DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a separately filed document (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is Christopher.Legendre@uspto.gov.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 September 2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is hereby considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the Abstract, “An object of the present disclosure is to provide a” (line 1) should be changed to --A-- and “present disclosure provides a” (line 3) should be deleted (note: the language of the Abstract should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "This disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "This disclosure describes," etc - see MPEP 608.01(b)).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, line 1, “a” should be changed to --the-- (to imbue proper antecedent basis practice - see claim 1).
In claim 7, line 1, “an” should be changed to --the-- (to imbue proper antecedent basis practice - see claim 1).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
There are no limitations deemed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Inoue ‘628 et al. (US 12,544,628 - hereafter referred to as Inoue ‘628).
The applied reference has a common assignee / applicant / joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In reference to claim 1
Inoue ‘628 discloses:
A golf ball (i.e., Golf ball No. 3 and Golf ball No. 9) comprising a spherical core (2), an intermediate layer (4) covering the spherical core, and an outermost cover (3) covering the intermediate layer, wherein
the spherical core is formed from (see col.5:ln.66 through col.6:ln.3) a rubber composition containing a base rubber, a co-crosslinking agent, and a crosslinking initiator,
the base rubber contains a natural rubber (see col.6:ll.4-5),
a center hardness (H0) of the spherical core, a hardness (H2.5) at a point having a radial distance of 2.5 mm from a center of the spherical core, a hardness (H5.0) at a point having a radial distance of 5.0 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H7.5) at a point having a radial distance of 7.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H10) at a point having a radial distance of 10 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H12.5) at a point having a radial distance of 12.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H15) at a point having a radial distance of 15 mm from the center of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core satisfy a relationship of H0<H2.5<H5.0<H7.5<H10<H12.5<H15<Hs (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5),
the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 60 or less in Shore C hardness (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5), and
a slab hardness of an intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is greater than (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5) a slab hardness of a cover composition forming the outermost cover.
In reference to claim 2
Inoue ‘628 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5) the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5) and the hardness (H15) satisfy relationships of H2.5-H0≥3.0, H12.5-H10≥3.0 and H15-H12.5≥3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 3
Inoue ‘628 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5) the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5) and the hardness (H10) satisfy relationships of H7.5-H5.0<3.0 and H10-H7.5<3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 4
Inoue ‘628 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5) a hardness difference (Hs-H0) between the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core and the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 20 or more in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 6
Inoue ‘628 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein a cover composition (i.e., composition “c” - see Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5, and see composition “c” in Table 3) forming the outermost cover is a resin composition containing a urethane resin (see Table 3 and col.18:ll.54-55) as a base resin, and
a slab hardness (i.e., 31 - see Table 3 and/or Tables 4 and 5) of the cover composition forming the outermost cover is 40 or less in Shore D hardness.
In reference to claim 7
Inoue ‘628 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein an intermediate layer composition (i.e., composition “a” - see Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5, and see composition “a” in Table 2) forming the intermediate layer is a resin composition containing an ionomer resin (see Table 3 and col.18:ll.10-12) as a base resin, and
a slab hardness (i.e., 68 - see Table 2 and/or Tables 4 and 5) of the intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is 50 or more in Shore D hardness.
In reference to claim 8
Inoue ‘628 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5) the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core ranges from 42 to 60 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 9
Inoue ‘628 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5) the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core ranges from 70 to 90 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 10
Inoue ‘628 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 2, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5) the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5) and the hardness (H15) satisfy relationships of 12.0≥H2.5-H0≥3.0, 11.0≥H12.5-H10≥3.0 and 10.0≥H15-H12.5≥3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 11
Inoue ‘628 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 3, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5) the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5) and the hardness (H10) satisfy relationships of 0.2≤H7.5-H5.0<3.0 and 0.1≤H10-H7.5<3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 12
Inoue ‘628 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 4, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 3 in Table 4 and Golf ball No. 9 in Table 5) the hardness difference (Hs-H0) ranges from 20 to 40 in Shore C hardness.
Claims 1-4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okabe ‘181 (US 9,061,181).
