DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 8-9, 12, 18-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 includes limitations directed towards 2. The golf club head of claim 1, wherein the first cavity comprises a first depth ranging from 0.115 inch to 0.135 inch, the second cavity comprises a second depth ranging from 0.460 inch to 0.580 inch, the third cavity comprises a third depth ranging from 0.215 inch to 0.245 inch, the fourth cavity comprises a fourth depth ranging from 0.140 inch to 0.165 inch, and the fifth cavity comprises a fifth depth ranging from 0.080 inch to 0.110 inch. The closest art of record Kosmatka teaches the different cavities, however Kosmatka is silent with regards to the specific dimensions for the cavities. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest the above-identified limitations, and claim 2 is therefore allowed.
Claim 8 includes limitations directed towards 8. The golf club head of claim 7, wherein the first tier comprises a greater thickness than a thickness of the second tier, and the second tier comprises a greater thickness than a thickness of the third tier. The closest art of record Stokke teaches the cascading sole but is silent with regards to the thickness changes between the different tiers. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest the above-identified limitations, and claim 8 is therefore allowed.
Claim 9 includes limitations directed towards 9. The golf club head of claim 1, wherein the one or more reinforcement ribs do not contact the center region of the variable thickness profile. The closest art of record Kosmatka teaches the reinforcement ribs however it is silent with regards to the ribs not contacting the center region. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest the above-identified limitations, and claim 9 is therefore allowed.
Claim 12 includes limitations directed towards 12. The golf club head of claim 11, wherein the first cavity comprises a first depth ranging from 0.115 inch to 0.135 inch, the second cavity comprises a second depth ranging from 0.460 inch to 0.580 inch, the third cavity comprises a third depth ranging from 0.215 inch to 0.245 inch, the fourth cavity comprises a fourth depth ranging from 0.140 inch to 0.165 inch, and the fifth cavity comprises a fifth depth ranging from 0.080 inch to 0.110 inch. The closest art of record Kosmatka teaches the different cavities, however Kosmatka is silent with regards to the specific dimensions for the cavities. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest the above-identified limitations, and claim 12 is therefore allowed.
Claim 18 includes limitations directed towards 18. The golf club head of claim 17, wherein the first tier comprises a greater thickness than a thickness of the second tier, and the second tier comprises a greater thickness than a thickness of the third tier. The closest art of record Stokke teaches the cascading sole but is silent with regards to the thickness changes between the different tiers. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest the above-identified limitations, and claim 18 is therefore allowed.
Claim 19 includes limitations directed towards 19. The golf club head of claim 11, wherein the one or more ribs do not contact the center region of the variable thickness profile. The closest art of record Kosmatka teaches the reinforcement ribs however it is silent with regards to the ribs not contacting the center region. The prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not teach or suggest the above-identified limitations, and claim 19 is therefore allowed.
Double Patenting
A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,102,892 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain substantially similar subject matter.
Claim 1 of the ‘892 patent includes limitations directed towards a golf club head, thicknesses in the face region, cavities and a reinforcement rib similar to claim 1 of the instant invention. The claims are deemed substantially similar in scope to warrant the obvious type double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 includes limitations directed towards “the center thickness is constant and ranges from 0.09 inch to 0.15 inch.” The examiner cannot ascertain what the meet and bounds a constant thickness that ranges from 0.09 inch to 0.15 inch is. As such, the claim is held indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kosmatka (US 5971868 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kosmatka teaches 1. A golf club head comprising: a front end, a rear end, a top end, a bottom end, a toe end, and a heel end; See Fig. 1B, a face element comprising a face surface located at the front end and a rear surface located at the rear end; See Fig. 1A and 1B, the face element comprises a face center, a face perimeter, and a variable thickness profile measured between the face surface and the rear surface; See Fig. 1A-2D, the variable thickness profile includes a perimeter region comprising a perimeter thickness that is constant, a transition region comprising a varying transition thickness, and a center region encompassing the face center, the center region comprising a center thickness that is constant; See Fig. 1A-2D, wherein the perimeter thickness comprising a minimum thickness of the face element; See Fig. 1B, wherein the center thickness comprises