DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 7/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 10, 12, and 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen in view of Yehezkely as well as Chen in view of Yehezkely and in further view of Greene.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0165688) in view of Yehezkely et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0030439).
Regarding Claim 1:
Chen et al. discloses an apparatus for energy harvesting (Fig. 6, PEH system and its related discussion), comprising: an energy harvesting circuit (Fig. 6, piezoelectric energy harvester PEH 650 and its related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0074-0079,etc. which disclose the PEH system 600 extracts power from the PEH 650); a reconfigurable capacitor circuit coupled to an output of the energy harvesting circuit (Fig. 6, reconfigurable capacitor array 610 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc.); a voltage converter having an input coupled to the output of the energy harvesting circuit (Fig. 6, rectifier 620 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc. which disclose the rectifier 620, which has an input electrically coupled to an output of PEH 650 as shown, rectifies the voltage of PEH 650); a controller circuit having a supply voltage input coupled to a supply voltage output of the voltage converter (Fig. 6, phase generate-and-combine circuit 640 with switch driver 630, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc. The controller circuit, read on by phase generate-and-combine circuit 640 with switch driver 630, as shown, receives voltage input from rectifier 620 in order to carry out switching control over reconfigurable capacitor array 610 as discussed) and an output coupled to at least one control input of the reconfigurable capacitor circuit (Fig. 6, phase generate-and-combine circuit 640 with switch driver 630, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc. which disclose the controller circuit, read on by phase generate-and-combine circuit 640 with switch driver 630, providing an output, read on by a control signal, to the one or more switches of the reconfigurable capacitor array 610 for subsequent control). Chen fails to teach a storage capacitive element coupled to the supply voltage output of the voltage converter and to the supply voltage input of the controller circuit, the storage capacitive element being separate from the reconfigurable capacitor circuit.
However, Yehezkely et al. discloses a storage capacitive element (Fig. 4, energy storage 440) coupled to the supply voltage output of the voltage converter (Fig. 4, energy storage 440 coupled to the supply voltage output of rectifier 425) and to the supply voltage input of the controller circuit, the storage capacitive element being separate from the reconfigurable capacitor circuit (Fig. 4, energy storage 440 coupled to the input of PMU 430). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen to incorporate a storage capacitive element coupled between the output of a converter and an input of a controller, as taught within Yehezkely, to accumulate and store the energy output via the rectifier so that the controller circuitry can utilize the stored energy rather than being dependent solely on instantaneous rectifier output.
Regarding Claim 3:
Modified Chen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Modified Chen, in further view of Chen, discloses wherein the reconfigurable capacitor circuit is configurable in a first configuration including parallel capacitive elements or in a second configuration including series capacitive elements (Fig. 6, reconfigurable capacitor array 610, shown in further detail within Fig. 8, reconfigurable capacitor array 810, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0046-0047, 0074-0079, 0083-0085, etc. which disclose the reconfigurable capacitor array includes a plurality of capacitors and switches, wherein the capacitors are controlled to be connected with each other in parallel or in series to form different configurations. A first configuration, for example, considered as the capacitors placed in parallel, while a second configuration is considered as the capacitors placed in series).
Regarding Claim 10:
Chen et al. discloses a method for energy harvesting, comprising: generating, via an energy harvesting circuit, an energy harvesting voltage at an output of the energy harvesting circuit (Fig. 6, piezoelectric energy harvester PEH 650 and its related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0074-0079,etc. which disclose the PEH system 600 extracts power from the PEH 650); generating, via a converter, a supply voltage based on the energy harvesting voltage (Fig. 6, rectifier 620 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc. which disclose the rectifier 620, which has an input electrically coupled to an output of PEH 650 as shown, rectifies the voltage of PEH 650); and controlling, via a controller circuit, (Fig. 6, phase generate-and-combine circuit 640 with switch driver 630, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc.) a reconfigurable capacitor circuit (Fig. 6, reconfigurable capacitor array 610 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc.) coupled to the output of the energy harvesting circuit using the supply voltage (Fig. 6, phase generate-and-combine circuit 640 with switch driver 630, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc. The controller circuit, read on by phase generate-and-combine circuit 640 with switch driver 630, as shown, receives voltage input from rectifier 620 in order to carry out switching control over reconfigurable capacitor array 610 as discussed). Chen fails to teach storing, via the converter, the supply voltage in a storage capacitive element, and subsequent use of the supply voltage stored in the storage capacitive element.
