, the claims are directed towards a process, machine, or manufacture.
Per step 2A Prong One, Claim 1 recites specific limitations which fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) as follows:
receiving building data; and
encoding the QR code based on the building data such that the QR code changes responsive to changes in the building data a service, maintenance, and/or upgrade recommendation relating to the building.
As noted above, these limitations fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in the MPEP 2106.04(a)(2). Specifically, these limitations fall within the group Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity (i.e., advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). That is – the limitations recited above describe managing relationships between users and building systems by providing users with relevant service, maintenance, or upgrade recommendations related to the building. Additionally, providing upgrade recommendations is also a sales or marketing activity which is an advertising/marketing activity that falls within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas.
Per step 2A Prong 2, the Examiner finds that the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 recites the additional limitations of:
a display configured to display a quick response (QR) code;
a processing circuit having a processor and a memory having computer-executable instructions embodied therein that, when executed by the processor cause the processing circuit to perform operations comprising:
[receiving] from equipment or devices [associated with a building, building data];
wherein in response to the QR code being scanned an interface is provided that includes [a service, maintenance, and/or upgrade recommendation relating to the building].
The additional limitations when viewed individually and when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because each of the additional elements are recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it) or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically:
With respect to a display configured to display a quick response (QR) code, Examiner notes this limitation is recited at a high level of generality and merely generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (i.e. a display capable of displaying a generic QR code).
With respect to a processing circuit having a processor and a memory having computer-executable instructions embodied therein that, when executed by the processor cause the processing circuit to perform operations comprising, Examiner notes this limitation is recited at a high level of generality and merely generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or merely utilizing a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea.
With respect to [receiving] from equipment or devices [associated with a building, building data], Examiner notes this limitation is recited at a high level of generality and merely generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (a generic device to receive data) or at most amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity (I.e., gathering data from a generic device).
With respect to wherein in response to the QR code being scanned an interface is provided that includes [a service, maintenance, and/or upgrade recommendation relating to the building, Examiner notes that while the encoding step is positively recited, the wherein clause merely describes a functional result of scanning a QR code (i.e. what happens when the QR code is scanned). At this level of generality, there is no technological improvement claimed. The control panel hardware amounts to no more than a generic display capable of displaying a QR code generated building on building data.
Under step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality and only generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or at most amount to insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, the same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception is a particular technological environment cannot provide an inventive concept.
Additionally, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be reevaluated in Step 2B. Here, the limitation [receiving] from equipment or devices [associated with a building, building data] was analyzed as extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus it is reevaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. However, the receiving limitation is significantly more because the courts have held that receiving data over a network is not significantly more than the abstract idea when it is claimed in a merely generic matter (as it is here) per MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, a conclusion that the receiving limitation is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2.
Alice Corp. also establishes that the same analysis should be used for all categories of claims (e.g., product and process claims). Therefore, independent system claim 1 and non-transitory computer readable medium claim 18 are rejected for substantially the same reasons as independent system claim 13. Specifically, system claim 1 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 13 and merely specifies at a high level that scanning the QR provides different generic interfaces or applications when scanned by a user device. However, the claimed control panel is merely displaying a QR code and the interface or application that the user device is directed to when the QR code is scanned is merely the functional result of scanning a generic QR code on a generic display. Further, the non-transitory computer readable medium in claim 18 adds nothing of substance to the underlying abstract idea. At best, the components in independent claims 1 and 18 merely provide an environment to implement the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-12, 14-17, and 19-20 when analyzed as a whole, are held to be patent ineligible patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to the same abstract idea of independent claims 1, 13, and 18 without significantly more. Specifically, Examiner notes that each of the additional limitations of dependent claims 2-12, 14-17, and 19-20 only further limit the abstract or generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication Number 20200311503 (“Casilli”).
