DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant affirms the oral election of Group I, Claims 1-17 on 02/06/2026 without traverse.
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 04/24/2026 responsive to the Office Action filed 02/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 5, 9-12, 14, 18 and 20 have been amended. Claims 6-8 have been canceled. Claims 18-20 maintain withdrawn. Claims 1-5 and 9-20 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Claim 1 has been amended to address the informality, thus the objection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9-12 and 14 have been amended to address the indefiniteness, thus the rejection of claims 1-5 and 9-17 under 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Claims 6-8 have been canceled, thus the rejection of claims 6-8 under 112(b) has been moot.
Applicant's arguments, filed 04/24/2026 in pages 8-10, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Kaiba does not disclose the fact that each linear guide and each actuator of the actuation assembly are coupled integrally with the upper supporting frame, which is recited in amended Claim 1. As a matter of fact, in Kaiba the recording heads 2, 3, 4 are supported by movable arms 11A, 11B, 11C, 12A, 12B, 13A, and 13B that can move in the space between the upper surface portion 10A and the platform 5. Therefore, the modelling apparatus of Kaiba is not equipped with actuators and linear guides integrally coupled to the upper supporting frame to allow the sliding of the respective nozzles.” (page 9).
These arguments are found to be unpersuasive because:
Kaiba teaches a third actuation assembly (“drive mechanisms 55, 56, 57”, “rails 11A-C”, “rails 12A-B”, “rails 13A-B”, “drive sources 14, 15, 16”) configured to actuate the sliding of each nozzle of the plurality of nozzles in a direction substantially perpendicular to the central axis (Pa [0028], [0046]-[0049]), and further teaches that an upper surface portion 10A, on which the first drive mechanism 55, the second drive mechanism 56, and the third drive mechanism 57 are mounted (Pa [0029]). Therefore, Kaiba teaches linear guides (“a rail 11A”, “a rail 12A”, “a rail 13A”, Pa [0046], [0048], [0049]) and actuators (“a drive source 14”, “a drive source 15”, “a drive source 16”, Pa [0047], [0048], [0049]) coupled integrally to the upper supporting frame (“an upper surface portion 10A”). As Applicant recites that the rails 11A-C, 12A-B, 13A-B move in the space between the upper surface portion 10A and the platform 5, but still the rails are coupled integrally to the drive mechanisms 55, 56, 57 and the upper surface portion 10A, thus Kaiba meets these claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kaiba et al. (US 2020/0023580) in view of Furuya (US 2022/0097301).
With respect to claim 1, Kaiba teaches an additive manufacturing machine for producing objects (“a three dimensional modeling apparatus”, Pa [0025]), the machine comprising:
an upper supporting frame (“An upper surface portion 10A”, Pa [0029]);
a workpiece table (“a platform 5”), which is configured to support the object being manufactured (“The platform 5 is used to mount a solid object”, Pa [0027]), and is configured to rotate around the central axis (“The platform 5 is used to mount a solid object, and is rotatable by using a motor”, Pa [0027]);
a plurality of nozzles (“a first recording head 2, a second recording head 3, a third recording head 4”, Pa [0025]), which are coupled to the upper supporting frame (“An upper surface portion 10A, on which the first drive mechanism 55, the second drive mechanism 56, and the third drive mechanism 57 are mounted”, Pa [0029]), face the workpiece table and are configured to deliver fused material (“discharge a modeling material”, Pa [0026] and [0027]), and wherein at least one nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is movable in a direction substantially perpendicular to the central axis so as to vary the distance of said nozzle from the central axis during rotation of the workpiece table around the central axis (“The first recording head 2 mounts a plurality of valve-type inkjet nozzles and is movable in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction …The second recording head 3 mounts a plurality of valve type inkjet nozzles, is movable in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction”, Pa [0026]; “The third recording head 4 mounts a plurality of valve-type inkjet nozzles, is movable in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction”, Pa [0027]; “in a configuration in which the second recording head 3 and the third recording head 4 move relatively to each other at an periphery of the solid object shaped on the platform 5, the platform 5 is rotated.”, Pa [0050]);