However, Yehezkely et al. discloses storing, via the converter, the supply voltage in a storage capacitive element (Fig. 4, energy storage 440, rectifier 425, PMU 430, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0047-0048, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen to incorporate a storage capacitive element coupled between the output of a converter and an input of a controller, as taught within Yehezkely, to accumulate and store the energy output via the rectifier so that the controller circuitry can utilize the stored energy rather than being dependent solely on instantaneous rectifier output.
Regarding Claim 12:
Modified Chen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 10. Modified Chen, in further view of Chen, discloses wherein controlling the reconfigurable capacitor circuit comprises controlling one or more switches of the reconfigurable capacitor circuit (Fig. 6, reconfigurable capacitor array 610, shown in further detail within Fig. 8, reconfigurable capacitor array 810, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0046-0047, 0074-0079, 0083-0085, etc. which disclose the reconfigurable capacitor array includes a plurality of capacitors and switches, wherein the capacitors are controlled to be connected with each other in parallel or in series to form different configurations. A first configuration, for example, considered as the capacitors placed in parallel, while a second configuration is considered as the capacitors placed in series).
Claim(s) 2, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0165688) in view of Yehezkely et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0030439) and in further view of Greene et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0195232).
Regarding Claim 2:
Modified Chen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 1. Modified Chen fails to teach wherein the voltage converter comprises a charge pump.
However, Greene et al. discloses wherein the voltage converter comprises a charge pump (see, at least, paragraph 0118, 0136, 0147, etc. which discloses AC to DC converters can be comprised of a charge pump). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize the voltage converter of Modified Chen as comprising a charge pump, as taught within Greene, to boost the potentially low AC input into a higher, more usable DC voltage, thereby improving energy extraction efficiency.
Regarding Claim 16:
Chen et al. discloses a wireless device (Fig. 6, piezoelectric energy harvester PEH 650 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0002, 0037-0038, etc. which disclose the system being implemented within, for example, a wireless device such as a sensing system or various wearable/implantable electronics), comprising: an energy harvesting circuit (Fig. 6, piezoelectric energy harvester PEH 650 and its related discussion; see, at least, Abstract, paragraphs 0074-0079,etc. which disclose the PEH system 600 extracts power from the PEH 650); a reconfigurable capacitor circuit coupled to an output of the energy harvesting circuit (Fig. 6, reconfigurable capacitor array 610 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc.); a voltage converter having an input coupled to the output of the energy harvesting circuit (Fig. 6, rectifier 620 and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc. which disclose the rectifier 620, which has an input electrically coupled to an output of PEH 650 as shown, rectifies the voltage of PEH 650); a controller circuit having a supply voltage input coupled to a supply voltage output of the voltage converter (Fig. 6, phase generate-and-combine circuit 640 with switch driver 630, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc. The controller circuit, read on by phase generate-and-combine circuit 640 with switch driver 630, as shown, receives voltage input from rectifier 620 in order to carry out switching control over reconfigurable capacitor array 610 as discussed) and an output coupled to at least one control input of the reconfigurable capacitor circuit (Fig. 6, phase generate-and-combine circuit 640 with switch driver 630, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0074-0079, etc. which disclose the controller circuit, read on by phase generate-and-combine circuit 640 with switch driver 630, providing an output, read on by a control signal, to the one or more switches of the reconfigurable capacitor array 610 for subsequent control). Chen fails to teach a storage capacitive element coupled to the supply voltage output of the voltage converter and to the supply voltage input of the controller circuit, the storage capacitive element being separate from the reconfigurable capacitor circuit.
However, Yehezkely et al. discloses a storage capacitive element (Fig. 4, energy storage 440) coupled to the supply voltage output of the voltage converter (Fig. 4, energy storage 440 coupled to the supply voltage output of rectifier 425) and to the supply voltage input of the controller circuit, the storage capacitive element being separate from the reconfigurable capacitor circuit (Fig. 4, energy storage 440 coupled to the input of PMU 430). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chen to incorporate a storage capacitive element coupled between the output of a converter and an input of a controller, as taught within Yehezkely, to accumulate and store the energy output via the rectifier so that the controller circuitry can utilize the stored energy rather than being dependent solely on instantaneous rectifier output.
Furthermore, while Modified Chen discloses a wireless device comprising an energy harvesting circuit in the form of PEH as shown, Modified Chen fails to teach the wireless device comprises an antenna, wherein the energy harvesting circuit is coupled to the antenna.