Claim 1
As per claim 1, Casilli discloses a control panel, comprising:
a display configured to display a quick response (QR) code ([0034] “visual codes include . . . QR code.” And, [0005] “a field panel may also be operative to allow certain modifications and/or changes to one or more parameters of the system.” And, [0027] “read various visual codes located throughout a facility at select interface points.”);
a processing circuit having a processor and a memory having computer-executable instructions embodied therein that, when executed by the processor cause the processing circuit to perform operations ([0004] “a computer or server having processing equipment, data storage equipment, and a user interface.” And, [0009] “[a] building automation system comprising a communication component, a processor, and an output component.”) comprising:
receiving, from a plurality of systems associated with a building, building data ([0055] “point information includes data associated with the building automation system that may be monitored or controlled in realtime by one or more field devices.” And, [0058] “acquire point information such as present value and status.” And, [0060] “provide the status of a room or a system of field devices rather than a single field device.” And, [0055] “[0055] recites that “The point information includes data associated with the building automation system that may be monitored or controlled in realtime by one or more field devices.”) and;
encoding the QR code based on the building data such that the QR code changes responsive to changes in the building data, wherein the changes in the QR cause the QR code to provide different interfaces or applications when scanned by a user device ([0034] “visual codes include . . . QR code.” And, [0027] “These visual codes are encoded with information that the system will read and use to generate simple, but user friendly, interfaces.” And, [0060] “the point information may change, which would cause one or more changes to the visual code with updated information” where [0055] recites that “The point information includes data associated with the building automation system that may be monitored or controlled in realtime by one or more field devices.”) And, [0053] “scan a visual code exhibited at a physical material in proximity to the sensor. The mobile device acquires the visual code using an imager of the mobile device. The mobile device extracts from the visual code a uniform resource locator that is directed to one or more virtual node hosting environments of the building automation system.”).
Claim 18
As per claim 18, Casilli discloses a control panel, comprising:
receiving, from a plurality of systems associated with a building, building data ([0055] “point information includes data associated with the building automation system that may be monitored or controlled in realtime by one or more field devices.” And, [0058] “acquire point information such as present value and status.” And, [0060] “provide the status of a room or a system of field devices rather than a single field device.” And, [0055] “[0055] recites that “The point information includes data associated with the building automation system that may be monitored or controlled in realtime by one or more field devices.”) and;
encoding a scannable code based on the building data such that the scannable code changes responsive to changes in the building data, wherein the changes in the scannable code cause the scannable code to provide different interfaces or applications when scanned by a user device ([0034] “visual codes include . . . QR code.” And, [0027] “These visual codes are encoded with information that the system will read and use to generate simple, but user friendly, interfaces.” And, [0060] “the point information may change, which would cause one or more changes to the visual code with updated information” where [0055] recites that “The point information includes data associated with the building automation system that may be monitored or controlled in realtime by one or more field devices.”) And, [0053] “scan a visual code exhibited at a physical material in proximity to the sensor. The mobile device acquires the visual code using an imager of the mobile device. The mobile device extracts from the visual code a uniform resource locator that is directed to one or more virtual node hosting environments of the building automation system.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6-8, 12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number 20200311503 (“Casilli”) as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and in further view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20130071029 (“Terwilliger”).
Claims 2 and 19
As per claims 2 and 19 Casilli further teaches:
receiving, from at least one of the plurality of systems associated with the building, updated building data that indicates a change from a first scenario associated with the control panel to a second scenario associated with the control panel ([0005] “modifications and/or changes to one or more of the various components of the building automation system, a field panel may also be operative to allow certain modifications and/or changes to one or more parameters of the system.” And, [0060] “the point information may change, which would cause one or more changes to the visual code with updated information” where [0055] recites that “The point information includes data associated with the building automation system that may be monitored or controlled in realtime by one or more field devices.”);
Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
dynamically updating the QR code such that the QR code changes from directing to content associated with the first scenario to content associated with the second scenario ([0024] “a camera to capture a QR code image, such as QR codes otherwise used during the manufacture process. Individual product unique codes link an end user to a “personal” service website that depicts the unique system ordered by the end user, suggests repairs, maintenance and upgrades to that unique system, and tracks updates that are performed.” And, [0032] “When a dynamic QR code is generated at a display, an end user can determine the fault detected by diagnostics by capturing an image of the QR code at the display with a camera of portable information handling system and extracting the diagnostics code from the QR code . . . Service application coordinates the gathering of relevant information for addressing the diagnostics code by presenting at portable information handling system the meaning of the diagnostics code and providing a user interface for access to additional service information based upon service identifiers extracted from the QR code. For example, service application coordinates access to self-help video demonstrations from service network location or a telephone/chat session with a service call center based upon the type of fault detected and a service level of the end user. If, for instance, a CPU failure is detected by diagnostics and presented in a QR code service identifier, the end user interface presents the failure and automatically retrieves a video form service network location that demonstrates CPU replacement.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify Casilli to include wherein in response to the QR code being scanned an interface is provided] that includes a service, maintenance, and/or upgrade recommendation relating to the building as taught by Terwilliger in order to “help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label” and “provide an improved customer experience with more rapid, up-to-date and relevant service information” (Terwilliger [0012]).
