Response to Amendment
The amendment filed July 28th, 2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The 112(b) rejection of claim 22 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
The rejections over Bunea are maintained.
New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-15, 19-20, and 22-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bunea (WO 2022/051593 A1).
In view of Claim 1, Bunea discloses a system (Fig. 58) comprising:
a plurality of photovoltaic shingles installed on a slope of a roof deck (Fig. 58);
wherein the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes:
at least a first photovoltaic shingle and a second photovoltaic shingle, wherein the first photovoltaic shingle is vertically adjacent to the second photovoltaic shingle (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C, below);
Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C
wherein each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes: a first end and a second end opposite the first end (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 39B, below) a plurality of solar cells arranged in at least one row (Fig. 39b, #1112a/b – Page 48, Lines 6-17);
Annotated Bunea Fig. 39B
a first electrical connector that is adjacent to a first end of the at least one row of the plurality of solar cells and the first electrical connector is electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (Fig. 17A, #142 – is adjacent to the top row of the solar cells 10 – Page 37, Lines 3-20); and
a power electronics unit electrically connected to the first electrical connector (Fig. 39A, #1423 – Page 47, Lines 18-23); and
wherein the power electronics unit is laminated with the first side lap (Fig. 39A, #1423 is firmly mounted on the first side lap);
in further regards to the word “laminated”, the plain meaning of this word is “composed of layers of firmly united material” (Merriam-webster);
wherein the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle (Fig. 14E, the connector from the “bottom” cell mapped to a first photovoltaic shingle connects to the connector from the “vertically adjacent second photovoltaic shingle above it).
In view of Claim 2, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bunea discloses each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a first bussing located proximate to the first end wherein the first bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the power electronics unit and a second end proximate to the first end of the photovoltaic shingle and electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (See Annotated Bunea Figs. 39A-B, below).
Annotated Bunea Figs. 39A-B
In view of Claim 3, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 2. Bunea teaches each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a second bussing wherein the second bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the power electronics units and a second end proximate to the second end of the photovoltaic shingle and electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (Fig. 39B, #1103b – Page 47, Lines 18-23).
In view of Claim 4, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 3. Bunea teaches each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a third bussing, wherein the third bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the power electronics units and a second end between the first and second ends of the photovoltaic shingles and electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (Fig. 39B, #1103a – Page 47, Lines 18-23).
In view of Claim 9, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 4. Bunea discloses the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a third photovoltaic shingle, and wherein the third photovoltaic shingle is horizontally adjacent to the first photovoltaic shingle (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C, below).
Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C
In view of Claim 11, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Bunea discloses the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a fourth photovoltaic shingle, and wherein the fourth photovoltaic shingle is horizontally adjacent to the second photovoltaic shingle (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C, above).
In view of Claim 12, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Bunea discloses a fifth photovoltaic shingle and wherein the fifth photovoltaic is vertically adjacent the second photovoltaic shingle (See Fig. 2C for specific orientation & then see Fig. 68, the array structure repeats, thus a fifth PV shingle is/can be present directly above the second photovoltaic shingle shown in Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C, above). In regards to the limitation that, “the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 13, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 12. Bunea discloses the fifth photovoltaic shingle includes a second electrical connector at the second end thereof (Fig. 50, the opposite ends of the shingles can include an additional junction box which has a first connector extending from it shown in Fig. 14E). In regards to the limitation that, “the second electrical connector is electrically connected to the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 14, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Bunea discloses that the fifth photovoltaic shingle includes a fourth bussing (Fig. 39B, #1103b this bussing would be present on the fifth PV shingle). In regards to the limitation that, “wherein the fourth bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the first electrical connector and a second end electrically connected to the second electrical connector”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 15, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 14. In regards to the limitation that, “the second bussing of the fifth photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the second electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 19, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bunea discloses that the power electronic units include a housing and power electronics within the housing (See Fig. 14E, junction box housing), and wherein the power electronics includes an optimizer, or a rapid shutdown device (Page 117, Lines 7-11)
In view of Claim 20, Bunea discloses a system (Fig. 58) comprising:
a plurality of photovoltaic shingles installed on a slope of a roof deck (Fig. 58);
wherein the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes:
at least a first photovoltaic shingle and a second photovoltaic shingle, wherein the first photovoltaic shingle is vertically adjacent to the second photovoltaic shingle (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C, below);
Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C
wherein each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes: a first end and a second end opposite the first end (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 39B, below) a plurality of solar cells arranged in at least one row (Fig. 39b, #1112a/b – Page 48, Lines 6-17);
Annotated Bunea Fig. 39B
a first electrical connector that is adjacent to a first end of the at least one row of the plurality of solar cells and the first electrical connector is electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (Fig. 17A, #142 – is adjacent to the top row of the solar cells 10 – Page 37, Lines 3-20); and
a power electronics unit electrically connected to the first electrical connector (Fig. 39A, #1423 – Page 48, Lines 18-23); and
wherein the power electronics unit is laminated with the first side lap (Fig. 39A, #1423 is firmly mounted on the first side lap);
in further regards to the word “laminated”, the plain meaning of this word is “composed of layers of firmly united material” (Merriam-webster);
wherein the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle (Fig. 14E, the connector from the “bottom” cell mapped to a first photovoltaic shingle connects to the connector from the “vertically adjacent second photovoltaic shingle above it).