However, Greene et al. discloses a device comprising an antenna; an energy harvesting circuit coupled to the antenna (Fig. 25, energy harvester 38 connected to antenna 48, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0072, 0078, 0094, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Modified Chen to utilize an antenna with energy harvester, as taught within Greene, as the utilization of an antenna for energy harvesting is a known alternative to a piezoelectric energy harvester, as discussed within Greene, as well as for potential utilization within differing device environments in which harvesting of electromagnetic waves may be a more beneficial option versus the harvesting of mechanical vibrations through a piezoelectric energy harvester.
Regarding Claim 17:
Modified Chen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 16. Modified Chen fails to teach wherein the voltage converter comprises a charge pump.
However, Greene et al. discloses wherein the voltage converter comprises a charge pump (see, at least, paragraph 0118, 0136, 0147, etc. which discloses AC to DC converters can be comprised of a charge pump). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize the voltage converter of Modified Chen as comprising a charge pump, as taught within Greene, to boost the potentially low AC input into a higher, more usable DC voltage, thereby improving energy extraction efficiency.
Regarding Claim 18:
Modified Chen teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 16. Modified Chen, in further view of Chen, discloses wherein the reconfigurable capacitor circuit is configurable in a first configuration including parallel capacitive elements or in a second configuration including series capacitive elements (Fig. 6, reconfigurable capacitor array 610, shown in further detail within Fig. 8, reconfigurable capacitor array 810, and its related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0046-0047, 0074-0079, 0083-0085, etc. which disclose the reconfigurable capacitor array includes a plurality of capacitors and switches, wherein the capacitors are controlled to be connected with each other in parallel or in series to form different configurations. A first configuration, for example, considered as the capacitors placed in parallel, while a second configuration is considered as the capacitors placed in series).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 11, 13-15, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to dependent claims 5-9, 11, and 20: while the prior art of record, namely Chen, discloses a similar apparatus, method, and device for harvesting energy from an ambient environment, including a reconfigurable capacitor circuit, the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest the reconfigurable capacitor circuit is configured to store an energy harvesting voltage from the energy harvesting circuit. While it is known in the art for capacitors to store voltage/energy, the purpose of the reconfigurable capacitor array of Chen if to achieve voltage inversion to thereby achieve high energy extraction capabilities (see, at least, paragraph 0042). That is, the respective capacitor circuit of the prior art is used to assist in increasing energy harvesting efficiency for utilization of the downstream components (such as a different structure entirely for energy storage purposes). Furthermore, it appears as though such modifications to the reconfigurable capacitor circuit of the prior art to be utilized for energy storage, would teach away from the intended use of the prior art applied. Even further, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the utilization of a voltage sense circuit to sense the energy harvesting voltage for subsequent control. While it is known in the art to provide ways to monitor and sense incoming/harvested energy, the prior art fails to appropriately teach or suggest such a feature for subsequent control over the configurations of the capacitor circuit as claimed. For these reasons, inter alia, it appears as though said limitations would be directed towards a non-obvious improvement over the prior art of record. Dependent claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon claim 5.
With respect to dependent claims 4 and 19: while the prior art of record discloses a reconfigurable capacitor circuit, the prior art of record fails to teach a third configuration in which a first set of series capacitive elements are in parallel with a second set of series capacitive elements. While Chen discloses configuring the respective capacitors in series or parallel, there does not appear to be any mention of a set of capacitive elements in series which are to be further placed in parallel with a second set of series capacitive elements. Furthermore, while prior art Kim (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0091738) discloses a charging and discharging conversion unit including a plurality of capacitors connected in parallel, Kim fails to cure the deficiencies of the prior art of record. While placing capacitive elements in series or parallel is well-known in the art and one of a finite number of ways to place capacitive elements within a circuit, the prior art fails to appropriately teach or suggest the respective configuration/reconfiguration (an active process) of capacitive elements in such a manner as claimed. For these reasons, inter alia, it appears as though if claims 4 and 19, including all claims from which they depend, were to be rewritten in independent form, said limitations would be directed towards a non-obvious improvement over the prior art of record.
With respect to dependent claims 13-15: the prior art of record fails to appropriately teach or suggest the respective claim methodology reciting, “…configuring the reconfigurable capacitor circuit with a first set of capacitive elements in parallel based on the energy harvesting voltage being greater than a first threshold voltage; and configuring the reconfigurable capacitor circuit with the first set of capacitive elements in series based on the energy harvesting voltage being equal to or less than the first threshold voltage.” Said limitation is believed to be directed towards a non-obvious improvement over the prior art of record. Dependent claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon claim 13.
Conclusion
Prior art deemed relevant but not currently relied upon:
Deng et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2022/0147789)
Abe (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0161935)
Rodrigues Mansano et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0119585)
Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2016/0079791)
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836