In reference to claim 1
Okabe ‘181 discloses:
A golf ball (i.e., Golf ball No. 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, and/or 11) comprising a spherical core (4), an intermediate layer (see col.14:ll.21-24; also see Tables 3 and 4 including “Intermediate layer”) covering the spherical core, and an outermost cover (12) covering the intermediate layer, wherein
the spherical core is formed from (see col.4:ll.8-16) a rubber composition containing a base rubber, a co-crosslinking agent, and a crosslinking initiator,
the base rubber contains a natural rubber (see col.5:ll.2-7),
a center hardness (H0) of the spherical core, a hardness (H2.5) at a point having a radial distance of 2.5 mm from a center of the spherical core, a hardness (H5.0) at a point having a radial distance of 5.0 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H7.5) at a point having a radial distance of 7.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H10) at a point having a radial distance of 10 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H12.5) at a point having a radial distance of 12.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H15) at a point having a radial distance of 15 mm from the center of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core satisfy a relationship of H0<H2.5<H5.0<H7.5<H10<H12.5<H15<Hs (see Table 3),
the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 60 or less in Shore C hardness (see Tables 3 and 4), and
a slab hardness (i.e., 65 - see Tables 3-4 and/or Table 5) of an intermediate layer composition (i.e., Cover composition No. 1 - see Table 5 and col.21:ll.16-18) forming the intermediate layer is greater than a slab hardness (i.e., 32 - see Tables 3-4 and/or Table 5) of a cover composition (i.e., Cover composition No. 2 - see Table 5 and col.21:ll.18-20) forming the outermost cover.
In reference to claim 2
Okabe ‘181 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 6 and/or 9 in Tables 3 and 4) the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5) and the hardness (H15) satisfy relationships of H2.5-H0≥3.0, H12.5-H10≥3.0 and H15-H12.5≥3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 3
Okabe ‘181 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 6 in Table 3) the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5) and the hardness (H10) satisfy relationships of H7.5-H5.0<3.0 and H10-H7.5<3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 4
Okabe ‘181 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, and/or 11 in Tables 3 and 4) a hardness difference (Hs-H0) between the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core and the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 20 or more in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 6
Okabe ‘181 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein a cover composition (see col.11:ll.38-42 and/or col.12:ll.36-44 and/or Cover composition No. 2 in Table 5) forming the outermost cover is a resin composition containing a urethane resin as a base resin, and
a slab hardness of the cover composition forming the outermost cover is 40 or less in Shore D hardness (i.e., 32 - see hardness values for Golf ball No. 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, and/or 11 in Tables 3 and 4, also see Table 5).
In reference to claim 7
Okabe ‘181 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein an intermediate layer composition (i.e., Cover composition No. 1 - see Table 5 and col.21:ll.16-18) forming the intermediate layer is a resin composition (see Table 5 and col.12:ll.10-26) containing an ionomer resin as a base resin, and
a slab hardness (i.e., 65 - see hardness values for Golf ball No. 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, and/or 11 in Tables 3 and 4, also see Table 5) of the intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is 50 or more in Shore D hardness.
In reference to claim 8
Okabe ‘181 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, and/or 11 in Tables 3 and 4) the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core ranges from 42 to 60 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 9
Okabe ‘181 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, and/or 11 in Tables 3 and 4) the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core ranges from 70 to 90 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 10
Okabe ‘181 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 2, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 6 and/or No. 9 in Tables 3 and 4) the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5) and the hardness (H15) satisfy relationships of 12.0≥H2.5-H0≥3.0, 11.0≥H12.5-H10≥3.0 and 10.0≥H15-H12.5≥3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 11
Okabe ‘181 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 3, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 6 in Table 3) the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5) and the hardness (H10) satisfy relationships of 0.2≤H7.5-H5.0<3.0 and 0.1≤H10-H7.5<3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 12
Okabe ‘181 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 4, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, and/or 11 in Tables 3 and 4) the hardness difference (Hs-H0) ranges from 20 to 40 in Shore C hardness.
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe ‘741 et al. (US 10,610,741 - hereafter referred to as Watanabe ‘741).
In reference to claim 1
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
A golf ball (i.e., Working Example 2) comprising a spherical core (1), an intermediate layer (2) covering the spherical core, and an outermost cover (3) covering the intermediate layer, wherein
the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition (see col.4:ll.16-22) containing a base rubber, a co-crosslinking agent, and a crosslinking initiator (i.e., an organic peroxide),
the base rubber contains a natural rubber (see col.4:ll.30-34),
a center hardness (H0) of the spherical core, a hardness (H2.5) at a point having a radial distance of 2.5 mm from a center of the spherical core, a hardness (H5.0) at a point having a radial distance of 5.0 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H7.5) at a point having a radial distance of 7.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H10) at a point having a radial distance of 10 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H12.5) at a point having a radial distance of 12.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H15) at a point having a radial distance of 15 mm from the center of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core satisfy a relationship of H0<H2.5<H5.0<H7.5<H10<H12.5<H15<Hs (see hardness values in Table 6),
the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 60 or less in Shore C hardness (i.e., 57.8 - see Table 6), and
a slab hardness (i.e., 64 - see Table 6) of an intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is greater than a slab hardness (i.e., 47 - see Table 6) of a cover composition forming the outermost cover.