Bunea discloses each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a first bussing located proximate to the first end wherein the first bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the power electronics unit and a second end proximate to the first end of the photovoltaic shingle and electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (See Annotated Bunea Figs. 39A-B, below).
Annotated Bunea Figs. 39A-B
Bunea teaches each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a second bussing wherein the second bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the power electronics units and a second end proximate to the second end of the photovoltaic shingle and electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (Fig. 39B, #1103b – Page 48, Lines 18-23).
In view of Claim 22, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 12. Bunea teaches that the first electrical connector includes a housing, a first connector extending from the housing and a second connector extending from the housing (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 14E, below).
Annotated Bunea Fig. 14E
In view of Claim 23, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 22. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the second connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 24, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 23. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the second connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle by a first electrical cable”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another. The first electrical cable can be represented by one of the cables in Fig. 14E.
In view of Claim 25, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 24. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the second connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first connector of the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 26, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 25. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the second connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first connector of the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle by a second electrical cable”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another. The second electrical cable can be represented by one of the cables in Fig. 14E.
In view of Claim 27, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 26. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the first connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the second connector of the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 28, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 27. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the first connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the second connector of the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle by a third electrical cable”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another. The third electrical cable can be represented by one of the cables in Fig. 14E.
In view of Claim 29, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 24. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the first connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the second connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 30, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 29. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the first connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the second connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle by a second electrical cable”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another. The second electrical cable can be represented by one of the cables in Fig. 14E.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bunea (WO 2022/051593 A1) in view of Nguyen (US 2022/0029037 A1).
In view of Claim 21, Bunea is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bunea does not disclose that the first electrical connector has a thickness of 1-10 mm.
Nguyen teaches electrical connectors with a thickness of 1-10 mm (Paragraph 0116). Nguyen teaches that it is needed for a PV module with electrical connection features for efficient installation (Paragraph 0003). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the first electrical connector with a thickness of 1-10 mm for the advantages of using an electrical connection feature that provides for efficient installation.
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-15, 19-20, and 22-30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bunea (WO 2022/051593 A1) in view of Erickson et al. (US 2012/0025618 A1).
In view of Claim 1, Bunea discloses a system (Fig. 58) comprising:
a plurality of photovoltaic shingles installed on a slope of a roof deck (Fig. 58);
wherein the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes:
at least a first photovoltaic shingle and a second photovoltaic shingle, wherein the first photovoltaic shingle is vertically adjacent to the second photovoltaic shingle (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C, below);
Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C
wherein each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes: a first end and a second end opposite the first end (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 39B, below) a plurality of solar cells arranged in at least one row (Fig. 39b, #1112a/b – Page 48, Lines 6-17);
Annotated Bunea Fig. 39B
a first electrical connector that is adjacent to a first end of the at least one row of the plurality of solar cells and the first electrical connector is electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (Fig. 17A, #142 – is adjacent to the top row of the solar cells 10 – Page 37, Lines 3-20); and
a power electronics unit electrically connected to the first electrical connector (Fig. 39A, #1423 – Page 47, Lines 18-23); and
wherein the power electronics unit is laminated with the first side lap (Fig. 39A, #1423 is firmly mounted on the first side lap);
in further regards to the word “laminated”, the plain meaning of this word is “composed of layers of firmly united material” (Merriam-webster);
wherein the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle (Fig. 14E, the connector from the “bottom” cell mapped to a first photovoltaic shingle connects to the connector from the “vertically adjacent second photovoltaic shingle above it).