a maximum thickness of the face element; See Fig. 1B, the top end having a top rail extending in an arcuate fashion toward the bottom end to form a top rail wall; See Fig. 1B, the bottom end having a sole and a rear portion integrally formed with the sole, wherein the rear portion extends upward toward the top end; See Fig. 1B, the toe end is divided into a first toe end portion, a second toe end portion, and a third toe end portion; the first toe end portion is adjacent to and integral with the top end; See Fig. 1B, the third toe end portion is adjacent to and integral with the bottom end; the second toe end portion is positioned between the first toe end portion and third toe end portion; See Fig. 1B, wherein the toe end comprising a toe ledge extending between the top rail and the rear portion, the toe ledge is integral with the top rail wall and the rear portion; and See Fig. 1B, wherein the heel end comprises a heel ledge extending in a curved manner toward the top rail, the sole, and the toe end, the heel ledge is integral with the top rail wall and the rear portion; See Fig. 1B, an undercut comprising a first cavity, a second cavity, a third cavity, a fourth cavity, and a fifth cavity; the first cavity is formed between the rear surface and the top rail wall; the second cavity is formed between the rear surface and the rear portion; the third cavity is formed between the rear surface and the toe ledge at the first toe end portion; the fourth cavity is formed between the rear surface and the toe ledge at the third toe end portion; the fifth cavity is formed between the rear surface and the heel ledge at the heel end; and See Fig. 1B, one or more reinforcement ribs are integrally formed with the rear surface of the face element, the one or more reinforcement ribs extending linearly from the top rail towards the second toe end portion. See Fig. 4A.
Exhibit A – Annotated Fig. 1B of Kosmatka
Regarding claim 4, Kosmatka teaches 4. The golf club head of claim 1, wherein the one or more reinforcement ribs extend into the fourth cavity. See Fig. 4A.
Regarding claim 5, Kosmatka teaches 5. The golf club head of claim 1, wherein: each reinforcement rib of the one or more reinforcement ribs comprises a first end, a second end, and a rib axis intersecting the first and second end, and with respect to a rear view of the golf club head, the rib axis of each reinforcement rib intersects the center region of the variable thickness profile. See Fig. 4A.
Regarding claim 6, Kosmatka teaches 6. The golf club head of claim 5, wherein: the rib axis of each reinforcement rib are parallel to one another. See Fig. 4A.
Regarding claim 11, Kosmatka teaches 11. A golf club head comprising: a front end, a rear end, a top end, a bottom end, a toe end, and a heel end; See Fig. 1B, a face element comprising a face surface located at the front end and a rear surface located at the rear end; See Fig. 1A and 1B, the face element comprises a face center, a face perimeter, and a variable thickness profile measured between the face surface and the rear surface; See Fig. 1A-2D, the variable thickness profile includes a perimeter region comprising a perimeter thickness that is constant, a transition region comprising a varying transition thickness, and a center region encompassing the face center, the center region comprising a center thickness that is constant; See Fig. 1A-2D, wherein the perimeter thickness comprising a minimum thickness of the face element; . See Fig. 1B, wherein the center thickness comprises a maximum thickness of the face element; See Fig. 1B, the top end having a top rail extending in an arcuate fashion toward the bottom end to form a top rail wall; See Fig. 1B, the bottom end having a sole and a rear portion integrally formed with the sole, wherein the rear portion extends upward toward the top end; See Fig. 1B, the toe end is divided into a first toe end portion, a second toe end portion, and a third toe end portion; the first toe end portion is adjacent to and integral with the top end; See Fig. 1B, the third toe end portion is adjacent to and integral with the bottom end; the second toe end portion is positioned between the first toe end portion and third toe end portion; See Fig. 1B, wherein the toe end comprising a toe ledge extends between the top rail and the rear portion, the toe ledge is integral with the top rail wall and the rear portion; and See Fig. 1B, wherein the heel end comprises a heel ledge extending in a curved manner toward the top rail, the sole, and the toe end, the heel ledge is integral with the top rail wall and the rear portion; See Fig. 1B, an undercut comprising a first cavity, a second cavity, a third cavity, a fourth cavity, and a fifth cavity; the first cavity is formed between the rear surface and the top rail wall; the second cavity is formed between the rear surface and the rear portion; the third cavity is formed between rear surface and the toe ledge at the first toe end portion; the fourth cavity is formed between the rear surface and the toe ledge at the third toe end portion; the fifth cavity is formed between the rear surface and the heel ledge at the heel end; See Fig. 1B, one or more reinforcement ribs integrally formed with the rear surface of the face element, the one or more reinforcement ribs extending linearly from the top rail towards the second toe end portion. See Fig. 4A.