Claims 3 and 20
As per claims 3 and 20, Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
prior to dynamically updating the QR code, the QR code provides a commissioning interface configured to display a video showing a commissioning procedure of a piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel ([0022] “information handling system can include multiple QR codes with a unique identifier for the information handling system and an associated component identifier so that a video that demonstrates replacement of the component is automatically presented . . . QR code near the CPU or socket will include embedded service information that user interface applies to automatically present a video demonstrating replacement of the component.” And, [0032] “When a dynamic QR code is generated at a display, an end user can determine the fault detected by diagnostics by capturing an image of the QR code at the display with a camera of portable information handling system and extracting the diagnostics code from the QR code . . . Service application coordinates the gathering of relevant information for addressing the diagnostics code by presenting at portable information handling system the meaning of the diagnostics code and providing a user interface for access to additional service information based upon service identifiers extracted from the QR code. For example, service application coordinates access to self-help video demonstrations.”).
Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
wherein, after dynamically updating the QR code, the QR code provides a recommendation including a recommended maintenance procedure on the piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel ([0024] “a camera to capture a QR code image, such as QR codes otherwise used during the manufacture process. Individual product unique codes link an end user to a “personal” service website that depicts the unique system ordered by the end user, suggests repairs, maintenance and upgrades to that unique system.” And, [0032] “failure is detected by diagnostics and presented in a QR code service identifier, the end user interface presents the failure and automatically retrieves a video form service network location that demonstrates CPU replacement.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the combination of Casilli and Terwilliger to include prior to dynamically updating the QR code, the QR code provides a commissioning interface configured to display a video showing a commissioning procedure of a piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel and wherein, after dynamically updating the QR code, the QR code provides a recommendation including a recommended maintenance procedure on the piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel as taught by Terwilliger in order to “help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label” and “provide an improved customer experience with more rapid, up-to-date and relevant service information” (Terwilliger [0012]).
Claim 6
As per claim 6 Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
wherein the QR code provides service information including at least one of (i) a service event performed on a piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel or (ii) a video showing a service procedure of the service event performed on the piece of building equipment ([0022] “information handling system can include multiple QR codes with a unique identifier for the information handling system and an associated component identifier so that a video that demonstrates replacement of the component is automatically presented . . . QR code near the CPU or socket will include embedded service information that user interface applies to automatically present a video demonstrating replacement of the component.” And, [0032] “When a dynamic QR code is generated at a display, an end user can determine the fault detected by diagnostics by capturing an image of the QR code at the display with a camera of portable information handling system and extracting the diagnostics code from the QR code . . . Service application coordinates the gathering of relevant information for addressing the diagnostics code by presenting at portable information handling system the meaning of the diagnostics code and providing a user interface for access to additional service information based upon service identifiers extracted from the QR code. For example, service application coordinates access to self-help video demonstrations.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify Casilli to include wherein the QR code provides service information including at least one of (i) a service event performed on a piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel or (ii) a video showing a service procedure of the service event performed on the piece of building equipment as taught by Terwilliger in order to “help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label” and “provide an improved customer experience with more rapid, up-to-date and relevant service information” (Terwilliger [0012]).
Claim 7
As per claim 7 Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
wherein the QR code provides asset tracking information including a timeline of a plurality of purchases of products and services associated with the building ([0024] “tracking manufacture and assembly of information handling system components with multi-dimensional barcodes . . . tracking and inventory of a replacement product tied to the end user's account by the legacy QR code.” And, [0028] “a QR code service identifier aids in the inventory and tracking of equipment at installation, throughout normal operations and for replacement at end-of-life. For example, GPS of portable information handling system provides position information for the location at which a QR code is imaged so that the position of products can be tracked at a mapping engine of service network location.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify Casilli to include wherein the QR code provides asset tracking information including a timeline of a plurality of purchases of products and services associated with the building as taught by Terwilliger in order to “help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label” and “provide an improved customer experience with more rapid, up-to-date and relevant service information” (Terwilliger [0012]).