a first actuation assembly (“a motor”) configured to actuate rotation of the workpiece table around the central axis (“The platform 5 is used to mount a solid object, and is rotatable by using a motor”, Pa [0027]);
a third actuation assembly (“drive mechanisms 55, 56, 57”, “rails 11A-C”, “rails 12A-B”, “rails 13A-B”, “drive sources 14, 15, 16”, Pa [0028], [0046]-[0049]) configured to actuate the sliding of each nozzle in a direction substantially perpendicular to the central axis (“The first drive mechanism 55 moves the first recording head 2 horizontally and vertically relative to the platform 5. The second drive mechanism 56 moves the second recording head 3 horizontally and vertically relative to the platform 5. The third drive mechanism 57 moves the third recording head 4 horizontally and vertically relative to the platform 5.”, Pa [0028]), wherein the third actuation assembly (“drive mechanisms 55, 56, 57”, “rails 11A-C”, “rails 12A-B”, “rails 13A-B”, “drive sources 14, 15, 16”) comprises for each nozzle of the plurality of nozzles a linear guide (“a rail 11A”, “a rail 12A”, “a rail 13A”), which is coupled integrally to the upper supporting frame (“An upper surface portion 10A, on which the first drive mechanism 55, the second drive mechanism 56, and the third drive mechanism 57 are mounted”, Pa [0029]) and extends in a direction substantially perpendicular to the central axis to guide sliding of the respective nozzle of the plurality of nozzles; and an actuator (“a drive source 14”, “a drive source 15”, “a drive source 16”) for each nozzle of the plurality of nozzles configured to actuate the sliding of each nozzle of the plurality of nozzles along the respective linear guide (“The first recording head 2 is disposed so that a discharge direction of the modeling material is downward on one end side of a rail 11A being horizontally disposed.”, Pa [0046]; “moving the rail 11A and the rail 11B horizontally relative to each other by power from a drive source 14”, Pa [0047]; “the second recording head 3 is arranged so that the discharge direction of the modeling material becomes the horizontal direction (lateral direction) on one end side of a rail 12A being horizontally disposed… The rail 12A is then linearly moved horizontally by a drive source 15.”, Pa [0048]; “The rail 13A is then linearly moved in the horizontal direction by the drive source 16.”, Pa [0049]), wherein each actuator is coupled integrally to the upper supporting frame (“An upper surface portion 10A, on which the first drive mechanism 55, the second drive mechanism 56, and the third drive mechanism 57 are mounted”, Pa [0029]); and
a control unit (“a control unit 200”) configured to control in a coordinated manner the first actuation assembly so that the fused material delivered is arranged along a respective profile (“The first drive mechanism 55, the second drive mechanism 56, and the third drive mechanism 57 are controlled by a control unit 200 illustrated in FIG. 2C, and rotation of the platform 5 is also controlled by the control unit 200. The control unit 200 includes a computer operated by a program for conducting procedures depicted in FIG. 2C.”, Pa [0050]).
Kaiba is silent to a workpiece table is arranged at a variable distance from the upper supporting frame along a central axis, and a second actuation assembly configured to adjust the distance between the workpiece table and the upper supporting frame along the central axis.
In the same field of endeavor, a three-dimensional shaping apparatus, Furuya teaches that the three-dimensional shaping apparatus 5 includes a first ejection portion 100 a, a second ejection portion 100 b, a moving mechanism portion 210, a stage 220, and a control unit 300 (Pa [0026]), the moving mechanism portion 210 changes the relative position of the ejection portion 100 and the stage 220, and the moving mechanism portion 210 in this embodiment is constituted by a three-axis positioner for moving the stage 220 in three axis directions of the X, Y, and Z directions by the driving forces of three motors, each motor drives under the control of the control unit 300, and in other embodiments, the moving mechanism portion 210 may, for example, be configured to move the ejection portion 100 without moving the stage 220 instead of being configured to move the stage 220, and in addition, the moving mechanism portion 210 may be configured to move both the stage 220 and the ejection portion 100 (Pa [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kaiba with the teachings of Furuya and additionally provide the moving mechanism portion with the platform for moving the platform in three axis directions of the X, Y, and Z directions by the driving forces of three motors in order to change the relative position of the recording heads and the platform.