Regarding claim 14, Kosmatka teaches 14. The golf club head of claim 11, wherein the first cavity, the second cavity, the third cavity, the fourth cavity, and the fifth cavity are all integrally connected and continuous. See Fig. 1B.
Regarding claim 15, Kosmatka teaches 15. The golf club head of claim 11, wherein: each reinforcement rib of the one or more reinforcement ribs comprises a first end, a second end, and a rib axis intersecting the first and second end, and with respect to a rear view of the golf club head, the rib axis of each reinforcement rib intersects the center region of the variable thickness profile. See Fig. 4A.
Regarding claim 16, Kosmatka teaches 16. The golf club head of claim 15, wherein the rib axis of each reinforcement rib are parallel. See Fig. 4A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
The notations noted below apply to all rejections: In as much structure set forth by the applicant in the claims, the device is capable of use in the intended manner if so desired (See MPEP 2112). It should be noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, it meets the claim limitations. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The intended use defined in the preamble and body of the claim breathes no life and meaning structurally different than that of the applied reference.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosmatka (US 5971868 A) in view of Slaughter (US 20130344990 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Slaughter teaches 3. The golf club head of claim 1, wherein: the perimeter thickness ranges from 0.06 inch to 0.10 inch; and See [0051+], the center thickness is constant and ranges from 0.09 inch to 0.15 inch. See [0050+].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Kosmatka with Slaughter to provide a thickness suitable for golf clubs with metallic striking plates (See [0050+]).
Regarding claim 13, Slaughter teaches 13. The golf club head of claim 11, wherein: the perimeter thickness ranges from 0.06 inch to 0.10 inch; and See [0051+], the center thickness ranges from 0.09 inch to 0.15 inch. See [0050+].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Kosmatka with Slaughter to provide a thickness suitable for golf clubs with metallic striking plates (See [0050+]).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosmatka (US 5971868 A) in view of Stokke (US 20180256946 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Stokke teaches 7. The golf club head of claim 1, further comprising a cascading sole at the bottom end of the second cavity, wherein the cascading sole comprises a first tier, a second tier, and a third tier. See Fig. 33 which shows the cascading sole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Kosmatka with Stokke as the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results such as the cascading sole of Stokke in place of the sole of Kosmatka is an indication of obviousness.
Regarding claim 17, Stokke teaches 17. The golf club head of claim 11, further comprising a cascading sole at the bottom end of the second cavity, wherein the cascading sole comprises a first tier, a second tier, and a third tier. See Fig. 33 which shows the cascading sole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Kosmatka with Stokke as the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results such as the cascading sole of Stokke in place of the sole of Kosmatka is an indication of obviousness.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosmatka (US 5971868 A) in view of Willet (US 7771291 B1).
Regarding claim 10, Willet teaches 10. The golf club head of claim 1, further comprising a first aperture positioned at the toe end of the club head and a second aperture positioned in a hosel of the club head, wherein the first aperture is configured to receive a first weight and the second aperture is configured to receive a second weight. See Fig. 2; (102) which teaches the multiple apertures to receive weights.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Kosmatka with Willet to allow the golfer to adjust the club head center of gravity (See 6:54+).
Regarding claim 20, Willet teaches 20. The golf club head of claim 11, further comprising a first aperture positioned at the toe end of the club head and a second aperture positioned in a hosel of the club head, wherein the first aperture is configured to receive a first weight and the second aperture is configured to receive a second weight. See Fig. 2; (102) which teaches the multiple apertures to receive weights.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Kosmatka with Willet to allow the golfer to adjust the club head center of gravity (See 6:54+).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bissonnette US 2002/0189356 A1 - which teaches a golf club head with a face center thickness.
Wada US 20120322577 A1 - which teaches a golf club face with ribs.
/JEFFREY S VANDERVEEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3711