Claim 8
As per claim 8 Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
wherein the QR code provides invoice information including at least one of (i) a timeline of a plurality of invoices for products and services associated with the building or (ii) a link to a video showing a service procedure associated with one of the plurality of invoices for a service associated with the building ([0024] “QR code to locate an order site that displays the legacy configuration model type and suggests upgrades and services associated with the product. This allows ordering, billing, tracking and inventory of a replacement product tied to the end user's account by the legacy QR code.” And, [0032] “[0022] “information handling system can include multiple QR codes with a unique identifier for the information handling system and an associated component identifier so that a video that demonstrates replacement of the component is automatically presented . . . QR code near the CPU or socket will include embedded service information that user interface applies to automatically present a video demonstrating replacement of the component.” And, [0032] “service application coordinates access to self-help video demonstrations.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify Casilli to include wherein the QR code provides asset tracking information including a timeline of a plurality of purchases of products and services associated with the building as taught by Terwilliger in order to “help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label” and “provide an improved customer experience with more rapid, up-to-date and relevant service information” (Terwilliger [0012]).
Claim 12
As per claim 12 Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
wherein the QR code provides a product specification information including at least one of (i) information relating to a piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel or (ii) a warranty and projected end of life associated with the piece of building equipment ([0011] “QR codes include a unique identifier of the information handling system that allows retrieval of warranty and repair information.” And, [0012] “warranty and other product information presented with a quick response code label help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label.” And, [0033] “retrieves warranty information to determine if the failure is covered by warranty.” And. [0025] “access to drive specific information on line, such as life cycle.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify Casilli to include wherein the QR code provides a product specification information including at least one of (i) information relating to a piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel or (ii) a warranty and projected end of life associated with the piece of building equipment as taught by Terwilliger in order to “help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label” and “provide an improved customer experience with more rapid, up-to-date and relevant service information” (Terwilliger [0012]).
Claims 4-5 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number 20200311503 (“Casilli”) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20130071029 (“Terwilliger”).
Claims 4 and 16
As per claims 4 and 16 Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
wherein the recommendation includes at least one of (i) a recommended package of parts associated with the recommended maintenance procedure, (ii) a recommended part associated with the recommended maintenance procedure and a projected delivery date for the recommended part, or (iii) a virtual model of a recommended part associated with the recommended maintenance procedure that displays the recommended part assembled with the piece of building equipment ([0023] “an end user is presented with parts for purchase that are compatible with information handling system by reference to service information extracted from QR code.” And, [0011] “automatically order replacement parts for components detected as failures.” And, [0024] “a camera to capture a QR code image, such as QR codes otherwise used during the manufacture process. Individual product unique codes link an end user to a “personal” service website that depicts the unique system ordered by the end user, suggests repairs, maintenance and upgrades to that unique system.” And, [0032] “failure is detected by diagnostics and presented in a QR code service identifier, the end user interface presents the failure and automatically retrieves a video form service network location that demonstrates CPU replacement.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the combination of Casilli and Terwilliger to include wherein, prior to dynamically updating the QR code, the QR code provides a commissioning interface configured to display a video showing a commissioning procedure of a piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel and wherein, after dynamically updating the QR code, the QR code provides a recommendation including a recommended maintenance procedure on the piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel as taught by Terwilliger in order to “help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label” and “provide an improved customer experience with more rapid, up-to-date and relevant service information” (Terwilliger [0012]).
Claim 5
As per claim 5 Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
wherein the recommendation includes a link to a recommended part associated with the recommended maintenance procedure, wherein the link is selectable to automatically purchase the recommended part ([0011] “automatically order replacement parts for components detected as failures.” [0021] “provides a URL link to digital content about the specific model type.” And, [0024] “unique codes link an end user to a “personal” service website that depicts the unique system ordered by the end user, suggests repairs, maintenance and upgrades to that unique system.” And, [0032] “failure is detected by diagnostics and presented in a QR code service identifier, the end user interface presents the failure and automatically retrieves a video form service network location that demonstrates CPU replacement.” And, [0033] “presents an order page for the replacement part.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the combination of Casilli and Terwilliger to include wherein the recommendation includes a link to a recommended part associated with the recommended maintenance procedure, wherein the link is selectable to automatically purchase the recommended part as taught by Terwilliger in order to “help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label” and “provide an improved customer experience with more rapid, up-to-date and relevant service information” (Terwilliger [0012]).
