DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the following communication received:
09/19/2024 – Application papers received;
10/15/2024 – Preliminary Amendment; and
05/23/2025 – IDS.
Continuation Data
This application is a CON of 17/654,457 03/11/2022 PAT 12097415 which is a CON of 17/014,908 09/08/2020 PAT 11278775 which is a CON of 16/380,873 04/10/2019 PAT 10765922 which is a CON of 15/901,081 02/21/2018 PAT 10300354 which is a CON of 15/607,166 05/26/2017 PAT 9925432 which claims benefit of 62/342,741 05/27/2016.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/19/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending.
FOLLOWING IS AN ACTION ON THE MERITS:
Claim Objections - Minor
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 6 – line 14, after “body”, it appears that a period is misplaced and should perhaps be replaced with either a comma or a semicolon.
As to claim 9, line 2, “boding” should read --bonding--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,097,415. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are considered minor phrasing differences and/or an obvious arrangement of the claimed features among the claims and/or are differences that are obvious and well known in the art. In addition, the claims of the ‘415 patent are, on one hand, more specific than the instant claims. Here, the claims of the ‘415 patent further require “wherein each of the filled thermoplastic material and fiber-reinforced thermoplastic composite material includes a common resin component”. On the other hand, the instant claims set forth a slightly different thickness requirement for the resilient layer (e.g., see instant claims 1-2 and 6 vs. dependent claims 2 and 14 of the ‘415 patent). Here, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claimed invention of the ‘415 patent by including a range from 0.5 mm to 1.00 mm or between 1.0 mm and 1.5 mm for the thickness of the resilient layer, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been well aware of the results of constructing the resilient and structural layers too thin or too thick, as a thinning of the layers would perhaps have compromised the strength and integrity of the sole portion while an over-thickening of the layers would perhaps have added unnecessary weight to the sole portion. The exact thickness dimensions would have been obtainable through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
As to the remaining limitations in the claims, note the following comments:
As to claim 1, see claim 2 (as dependent upon claim 1) of the ‘415 patent.
As to claim 2, see claim 2 (as dependent upon claim 1) of the ‘415 patent, along with the explanation hereinabove with respect to the obviousness of adjusting the thickness of the resilient layer.
As to claim 3, see claim 5 of the ‘415 patent. Although the ‘415 patent requires the weighted portion to be integral to the rear peripheral portion as opposed to being “coupled” to the rear peripheral portion, as now claimed, such a difference merely reflects a product-by-process limitation. In other words, the end product of a golf club head, which is limited by the instant claims, is an obvious variation over the claimed golf club head of the ‘415 patent. Even if one were to argue that “coupled” imparts a different structure than the “integral” language recited in the ‘415 patent, it is noted that to make separable that which has in the prior art been integrally formed has been established as being obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose."). In this case, having the weighted portion coupled to the rear peripheral portion as opposed to integral with the rear peripheral portion would have simplified exchanging a first weighted portion for a second weighted portion of diverse characteristics.
As to claim 4, see claim 13 of the ‘415 patent.
As to claim 5, see claim 6 of the ‘415 patent. Here, the “secondary stiffening member” recited in the ‘415 patent encompasses the “second structural member extending from the forward portion and between adjacent apertures” now required by claim 5. While the plurality of secondary stiffening members of the ‘415 claims is not associated with a plurality of apertures, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claimed inventio of the ‘415 patent to arrange the stiffening members between adjacent apertures for added support of the sole member.
As to claim 6, see claim 14 (as dependent upon claim 13) of the ‘415 patent.
As to claim 7, see claim 15 of the ‘415 patent.
As to claim 8, see claim 16 of the ‘415 patent.
As to claim 9, see claim 16 of the ‘415 patent.
As to claim 10, see claim 17 of the ‘415 patent.
As to claim 11, see claim 17 of the ‘415 patent.