Erickson et al. discloses that development of new technologies for low-cost manufacturing of thin-film photovoltaic (PV) power cells is enabling new types of building materials that integrate photovoltaic power generating elements. In this role, the photovoltaic modules become architectural elements, requiring properties such as a low profile, ease of connection to the utility system, and the ability to maximize energy capture in a complex physical environment having shadows, reflections, and differing orientations (Paragraph 0002), and an example is the residential roof shingle, where it is desired that the photovoltaic modules have the appearance of asphalt shingles. To maximize energy capture on a complex multifaceted roof, smart controllers are required that can track PV peak power points on a fine scale (Paragraph 0003). Erickson et al. discloses that its desirable that smart controllers be thin and lightweight as well, where the local low-profile dc-dc converters are integrated into a package such as a laminate (Paragraph 0025 & 0034 – the local dc-dc converters are analogous to the power electronics unit of Bunea). Erickson et al. discloses that this advantageously improves energy capture in complex physical environments that may be encountered in building integrated PV systems (Paragraph 0035). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to ensure that the power electronics unit of Bunea was laminated with the first side lap to ensure that the architectural elements of the PV modules are maintained while maintaining required properties such as a low profile ease of connection to the utility system, and the ability to maximize energy capture in a complex physical environment having shadows, reflections, and differing orientations.
In view of Claim 2, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bunea discloses each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a first bussing located proximate to the first end wherein the first bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the power electronics unit and a second end proximate to the first end of the photovoltaic shingle and electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (See Annotated Bunea Figs. 39A-B, below).
Annotated Bunea Figs. 39A-B
In view of Claim 3, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 2. Bunea teaches each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a second bussing wherein the second bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the power electronics units and a second end proximate to the second end of the photovoltaic shingle and electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (Fig. 39B, #1103b – Page 47, Lines 18-23).
In view of Claim 4, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 3. Bunea teaches each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a third bussing, wherein the third bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the power electronics units and a second end between the first and second ends of the photovoltaic shingles and electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (Fig. 39B, #1103a – Page 47, Lines 18-23).
In view of Claim 9, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 4. Bunea discloses the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a third photovoltaic shingle, and wherein the third photovoltaic shingle is horizontally adjacent to the first photovoltaic shingle (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C, below).
Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C
In view of Claim 11, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Bunea discloses the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a fourth photovoltaic shingle, and wherein the fourth photovoltaic shingle is horizontally adjacent to the second photovoltaic shingle (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C, above).
In view of Claim 12, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Bunea discloses a fifth photovoltaic shingle and wherein the fifth photovoltaic is vertically adjacent the second photovoltaic shingle (See Fig. 2C for specific orientation & then see Fig. 68, the array structure repeats, thus a fifth PV shingle is/can be present directly above the second photovoltaic shingle shown in Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C, above). In regards to the limitation that, “the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 13, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 12. Bunea discloses the fifth photovoltaic shingle includes a second electrical connector at the second end thereof (Fig. 50, the opposite ends of the shingles can include an additional junction box which has a first connector extending from it shown in Fig. 14E). In regards to the limitation that, “the second electrical connector is electrically connected to the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 14, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Bunea discloses that the fifth photovoltaic shingle includes a fourth bussing (Fig. 39B, #1103b this bussing would be present on the fifth PV shingle). In regards to the limitation that, “wherein the fourth bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the first electrical connector and a second end electrically connected to the second electrical connector”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 15, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 14. In regards to the limitation that, “the second bussing of the fifth photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the second electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 19, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bunea discloses that the power electronic units include a housing and power electronics within the housing (See Fig. 14E, junction box housing), and wherein the power electronics includes an optimizer, or a rapid shutdown device (Page 117, Lines 7-11)
In view of Claim 20, Bunea discloses a system (Fig. 58) comprising:
a plurality of photovoltaic shingles installed on a slope of a roof deck (Fig. 58);
wherein the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes:
at least a first photovoltaic shingle and a second photovoltaic shingle, wherein the first photovoltaic shingle is vertically adjacent to the second photovoltaic shingle (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C, below);
Annotated Bunea Fig. 2C
wherein each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes: a first end and a second end opposite the first end (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 39B, below) a plurality of solar cells arranged in at least one row (Fig. 39b, #1112a/b – Page 48, Lines 6-17);
Annotated Bunea Fig. 39B
a first electrical connector that is adjacent to a first end of the at least one row of the plurality of solar cells and the first electrical connector is electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (Fig. 17A, #142 – is adjacent to the top row of the solar cells 10 – Page 37, Lines 3-20); and
a power electronics unit electrically connected to the first electrical connector (Fig. 39A, #1423 – Page 48, Lines 18-23); and
wherein the power electronics unit is laminated with the first side lap (Fig. 39A, #1423 is firmly mounted on the first side lap);
in further regards to the word “laminated”, the plain meaning of this word is “composed of layers of firmly united material” (Merriam-webster);
wherein the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle (Fig. 14E, the connector from the “bottom” cell mapped to a first photovoltaic shingle connects to the connector from the “vertically adjacent second photovoltaic shingle above it).