In reference to claim 2
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values in Table 6) the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5) and the hardness (H15) satisfy relationships of H2.5-H0≥3.0, H12.5-H10≥3.0 and H15-H12.5≥3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 3
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values in Table 6) the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5) and the hardness (H10) satisfy relationships of H7.5-H5.0<3.0 and H10-H7.5<3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 4
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values in Table 6) a hardness difference (Hs-H0) between the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core and the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 20 or more in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 7
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein an intermediate layer composition (see col.9:ll.37-39) forming the intermediate layer is a resin composition containing an ionomer resin as a base resin, and
a slab hardness (i.e., 64 - see Table 6) of the intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is 50 or more in Shore D hardness.
In reference to claim 8
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the center hardness (H0) (i.e., 57.8 - see Table 6) of the spherical core ranges from 42 to 60 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 10
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 2, wherein (see hardness values in Table 6) the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5) and the hardness (H15) satisfy relationships of 12.0≥H2.5-H0≥3.0, 11.0≥H12.5-H10≥3.0 and 10.0≥H15-H12.5≥3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 12
Watanabe ‘741 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 4, wherein (see hardness values in Table 6) the hardness difference (Hs-H0) ranges from 20 to 40 in Shore C hardness.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okabe ‘272 et al. (US 9,751,272 - hereafter referred to as Okabe ‘272).
In reference to claim 1
Okabe ‘272 discloses:
A golf ball (i.e., Golf ball No. 2) comprising a spherical core (4), an intermediate layer (see col.20:ll.14-18) covering the spherical core, and an outermost cover (12) covering the intermediate layer, wherein
the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition (see col.5:ll.39-47) containing a base rubber, a co-crosslinking agent, and a crosslinking initiator,
the base rubber contains a natural rubber (see col.5:ll.48-50),
a center hardness (H0) of the spherical core, a hardness (H2.5) at a point having a radial distance of 2.5 mm from a center of the spherical core, a hardness (H5.0) at a point having a radial distance of 5.0 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H7.5) at a point having a radial distance of 7.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H10) at a point having a radial distance of 10 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H12.5) at a point having a radial distance of 12.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H15) at a point having a radial distance of 15 mm from the center of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core satisfy a relationship of H0<H2.5<H5.0<H7.5<H10<H12.5<H15<Hs (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 2 in Table 6),
the center hardness (H0) (i.e., 51.5 - see Table 6) of the spherical core is 60 or less in Shore C hardness, and
a slab hardness (i.e., 65 - see Table 6) of an intermediate layer (i.e., “Inner cover layer” in Table 6) composition forming the intermediate layer is greater than a slab hardness (i.e., 32 - see Table 6) of a cover composition forming the outermost cover (i.e., “Outer cover layer” in Table 6).
In reference to claim 2
Okabe ‘272 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 2 in Table 6) the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5) and the hardness (H15) satisfy relationships of H2.5-H0≥3.0, H12.5-H10≥3.0 and H15-H12.5≥3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 4
Okabe ‘272 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 2 in Table 6) a hardness difference (Hs-H0) between the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core and the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 20 or more in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 6
Okabe ‘272 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein a cover composition (i.e., composition D - see Table 5) forming the outermost cover is a resin composition containing a urethane resin (see col.17:ll.59-62) as a base resin, and
a slab hardness (i.e., 32 - see Table 6) of the cover composition forming the outermost cover is 40 or less in Shore D hardness.
In reference to claim 7
Okabe ‘272 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein an intermediate layer composition (i.e., composition A in Table 5) forming the intermediate layer is a resin composition containing an ionomer resin (see col.18:ll.31-32) as a base resin, and
a slab hardness (i.e., 65 - see Table 6) of the intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is 50 or more in Shore D hardness.
In reference to claim 8
Okabe ‘272 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 2 in Table 6) the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core ranges from 42 to 60 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 9
Okabe ‘272 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness for Golf ball No. 2 values in Table 6) the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core ranges from 70 to 90 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 10
Okabe ‘272 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 2, wherein (see hardness values for Golf ball No. 2 in Table 6) the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5) and the hardness (H15) satisfy relationships of 12.0≥H2.5-H0≥3.0, 11.0≥H12.5-H10≥3.0 and 10.0≥H15-H12.5≥3.0 in Shore C hardness.