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,278,775. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are considered minor phrasing differences and/or an obvious arrangement of the claimed features among the claims and/or are differences that are obvious and well known in the art. Here, the instant claims recite shared features with the claims of the ‘775 patent, arranged in a slightly different order. By way of example, the “weighted portion spaced apart from the forward portion” recited in claim 1 may be found in claim 1 of the ‘775 patent. The “recessed bonding flange” recited in claim 8 may be located in claim 7 of the ‘775 patent. Next, the “resilient layer thermally bonded to the structural layer” recited in claims 1 and 6 is encompassed by the language in claim 8 of the ‘775 patent. The “weight-receiving channels” set forth in claims 3 and 7 is encompassed by claims 6, 13 and 18 of the ‘775 patent. Using another example, the limitations of claim 9 requiring “an extension wall that couples the frame to the bonding flange” may be located in claim 19 of the ‘775 patent. The “plurality of apertures” recited in claims 4-5 is located in claims 1, 8 and 16 of the ‘775 patent. The “skirt” required by claims 10-11 is encompassed by claim 20 of the ‘775 patent. The now-claimed thickness ranges of the resilient layer and the structural layer, as recited in claims 1-2 and 6, are generally encompassed by claims 3, 10 and 17 of the ‘775 patent. Here, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the claimed invention of the ‘415 patent by including a range from 0.5 mm to 1.00 mm (instant claims 1 and 6) or a range from 1.0 mm to 1.5 mm (instant claim 2) for the thickness of the resilient layer, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have been well aware of the results of constructing the resilient and structural layers too thin or too thick, as a thinning of the layers would perhaps have compromised the strength and integrity of the sole portion while an over-thickening of the layers would perhaps have added unnecessary weight to the sole portion. The exact thickness dimensions would have been obtainable through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,765,922. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are considered minor phrasing differences and/or an obvious arrangement of the claimed features among the claims and/or are differences that are obvious and well known in the art. Here, the instant claims recite shared features with the claims of the ‘922 patent, arranged in a slightly different order. By way of example, the “weighted portion spaced apart from the forward portion” recited in claim 1 may be found in claim 2 of the ‘922 patent. The “recessed bonding flange” recited in claim 8 may be located in claim 4 of the ‘922 patent. Next, the “resilient layer thermally bonded to the structural layer” recited in claims 1 and 6 is encompassed by the language in claim 10 of the ‘922 patent. The “plurality of apertures” recited in claims 4-5 is located in claim 10 of the ‘922 patent. Using another example, the limitations in claim 9 requiring “an extension wall that couples the frame to the bonding flange” may be located in claim 5 of the ‘922 patent. Further differences such as the now-claimed thickness ranges of the resilient layer, as recited in claims 1-2 and 6, and not recited in the claims of the ‘922 patent, are deemed to be obvious design variants, as one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been well aware of the results of constructing the resilient and structural layers too thin or too thick, as a thinning of the layers would perhaps have compromised the strength and integrity of the sole portion while an over-thickening of the layers would perhaps have added unnecessary weight to the sole portion. The exact thickness dimensions would have been obtainable through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,300,354. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are considered minor phrasing differences and/or an obvious arrangement of the claimed features among the claims and/or are differences that are obvious and well known in the art. Here, the instant claims recite shared features with the claims of the ‘354 patent, arranged in a slightly different order. By way of example, the “weighted portion spaced apart from the forward portion” recited in claim 1 may be found in claim 2 of the ‘354 patent. The “recessed bonding flange” recited in claim 8 may be located in claim 4 of the ‘354 patent. Next, the “resilient layer thermally bonded to the structural layer” recited in claims 1 and 6 is encompassed by the language in claim 8 of the ‘354 patent. The “plurality of apertures” recited in claims 4-5 is located in claims 1, 8 and 18 of the ‘354 patent. Using another example, the limitations in claim 9 requiring “an extension wall that couples the frame to the bonding flange” may be located in claim 5 of the ‘354 patent. Further differences such as the now-claimed thickness ranges of the resilient layer and the structural layer, as recited in claims 1-2 and 6, and not recited in the claims of the ‘354 patent, are deemed to be obvious design variants, as one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been well aware of the results of constructing the resilient and structural layers too thin or too thick, as a thinning of the layers would perhaps have compromised the strength and integrity of the sole portion while an over-thickening of the layers would perhaps have added unnecessary weight to the sole portion. The exact thickness dimensions would have been obtainable through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,925,432. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are considered minor phrasing differences and/or an obvious arrangement of the claimed features among the claims and/or are differences that are obvious and well known in the art. Here, the instant claims recite shared features with the claims of the ‘432 patent, arranged in a slightly different order. By way of example, the “weighted portion spaced apart from the forward portion” recited in claim 1 may be found in claim 2 of the ‘432 patent. The “recessed bonding flange” recited in claim 8 may be located in claim 4 of the ‘432 patent. Next, the “resilient layer thermally bonded to the structural layer” recited in claims 1 and 6 is encompassed by the language in claim 8 of the ‘432 patent. The “plurality of apertures” recited in claims 4-5 is located in claims 1, 8 and 20 of the ‘432 patent. Using another example, the limitations in claim 9 requiring “an extension wall that couples the frame to the bonding flange” may be located in claim 14 of the ‘432 patent. Further differences such as the now-claimed thickness ranges of the resilient layer and the structural layer, as recited in claims 1-2 and 6, and not recited in the claims of the ‘432 patent, are deemed to be obvious design variants, as one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been well aware of the results of constructing the resilient and structural layers too thin or too thick, as a thinning of the layers would perhaps have compromised the strength and integrity of the sole portion while an over-thickening of the layers would perhaps have added unnecessary weight to the sole portion. The exact thickness dimensions would have been obtainable through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,940,374. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are considered minor phrasing differences and/or an obvious arrangement of the claimed features among the claims and/or are differences that are obvious and well known in the art. Here, the instant claims recite shared features with the claims of the ‘374 patent, arranged in a slightly different order. By way of example, an obvious variation of the “weighted portion spaced apart from the forward portion” recited in claim 1 may be found in claim 1 of the ‘374 patent by way of the language and a metallic weight pad extending at least partially through the opening in the resilient layer and bonded to the structural layer, wherein the metallic weight pad comprises an aperture for the attachment of a metallic weight. Looking at another example, the “recessed bonding flange” recited in claim 8 may be located in claims 2-3 and 10-11 of the ‘374 patent. Next, the “resilient layer bonded to an external surface of the structural layer such that the resilient layer abuts the metallic front body” in claim 7 is encompassed by the language in claim 10 of the ‘374 patent. The “plurality of apertures” recited in claims 4-5 is located in claims 1 and 9 of the ‘374 patent. Using another example, the limitations in claim 9 requiring “the metallic front body further includes an extension wall that couples the frame to the recessed bonding flange”, may be located in claim 11 of the ‘374 patent. Further differences such as the now-claimed thickness ranges of the resilient layer and the structural layer, as recited in claims 1-2 and 6, and not recited in the claims of the ‘374 patent, are deemed to be obvious design variants, as one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been well aware of the results of constructing the resilient and structural layers too thin or too thick, as a thinning of the layers would perhaps have compromised the strength and integrity of the sole portion while an over-thickening of the layers would perhaps have added unnecessary weight to the sole portion. The exact thickness dimensions would have been obtainable through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,110,325. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences are considered minor phrasing differences and/or an obvious arrangement of the claimed features among the claims and/or are differences that are obvious and well known in the art. Here, the instant claims recite share features with the claims of the prior ‘325 patent, arranged in a slightly different order. By way of example, the “weighted portion spaced apart from the forward portion” recited in claim 1 may be found in claim 4 of the ‘325 patent. Next, the “resilient layer thermally bonded to the structural layer” in claim 1 is encompassed by the language in claim 1 of the ‘325 patent. The “plurality of apertures” recited in claims 4-5 is located in claims 1 and 12 of the ‘325 patent. Further differences such as the now-claimed thickness ranges of the resilient layer and the structural layer, as recited in claims 1-2 and 6, and not recited in the claims of the ‘325 patent, are deemed to be obvious design variants, as one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been well aware of the results of constructing the resilient and structural layers too thin or too thick, as a thinning of the layers would perhaps have compromised the strength and integrity of the sole portion while an over-thickening of the layers would perhaps have added unnecessary weight to the sole portion. The exact thickness dimensions would have been obtainable through routine experimentation. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Observations on Obviousness-Type Double Patenting
Applicant is respectfully urged to maintain a clear line of demarcation between the instant claim set and the claims in the related patents listed hereinbelow. While no double patenting rejections based on the prior patents listed below are currently being made of record, maintaining a clear distinction between the instant claims and the claims of each of the related patents listed here will help to reduce the likelihood of obviousness-type double patenting concerns arising during later prosecution in the instant case. It is clear that the applicant, who in this case is most familiar with the language, content and prosecution history of the prior patents identified here, is best equipped to recognize any potential double patenting concerns and should therefore make an effort to amend the instant claims or file appropriate terminal disclaimers. The applicant is respectfully requested to provide further comment as to whether the applicant believes that the claims of the prior patents listed here conflict, or do not conflict, with the claims of the instant application.
