DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-11 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goyal (US 2025/0150406).
Goyal discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, an electronic device (see UE 110 in Fig. 1) comprising: a communication circuit (see antenna 234a in Fig. 2) configured to support a BLE communication (see “Some techniques and apparatuses described herein enable one or more subevents within an event (e.g., a CIG event) to be shared between two or more streams (e.g., CISs). As a result, bandwidth for the CISs is used more compactly, which allows other devices (e.g., WiFi devices or other contention-based protocol devices) and/or other Bluetooth-based services (e.g., low energy (LE) asynchronous connection-less (ACL) links and/or basic rate/enhanced data rate (BR/EDR) links, among other examples) to make use of unoccupied bandwidth for the CISs more effectively” recited in paragraph [0067]); and at least one processor operatively coupled with the communication circuit (see controller processor 240 in Fig. 2), the at least one processor configured to:
identify first data packets by dividing the first data packets into a number of subevents, identifying at least one first subevent and at least one second subevent from the divided subevents (see Fig. 6A, wherein the bottom CIS is divided into 8 subevents), update, based on an offset, the at least one first subevent and the at least one second subevent, wherein the at least one updated first subevent and the at least one updated second subevent include the first data packets (see Fig. 6A, wherein an offset 605 is used to generate the overlapping subevents, and see “Accordingly, to configure an amount of overlap between the CISs (e.g., as described in connection with FIGS. 5A-5C), an initiator device (e.g., initiator 110) may use an offset 605. In example 600, the offset 605 is two subevents, such that each CIS includes two subevents that are not shared with the other CIS” recited in paragraph [0090], such that the offset generates two subevents that are not shared with the other CIS, which may be considered as the claimed updated subevents), and transmit, to an external electronic device, the first data packets included in the updated first subevent and the updated second subevent (see Fig. 1, paragraphs [0032]-[0033], [0094], which shows the UE 110 transmitting the PDUs of the CIS to an acceptor device, such as devices 120a-120b in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify second data packets by dividing the second data packets to correspond to the number of subevents; identify at least one third subevent and at least one fourth subevent from the divided subevents (see Fig. 5B, wherein the data packets 519 are divided into subevents 519a-519e; wherein subevents 517a-517e may be considered the first data packets divided into a number of subevents including the first and second subevents); update, based on the offset, the at least one third subevent and the at least one fourth subevent, wherein the updated third subevent and the updated fourth subevents includes the second data packets (see the use of offsets as shown in Fig. 6A, which creates subevents that may be considered as the updated subevents in which the CIG event is not shared with another CIS, as represented by subevents 519c-519e in Fig. 5B); and transmit, to the external electronic device, the second data packets included in the updated third subevent and the updated fourth subevent (see Fig. 1, paragraphs [0032]-[0033], [0094], which shows the UE 110 transmitting the PDUs of the CIS to an acceptor device, such as devices 120a-120b in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the first data packets and the second data packets are subsequently arranged; or the first data packets and the second data packets are arranged to partially overlap each other (see Fig. 5B, wherein data packets of CIS 513b and CIS 513c are arranged to partially overlap each other).
Regarding claim 9, wherein: the first data packets are included in a first CIS event (see CIS event 513b in Fig. 5B); the first CIS event comprises the updated first subevent and the updated second subevent (see subevents 517c-517e in Fig. 5B, which are updated so that they do not overlap with the preceding CIS 513a); the second data packets are included in a second CIS event (see CIS event 513c in Fig. 5B); and the second CIS events comprises the updated third subevent and the updated fourth subevent (see Fig. 5B, wherein subevents 519c-519e are updated such that the do not overlap with the preceding CIS 513b).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the first CIS event and the second CIS event are configured as a CIG event (see Fig. 5B, wherein CIS 513b and CIS 513c are configured as the CIG event 511).