With respect to claim 2, Kaiba as applied to claim 1 above further teaches that the central axis extends in a substantially vertical direction (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 3, Furuya as applied in the combination regarding claim 1 above further teaches that the workpiece table (“a platform 5”) is movable along the central axis with respect to the upper supporting frame (“an upper surface portion 10A”); the second actuation assembly being configured to actuate sliding of the workpiece table along the central axis (“the moving mechanism portion 210 in this embodiment is constituted by a three-axis positioner for moving the stage 220 in three axis directions of the X, Y, and Z directions by the driving forces of three motors”, Pa [0027]).
With respect to claim 4, Kaiba as applied to claim 1 above further teaches that each nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is coupled to the upper supporting frame at a distance from the central axis (“An upper surface portion 10A, on which the first drive mechanism 55, the second drive mechanism 56, and the third drive mechanism 57 are mounted”, Pa [0029] and Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 5, Kaiba as applied to claim 4 above further teaches that the distance between each nozzle of the plurality of nozzles and the central axis is adjustable (“The first recording head 2 mounts a plurality of valve-type inkjet nozzles and is movable in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction …The second recording head 3 mounts a plurality of valve type inkjet nozzles, is movable in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction”, Pa [0026]; “The third recording head 4 mounts a plurality of valve-type inkjet nozzles, is movable in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction”, Pa [0027]).
With respect to claim 10, Kaiba as applied to claim 1 above further teaches a first nozzle (“a first recording head 2”) of the plurality of nozzles coupled to the upper supporting frame (“An upper surface portion 10A”) at a first distance from the central axis; and a second nozzle (“a second recording head 3”) of the plurality of nozzles coupled to the upper supporting frame (“An upper surface portion 10A”) at a second distance from the central axis.
Kaiba further teaches that the first recording head 2 mounts a plurality of valve-type inkjet nozzles and is movable in a horizontal direction and a vertical direction, and the second recording head 3 mounts a plurality of valve type inkjet nozzles, is movable in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction (Pa [0026]). Thus, it is noted that the limitations “so as to create an inner profile of the object” and “greater than the first distance so as to create an outer profile of the object” are intended uses since the apparatus of Kaiba is capable of performing the claimed operation. The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987).
With respect to claim 11, Kaiba as applied to claim 10 above further teaches a third nozzle (“a third recording head 4”) of the plurality of nozzles coupled to the upper supporting frame (“An upper surface portion 10A”) in a movable manner in a direction substantially perpendicular to the central axis (“The third recording head 4 mounts a plurality of valve-type inkjet nozzles, is movable in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction”, Pa [0027]).
It is noted that the limitation “between the first distance and the second distance so as to create a first stiffening mesh between the inner profile and the outer profile of the object” is an intended uses since the apparatus of Kaiba is capable of performing the claimed operation. The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987).
With respect to claim 12, Kaiba as applied to claim 11 does not explicitly teach a fourth nozzle of the plurality of nozzles coupled to the upper supporting frame at a third distance from the central axis greater than the first distance and smaller than the second distance so as to create an intermediate profile of the object; and a fifth nozzle of the plurality of nozzles coupled to the upper supporting frame in a movable manner in a direction substantially perpendicular to the central axis between the third distance and the second distance so as to create a second stiffening mesh between the intermediate profile and the outer profile of the object. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide additional recording heads with the apparatus for the purpose of a three dimensional modeling, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to claim 13, Kaiba as applied to claim 12 above further teaches that the third nozzle (“a third recording head 4”) is movable (“The third recording head 4 mounts a plurality of valve-type inkjet nozzles, is movable in the horizontal direction and the vertical direction”, Pa [0027]).
It is noted that the limitation “between the first distance and the third distance so as to create the first stiffening mesh between the inner profile and the intermediate profile of the object” is an intended uses since the apparatus of Kaiba is capable of performing the claimed operation. The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kaiba et al. (US 2020/0023580) in view of Furuya (US 2022/0097301) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0070418).