USPNs: 10806977; 10675514; 10828543; 10137335; 11534666; 11660511; 10940373; 12415119; 12330027; 11819743 and 11638859.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit. In Ball Aerosol v. Ltd. Brands, 555 F.3d 984, 89 USPQ2d 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2009), the Federal Circuit offered additional instruction as to the need for an explicit analysis. The Federal Circuit explained that the Supreme Court’s requirement for an explicit analysis does not require record evidence of an explicit teaching of a motivation to combine in the prior art.
"[T]he analysis that "should be made explicit" refers not to the teachings in the prior art of a motivation to combine, but to the court’s analysis. . . . Under the flexible inquiry set forth by the Supreme Court, the district court therefore erred by failing to take account of 'the inferences and creative steps,' or even routine steps, that an inventor would employ and by failing to find a motivation to combine related pieces from the prior art." Ball Aerosol, 555 F.3d at 993, 89 USPQ2d at 1877.
The Federal Circuit’s directive in Ball Aerosol was addressed to a lower court, but it applies to Office personnel as well. When setting forth a rejection, Office personnel are to continue to make appropriate findings of fact as explained in MPEP § 2141 and § 2143, and must provide a reasoned explanation as to why the invention as claimed would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. This requirement for explanation remains even in situations in which Office personnel may properly rely on intangible realities such as common sense and ordinary ingenuity.
I. EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US PUBS 2010/0125000) in view of Ogawa (JP 2008161597, and cited by applicant).
As to claim 1, and with reference to Figs. 2, 3, 7 and 8, Lee shows a golf club head (102) comprising: a metallic front body (i.e., element 150; see paragraphs [0014], [0041], [0047]) including a strike face (102) and a surrounding frame (126, 128) that extends rearward from a perimeter of the strike face (102); a rear body coupled to the metallic front body to define a substantially hollow structure, the rear body including a crown member (118) coupled with a sole member (164); wherein the sole member (164) comprises: a structural layer (i.e., band 114); the structural layer including: a forward portion (i.e., Fig. 7 shows a forward portion of sole 164 immediately adjacent a rearwardmost portion 154 of front body 150) in contact with and bonded (i.e., paragraph [0052]) to the metallic front body (150); a rear peripheral portion (i.e., Fig. 8 and generally shown around and between apertures 172) that defines an outer perimeter of the sole member (i.e., Fig. 7 shows that this rear peripheral portion identified here forms an external portion of the periphery of the club body); a weighted portion spaced apart from the forward portion (i.e., the structure surrounding the recess 176 is a weighted portion); a first structural member (136) extending from the forward portion to the weighted portion, the structural member (136) integrally molded with both the forward portion and the weighted portion (i.e., see paragraph [0050]); a metallic weight (174) removably coupled to the weighted portion; and a resilient layer (120, 122).
Although Lee mentions that the layers (120, 122) may abut the front frame via ledges incorporated into the front portion (150) upon which the layers (120, 122) rest (i.e., see paragraph [0053]), it may be argued that Lee does not explicitly show that the portions (120, 122) identified here as the resilient layer are “thermally bonded to the structural layer without an intermediate adhesive such that the resilient layer abuts the metallic front body”. The reference to Ogawa teaches that a lower sole portion (20) formed of resilient material may be arranged so as to be bonded in an abutting relationship with the metallic front body (10). In this manner, the resilient lower sole portion (20) in Ogawa is able to better absorb and dissipate vibration upon ball impact. The arrangement in Ogawa maintains the structural integrity of the sole while helping to reduce the overall weight of the sole for improved club head performance (i.e., see scanned page 2, lines 9-11, lines 17-18, lines 24-31, lines 42-48; and see the figures on scanned page 3, along with scanned page 3, lines 24-30). In view of the teachings in Ogawa, one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device in Lee by bonding the resilient layers (120, 122) to the external surface of the structural layer (i.e., 114) and abutting the resilient layers (120, 122) with a rear portion of the metallic front body (150), with there being a reasonable expectation of success that having the resilient layers (120, 122) on the external surface of the band (114) and abutting the metallic front portion (15) would have reduced the amount of vibration transmitted during a golf ball impact. As for the “thermally” bonded recitation, such appears to be a product-by-process limitation. See MPEP 2113: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). Here, no adhesive is disclosed by Ogawa and the final product formed by the combination of Lee and Ogawa would have included a bonding between the structural layer and the resilient layer.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the structural layer and the resilient layer each comprise a composite material”, Lee provides ample guidance and leeway in the suggested use of a number of non-metallic materials for not only the club head in general, but also for the resilient layers (120, 122), including the use of fiber-reinforced composites. For example, see paragraph [0047] in Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to select a suitable fiber-reinforced composite material based upon material availability, method of manufacturing (e.g., method of making composites), and the benefits accorded by the use of composite materials. Moreover, the patent laws have long-established that the selection of a known material based upon the properties of the known material would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol. "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious); Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (Claimed agricultural bagging machine, which differed from a prior art machine only in that the brake means were hydraulically operated rather than mechanically operated, was held to be obvious over the prior art machine in view of references which disclosed hydraulic brakes for performing the same function, albeit in a different environment.).
