DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-11, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20040072542 A1 (John Richard Sanford, hereinafter Sanford).
Regarding claim 1, Sanford discloses an apparatus (Fig. 8, small communication device 18) comprising:
an antenna circuit configured to at least one of transmit or receive wireless signals over a target operating frequency band (Fig. 8 and par. [0063], , “receive path 38R and a transmit path 38T…operating frequency receive band…”), the antenna circuit comprising:
a radiating element configured to radiate electromagnetic waves (Fig. 8 and par. [0068], “filter 3 8-2R is connected directly to antenna 3 8-1R …an integrated filtennas 38-1/2 R is formed”, antennas inherently comprise radiating), the radiating element having a first resonant frequency different from a center frequency of the target operating frequency band (Note: this limitation has no patentable weight, since the recitation of the limitation “attempts to define the subject-matter in terms of the result to be achieved…merely amounts to a statement of the underlying problem, without providing the technical features necessary for achieving the result”) (Fig. 8 and par. [0068] and [0069]); and
one or more acoustic resonators electrically coupled to the radiating element (par. [0068-[0069]).
Regarding claim 8, Sanford discloses a filtenna (Fig. 8 and par. [0068], “filter 3 8-2R is connected directly to antenna 3 8-1R …an integrated filtennas 38-1/2 R is formed”) comprising:
an antenna (Fig. 8, antenna 3 8-1R) configured to have a first resonance frequency associated with electromagnetic oscillations of the antenna (par. [0005]); and
one or more acoustic resonators coupled to the antenna (Fig. 8 and pars. [0030], [0068] and [0069]), a first acoustic resonator in the one or more acoustic resonators configured to have a second resonance frequency associated with acoustic oscillations of the first acoustic resonator (Fig. 8 and par. [0068] and [0069]),
wherein the filtenna is configured to have a filter transfer function based at least in part on the first resonance frequency of the antenna and the second resonance frequency of the first acoustic resonator (par. [0068-[0069]).
Regarding claim 19, Sanford discloses a method of processing a signal using an antenna circuit configured to at least one of transmit or receive wireless signals over a target operating frequency band (Fig. 8 and par. and par. [0063], “receiving
38R and a transmit path 38T…operating frequency receive band…”), the method comprising:
filtering the signal with a radiating element included in the antenna circuit (Fig. 8 and par. [0068]-[0069], “filter 3 8-2R is connected directly to antenna 3 8-1R …an integrated filtennas 38-1/2 R is formed”) wherein the radiating element is configured to radiate electromagnetic waves (inherent) and wherein the radiating element has a first resonant frequency different from a center frequency of the target operating frequency band (par. [0068-[0069]); and
filtering the signal with one or more acoustic resonators included in the antenna circuit and electrically coupled to the radiating element (Fig. 8 and pars. [0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claims 2 and 20, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 19, respectively. Sanford further discloses wherein the radiating element and the one or more acoustic resonators together form a combined filter circuit (par. [0030], “resonator functions of the filter”; par. [0068], “SAW filter”) having a passband corresponding to the target operating frequency band (Fig. 8 and pars. [0030], [0063]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 5, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Sanford further discloses wherein the radiating element and the one or more acoustic resonators are co-located together such that a conductive line coupling the radiating element to the one or more acoustic resonators forms a portion of the radiating element (Fig. 8; pars. [0030] and [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Sanford further discloses wherein a series resonance of the one or more acoustic resonators is at the center frequency of the target operating frequency band (Fig. 8; pars. [0030] and [0068]).
Regarding claim 7, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Sanford further discloses further comprising at least one of a transmitter or a receiver coupled to the antenna circuit (Fig. 8 and par. [0068]; for receiving and transmitting signals a transmitter and a receiver are required), the transmitter being configured to transmit first wireless signals from the radiating element of the antenna circuit and the receiver being configured to receive second wireless signals with the radiating element of the antenna circuit (Fig. 8 and par. [0068]).
Regarding claim 9, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Sanford further discloses wherein the filter transfer function is a bandpass filter function characterized by a center frequency and a bandwidth (pars. [0068] and [0069]).
Regarding claim 10, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Sanford further discloses wherein at least one of the center frequency or the bandwidth is based at least in part on the first resonance frequency of the antenna and the second resonance frequency of the first acoustic resonator (Fig. 8 and pars. [0063]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 11, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Sanford further discloses wherein the first resonance frequency of the antenna is offset from the center frequency of the bandpass filter function (Fig. 8 and pars. [0063]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 15, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Sanford further discloses wherein the first acoustic resonator is directly connected to a feedline of the antenna without a transmission line coupled between the feedline and the first acoustic resonator (pars. [0068]-[0069], please see separate receiving and transmitting portions).
Regarding claim 18, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Sanford further discloses a wireless device comprising the filtenna (par. [0054]), the wireless device further comprising at least one of a transmitter or a receiver coupled to the filtenna (Fig. 8 and par. [0068]; for receiving an transmitting signals a transmitter and a receiver are required), the transmitter being configured to transmit first wireless signals from the antenna of the filtenna and the receiver being configured to receive second wireless signals with the antenna of the filtenna (Fig. 8 and par. [0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanford in view of US 20020171508 A1 (Harada et al., hereinafter Harada).
Regarding claim 3, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Sanford does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more acoustic resonators are formed on a first die and the radiating element is formed on a second die different from the first die.
