DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,588. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of an instant application is equivalent to claims 1, 10 and 12 of Us Patent, as all the structural limitations of claim 1 of the instant application is disclosed by the claims 1, 2, 10 and 12 of US Patent.
Claim 2 of the instant application is similar to claim 1, lines 20-23 of claim 1 of the US patent,
Claims 3-17 of the instant application are equivalent to claims 2-16 the US patent.
Claim 18 of the instant application are equivalent to claim 20 the US patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, lines 1-2, recites, “a control member coupled to the at least one member of the mechanism”. It is not clear that this “a control member 105 coupled to the at least one member 103, 104 of the mechanism” is same or different that of defined in claim 1, line 15, therefore it is vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LI, Yonghai et al. (EP 3228199) hereafter LI.
Regarding claim 1, LI, discloses an aerosol-generating device 10 for heating an aerosol-generating article 20, the aerosol-generating device comprising: a housing 100 having an opening 101 (FIG. 1); a chamber 102 disposed within the housing 100, and configured to receive at least a portion of the aerosol-generating article 20 through the opening 101 in the housing 100; a heater assembly 103, 104 disposed within the housing 100, and comprising a heating element 103, 104 configured to heat at least a portion of the chamber 102; a mechanism 105, 106, 103, 104, 115, 117, 118 comprising at least one member 103, 104 disposed at or proximate to the opening 101 of the housing and configured to move between: a first position (fully open position), in which the aerosol-generating article 20 can be inserted into the chamber 102 via the opening 101, and a second position (intermediate position first and third positions, which is filly closed position), in which the at least one member 103, 104 has reduced a size of the opening relative to a size of the opening when the at least one member is in the first position; and a control member 105 coupled to the at least one member 103, 104 of the mechanism such that actuation of the control member 105 causes the at least one member 103, 104 of the mechanism to move between the first position and the second position, the at least one member is configured to move from the first position to the second position in a first direction, and wherein the control member is configured to move in a second direction to cause the at least one member to move from the first position to the second position, the second direction being different from the first direction.
Regarding claim 2, LI, discloses at least one guide track (of hook) 115 along which the at least one member 103, is configured to slide when the at least one member 103 moves between the first position and the second position.
Regarding claim 3, LI, discloses the at least one member 103, 104 underlies an inner surface of a wall of the housing 100.
Regarding claim 4, LI, discloses the mechanism 105, 106, 103, 104, 115, 117, 118 is separate from the heater assembly 103, 104 (being separate pieces of mechanism 105, 106, 103, 104, 115, 117, 118)
Regarding claim 5, LI, discloses the mechanism is not a same component as the heater assembly.
Regarding claim 6, LI, discloses the chamber has a longitudinal axis extending from the opening of the housing into the chamber.
Regarding claim 7, LI, discloses the at least one guide track (of hook) 115 extends substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the chamber.
Regarding claim 8, LI, discloses movement of the at least one member between the first position and the second position is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the chamber.
Regarding claim 9, LI, discloses the heater assembly is disposed within the chamber and longitudinally spaced from the mechanism.
Regarding claim 10, LI, discloses the mechanism is disposed at or proximate the opening at a first longitudinal position, and the heater assembly is disposed within or around the chamber at a second longitudinal position.
Regarding claim 11, LI, discloses a control member 105 coupled to the at least one member 103, 104 of the mechanism such that actuation of the control member 105 causes the at least one member 103, 104 of the mechanism to move between the first position and the second position.
Regarding claim 12, LI, discloses the control member 105 is an element that is slidable by a user to cause the at least one member 103,104 to move between the first position and the second position.
Regarding claim 13, LI, discloses the at least one member is configured to move from the first position to the second position in a first direction, and wherein the control member is configured to move in a second direction to cause the at least one member to move from the first position to the second position, the second direction being different from the first direction.
Regarding claim 14, LI, discloses the at least one member 103, 104 comprises a plurality of blades 103, 104, each of the blades 103, 104 being configured to move from a first position (fully open position), in which the aerosol-generating article can be inserted into the chamber via the opening, and a second position (intermediate position), in which each blade has reduced the size of the opening relative to the size of the opening when the blades are in the first position.
Regarding claim 15, LI, discloses the at least one member 103, 104 is further configured to move to a third position 102, in which the at least one member completely closes the opening in the housing.
Regarding claim 16, LI, discloses at least one wall of the chamber is thermally coupled to the heater element 102, 104.
Regarding claim 17, LI, discloses, the heater assembly further comprises a heater element disposed around an outer surface of the at least one wall of the chamber (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, LI, discloses an aerosol-generating system comprising an aerosol-generating device according to claim 1, and an aerosol-generating article configured to be inserted into the chamber of the aerosol-generating device (as discussed above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831