More specific to claims 1-2, Lee does not explicitly disclose “wherein the resilient layer comprises a resilient layer thickness that ranges from 0.5 mm to 1.00 mm” (claim 1) and does not explicitly disclose “wherein the resilient layer thickness ranges from 1.00 mm to 1.5 mm” (claim 2). In paragraph [0052] of the instant specification, it is noted that the thicknesses of the resilient layer and the structural layer are prefaced by language such as “may have” or “may be in the range”, with no reasons provided as to why the specified ranges are pertinent. Obviously, one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to manufacture the resilient layer, and dimension the same, so as to maintain the integrity of the club head while not adding excessive weight to the club head. Moreover, the actual processes employed for fabricating the resilient layer would obviously have imposed limitations on the final thicknesses of the materials used for this component.
As to claim 3, Lee shows the weighted portion is integral to the rear peripheral portion (i.e., the weighted portion that has been identified as surrounding the aperture or recess 176 is integral with the rear portion, namely the areas surrounding the around and between the apertures or holes 172); and the weighted portion defines one or more weight-receiving channels that comprise non-uniform thicknesses (i.e., the recess 176 may be considered a channel with a non-uniform thickness considering that the recess 176 includes what appears to be a countersunk portion 186).
As to claim 4, Lee shows a plurality of apertures (162, 166) extending through a thickness of the structural layer.
As to claim 5, Lee notes that more than one band (136) may be incorporated (i.e., paragraph [0049]). A second band (136) extending from the forward portion and between adjacent apertures (162, 166) would have served as the claimed “second structural member”.
As to claim 6, and with reference to Figs. 2, 3, 7 and 8, Lee shows a golf club head (102) comprising: a metallic front body (i.e., element 150; see paragraphs [0014], [0041], [0047]) including a strike face (102) and a surrounding frame (126, 128) that extends rearward from a perimeter of the strike face (102); a rear body coupled to the metallic front body to define a substantially hollow structure, the rear body including a crown member (118) coupled with a sole member (164); wherein the sole member (164) comprises: a structural layer (i.e., band 114); the structural layer including: a forward portion (i.e., Fig. 7 shows a forward portion of sole 164 immediately adjacent a rearwardmost portion 154 of front body 150) in contact with and bonded (i.e., paragraph [0052]) to the metallic front body (150); a rear peripheral portion (i.e., Fig. 8 and generally shown around and between apertures 172) that defines an outer perimeter of the sole member (i.e., Fig. 7 shows that this rear peripheral portion identified here forms an external portion of the periphery of the club body); a weighted portion spaced apart from the forward portion (i.e., the structure surrounding the recess 176 is a weighted portion); a plurality of apertures (162, 166) extending through a thickness of the structural layer; a metallic weight (174) removably coupled to the weighted portion; and a resilient layer (120, 122).