Claim 13
As per claim 13, Casilli discloses a building device, comprising:
a display configured to display a quick response (QR) code ([0034] “visual codes include . . . QR code.” And, [0005] “a field panel may also be operative to allow certain modifications and/or changes to one or more parameters of the system.” And, [0027] “read various visual codes located throughout a facility at select interface points.”);
a processing circuit having a processor and a memory having computer-executable instructions embodied therein that, when executed by the processor cause the processing circuit to perform operations comprising: ([0004] “a computer or server having processing equipment, data storage equipment, and a user interface.” And, [0009] “[a] building automation system comprising a communication component, a processor, and an output component.”) comprising:
receiving, from equipment or devices associated with a building, building data ([0055] “point information includes data associated with the building automation system that may be monitored or controlled in realtime by one or more field devices.” And, [0058] “acquire point information such as present value and status.” And, [0060] “provide the status of a room or a system of field devices rather than a single field device.” And, [0055] “[0055] recites that “The point information includes data associated with the building automation system that may be monitored or controlled in realtime by one or more field devices.”) and;
encoding the QR code based on the building data such that the QR code changes responsive to changes in the building data, wherein in response to the QR code being scanned an interface is provided ([0034] “visual codes include . . . QR code.” And, [0027] “These visual codes are encoded with information that the system will read and use to generate simple, but user friendly, interfaces.” And, [0060] “the point information may change, which would cause one or more changes to the visual code with updated information” where [0055] recites that “The point information includes data associated with the building automation system that may be monitored or controlled in realtime by one or more field devices.” And, [0053] “scan a visual code exhibited at a physical material in proximity to the sensor. The mobile device acquires the visual code using an imager of the mobile device. The mobile device extracts from the visual code a uniform resource locator that is directed to one or more virtual node hosting environments of the building automation system.”).
Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
[wherein in response to the QR code being scanned an interface is provided] that includes a service, maintenance, and/or upgrade recommendation relating to the building ([0024] “a camera to capture a QR code image, such as QR codes otherwise used during the manufacture process. Individual product unique codes link an end user to a “personal” service website that depicts the unique system ordered by the end user, suggests repairs, maintenance and upgrades to that unique system, and tracks updates that are performed.” And, [0032] “When a dynamic QR code is generated at a display, an end user can determine the fault detected by diagnostics by capturing an image of the QR code at the display with a camera of portable information handling system and extracting the diagnostics code from the QR code . . . Service application coordinates the gathering of relevant information for addressing the diagnostics code by presenting at portable information handling system the meaning of the diagnostics code and providing a user interface for access to additional service information based upon service identifiers extracted from the QR code. For example, service application coordinates access to self-help video demonstrations from service network location or a telephone/chat session with a service call center based upon the type of fault detected and a service level of the end user. If, for instance, a CPU failure is detected by diagnostics and presented in a QR code service identifier, the end user interface presents the failure and automatically retrieves a video form service network location that demonstrates CPU replacement.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify Casilli to include[wherein in response to the QR code being scanned an interface is provided] that includes a service, maintenance, and/or upgrade recommendation relating to the building as taught by Terwilliger in order to “help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label” and “provide an improved customer experience with more rapid, up-to-date and relevant service information” (Terwilliger [0012]).
Claim 14
As per claim 14, Casilli further teaches:
receiving, from at least one of the plurality of systems associated with the building, updated building data that indicates a change from a first scenario associated with the control panel to a second scenario associated with the control panel ([0005] “modifications and/or changes to one or more of the various components of the building automation system, a field panel may also be operative to allow certain modifications and/or changes to one or more parameters of the system.” And, [0060] “the point information may change, which would cause one or more changes to the visual code with updated information” where [0055] recites that “The point information includes data associated with the building automation system that may be monitored or controlled in realtime by one or more field devices.”);
Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
dynamically updating the QR code such that the QR code changes from directing to content associated with the first scenario to content associated with the second scenario such that the changes in the QR cause the QR code to provide different interfaces or applications when scanned by a user device ([0024] “a camera to capture a QR code image, such as QR codes otherwise used during the manufacture process. Individual product unique codes link an end user to a “personal” service website that depicts the unique system ordered by the end user, suggests repairs, maintenance and upgrades to that unique system, and tracks updates that are performed.” And, [0032] “When a dynamic QR code is generated at a display, an end user can determine the fault detected by diagnostics by capturing an image of the QR code at the display with a camera of portable information handling system and extracting the diagnostics code from the QR code . . . Service application coordinates the gathering of relevant information for addressing the diagnostics code by presenting at portable information handling system the meaning of the diagnostics code and providing a user interface for access to additional service information based upon service identifiers extracted from the QR code. For example, service application coordinates access to self-help video demonstrations from service network location or a telephone/chat session with a service call center based upon the type of fault detected and a service level of the end user. If, for instance, a CPU failure is detected by diagnostics and presented in a QR code service identifier, the end user interface presents the failure and automatically retrieves a video form service network location that demonstrates CPU replacement.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the combination of Casilli and Terwilliger to include receiving, from at least one of the plurality of systems associated with the building, updated building data that indicates a change from a first scenario associated with the control panel to a second scenario associated with the control pane and dynamically updating the QR code such that the QR code changes from directing to content associated with the first scenario to content associated with the second scenario such that the changes in the QR cause the QR code to provide different interfaces or applications when scanned by a user device as taught by Terwilliger in order to “help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label” and “provide an improved customer experience with more rapid, up-to-date and relevant service information” (Terwilliger [0012]).