Claims 1-4, 8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe ‘287 et al. (US 10,953,287 - hereafter referred to as Watanabe ‘287).
In reference to claim 1
Watanabe ‘287 discloses:
A golf ball (i.e., Working Example 2 - Table 6) comprising a spherical core (1), an intermediate layer (2) covering the spherical core, and an outermost cover (3) covering the intermediate layer, wherein
the spherical core is formed from a rubber composition (see col.4:ll.27-33) containing a base rubber, a co-crosslinking agent, and a crosslinking initiator (i.e., an organic peroxide),
the base rubber contains a natural rubber (see col.4:ll.34-45),
a center hardness (H0) of the spherical core, a hardness (H2.5) at a point having a radial distance of 2.5 mm from a center of the spherical core, a hardness (H5.0) at a point having a radial distance of 5.0 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H7.5) at a point having a radial distance of 7.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H10) at a point having a radial distance of 10 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H12.5) at a point having a radial distance of 12.5 mm from the center of the spherical core, a hardness (H15) at a point having a radial distance of 15 mm from the center of the spherical core, and a surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core satisfy a relationship of H0<H2.5<H5.0<H7.5<H10<H12.5<H15<Hs (see hardness values for Working Example 2 in Table 6),
the center hardness (H0) (i.e., 57.8 - see Table 6) of the spherical core is 60 or less in Shore C hardness, and
a slab hardness (i.e., 64 - see Table 6) of an intermediate layer composition forming the intermediate layer is greater than a slab hardness (i.e., 47 - see Table 6) of a cover composition forming the outermost cover.
In reference to claim 2
Watanabe ‘287 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Working Example 2 in Table 6) the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5) and the hardness (H15) satisfy relationships of H2.5-H0≥3.0, H12.5-H10≥3.0 and H15-H12.5≥3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 3
Watanabe ‘287 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Working Example 2 in Table 6) the hardness (H5.0), the hardness (H7.5) and the hardness (H10) satisfy relationships of H7.5-H5.0<3.0 and H10-H7.5<3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 4
Watanabe ‘287 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein (see hardness values for Working Example 2 in Table 6) a hardness difference (Hs-H0) between the surface hardness (Hs) of the spherical core and the center hardness (H0) of the spherical core is 20 or more in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 8
Watanabe ‘287 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 1, wherein the center hardness (H0)(i.e., 57.8 - see Table 6) of the spherical core ranges from 42 to 60 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 10
Watanabe ‘287 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 2, wherein (see hardness values for Working Example 2 in Table 6) the center hardness (H0), the hardness (H2.5), the hardness (H10), the hardness (H12.5) and the hardness (H15) satisfy relationships of 12.0≥H2.5-H0≥3.0, 11.0≥H12.5-H10≥3.0 and 10.0≥H15-H12.5≥3.0 in Shore C hardness.
In reference to claim 12
Watanabe ‘287 discloses:
The golf ball according to claim 4, wherein (see hardness values for Working Example 2 in Table 6) the hardness difference (Hs-H0) ranges from 20 to 40 in Shore C hardness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue ‘628 AND/OR Okabe ‘181 AND/OR Watanabe ‘741 AND/OR Okabe ‘272 AND/OR Watanabe ‘287 in view of Nakamura et al. (US 8,262,508 - hereafter referred to as Nakamura), and wherein Britton et al. (US 2024/0350868 - hereafter referred to as Britton) is cited on an evidentiary basis.
In reference to claim 5
Inoue ‘628 AND/OR Okabe ‘181 AND/OR Watanabe ‘741 AND/OR Okabe ‘272 AND/OR Watanabe ‘287 each disclose:
The golf ball according to claim 1.
Inoue ‘628 AND/OR Okabe ‘181 AND/OR Watanabe ‘741 AND/OR Okabe ‘272 AND/OR Watanabe ‘287 each does not disclose:
an amount of the natural rubber ranges from 20 mass % to 100 mass % in 100 mass % of the base rubber.
Nakamura discloses:
a golf ball core comprising a base rubber composition (see (a), (b), and (c) in Table 1) including natural rubber and synthetic rubber, wherein the natural rubber is 50% by weight of the base rubber composition.
Britton teaches a golf ball core that includes natural rubber due to it being ecologically friendly (see par. [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the golf ball of Inoue ‘628 AND/OR Okabe ‘181 AND/OR Watanabe ‘741 AND/OR Okabe ‘272 AND/OR Watanabe ‘287 to include a base rubber composition having natural rubber as 50% by weight, as disclosed by Nakamura, for the purpose of imbuing a desired ecological friendliness thereto.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711