Although Lee mentions that the layers (120, 122) may abut the front frame via ledges incorporated into the front portion (150) upon which the layers (120, 122) rest (i.e., see paragraph [0150]), and while the resilient layers (120, 122) may be considered to extend across each of the apertures (162, 166), it may be argued that Lee does not explicitly show that the portions (120, 122) identified here as the resilient layer are “thermally bonded to the structural layer without an intermediate adhesive such that the resilient layer abuts the metallic front body”. The reference to Ogawa teaches that a lower sole portion (20) formed of resilient material may be arranged so as to be bonded in an abutting relationship with the metallic front body (10). In this manner, the resilient lower sole portion (20) in Ogawa is able to better absorb and dissipate vibration upon ball impact. The arrangement in Ogawa maintains the structural integrity of the sole while helping to reduce the overall weight of the sole for improved club head performance (i.e., see scanned page 2, lines 9-11, lines 17-18, lines 24-31, lines 42-48; and see the figures on scanned page 3, along with scanned page 3, lines 24-30). In view of the teachings in Ogawa, one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device in Lee by bonding the resilient layers (120, 122) to the external surface of the structural layer (i.e., 114) and abutting the resilient layers with a rear portion of the metallic front body (150), with there being a reasonable expectation of success that having the resilient layers (120, 122) on the external surface of the band (114) and abutting the metallic front portion (15) would have reduced the amount of vibration transmitted during a golf ball impact. As for the “thermally” bonded recitation, such appears to be a product-by-process limitation. See MPEP 2113: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted). Here, no adhesive is disclosed by Ogawa and the final product formed by the combination of Lee and Ogawa would have included a bonding between the structural layer and the resilient layer.
Regarding the claimed “wherein the structural layer and the resilient layer each comprise a composite material”, Lee provides ample guidance and leeway in the suggested use of a number of non-metallic materials for not only the club head in general, but also for the resilient layers (120, 122), including the use of fiber-reinforced composites. For example, see paragraph [0047] in Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to select a suitable composite material based upon material availability, method of manufacturing (e.g., method of making composites), and the benefits accorded by the use of composite materials. Moreover, the patent laws have long-established that the selection of a known material based upon the properties of the known material would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol. "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious); Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (Claimed agricultural bagging machine, which differed from a prior art machine only in that the brake means were hydraulically operated rather than mechanically operated, was held to be obvious over the prior art machine in view of references which disclosed hydraulic brakes for performing the same function, albeit in a different environment.).
Last, Lee does not explicitly disclose “wherein the resilient layer comprises a resilient layer thickness that ranges from 0.5 mm to 1.00 mm”. In paragraph [0052] of the instant specification, it is noted that the thicknesses of the resilient layer and the structural layer are prefaced by language such as “may have” or “may be in the range”, with no reasons provided as to why the specified ranges are pertinent. Obviously, one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to manufacture the resilient layer, and dimension the same, so as to maintain the integrity of the club head while not adding excessive weight to the club head. Moreover, the actual processes employed for fabricating the resilient layer would obviously have imposed limitations on the final thicknesses of the materials used for this component.
As to claim 7, Lee shows the weighted portion is integral to the rear peripheral portion (i.e., the weighted portion that has been identified as surrounding the aperture or recess 176 is integral with the rear portion, namely the areas surrounding the around and between the apertures or holes 172); and the weighted portion defines one or more weight-receiving channels that comprise non-uniform thicknesses (i.e., the recess 176 may be considered a channel with a non-uniform thickness considering that the recess 176 includes what appears to be a countersunk portion 186).
As to claim 8, Lee may include a “recessed bonding flange” (i.e., ledges, as explained in paragraph [0053]).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US PUBS 2010/0125000) in view of Ogawa (JP 2008161597) and also in view of USPN 6,955,612 to Lu.
As to claim 9, Lee, as modified by Ogawa, does not explicitly show “an extension wall that couples the frame to the recessed boding [sic] flange”. Initially, it would appear that a ledge formation as disclosed by Lee would have formed an extension wall that helps to properly locate and seat the resilient layer. Nonetheless, the further reference to Lu clearly shows it to be old in the art to provide an extension wall between a frame and a bonding flange to receive a cover plate (i.e., FIGS. 5, 6; and see stepped portion 121 and recession 12 in FIG. 12). In view of the teaching in Lu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the club head in Lee with an extension wall that couples the frame to the recessed bonding flange to provide a proper seat against which the resilient layer may abut the metallic front body. An extension wall fashioned as taught by Lu would have provided for a better and more uniform fit and finish between the frame and the bonding ledge in the club head of Lee.
As to claim 10, note skirt (114) in Lee formed by a band member (i.e., paragraph [0053]).
As to claim 11, it is clear that the position and structure of the identified skirt (114) in Lee may serve to stiffen the sole portion and provide an additional load path, as claimed. Note that the language “stiffens the sole and provides an additional load path from the weighted portion and the extension wall during an impact between the strike face and a golf ball” is a functional recitation.
Conclusion
SEBASTIANO PASSANITI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3711
/SEBASTIANO PASSANITI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711