In related art concerning a front-end module, Harada discloses wherein the one or more acoustic resonators are formed on a first die and the radiating element is formed on a second die different from the first die (par. [0038], “SAW filter may be incorporated or mounted as…a bare chip”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Harada’s teachings wherein the one or more acoustic resonators are formed on a first die and the radiating element is formed on a second die different from the first die with the communication device with integration in separate transmitter and receiver antennas disclosed by Sanford because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by placing the antenna and some of the resonators in separate dies, electromagnetic coupling is reduced; therefore, improving selectivity and reducing insertion loss, as well as improving impedance matching between the front end and the resonator, among others.
Regarding claim 4, Sanford and Harada disclose all the limitations of claim 3.
Sanford does not specifically disclose wherein the radiating element and the one or more acoustic resonators are packaged in a common package.
Harada discloses wherein the radiating element and the one or more acoustic resonators are packaged in a common package (par. [0038], (par. [0038], “SAW filter may be incorporated or mounted as a discrete component”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Harada’s teachings wherein the radiating element and the one or more acoustic resonators are packaged in a common package with the communication device with integration in separate transmitter and receiver antennas disclosed by Sanford because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by placing the antenna and the filter (resonators) in a same package, the overall device volume is reduced, among others.
Regarding claim 16, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
Sanford does not specifically disclose a packaged assembly comprising the filtenna.
Harada further discloses a packaged assembly comprising the filtenna (Figs. 2A-2B and pars. [0021]-[0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Harada’s teachings about a packaged assembly comprising the filtenna with the communication device with integration in separate transmitter and receiver antennas disclosed by Sanford because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by integrating both the antenna and th filter in one structure (package), overall size is reduced by eliminating the need of adding external filter circuitry.
Regarding claim 17, Sanford and Harada disclose all the limitations of claim 16. Sanford further comprising an active device coupled to the filtenna (Fig. 8, “amplifier”); Harada discloses the package (pas. [0002],[0004] and [0019]).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanford in view of JPH06350307A (translation of reference provided by applicant in IDS dated ).
Regarding claim 12, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
Sanford does not specifically disclose wherein the first resonance frequency of the antenna is a series resonance frequency (Note: This limitation has no patentable weight, since there is no series structure/construction that would achieve the resonance frequency) and wherein the first acoustic resonator is disposed adjacent to the antenna and is coupled in shunt with the antenna.
In related art concerning a demultiplexer, JPH06350307A discloses wherein the first resonance frequency of the antenna is a series resonance frequency and wherein the first acoustic resonator is disposed adjacent to the antenna and is coupled in shunt with the antenna (par. [0007], “a resonant surface acoustic wave filter in which one-port surface acoustic wave resonators are connected in a ladder configuration as a receiving filter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use JPH06350307A’s teachings wherein the first resonance frequency of the antenna is a series resonance frequency and wherein the first acoustic resonator is disposed adjacent to the antenna and is coupled in shunt with the antenna a communication device with integration in separate transmitter and receiver antennas disclosed by Sanford because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the structure of ladder-type filters is built in laminating serial and parallel resonators.
Regarding claim 13, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Sanford further discloses wherein the first resonance frequency of the antenna is a parallel resonance frequency (Note: This limitation has no patentable weight, since there is no parallel structure/construction that would achieve the resonance frequency) and wherein the first acoustic resonator is disposed adjacent to the antenna and is coupled in series with the antenna.
JPH06350307A discloses wherein the first resonance frequency of the antenna is a parallel resonance frequency and wherein the first acoustic resonator is disposed adjacent to the antenna and is coupled in series with the antenna (pars [0007]- [0009], [0011] and [0024], “the antenna terminal side of the surface acoustic wave filter has a 1-port surface acoustic wave resonator connected in parallel”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use JPH06350307A’s teachings wherein the first resonance frequency of the antenna is a parallel resonance frequency and wherein the first acoustic resonator is disposed adjacent to the antenna and is coupled in series with the antenna with a communication device with integration in separate transmitter and receiver antennas disclosed by Sanford because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that resonators in a parallel configuration would allow flexible shaping of the frequency response, so that they can be tuned to different frequencies, among others.
Regarding claim 14, Sanford discloses all the limitations of claim 8.
Sanford does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more acoustic resonators comprise a plurality of acoustic resonators coupled to the antenna in a ladder-type configuration.
JPH06350307A discloses wherein the one or more acoustic resonators comprise a plurality of acoustic resonators coupled to the antenna in a ladder-type configuration (par. [0007], “a resonant surface acoustic wave filter in which one-port surface acoustic wave resonators are connected in a ladder configuration as a receiving filter”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use JPH06350307A’s teachings wherein the one or more acoustic resonators comprise a plurality of acoustic resonators coupled to the antenna in a ladder-type configuration with a communication device with integration in separate transmitter and receiver antennas disclosed by Sanford because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that ladder-type filters delivers high selectivity, low loss, stable frequency performance, and design flexibility, making them indispensable for modern RF, microwave, and signal processing applications.
Note: the examiner has reviewed and agrees with the written opinion cited in the IDS dated 05/12/2015. Several paragraphs of the opinion are being cited in the present office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12046817 B2 relates to achievement of close to pure wideband circular polarization in printed antenna arrays.
US 20220166133 A1 relates to antenna system having a plurality of operational range of frequencies.
US 20200153410 A1 relates to apparatus and method for controlling a resonator.
US 20190288360 A1 relates to multi-filtenna system.
US 20180123255 A1 relates to polarized filtenna such as dual polarized filtenna.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Primary Patent Examiner AU 2649