Claim 15
As per claim 15, Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
wherein, prior to dynamically updating the QR code, the QR code provides a commissioning interface configured to display a video showing a commissioning procedure of a piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel ([0022] “information handling system can include multiple QR codes with a unique identifier for the information handling system and an associated component identifier so that a video that demonstrates replacement of the component is automatically presented . . . QR code near the CPU or socket will include embedded service information that user interface applies to automatically present a video demonstrating replacement of the component.” And, [0032] “When a dynamic QR code is generated at a display, an end user can determine the fault detected by diagnostics by capturing an image of the QR code at the display with a camera of portable information handling system and extracting the diagnostics code from the QR code . . . Service application coordinates the gathering of relevant information for addressing the diagnostics code by presenting at portable information handling system the meaning of the diagnostics code and providing a user interface for access to additional service information based upon service identifiers extracted from the QR code. For example, service application coordinates access to self-help video demonstrations.”).
Casilli does not explicitly teach but Terwilliger teaches:
wherein, after dynamically updating the QR code, the QR code provides a recommendation including a recommended maintenance procedure on the piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel ([0024] “a camera to capture a QR code image, such as QR codes otherwise used during the manufacture process. Individual product unique codes link an end user to a “personal” service website that depicts the unique system ordered by the end user, suggests repairs, maintenance and upgrades to that unique system.” And, [0032] “failure is detected by diagnostics and presented in a QR code service identifier, the end user interface presents the failure and automatically retrieves a video form service network location that demonstrates CPU replacement.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the combination of Casilli and Terwilliger to include wherein, prior to dynamically updating the QR code, the QR code provides a commissioning interface configured to display a video showing a commissioning procedure of a piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel and wherein, after dynamically updating the QR code, the QR code provides a recommendation including a recommended maintenance procedure on the piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel as taught by Terwilliger in order to “help to ensure that correct service levels are provided to an end user who initiates a service inquiry with a quick response code label” and “provide an improved customer experience with more rapid, up-to-date and relevant service information” (Terwilliger [0012]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number 20200311503 (“Casilli”) as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20180374043 (“Irwin”).
Claim 9
As per claim 9, Casilli does not explicitly teach but Irwin teaches:
wherein the control panel further includes a camera, and wherein in response to the QR code being scanned the camera is activated to record a video of a field surrounding the control panel ([0096] “A mobile device may also be used in some embodiments to provide the visual identifier, such as a QR code, to the scanner.” And, [0106] “The camera may be configured to provide photographic and/or video documentation of the users of the control panel . . . the camera, and associated picture memory, is configured to capture and record one or several images taken when a user enters, for example, their user identification.” And, [0065] “The user access information may thus include, for example, a receipt with a bar code or a QR code presentable on a mobile device.” And, [0308] “The access information may be . . . a QR code, etc. Generating the user access information may include for example generating a random unique identifier using software and/or hardware in the control unit.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify Casilli to include wherein the control panel further includes a camera, and wherein in response to the QR code being scanned the camera is activated to record a video of a field surrounding the control panel as taught by Irwin in order to “maintain the functionality, security, and updatedness” (Irwin [0212]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number 20200311503 (“Casilli”) as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20220122358 (“Frey”).
