DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only, and/or, cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, claim 10 has not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A thermal insulating element in claim 4. For purposes of examination: this term is interpreted as a thermal insulation pad (Applicant Specification Publication [0020]) and its equivalents.
The aforementioned limitation meets the three-prong test outlined herein since:
(A) the term “element” is a generic placeholder,
(B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “thermal insulating”), and
(C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
A resilient element in claim 6. For purposes of examination: this term is interpreted as a resilient washer (Applicant Specification Publication [0020]) and its equivalents.
The aforementioned limitation meets the three-prong test outlined herein since:
(A) the term “element” is a generic placeholder,
(B) the generic placeholder is modified by functional language (e.g. “resilient”), and
(C) the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structures, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4, 6, and 10-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 4, the phrase "preferably provided with a thermal insulating element to limit the thermal contact between the first heatsink and the spacer" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether this limitation is required by the claims or a possible alternative. For purposes of examination: in order to expedite prosecution, this phrase/term is interpreted as provided with a thermal insulating element to limit the thermal contact between the first heatsink and the spacer.
In re claim 6, the phrase "the screw connection" lacks antecedent basis. For purposes of examination: in order to expedite prosecution, this phrase/term is interpreted as a screw connection.
In re claim 10, the phrase “mounted according to any one of the preceding claims” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which claim and limitations are incorporated to the claims therefrom as the claim requires multiple dependencies. As it is unclear if this is claiming only part of the claims (how the module is mounted) or the entire tempering module. Further, the multiple dependency further confuses the issue. For purposes of examination: this claim is examined as an independent claim.
Claim 11 is rejected at least by virtue of its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cauchy (US2005126184).
In re Claim 1, Cauchy discloses a tempering module (Figs. 2A, 3, 3A-3B, 4, 6, 8) comprising at least two Peltier elements (two pairs of P/N elements 42a-b),
wherein each Peltier element (two pairs of P/N elements 42a-b) has a first side (towards base 44) and a second side (side connected to base 48a),
wherein said at least two Peltier elements (two pairs of P/N elements 42a-b) are oriented with their first side so as to be in thermal contact with a common shared first heatsink (46) suitable to be heated, and
wherein each Peltier element (two pairs of P/N elements 42a-b) is oriented with its second side so as to be in thermal contact with an individual second heatsink (second side of respective Peltier elements connected to individual second hot, heat sinks 48) suitable to be cooled.
In re Claim 2, Cauchy discloses wherein a spacer (46a) is arranged between the second side of each Peltier element and each corresponding individual second heatsink ([0025]: A metal spacer 28 is often placed between the cold side 14 and cold sink 24, respectively) to allow thermal contact between the Peltier element and the second heatsink.1
In re Claim 7, Cauchy discloses wherein the first and second sides of each Peltier element (side connected to 44 and side connected to 48) as well as both sides of the first and each second heatsink (as indicated supra) in thermal contact with the corresponding Peltier element (42 a-b) are coated with a layer of thermally conductive paste ([0037]: thermally conductive adhesive, i.e., paste).
In re Claim 8, Cauchy discloses wherein the first and/or second heatsink (46) is formed as a finned air heatsink ([0045] and [0049]: Cold sink 46 is an anodized aluminum-finned heat sink).
In re Claim 9, Cauchy discloses wherein the fins of the first heatsink (fins of 46) are oriented parallel to the fins of the second heatsink (fins of 48).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laliberte (US 6463743).
In re Claim 10, Laliberte discloses a tempering chamber (See Fig. 5: cooler 200 with tempering chamber 25) comprising a wall (bottom of wall) with the tempering module (Fig. 5),
wherein the first heatsink (5) is arranged on an outer side of said wall (wall of 25), on which a first fan (6) is arranged for pushing air into the first heatsink in a substantially perpendicular direction to the plane of the first side of the Peltier element (part of thermoelectric unit 100)2,
wherein at least two second heatsinks (See Fig 4B) and a second fan (424) for pushing air into the second heatsinks (8) in a direction substantially parallel to the plane of the second side of the Peltier element are arranged on an inner side of said wall.3
In re Claim 11, Laliberte discloses wherein at least one flow rectifier (24) is arranged on the inner side of said wall (bottom wall).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cauchy (US2005126184) in view of Cauchy (Fig. 2A).
In re Claim 3, Cauchy does not explicitly teach, wherein the first heatsink and the second heatsink are attached to the spacer.
However, Cauchy (Fig. 2A) teaches wherein the first heatsink (Fig. 2A: 26) and the second heatsink (Fig. 2A: 24) are attached to the spacer (28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Cauchy and to have modified them by having the first heatsink and the second heatsink of Cauchy attached to the spacer.as taught by Cauchy (Fig. 2A), in order to reduce parasitic heat transfer between the hot and cold sinks (See Cauchy [0005]), without yielding unpredictable results.
In re Claim 4, Cauchy does not explicitly teach, wherein the first heatsink is attached to the spacer by means of first screws, preferably provided with a thermal insulating element to limit the thermal contact between the first heatsink and the spacer.
However, Cauchy (Fig. 2A) teaches wherein the first heatsink (Fig. 2A: 26) is attached to the spacer (28) by means of first screws (32), preferably provided with a thermal insulating element (31) to limit the thermal contact between the first heatsink and the spacer.4
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Cauchy and to have modified them by having the first heatsink is attached to the spacer by means of first screws, preferably provided with a thermal insulating element to limit the thermal contact between the first heatsink and the spacer as taught by Cauchy (Fig. 2A), in order to reduce parasitic heat transfer between the hot and cold sinks (See Cauchy [0005]), without yielding unpredictable results.
In re Claim 5, Cauchy does not explicitly teach, wherein the second heatsink is attached to the spacer by means of second screws.
However, Cauchy (Fig. 2A) teaches wherein the second heatsink (Fig. 2A: 24) is attached to the spacer (28) by means of second screws (32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Cauchy and to have modified them by having the second heatsink of Cauchy attached to the spacer by means of second screws as taught by Cauchy (Fig. 2A), in order to reduce parasitic heat transfer between the hot and cold sinks (See Cauchy [0005]), without yielding unpredictable results.
In re Claim 6, Cauchy does not explicitly teach, wherein the screw connection by means of the first and/or second screws comprises a resilient element.
However, Cauchy (Fig. 2A) teaches wherein the screw connection (connection portion of 32) by means of the first and/or second screws (32) comprises a resilient element ([0005]: 34, 36, 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Cauchy and to have modified them by having the screw connection by means of the first screws comprises a resilient element as taught by Cauchy (Fig. 2A), in order to reduce parasitic heat transfer between the hot and cold sinks (See Cauchy [0005]), without yielding unpredictable results.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM A. MICHAEL ADENIJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
1 The recitation of "to allow thermal contact between the Peltier element and the second heatsink" recited in the claim has been considered a recitation of intended use. The prior art structure above is capable of performing as intended. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation. (MPEP 2114).
2 The recitation of "for pushing air into the first heatsink in a substantially perpendicular direction to the plane of the first side of the Peltier element" recited in the claim has been considered a recitation of intended use. The prior art structure above is capable of performing as intended. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation. (MPEP 2114).
3 The recitation of "for pushing air into the second heatsinks in a direction substantially parallel to the plane of the second side of the Peltier element are arranged on an inner side of said wall" recited in the claim has been considered a recitation of intended use. The prior art structure above is capable of performing as intended. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation. (MPEP 2114).
4 The recitation of "to limit the thermal contact between the first heatsink and the spacer " recited in the claim has been considered a recitation of intended use. The prior art structure above is capable of performing as intended. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation. (MPEP 2114).