CTNF 18/890,646 CTNF 82236 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements submitted on 09/19/2024 and 08/29/2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clements (US 11,537,352 B1) . The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. Regarding claim 1 , Clements teaches a portable electronic device (read as phone 202) (Clements – Figure 1, column 44 lines 4-16), comprising: a display (read as phones display) (Clements – Figure 1, column 4 lines 4-16, and column 45 lines 33-47); a sensor (read as proximity sensor) (Clements – column 1 lines 50-60) to detect a controller including a smart switch (read as user can turn on the head lights/headlights switch; light switch; phone computer can operate different devices such as elevators, vending machines, etc.; user approaches an elevator 162 and connects to the elevator) (Clements – column 15 lines 4-12, column 27 lines 5-25); a processor (read as host may contain hardware, to enable the communication link, such as processors, etc.) (Clements – column 24 lines 24-31) to cause the display to depict an interface corresponding to the controller based at least in part on a detection of the smart switch (read as user can turn on the head lights by touching the turn on head lights icon; user’s contact with the light icon is detected by the touch screen, and connected computer; computer sends instructions to the headlights switch to turn on the headlights; light switch is switched to the on position, the light are turned on; elevator’s input icons are displayed on the phone’s screen; the activated elevator icons activates the elevator’s control panel to be displayed) (Clements – column 15 lines 4-12, column 27 lines 22-33), the interface comprising an input element that provides functionality for the controller beyond a functionality available via the smart switch (read as the user can keep or remove difference devices control panels, to lessen the number of control panels viewed, with touch; icons can be used for different devices, by changing the components the icons are associated to; the change to another device switch of the input icons is used to switch or toggle between the different components; the icons may be used in the operation of the radio, the user can switch their association to a next component; user’s touches at one of the elevator icons, the icon highlights, a timer is activated, and the icon activates; activated elevator icon activates the elevator’s control panel to be displayed) (Clements – column 15 lines 13-22, column 27 lines 22-41); and a wireless communication module to emit a signal, in response to an input to the interface (read as the panel shows icons that are available for the user to activate with touch, that will affect the operation of the elevator; the touch activation of one of the displayed elevator operation icon, signals the elevator’s computer by the phone’s computer, to activate the elevator operation that is associated to the activated operation icon) (Clements – column 44 lines 39-50), instructing the controller to perform an action beyond the functionality available through the smart switch (read as control panel can be enlarged or minimized by the user’s touch; icons give visual feedback, that they are being touched, or have been touched, icons give visual feedback that they have been activated by changing color, dimming, changing shape, moving, decreasing in size, moving farther away from the user, and showing text) (Clements – column 45 lines 38-56). Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1 , Clements further teaches wherein: the portable electronic device comprises a head-mounted device (read as input device is worn on user’s head) (Clements – column 10 lines 3-15), a smart phone, a smart watch, or a tablet computing device (read as phone 202) (Clements – Figure 1, column 44 lines 3-16); the interface corresponds to the smart switch; the input element provides more inputs than provided by the smart switch (read as user can turn on the head lights by touching the turn on head lights icon; user’s contact with the light icon is detected by the touch screen, and connected computer; computer sends instructions to the headlights switch to turn on the headlights; light switch is switched to the on position, the light are turned on; elevator’s input icons are displayed on the phone’s screen; the activated elevator icons activates the elevator’s control panel to be displayed) (Clements – column 15 lines 4-12, column 27 lines 22-33); and the sensor detects the presence of the controller based at least in part on receiving a radio wave emitted by the controller (read as phone broadcasts, and receives radio waves, the phone connects to the internet, or to the elevator using radio waves; elevator broadcasts and receives radio waves, and can connect to the internet or the phone using radio waves; phone and elevator can communicate when they are within radio wave range of each other; phone connects to the elevator with Bluetooth or Wifi) (Clements – column 44 lines 21-37, column 44 lines 62-67). Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2 , Clements further teaches wherein the signal informs the controller of a presence of a user at the controller (read as phone can act as a control panel, by performing interactions with embedded systems located in its proximity; to support proximity-aware interactions, both the phone and the embedded systems with which the user interacts have short-range wireless communication capabilities; at discovery time, the phone learns the identity and the description of these systems) (Clements – column 46 lines 58-67). Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1 , Clements further teaches wherein: the signal comprises a first signal; and the portable electronic device downloads information based on at least one of the sensor detecting the presence of the controller or the wireless communication module receiving a second signal from the controller (read as the phone downloads the device’s control panel; the phone operates the device, with the control panel, by touch activation of the panel input icons) (Clements – column 44 lines 39-50). Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 4 , Clements further teaches wherein a characteristic of the input element of the interface correlates to the information (read as the panel shows icons that are available for the user to activate with touch, that will affect the operation of the elevator; the touch activation of one of the displayed elevator operation icon, signals the elevator’s computer by the phone’s computer, to activate the elevator operation that is associated to the activated operation icon) (Clements – column 44 lines 39-50). Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1 , Clements further teaches wherein: the signal comprises a first signal; the wireless communication module is configured to receive a second signal from the controller; and the processor performs an action based at least in part on the second signal (read as the phone downloads the device’s control panel; the phone operates the device, with the control panel, by touch activation of the panel input icons) (Clements – column 44 lines 39-50). Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1 , Clements further teaches wherein causing the display to depict the interface corresponding to the controller comprises causing the display to depict the interface on a portion of the display (read as the panel shows icons that are available for the user to activate with touch, that will affect the operation of the elevator; the touch activation of one of the displayed elevator operation icon, signals the elevator’s computer by the phone’s computer, to activate the elevator operation that is associated to the activated operation icon) (Clements – column 44 lines 39-50). Regarding claim 8 , Clements teaches an operable device (read as elevator 162/restaurant food menu display 306/ATM 606) (Clements – Figure 3, Figure 5, Figure 7, column 5 lines 20-67), comprising: a controller (read as host may contain hardware, to enable the communication link, such as processors, etc.) (Clements – column 24 lines 24-31) configured to operate an environmental system separate from the operable device (read as increase volume, alter visual display) (Clements – Abstract, column 45 lines 38-56); an operable component comprising a display electrically coupled to the controller (read as display food menu control panel 308; ATM control panel 608) (Clements – Figure 3, Figure 5); an input component comprising a touch sensitive layer of the display coupled to the controller and configured to control a visual output of the display (read as display food menu commands 310; ATM control panel commands 610) (Clements – Figure 3, Figure 5); and a communication module electrically coupled to the controller (read as phone connects to the display food menu/atm/elevator with Bluetooth or Wifi) (Clements – column 44 lines 21-37, column 44 lines 62-67) and configured to: transmit a first input corresponding to the input component to be displayed by a portable electronic device separate from the operable device (read as user 320 communicating with display food menu control panel 308, user makes a food selection and enter command display 316; phone 604 communicating with ATM 606, enter ok command 616, user enter amount 620) (Clements – Figure 3, Figure 5); transmit a second input to be displayed by the portable electronic device, the second input having a different number of input elements than the input component (read as control panel can be enlarged or minimized by the user’s touch; icons give visual feedback, that they are being touched, or have been touched, icons give visual feedback that they have been activated by changing color, dimming, changing shape, moving, decreasing in size, moving farther away from the user, and showing text) (Clements – column 45 lines 38-56); receive a signal from the portable electronic device (read as control panel can be enlarged or minimized by the user’s touch; icons give visual feedback, that they are being touched, or have been touched, icons give visual feedback that they have been activated by changing color, dimming, changing shape, moving, decreasing in size, moving farther away from the user, and showing text) (Clements – column 45 lines 38-56); and cause the operable component to perform an action via the controller based at least in part on the instructions, the action comprising an operation of the environmental system beyond functionality available through the input component of the operable device (read as voice recognition software in the computer, detects the icon being described, saying increase volume, activates a sound volume increase icon; the elevator sends to the phone, the elevator’s control panel 206; the received panel is displayed; the panel shows icons that are available for the user to activate with touch that will affect the operation of the elevator) (Clements – column 9 lines 50-61, column 44 lines 39-50). Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8 , Clements further teaches wherein: the communication module is configured to transmit identification information to the portable electronic device; the identification information comprises a unique operable device identifier; the signal further comprises a unique user identifier; and the action comprises a transaction (read as the device and phone each have unique IP address to identify each other; IP address identifies the host, or its network interface, and it provides the location of the host in the network and the capabilities of addressing that host; the device, and phone scan Bluetooth radio wave spectrum, until find a radio identifier from the other device is detected; each device, and phone have their own address identifier that its control panel is available for download) (Clements – column 19 lines 25-50, column 20 lines 20-24). Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 9 , Clements further teaches wherein the identification information comprises at least one of information related to a type of the operable device or a location of the operable device (read as the device and phone each have unique IP address to identify each other; IP address identifies the host, or its network interface, and it provides the location of the host in the network and the capabilities of addressing that host; the device, and phone scan Bluetooth radio wave spectrum, until find a radio identifier from the other device is detected; each device, and phone have their own address identifier that its control panel is available for download) (Clements – column 19 lines 25-50, column 20 lines 20-24). Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 9 , Clements further teaches wherein the communication module continuously transmits the identification information (read as the device and phone each have unique IP address to identify each other; IP address identifies the host, or its network interface, and it provides the location of the host in the network and the capabilities of addressing that host; the device, and phone scan Bluetooth radio wave spectrum, until find a radio identifier from the other device is detected; each device, and phone have their own address identifier that its control panel is available for download) (Clements – column 19 lines 25-50, column 20 lines 20-24). Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 8 , Clements further teaches wherein the operable component is configured to be supported by a surface within an environment controlled by the environmental system (read as display food menu control panel 308; ATM control panel 608) (Clements – Figure 3, Figure 5). Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 12 , Clements further teaches wherein the portable electronic device comprises a head-mountable display device (read as input device is worn on user’s head) (Clements – column 10 lines 3-15). Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 8 , Clements further teaches wherein the communication module is further configured to transmit information relating to at least one of a size, an appearance, or a position of an input element of a user interface to be depicted by the portable electronic device (read as control panel can be enlarged or minimized by the user’s touch; icons give visual feedback, that they are being touched, or have been touched, icons give visual feedback that they have been activated by changing color, dimming, changing shape, moving, decreasing in size, moving farther away from the user, and showing text) (Clements – column 45 lines 38-56). Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 8 , Clements further teaches wherein the communication module comprises at least one of a Ultra Wideband (UWB) module, a Bluetooth module, a Wi-Fi module, or a Near-Field Communication (NFC) module (read as phone connects to the elevator with Bluetooth or Wifi) (Clements – column 44 lines 21-37, column 44 lines 62-67). Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 8 , Clements further teaches wherein the portable electronic device comprises a head-mounted device, a smart watch, a smart phone, or a tablet computing device (read as input device is worn on user’s head) (Clements – column 10 lines 3-15). Regarding claim 17 , Clements teaches a method, comprising: detecting an operable device (read as elevator 162/restaurant food menu display 306/ATM 606) (Clements – Figure 3, Figure 5, Figure 7, column 5 lines 20-67) including a display and an input component; detecting a system separate from the operable device (read as the phone, map and control panel are a complete system to operate the differing devices different system) (Clements – Abstract, column 4 lines 10-25, column 45 lines 38-56); receiving information based at least in part on detecting the operable device (read as system brings a phone to a new level of interaction, with the public devices, by allowing a phone to find and operate the devices such as food display menus, atm machines, elevators, etc.; displaying a map with the locations of the phone and devices in its vicinity; when a user is close to an atm machine, an icon is displayed on the map) (Clements – column 4 lines 42-58, column 15 lines 57-67, column 16 lines 7-14); generating a user interface on an electronic device (read as phone 202) (Clements – Figure 1, column 44 lines 4-16) based on the received information (read as the received panel is displayed; the panel shows icons that are available for the user to activate with touch that will affect the operation of the elevator) (Clements – column 44 lines 44-50), the user interface comprising a greater number of input elements than the input component (read as control panel can be enlarged or minimized by the user’s touch; icons give visual feedback, that they are being touched, or have been touched, icons give visual feedback that they have been activated by changing color, dimming, changing shape, moving, decreasing in size, moving farther away from the user, and showing text) (Clements – column 45 lines 38-56); receiving an input from a user at the user interface (read as the touch activation of one of the displayed elevator operation icon; control panel can be enlarged or minimized by the user’s touch; icons give visual feedback, that they are being touched, or have been touched, icons give visual feedback that they have been activated by changing color, dimming, changing shape, moving, decreasing in size, moving farther away from the user, and showing text) (Clements – column 44 lines 44-50, column 45 lines 38-56); and emitting a signal comprising instructions for the operable device to perform an action associated with the input (read as the touch activation of one of the displayed elevator operation icon, signals the elevator’s computer by the phone’s computer, to activate the elevator operation that is associated to the activated operation icon) (Clements – column 44 lines 44-50), the action comprising control over additional functionality beyond a functionality available through the input component of the operable device, the additional functionality including the system (read as voice recognition software in the computer, detects the icon being described, saying increase volume, activates a sound volume increase icon; the elevator sends to the phone, the elevator’s control panel 206; the received panel is displayed; the panel shows icons that are available for the user to activate with touch that will affect the operation of the elevator) (Clements – column 9 lines 50-61, column 44 lines 39-50). Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 17 , Clements further teaches further comprising prompting the user to initiate receiving the information (read as touch of a chosen elevator, signals the server to connect the phone to the elevator’s computer, through the server; the phone 202 asks the elevator 204, the elevator panel; the elevator can also automatically, send the panel to the phone when they connect) (Clements – column 44 lines 22-26). Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 17 , Clements further teaches wherein the operable device comprises a physical machine (read as elevator 162/restaurant food menu display 306/ATM 606) (Clements – Figure 3, Figure 5, Figure 7, column 5 lines 20-67). Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 17 , Clements further teaches wherein the input comprises a touch input, a voice input, a gesture input, a sliding-touch input, or a near-touch input (read as voice recognition software in the computer, detects the icon being described; the elevator sends to the phone, the elevator’s control panel 206; the received panel is displayed; the panel shows icons that are available for the user to activate with touch that will affect the operation of the elevator) (Clements – column 9 lines 50-61, column 44 lines 39-50). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to APRIL GUZMAN GONZALES whose telephone number is (571)270-1101. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am to 4:00 pm EST. The examiner’s email address is april.guzman@uspto.gov. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wesley L. Kim can be reached at (571) 272-7867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 2 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 3 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 4 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 5 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 6 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 7 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 8 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 9 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 10 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 11 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 12 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 13 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 14 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 15 Art Unit: 2648 Application/Control Number: 18/890,646 Page 16 Art Unit: 2648