Claim 10
As per claim 10, Casilli does not explicitly teach but Frey teaches:
running the building data with a machine learning algorithm to generate a modified building data set, and wherein encoding the QR code with the building data includes encoding the QR code with the modified building data set ([0007] “building object detection system (1) for detecting building objects (OBJ) installed at fixed predefined positions in a building . . . detect and classify automatically building objects (OBJ) installed within the scanned space, wherein the artificial intelligence module (3) is trained by the processing unit (5) with labeled training data (LTD) comprising labels (L) derived from scan data (SD) of previously scanned building objects (OBJ) provided with associated object identifiers (OBJ-ID) within the vicinity of the respective installed building objects (OBJ).” And, [0082] “the artificial intelligence module 3 comprising an artificial neural network ANN for implementing a machine learning, ML, algorithm.” And, [0083] “the QR code and can assign the description to the detected building object based on the information encoded by the QR code.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify Casilli to include running the building data with a machine learning algorithm to generate a modified building data set, and wherein encoding the QR code with the building data includes encoding the QR code with the modified building data set as taught by Frey because “[b]y learning on the fly, the building object detection system is continuously increasing its performance” (Frey [0113]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number 20200311503 (“Casilli”) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20200110974 (“Norris”).
Claim 11
As per claim 11 Casilli does not explicitly teach but Norris teaches:
receiving, from at least one of the plurality of systems associated with the building, event data associated with an event affecting a piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel ([0008] “receiving, by execution of one or more processors and from a device, a fault code indicative of a fault occurrence event for an object.” And, [0017] “a control panel that monitors.” And, [0020] “control panel of an underlying control system to monitor and control.” [0019] “display device and generates machine-readable codes corresponding to fault codes relating to issues occurring on . . . industrial equipment.” And, [0006] “processors of a display device having an electronic display, a fault occurrence event in the object.”).
Casilli does not explicitly teach but Norris teaches:
wherein encoding the QR code includes encoding the QR code based on the event data,
and wherein the QR code provides building data associated with the event ([0017] “The display device generates a machine-readable code (e.g., a Quick Response (QR) code) representative of the fault code and static and dynamic parameters associated with the underlying fault.” And, [0008] “receiving, by execution of one or more processors and from a device, a fault code indicative of a fault occurrence event for an object.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify Casilli to include receiving, from at least one of the plurality of systems associated with the building, event data associated with an event affecting a piece of building equipment communicably coupled to the control panel and wherein encoding the QR code includes encoding the QR code based on the event data, and wherein the QR code provides building data associated with the event as taught by Norris in order to “allow a display panel to inform the operator of the nature of a given fault” and “enable[] the operator to diagnose issues and solutions to address the fault” (Norris [0003]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number 20200311503 (“Casilli”) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20130071029 (“Terwilliger”) as applied to claim 13 above, and in further view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20220122358 (“Frey”).
Claim 17
As per claim 17, Casilli does not explicitly teach but Frey teaches:
running the building data with a machine learning algorithm to generate a modified building data set, and wherein encoding the QR code with the building data includes encoding the QR code with the modified building data set ([0007] “building object detection system (1) for detecting building objects (OBJ) installed at fixed predefined positions in a building . . . detect and classify automatically building objects (OBJ) installed within the scanned space, wherein the artificial intelligence module (3) is trained by the processing unit (5) with labeled training data (LTD) comprising labels (L) derived from scan data (SD) of previously scanned building objects (OBJ) provided with associated object identifiers (OBJ-ID) within the vicinity of the respective installed building objects (OBJ).” And, [0082] “the artificial intelligence module 3 comprising an artificial neural network ANN for implementing a machine learning, ML, algorithm.” And, [0083] “the QR code and can assign the description to the detected building object based on the information encoded by the QR code.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the combination of Casilli and Terwilliger to include running the building data with a machine learning algorithm to generate a modified building data set, and wherein encoding the QR code with the building data includes encoding the QR code with the modified building data set as taught by Frey because “[b]y learning on the fly, the building object detection system is continuously increasing its performance” (Frey [0113]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publication Number 9082052 (“Rodriguez”) recites dynamic QR code portions rendered by a dynamic display to comprise a single, hybrid scannable QR code with static and dynamic portions
WO 2013046231 (“Rajeev”) discloses a monitoring device that provides a dynamically updating of the QR codes with the change in the embedded parameters
US Patent Application Publication Number 20190309977 (“Burns”) discloses dynamically generated QR codes
/ALLAN J WOODWORTH, II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622