Bunea discloses each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a first bussing located proximate to the first end wherein the first bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the power electronics unit and a second end proximate to the first end of the photovoltaic shingle and electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (See Annotated Bunea Figs. 39A-B, below).
Annotated Bunea Figs. 39A-B
Bunea teaches each of the plurality of photovoltaic shingles includes a second bussing wherein the second bussing includes a first end electrically connected to the power electronics units and a second end proximate to the second end of the photovoltaic shingle and electrically connected to the plurality of solar cells (Fig. 39B, #1103b – Page 48, Lines 18-23).
Erickson et al. discloses that development of new technologies for low-cost manufacturing of thin-film photovoltaic (PV) power cells is enabling new types of building materials that integrate photovoltaic power generating elements. In this role, the photovoltaic modules become architectural elements, requiring properties such as a low profile, ease of connection to the utility system, and the ability to maximize energy capture in a complex physical environment having shadows, reflections, and differing orientations (Paragraph 0002), and an example is the residential roof shingle, where it is desired that the photovoltaic modules have the appearance of asphalt shingles. To maximize energy capture on a complex multifaceted roof, smart controllers are required that can track PV peak power points on a fine scale (Paragraph 0003). Erickson et al. discloses that its desirable that smart controllers be thin and lightweight as well, where the local low-profile dc-dc converters are integrated into a package such as a laminate (Paragraph 0025 & 0034 – the local dc-dc converters are analogous to the power electronics unit of Bunea). Erickson et al. discloses that this advantageously improves energy capture in complex physical environments that may be encountered in building integrated PV systems (Paragraph 0035). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to ensure that the power electronics unit of Bunea was laminated with the first side lap to ensure that the architectural elements of the PV modules are maintained while maintaining required properties such as a low profile ease of connection to the utility system, and the ability to maximize energy capture in a complex physical environment having shadows, reflections, and differing orientations.
In view of Claim 22, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 12. Bunea teaches that the first electrical connector includes a housing, a first connector extending from the housing and a second connector extending from the housing (See Annotated Bunea Fig. 14E, below).
Annotated Bunea Fig. 14E
In view of Claim 23, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 22. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the second connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 24, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 23. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the second connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle by a first electrical cable”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another. The first electrical cable can be represented by one of the cables in Fig. 14E.
In view of Claim 25, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 24. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the second connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first connector of the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 26, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 25. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the second connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the first connector of the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle by a second electrical cable”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another. The second electrical cable can be represented by one of the cables in Fig. 14E.
In view of Claim 27, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 26. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the first connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the second connector of the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 28, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 27. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the first connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the second connector of the first electrical connector of the fifth photovoltaic shingle by a third electrical cable”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another. The third electrical cable can be represented by one of the cables in Fig. 14E.
In view of Claim 29, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 24. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the first connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the second connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another.
In view of Claim 30, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 29. In regards to the limitation, “wherein the first connector of the first electrical connector of the first photovoltaic shingle is electrically connected to the second connector of the first electrical connector of the second photovoltaic shingle by a second electrical cable”, the entire array in Fig 68 produces power, collectively, every shingle, every cell is outputting power, thus each and every first connectors of the PV shingles are electrically connector to one another. The second electrical cable can be represented by one of the cables in Fig. 14E.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bunea (WO 2022/051593 A1) in view of Erickson et al. (US 2012/0025618 A1) in view of Nguyen (US 2022/0029037 A1).
In view of Claim 21, Bunea in view of Erickson et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Bunea does not disclose that the first electrical connector has a thickness of 1-10 mm.
Nguyen teaches electrical connectors with a thickness of 1-10 mm (Paragraph 0116). Nguyen teaches that it is needed for a PV module with electrical connection features for efficient installation (Paragraph 0003). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the first electrical connector with a thickness of 1-10 mm for the advantages of using an electrical connection feature that provides for efficient installation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Bunea does not disclose that the power electronics unit is laminated with the first side lap portion. The Examiner respectfully points out to Applicant that Bunea discloses the power electronics unit is laminated with the first side lap (Fig. 39A, #1423 is firmly mounted on the first side lap); in further regards to the word “laminated”, the plain meaning of this word is “composed of layers of firmly united material” (See Merriam-webster & also see MPEP 2111.01 I & III). Applicant may be their own lexicographer and/or may disavow claim scope by clearly setting forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification that differs from the plain and ordinary meaning it would otherwise posses but there is no special definition in Applicant’s specification that states a different meaning for the word “laminated” (See MPEP 2111.01, IV). Accordingly, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds for rejection being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726