Regarding claim 11, a method performed by an electronic device (see UE 110 in Fig. 1) comprising:
identifying first data packets by dividing the first data packets into a number of subevents, identifying at least one first subevent and at least one second subevent from the divided subevents (see Fig. 6A, wherein the bottom CIS is divided into 8 subevents), updating, based on an offset, the at least one first subevent and the at least one second subevent, wherein the at least one updated first subevent and the at least one updated second subevent include the first data packets (see Fig. 6A, wherein an offset 605 is used to generate the overlapping subevents, and see “Accordingly, to configure an amount of overlap between the CISs (e.g., as described in connection with FIGS. 5A-5C), an initiator device (e.g., initiator 110) may use an offset 605. In example 600, the offset 605 is two subevents, such that each CIS includes two subevents that are not shared with the other CIS” recited in paragraph [0090], such that the offset generates two subevents that are not shared with the other CIS, which may be considered as the claimed updated subevents), and transmitting, to an external electronic device, the first data packets included in the updated first subevent and the updated second subevent (see Fig. 1, paragraphs [0032]-[0033], [0094], which shows the UE 110 transmitting the PDUs of the CIS to an acceptor device, such as devices 120a-120b in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, identifying second data packets by dividing the second data packets to correspond to the number of subevents; identifying at least one third subevent and at least one fourth subevent from the divided subevents (see Fig. 5B, wherein the data packets 519 are divided into subevents 519a-519e; wherein subevents 517a-517e may be considered the first data packets divided into a number of subevents including the first and second subevents); updating, based on the offset, the at least one third subevent and the at least one fourth subevent, wherein the updated third subevent and the updated fourth subevents includes the second data packets (see the use of offsets as shown in Fig. 6A, which creates subevents that may be considered as the updated subevents in which the CIG event is not shared with another CIS, as represented by subevents 519c-519e in Fig. 5B); and transmitting, to the external electronic device, the second data packets included in the updated third subevent and the updated fourth subevent (see Fig. 1, paragraphs [0032]-[0033], [0094], which shows the UE 110 transmitting the PDUs of the CIS to an acceptor device, such as devices 120a-120b in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the first data packets and the second data packets are subsequently arranged; or the first data packets and the second data packets are arranged to partially overlap each other (see Fig. 5B, wherein data packets of CIS 513b and CIS 513c are arranged to partially overlap each other).
Regarding claim 19, wherein: the first data packets are included in a first CIS event (see CIS event 513b in Fig. 5B); the first CIS event comprises the updated first subevent and the updated second subevent (see subevents 517c-517e in Fig. 5B, which are updated so that they do not overlap with the preceding CIS 513a); the second data packets are included in a second CIS event (see CIS event 513c in Fig. 5B); and the second CIS events comprises the updated third subevent and the updated fourth subevent (see Fig. 5B, wherein subevents 519c-519e are updated such that they do not overlap with the preceding CIS 513b).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the first CIS event and the second CIS event are configured as a CIG event (see Fig. 5B, wherein CIS 513b and CIS 513c are configured as the CIG event 511).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goyal as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2020/0260322).
Goyal also discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the external electronic device, an ACK or a NACK packet based on whether data packets are received (see “the acceptor 120a may transmit an ACK PDU based on receiving the data 301a (or a NACK PDU based on not receiving the data 301a) in lieu of the data 305a” recited in paragraph [0054]); and in case that the received packet is the NACK packet, configure the data packets indicated by the NACK packet as the subevent and transmit the configured data packets (see “When the data 301a is not received during the first subevent, the initiator 110 will attempt to retransmit the data 301a in one or more subsequent subevents until the data 301a is received (or until the end of the CIG event, whichever is earlier). At the end of the CIG event, the initiator 110 may discard the data 301a (e.g., when a flush timeout for the data 301a is set to one, such as 1 CIG event)” recited in paragraph [0055]).
Goyal does not explicitly disclose the following features: regarding claims 6 and 16, in case that a received packet is the ACK packet, enter into a rest state for a subevent not comprising the data packets.
Chen discloses the following features.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, in case that a received packet is the ACK packet, enter into a rest state for a subevent not comprising the data packets (see Fig. 7, wherein when the slave device transmits an ACK following the subevent with data packet 0, the subevent for transmitting data packet 0 enters a rest state and the master device shifts to subevents for transmitting data packet 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current Application to modify the system of Goyal using features, as taught by Chen, in order to ensure data integrity and while conserving transmission resource by continuing data packet transmission and only retransmits unacknowledged CIS Data PDU (see paragraph [0052] and Fig. 7 of Chen).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Batra (US 2017/0244576) discloses a Bluetooth communication system that includes the use of an update slot in an isochronous channel.
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473