With respect to claim 9, Kaiba as applied to claim 8 above further teaches that the third actuation assembly comprises for each nozzle of the plurality of nozzles a slide (“a support member 27”, “a support member 29”) that can slide along the respective linear guide (“the third recording head 4 is … mounted to the rail 30 through a support member 29”, Pa [0089]; “the second recording head 3 is mounted to the support member 27”, Pa [0090]), but does not explicitly teach a support arm which is fixed to the respective slide, extends between the upper supporting frame and the workpiece table and supports the respective nozzle of the plurality of nozzles.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing system, Wang teaches that the system comprises a nozzle 12 is slidably connected to a cylindrical guide track a 11 via the sliding block, and a ball screw seat a 13 disposed within a sliding block (Pa [0029]) so that so that the ball screw seat 13 moves along the linear guide track a 11 on the cross beam 5 (Pa [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kaiba with the teachings of Wang and substitute a cylindrical guide track, a sliding block (the claimed support arm) and a ball screw seat (the claimed slide) for each rail/ support member for the purpose of moving nozzles on the cylindrical guide track, since it has been held that where the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143 (I)(B)).
Claims 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kaiba et al. (US 2020/0023580) in view of Furuya (US 2022/0097301) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fry et al. (US 2016/0096327).
With respect to claim 14, Kaiba as applied to claim 1 above does not explicitly teach that each nozzle of the plurality of nozzles is of the fused filament type.
In the same field of endeavor, an apparatus for the production of a three-dimensional object, Fry teaches that the method and apparatus can be used for the fabrication of parts or articles in both the Fused Deposition Modeling process and the Fused Filament Fabrication process (Pa [0026]) and the apparatus 10 builds three-dimensional objects in build chamber 26 by depositing material from print head 32 onto the build plate 34 (Pa [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kaiba with the teachings of Fry and substitute a print head for each nozzle for the purpose of Fused Filament Fabrication process.
With respect to claim 16, Kaiba as applied to claim 1 above does not explicitly teach a heating system configured to heat the object being manufactured.
In the same field of endeavor, an apparatus for the production of a three-dimensional object, Fry teaches that the method and apparatus can be used for the fabrication of parts or articles in both the Fused Deposition Modeling process and the Fused Filament Fabrication process (Pa [0026]) and the apparatus 10 builds three-dimensional objects in build chamber 26 by depositing material from print head 32 onto the build plate 34 (Pa [0032]), and heating devices or elements 30 are provided proximate a print head 32 and proximate the top wall 22, the heating elements may be heating coils or other known heating devices which can heat the ambient temperature in the chamber 26 to the desired temperature (Pa [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kaiba with the teachings of Fry and substitute a print head for each nozzle and provide the heating devices or elements in order to heat the ambient temperature to the desired temperature for the purpose of Fused Filament Fabrication process.
With respect to claim 17, Fry as applied in the combination regarding claim 16 above further teaches that the heating system comprises an air supply duct, a fan configured to generate an air flow inside the duct, and a heating element configured to transmit heat to the air flow inside the duct; the duct being provided with an outlet opening, which is arranged in the vicinity of the object being manufactured and is shaped to direct said heated air flow towards the object being manufactured (“heated air may be provided into the chamber 26 by heating ducts or the like which have openings in the one or more respective walls of the chamber 26. In such an embodiment, blowers may be located in the ducts to provide the air flow required. Return openings may also be provided in the walls to allow for the proper circulation of the heated air within the chamber 26. In this type of oven, the ducts are connected to heaters which heat the air which is circulated through the duct and returned to the chamber.”, Pa [0029]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kaiba et al. (US 2020/0023580) in view of Furuya (US 2022/0097301) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ur (US 2017/0066189).
With respect to claim 15, Kaiba as applied to claim 1 above does not explicitly teach a plurality of lateral support elements, each of which is configured to be positioned in contact with the object being manufactured so as to maintain said object aligned with the central axis on the workpiece table.
In the same field of endeavor, an Additive Manufacturing Apparatus, Ur teaches that Additive Manufacturing Apparatus 300 may have a Print-Head Unit 320, Print-Head Unit 320 may comprise a Nozzle 330, Nozzle 330 may be configured to extrude the printing material, and Print-Head Unit 320 may be utilized to move in a four degrees of freedom movement (Pa [0060], and as can be appreciated the geometric shape of Print-Head Unit in which Nozzle 330 is located at a lateral portion thereof, allows Nozzle 330 to be placed in locations that are adjoining existing objects, such as Object 340 (Pa [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kaiba with the teachings of Ur and provide the geometric shapes with the recording heads in order to allow the recording heads to be placed in locations that are adjoining existing objects.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUNJU KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742